Page 1 of 2

Was someone shining a laser at the Russian goalie?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 11:26 pm
by brigadoon

Context:

Re: Was someone shining a laser at the Russian goalie?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 11:31 pm
by Sunset
So?

I'm guessing you didn't see 2nd leg between Ghana & Egypt WCQ.

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 11:34 pm
by ElHadary
Akinfaev is just a piss poor goalie.

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 11:36 pm
by brigadoon
Shining a laser on someone is dangerous. You can blind them permanently. It's possible that's why the goalie mistimed his jump for the ball.

That Algerian fan should be found and banned for life from attending all soccer matches. He should face criminal prosecution as well. Lasers are dangerous.

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 12:27 am
by mate

Don't know if this is legitimate.

But if it is, this is a huge problem.

To me, it seems like egregious interference.

Cheers, Mate

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 12:29 am
by Jaidi
Happens all the time in African qualifiers and the African teams deal with it. Nonstory and excuse for more UEFA failure :lol:

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 12:30 am
by mate
Jaidi wrote:Happens all the time in African qualifiers and the African teams deal with it. Nonstory and excuse for more UEFA failure :lol:
You're defending this?

:shock:

Cheers, Mate

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 1:54 am
by bamenda boy
The cam Tunis game had lasers all over itanje's eyes.

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 2:08 am
by yannick
seems like a North African thing

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 2:23 am
by metalalloy
Yes they shined lasers at him. I mentioned it in the game thread. This is the first game I've seen it in at the wc.

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 2:24 am
by metalalloy
brigadoon wrote:Shining a laser on someone is dangerous. You can blind them permanently. It's possible that's why the goalie mistimed his jump for the ball.

That Algerian fan should be found and banned for life from attending all soccer matches. He should face criminal prosecution as well. Lasers are dangerous.

i agree whoever it was should be hunted down and banned

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 10:36 am
by sinequanon
No surprise. The whole championship is rotten to the core.

That is why I don't involve myself with the tribal side of the game, or support any team. It is one seething mass of negative energy, where only a hypocrite can be a fan.

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 11:33 am
by chendosplastic
mate wrote: Don't know if this is legitimate.

But if it is, this is a huge problem.

To me, it seems like egregious interference.

Cheers, Mate
Shouldn't be legitimate. FIFA should deal with it.
mate wrote:
Jaidi wrote:Happens all the time in African qualifiers and the African teams deal with it. Nonstory and excuse for more UEFA failure :lol:
You're defending this?

Cheers, Mate
:thumb: mate

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 12:36 pm
by mcal
...they bring that stuff into the stadium disguised as a pen, and using it while among your fans is tough to detect or challenged.
There are terrible people all over, even some use it on airline pilots.
One guy was check-mated by a helicopter pilot as the pilot put his NVG on (night goggle) and tracked the guy down below, he was caught by police.

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 12:58 pm
by Coach
If you think thats bad, if you see the ting' wey Luke tek Kobayashi Darth Vader, chai!

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 8:17 pm
by theDunamis
brigadoon wrote:Shining a laser on someone is dangerous. You can blind them permanently. It's possible that's why the goalie mistimed his jump for the ball.

Agreed! There should be zero tolerance for such interference by fans.

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 8:25 pm
by mate
sinequanon wrote:No surprise. The whole championship is rotten to the core.

That is why I don't involve myself with the tribal side of the game, or support any team. It is one seething mass of negative energy, where only a hypocrite can be a fan.

It really is the good, the bad, and the ugly.

But on the whole I think it is good. It's a spectacle. Pageantry. Partisan venting.

I don't take it too far. I ultimately don't care who who wins, as long as it's reasonably fair and qualitative. It's quality football I'm looking for.

Come now. Let loose a bit. You can be a fan and not be hypocritical...withstanding some of the BS that happens.

There's still some amazing football being played. It's fun to cheer, vent, and fight a little for one's side(s).

Even for Croatia! Albeit, you're a little to late.

:wink:

Cheers, Mate

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 8:27 pm
by mate
What also bugs me is that fellow fans don't impart some lessons on transgressors. I would never allow a fellow fan to do that. I'd at least immediately call security.

Knowing humans, this could set a trend. Imagine dozens or even hundreds of fools now trying this? Just stupid.

Cheers, Mate

Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 2:53 am
by kajifu
yannick wrote:seems like a North African thing
I hope they use d it one more time against Germany

Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2014 6:06 pm
by ElHadary
yannick wrote:seems like a North African thing
Yes, and it needs to stop. If it goes into someone's eyes the results could be disastrous.

Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2014 7:18 pm
by sinequanon
Mscheeeeeew!

It looks like a tiny 1mw laser. It isn't going to do any damage to the goalie's eyes.

I've got have a 1mW laser. The warning on it says "don't stare into the beam". And that's for 1 metre away, not 30 metres.

Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2014 7:47 pm
by green4life
mate wrote:
You're defending this?

Cheers, Mate
Not defending it but seems like its prevalent in North Africa. I didn't expect to see it on brazil but I was like 'oh shiet, they brought they laser thingy & what not'. It's what it is. We're used to it in Africa. Too bad for the naive Russians. :taunt:

Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2014 7:52 pm
by ElHadary
sinequanon wrote:Mscheeeeeew!

It looks like a tiny 1mw laser. It isn't going to do any damage to the goalie's eyes.

I've got have a 1mW laser. The warning on it says "don't stare into the beam". And that's for 1 metre away, not 30 metres.
All lasers have the potential to be dangerous to the human eye. The light intensity is simply too great.