Page 21 of 23

Re: [WC 2022] Portugal vs Ghana 3-2 FT

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:38 pm
by mate
smallpikin wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:24 pm How did that Williams guy not score with that gift of a chance from the Portugal keeper?

Man was I laughing when that play happened.

Football can be a CRAZY game.

Even a pro does stupid things in the moment.

That Portugal goalie probably died 1000x in those 2 seconds, getting resurrected at the end because it never went in.

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:43 pm
by felarey
smallpikin wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:24 pm How did that Williams guy not score with that gift of a chance from the Portugal keeper?
He was already celebrating the gift. That was annoying actually, he just flapped the chance.

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:44 pm
by Flex Swift
:taunt: I hope Dennis was watching how to take a pen

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:46 pm
by joplass
maceo4 wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:14 pm
eyan wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:12 pm
marko wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:10 pm VAR plus referee won the game for Portugal, was a shame VAR did not take a look at Ronaldo dive, sorry African teams are not it, will take another century for us to get our act together, we just cannot compete at this level, no matter how much we try, we come ill prepared to every major tournament, we are just there to make up the numbers, its sickening to watch, we need to remove our personal emotions from African teams and be neutral moving forward, Like I said, England and France, it is for me!
See another fool. Why couldn't Portugal win without ref assistance? The Portugal I saw is not better than Ghana. You guys just like to feel inferior.
Abi, Portugal was there for the taking, but if they play this organized bredas can get out of the group.
Before this game I thought Portugal was solid but that defense oh my.

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:51 pm
by Tobi17
Portugal should be worried with that defence, a team like Brazil would have shredded them to bits

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 9:17 pm
by Coach
3-2 down with minutes remaining and rather than run the ball to the centre spot, you’re doing a bootleg Ronny Whooosh!!! Naive.

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 9:28 pm
by King Futcha
Coach wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 9:17 pm 3-2 down with minutes remaining and rather than run the ball to the centre spot, you’re doing a bootleg Ronny Whooosh!!! Naive.
yes coach im sure those ten seconds of celebrating cost them the game, im sure portugal would have kicked off right away had they ran the ball to the center circle. thats it.

Re: [WC 2022] Portugal vs Ghana 3-2

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 10:11 pm
by Undertaker
eyan wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:06 pm
Undertaker wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 6:53 pm Africa, 5 games, 0 wins! And we want more spots?
See this fool. Instead of you to talk about referees being biased against African teams, you are making fun of those teams. You think the referee wouldn't have consulted the VAR if it were the other way round? African teams should learn to disrupt games until everyone is seen as equal.
STFU you uneducated fool! Oloshi! Why are Asian teams and South American teams not crying on your so call bias? :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Re: [WC 2022] Portugal vs Ghana 3-2

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 10:34 pm
by bret- hart
Undertaker wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 10:11 pm
eyan wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:06 pm
Undertaker wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 6:53 pm Africa, 5 games, 0 wins! And we want more spots?
See this fool. Instead of you to talk about referees being biased against African teams, you are making fun of those teams. You think the referee wouldn't have consulted the VAR if it were the other way round? African teams should learn to disrupt games until everyone is seen as equal.
STFU you uneducated fool! Oloshi! Why are Asian teams and South American teams not crying on your so call basis? :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Dont mind him. If not for dubious referring Ghana would not have qualified. VAR denied us a pk in Kumasi. They also relied on Ojoro to beat South Africa.

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 10:45 pm
by Odas
Hmm, so our brothers lost, eh? Though it's a loss, they didn't do too bad

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 10:54 pm
by Odas
mate wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:15 pm
marko wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:10 pm VAR plus referee won the game for Portugal, was a shame VAR did not take a look at Ronaldo dive, sorry African teams are not it, will take another century for us to get our act together, we just cannot compete at this level, no matter how much we try, we come ill prepared to every major tournament, we are just there to make up the numbers, its sickening to watch, we need to remove our personal emotions from African teams and be neutral moving forward, Like I said, England and France, it is for me!
I get your pain and don't mean to offend, but that's not a good attitude. Man, these things can be done. Somebody in charge just has to commit to it.

Seriously, take a look at the silver lining: for all the advantages Portugal has, we're still talking 3-2, a 1 goal difference.

No patronage: I get it takes great facilities, training, leagues, coaching, hell, a strong society. That's a lot to ensure that 1 goal margin turns the way of a Ghana or Nigeria.

But it can be done. Whenever Croatia disappoints me, I rant and rave. You know where! :) Joke.

Can't give up man. Croatia may bomb this WC, but I'll be back hoping. The good, bad, and ugly.

Finally, 2 more games for all the teams. We will see.
Sure! However, the 3-2 margin, or difference turns into VERY HUGE three points for the winner of the game, in this case, Portugal.

Thus, the goal margin is huge, and shouldn't be downplayed

Re: [WC 2022] Portugal vs Ghana

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 11:02 pm
by Odas
GREENWHITEGREEN wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 5:15 pm This short man from Man City dey always get on my nerves for no reason sha. But him be good player
Mmmmm? How can someone get on your 'nerves for no reason?' There must be a reason for your feeling(s) about him

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 11:15 pm
by green4life
Turkey sweet today paaaaa. My bredas happy thanksgiving ooo 🦃

Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2022 11:16 pm
by mate
Odas wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 10:54 pm
I get your pain and don't mean to offend, but that's not a good attitude. Man, these things can be done. Somebody in charge just has to commit to it.

Seriously, take a look at the silver lining: for all the advantages Portugal has, we're still talking 3-2, a 1 goal difference.

No patronage: I get it takes great facilities, training, leagues, coaching, hell, a strong society. That's a lot to ensure that 1 goal margin turns the way of a Ghana or Nigeria.

