Page 2 of 2

Re: Simulation by Oxford University has no African team in 2nd Round

Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2022 2:32 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Nov 20, 2022 6:12 pm Mane being out , completes it for CAF teams, they will match the 2018 records
oboy this talk get as e be.... hopefully at least minimum one CAF team gets out. I still feel like Senegal, Morocco and even Tunisia make advance..

Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2022 7:30 pm
by Ipe Grams
Phew!!! In your face Oxford.

Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2022 7:35 pm
by Cellular
Ipe Grams wrote: Tue Nov 29, 2022 7:30 pm Phew!!! In your face Oxford.
A simulation that had an inherent bias built into it.

Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2022 7:42 pm
this is why i never went to Oxford, they are full of ish

Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2022 7:45 pm
by airwolex
Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Nov 29, 2022 7:42 pm this is why i never went to Oxford, they are full of ish

Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2022 7:56 pm
by 100%Naija
airwolex wrote: Tue Nov 29, 2022 7:45 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Nov 29, 2022 7:42 pm this is why i never went to Oxford, they are full of ish
hes a mad man :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2022 8:13 pm
by Ipe Grams
Cellular wrote: Tue Nov 29, 2022 7:35 pm
Watching it on TV here, the bias from many of the pundits is nauseating.

Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2022 8:52 pm
by Odas
AreaDaddy wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 1:22 pm Image
It goes to show sometimes, these simulations are TOTAL crap because it boils down to garbage-in, garbage-out.

Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2022 7:17 pm
by Donzman
Cellular wrote: Tue Nov 29, 2022 7:35 pm
Oxford should give way to UNIBEN... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2022 2:27 am
by mastermind
Simulation built by a racist is always going to be bias.

Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2022 3:06 am
by YUJAM
The inputs they used in their ML model are heavily biased against African teams. It’s up to Oxford to detail specifics.

Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2022 3:34 pm
by akamoke
As a statistician, I am shamed by this model

There is so much data / factors available to have been able to calibrate this model, but they chose the lazy route, I bet they put much emphasis on FIFA rankings

Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2022 4:06 pm
by Benedict Iroha

Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2022 4:49 pm
by scholl
mastermind wrote: Fri Dec 02, 2022 2:27 am Simulation built by a racist is always going to be bias.
Absolutely. When black folks begin gettin their behind beat by robot dogs from Boston Labs, they’ll still be acting like mugun.

Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2022 4:55 pm
by AreaDaddy

The detail of how they came up with their model.

Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:58 pm
by Donzman
Oxford, how far?

Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2022 8:31 pm
by akamoke
I want my money back, I went to Oxford :D

Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2022 10:16 pm
by TonyTheTigerKiller
Rawlings wrote: Sun Nov 20, 2022 5:53 am
maceo4 wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 6:25 pm
Scipio Africanus wrote: Sat Nov 19, 2022 2:49 pm I have to say this simulation is quite plausible.
It happened last time so clearly very possible…
The last time, Ghana was not present.
Ghana has never been to a world cup where an African team has not made it past the group stage
This time will not be different
Rawlings, you can take consolation in being right🤐❗️

Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2022 11:25 pm
by ohsee
Donzman wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:58 pm Oxford, how far?
Chief, look again. Their quarter final predictions were only off by two teams. They got six of the eight teams right.

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2022 11:23 am
by cchinukw
Racist algos at work. SMH!

Now I appreciate the need for data ethicists to keep these nerds huddled in their echo chambers in check.