Africa is not good at football

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

scholl
Re: Africa is not good at football

Post by scholl »

folem wrote: Sun Dec 18, 2022 4:43 pm
scholl wrote: Sun Dec 18, 2022 4:26 pm
folem wrote: Sun Dec 18, 2022 4:08 pm
scholl wrote: Sun Dec 18, 2022 2:05 pm
folem wrote: Sun Dec 18, 2022 1:48 pm
scholl wrote: Sun Dec 18, 2022 1:31 pm
folem wrote: Sun Dec 18, 2022 1:28 pm

Are African players very good or great by any stretch!?
Historically, yes.
Invariably any African team that can get enough very good/great players in its team will be very good/great,
There’s no direct correlation to what you just wrote. Great teams usually achieve success, not great players.

What constitutes a “very good/great player”? If Nigeria is country of many great and intelligent people, why is it a sh!thole?
U probably need a significant majority. Naija is what it is because those so called great and intelligent people are a tiny minority who more than likely will check out of the country after one upheaval or the other..If a team is made of mainly great players the sum of the team will likely reflect that.
So then, you would agree that African teams aren’t great globally, since there are no achievements to reflect their greatness?
Africa have been Olympic football Champions twice. That's good enough. With time WC Champions will happen for an African team. It may even happen the next time when the WC is hosted in Africa.
I don’t use the Olympic soccer as a yardstick. In my opinion, the WC is the most significant soccer event and Africa’s achievements haven’t been noteworthy. Of course there’s always a chance for success in the future but aren’t we talking about whether African teams are good….or “great”?
folem
Re: Africa is not good at football

Post by folem »

scholl wrote: Sun Dec 18, 2022 4:48 pm
folem wrote: Sun Dec 18, 2022 4:43 pm
scholl wrote: Sun Dec 18, 2022 4:26 pm
folem wrote: Sun Dec 18, 2022 4:08 pm
scholl wrote: Sun Dec 18, 2022 2:05 pm
folem wrote: Sun Dec 18, 2022 1:48 pm
scholl wrote: Sun Dec 18, 2022 1:31 pm

Historically, yes.
Invariably any African team that can get enough very good/great players in its team will be very good/great,
There’s no direct correlation to what you just wrote. Great teams usually achieve success, not great players.

What constitutes a “very good/great player”? If Nigeria is country of many great and intelligent people, why is it a sh!thole?
U probably need a significant majority. Naija is what it is because those so called great and intelligent people are a tiny minority who more than likely will check out of the country after one upheaval or the other..If a team is made of mainly great players the sum of the team will likely reflect that.
So then, you would agree that African teams aren’t great globally, since there are no achievements to reflect their greatness?
Africa have been Olympic football Champions twice. That's good enough. With time WC Champions will happen for an African team. It may even happen the next time when the WC is hosted in Africa.
I don’t use the Olympic soccer as a yardstick. In my opinion, the WC is the most significant soccer event and Africa’s achievements haven’t been noteworthy. Of course there’s always a chance for success in the future but aren’t we talking about whether African teams are good….or “great”?
WC is essentially U-27 and Olympics is U-23 (with a few overage),so in a nutshell Olympics is the next closest thing as a yardstick. Africa have been WC semi-finalist (as at now). So Re: Africa is not good at football - Topic; is a misnomer. Very Good or Great (although relative to Europe top 5 & S. America top 2) ... time will tell, but Africa is great at other levels of Men's football i.e. Junior teams.