But it can be done. Whenever Croatia disappoints me, I rant and rave. You know where! :) Joke.

Can't give up man. Croatia may bomb this WC, but I'll be back hoping. The good, bad, and ugly.

Sure! However, the 3-2 margin, or difference turns into VERY HUGE three points for the winner of the game, in this case, Portugal.

Of course points get assigned appropriately. But these are derived from goals scored…with goal difference mattering as well.

All I’m saying is that the margins are tighter.

3-2 is competitive. Not just on the score, but in quality. Ghana did a solid job against a team that I think can win this WC.

The real difference, to come full circle, is Portugal has better players. That can change.

Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2022 12:13 am
by Tobi17
mate wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 11:16 pm

Of course points get assigned appropriately. But these are derived from goals scored…with goal difference mattering as well.

3-2 is competitive. Not just on the score, but in quality. Ghana did a solid job against a teamat I think can win this WC.

The real difference, to come full circle, is Portugal has better players. That can change.
Let's not get ahead of ourselves here, Portugal are good but definitely not good enough to win the WC. Brazil, France, Spain and even Argentina will feast on that Portugal defense

Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2022 12:58 am
Odas wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 10:45 pm Hmm, so our brothers lost, eh? Though it's a loss, they didn't do too bad
abeg do wetin, make we hear word, Rugged man no go ghana.

Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2022 1:53 am
by Odas
Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Nov 25, 2022 12:58 am
Odas wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 10:45 pm Hmm, so our brothers lost, eh? Though it's a loss, they didn't do too bad
abeg do wetin, make we hear word, Rugged man no go ghana.
Bigpokey24, I know Ghana lost, but are you saying they didn't do well? Though I didn't watch the game, but based on several posts in this thread, the game could have gone either way.

Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2022 2:01 am
by Odas
Tobi17 wrote: Fri Nov 25, 2022 12:13 am
mate wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 11:16 pm
marko wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:10 pm VAR plus referee won the game for Portugal, was a shame VAR did not take a look at Ronaldo dive, sorry African teams are not it, will take another century for us to get our act together, we just cannot compete at this level, no matter how much we try, we come ill prepared to every major tournament, we are just there to make up the numbers, its sickening to watch, we need to remove our personal emotions from African teams and be neutral moving forward, Like I said, England and France, it is for me

3-2 is competitive. Not just on the score, but in quality. Ghana did a solid job against a teamat I think can win this WC.

The real difference, to come full circle, is Portugal has better players. That can change
Let's not get ahead of ourselves here, Portugal are good but definitely not good enough to win the WC. Brazil, France, Spain and even Argentina will feast on that Portugal defense
Tobi17,

You seem to forget this is football and like in all sports, anything can happen in any game. Therefore, a supposed 'better team', can lose to a supposed 'weaker team' at anytime

Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2022 3:30 am
Just finished thanksgiving dinner and I remembered that TFCO and Rawlings had a very painful day. It was a great day guys! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Over to you, Korea! :lol: :lol:

Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2022 4:24 am
by Tobi17
danfo driver wrote: Fri Nov 25, 2022 3:30 am Just finished thanksgiving dinner and I remembered that TFCO and Rawlings had a very painful day. It was a great day guys! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Over to you, Korea! :lol: :lol:
How was your date? I heard you have a thing for that transgendered individual you met at the gay bar :rotf:

Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2022 9:19 am
by folem
anointed wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:32 pm
SylverEagles wrote: Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:08 pm Just seeing the goals nows. Rafael Leao looks offside there...
Certainly. If that Ecuador goal was off cos of a player's foot, this one definitely was

Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2022 9:32 am
by folem
Why Cristiano Ronaldo's penalty for Portugal vs. Ghana didn't go to a full VAR review

Possible penalty overturn: Salisu foul on Ronaldo
What happened: Portugal were awarded a penalty in the 62nd minute when Cristiano Ronaldo was knocked over by Mohammed Salisu.

VAR decision: Penalty stands, scored by Ronaldo.

Cristiano Ronaldo just got a touch on the ball ahead of Mohammed Salisu. EPA/Rolex dela Pena

VAR review: This only required a quick check by the VAR, United States referee Armando Villarreal.

Replays showed that Ronaldo definitely got to the ball first ahead of Salisu before there was contact on the Portugal striker's boot and upper body.

Even though this could certainly be considered a soft penalty, we have to look at it in VAR terms; it would not be seen as a clear and obvious error by the match referee, fellow American official Ismail Elfath. Equally, if the referee hadn't given the penalty, it's unlikely the VAR would have advised a spot kick.

If Salisu had gotten to the ball first before Ronaldo, this would have been grounds for a full review, but unfortunately for the Ghana defender, he failed to do so.

Portugal were awarded a penalty for a foul by Mohammed Salisu on Cristiano Ronaldo. Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

Ronaldo also thought he had scored in the 31st minute, but the referee had already blown for a foul against him for a push on Alexander Djiku. The VAR is unable to review anything after the referee's whistle, so he cannot look back at the foul to award the goal.

Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2022 9:39 am
by Dammy
I cannot support Ghana at the WC, not because they picked up the qualifying ticket ahead of us but because of their antics after qualifying for the WC.
Their media led a lot of disinformation about Nigeria. Firstly, they claimed their players and fans were attacked by Nigerian fans which turned out to be untrue as the Nigerian fans only vented their frustration on infrastructure in the stadium.
Secondly, their media claimed that rampaging Nigerian fans killed the FIFA medical officer who died after the game. This news was published in media outlets all over the world and it was also found to be false as the medical officer had a heart attack and died in hospital.
These false reports were meant to paint Nigeria in a bad light globally and also place severe FIFA sanctions on Nigeria.
That was beyond gamesmanship and revealed their true intentions towards Nigeria