Portugal 1 vs Morocco 0 (Match Thread) FT

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

Re: Portugal 1 vs Morocco 0 (Match Thread) 1H

uglyoneiamagain wrote:Hmmm this boy has come to this World Cup with anger

The guy is going for 7 man.

Re: Portugal 1 vs Morocco 0 (Match Thread) HT

Ronaldo 1 - Morocco 0

Half time. Portugal playing the percentages like most Euro team. Attacking sparingly but effectively. Amrabat killing the Portuguese left back and supplying some nice balls. Not enough Moroccan bodies in the middle to take advantage.
ElHadary
Suspended Member

Post by ElHadary »

Soccer's such a cruel sport.

Dang. Morocco have been horrible at finishing. They’ve done everything but at this pt

Mark Geiger is still an awful ref btw
Makanaky

Post by Makanaky »

airwolex wrote:Morocco besting the European champions. Take the game to these guys and they are not special.

They don’t have that cutting edge. They lack quality in front of goal. That’s going to be their biggest let down.
Nkono, Kunde, Massing, Tataw, Ebwelle , Pagal,Mbida, Mfede, Mbouh,Makanaky,Kana-Biyik,Oman-Biyik, Ekeke, Milla,.....Too Strong to be Intimidated, Too Stong to be defeated! Indomitable!!!! Marc Viven-Foe R.I.P!!!
tunde72

Post by tunde72 »

Jesus how is that not a penalty an he refused to check BAR. This Ref is crazy
YOU CAN ACHIEVE MORE ON YOUR KNEE THAN SPEAKING.

niyi wrote:
txj wrote:Problem for Maroc is not the ref. We have VAR thankfully

No direct running into the box by Maroc. Too much play around the last third but no cutting edge
Don't think they've used VAR yet
VAR guys are asleep in the booth today
VAR does not sleep :biggrin:
Stonewall pk in the box not reviewed suggests the contrary

What Morocco is doing is what is classically called "huffing and puffing".
Pls can we have some end product?
Portugal are not in this game at all.

Goldleaf wrote:What Morocco is doing is what is classically called "huffing and puffing".
Ronaldo is singlehandedly creating all of Portugal's threats.

tunde72 wrote:Jesus how is that not a penalty an he refused to check BAR. This Ref is crazy
Too early in the day to check that; even considering differences in time zone!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Metho scorpion

Post by Metho scorpion »

txj wrote:Problem for Maroc is not the ref. We have VAR thankfully

No direct running into the box by Maroc. Too much play around the last third but no cutting edge
...txj, please tell them more...couch Ref, couch player is plenty here...easier talk than done, calling out what they want to see instead of seeing what the world is seeing...

Goldleaf wrote:What Morocco is doing is what is classically called "huffing and puffing".
wrt possession, yes POR are not in it. But they have created more clear cut chances

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

I think it's a little bit more than huff and puff. Amrabat has delivered many dangerous balls into the box. Problem is they don't attack in numbers...the midfielders have to arrive in the box to help the lone striker. They need to be braver and trust their defenders to deal with CR7.

airwolex wrote:
I think it's a little bit more than huff and puff. Amrabat has delivered many dangerous balls into the box. Problem is they don't attack in numbers...the midfielders have to arrive in the box to help the lone striker. They need to be braver and trust their defenders to deal with CR7.
Potentially dangerous balls. But potential doesn't count. The Portuguese defensive zone in the box has been well marshalled.
As u rightly noted, they have to commit more men into the box, in the right areas.

airwolex wrote:
Fortune favors the brave. As it stands they're out so nothing to lose.

Synopsis wrote:This was the same ref in the France Nigeria match.
Mark Geiger. How does FIFA allow this guy to officiate in a game involving African teams after the damning report and score in his handling of the Nigeria/France game?
Godfather

Post by Godfather »

YUJAM wrote:Dang. Morocco have been horrible at finishing. They’ve done everything but at this pt

Mark Geiger is still an awful ref btw
I pray that guy don't officiate any of our games.
Tufiakwa
“Achebe was a writer in whose company the Prison walls fell down.” – Dr. Nelson Mandela.
Re: Portugal 1 vs Morocco 0 (Match Thread) 2H

Lol. Ronaldo killed some birds in Russia

Matter of time b/4 Benatia gets his inevitable 2nd YC

This AMerican ref will kill Morocco. Allows a quick fk that gives Ron a half chance.

Cmon Morocco!!!!

This Arabat has been super busy today