[WC 2022 R16] JAPAN (1) Vs CROATIA (1)...CROATIA WINS 3-1 IN EXTRA TIME PKs

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

Re: [WC 2022 R16] JAPAN (1) Vs CROATIA (1)...CROATIA WINS 3-1 IN EXTRA TIME PKs

Meh. 2 average teams that fought to the bitter end. Yes, we have better players but faced endurance and steel determination.

We're going to get our #$% kicked vs Brazil like this. Unless Dalic tweaks the lineup with youth. And starts Orisc up front, who has speed. Our 2 dumb lugs up front are not going to outmuscle Brazil.

Margins man. Even with these kinds of players, we barely beat Japan. We have young players being sold for big $$$.

Takes a lot.

To be honest...now I am at peace. I get bragging rights for 2 solid WCs in a row. Fine, it ends next game, but is a solid foundation.

We have a great pipeline. Time to make the final transition.
GREENWHITEGREEN
Re: [WC 2022 R16] JAPAN (1) Vs CROATIA (1)

Post by GREENWHITEGREEN »

SylverEagles wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 6:50 pm Well, the quarter finals really shaping up to be a set of mouth-watering games:

1. Arg - Ned
2. Fra - Eng
3. Croatia - Bra?
4. Spa? - Por?

I hope Morocco and Switzerland upset the apple cart though.
1. Arg - Ned - Cheering for Ned
2. Fra - Eng - Cheering for France
3. Croatia - Bra? - Cheering for Croatia
4. Spa? - Por? - Cheering for Portugal
-Simpli fy -

joplass wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 6:51 pm mate is still praying he does not know the game is over :taunt:

Congrats mate. Your boyz did it. But can anyone tell me why Minamino wears number 10? That guy is completely useless. I knew he would miss the PK even before he hit the ball.
Lager-back

Post by Lager-back »

man this sucks for Samurai :roll: :roll:

Well we get to see Luka Modric, atleast one more time. :clap:

Congrats Mate :thumb:

Now back to yabbis on the Russian war thread :rotf:

GREENWHITEGREEN wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 6:53 pm
SylverEagles wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 6:50 pm Well, the quarter finals really shaping up to be a set of mouth-watering games:

1. Arg - Ned
2. Fra - Eng
3. Croatia - Bra?
4. Spa? - Por?

I hope Morocco and Switzerland upset the apple cart though.
1. Arg - Ned - Cheering for Ned
2. Fra - Eng - Cheering for France
3. Croatia - Bra? - Cheering for Croatia
4. Spa? - Por? - Cheering for Portugal
Chief, I like all this your cheerings oh, except cheering for Croatia against Brasil. mate na my very good friend, but when it comes to Brasil, the greatest football country in the world, I will always cheer for Brasil, even though Neymar makes me want to spit every time I see him.

ohsee wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 6:55 pm Congrats mate. Your boyz did it. But can anyone tell me why Minamino wears number 10? That guy is completely useless. I knew he would miss the PK even before he hit the ball.
A number 10 wearing sub. Never started a game. Dunno how they pick shirts in Japan.

Thanks guys.

But I have no illusions. This is as far as we go, but for some extraordinary luck.

This is a good team on paper, not as good as 2018...but not playing to potential.

I know Japan is not easy, as Germany and Spain found out. But we should be capable of beating Japan in regular time, but labored and suffered the luck of penalties.

We created some chances. Again, to come full circle: NO FORWARDS.

Within the last 8, no defense and midfield can compensate for this.

green4life wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 6:48 pm
maceo4 wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 6:46 pm Even the one they scored was a poor PK
What's a poor pk? Croatia goalie guessed right and made good saves. Good pks can be saved.
Poor IMO is when it’s not in the corner hit with good velocity. But a poor pk can go in if keeper guesses the wrong way, but overtime you will be found it if you consistently take them poorly.

Comrade Machel wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 6:56 pm Congrats Mate :thumb:

Una still dey yab for that thread? I have completely forgotten about it, so caught up as I have been in this World Cup. I will pay it a visit later today.

theDunamis wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 5:51 pm
mate wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 5:47 pm Modric is also playing poorly. Not his A game for sure.

The only standout for us so far is Gvardiol.

You see that seemingly a-hole move that Perisic pulled a minute ago blocking Japan from a quick freekick. That is what experience brings to the field. The crowd booed but he knew the importance of that.

True.

Perisic bailed us out. But I am not sure I have to eat my words on him. He still misses a lot of chances.

There's something to be said about having a young Majer in for him.

Well, we move on.

Brazil next.

maceo4 wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 7:02 pm
What's a poor pk? Croatia goalie guessed right and made good saves. Good pks can be saved.
Poor IMO is when it’s not in the corner hit with good velocity. But a poor pk can go in if keeper guesses the wrong way, but overtime you will be found it if you consistently take them poorly.
Professional players say, no matter how good you are at penalties, no matter how many you've scored or practiced, nothing prepares you for taking a penalty in a shootout at the World Cup. I bet the Japanese did their homework, it just didn't happen for them.

ohsee wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 7:03 pm
Comrade Machel wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 6:56 pm Congrats Mate :thumb:

Una still dey yab for that thread? I have completely forgotten about it, so caught up as I have been in this World Cup. I will pay it a visit later today.

I'm kinda also caught up in WC fever.

:)

Croatia are taking over from Germany as the WC PK shootout monsters. They have been involved in 3 PK shootouts at the WC and have won all of them!

felarey wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 7:05 pm
Professional players say, no matter how good you are at penalties, no matter how many you've scored or practiced, nothing prepares you for taking a penalty in a shootout at the World Cup. I bet the Japanese did their homework, it just didn't happen for them.

I 1000% believe Japan prepared incessantly for PKs.

But you are right.

You can't replicate being in the stadium under the roaring fans...knowing it's all on you now.

A semi final slot is no way guaranteed for Brazil if they face Croatia. They will have to bring a very serious A game and be clinical. Missing chances against Croatia is dying a slow death. They know how to handle football exuberance and deal with teams that are up for it :lol: Hard to beat.

felarey wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 7:08 pm A semi final slot is no way guaranteed for Brazil if they face Croatia. They will have to bring a very serious A game and be clinical. Missing chances against Croatia is dying a slow death. They know how to handle football exuberance and deal with teams that are up for it :lol: Hard to beat.
They haven't beaten Korea yet guys

mate wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 7:06 pm
felarey wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 7:05 pm

I 1000% believe Japan prepared incessantly for PKs.

But you are right.

You can't replicate being in the stadium under the roaring fans...knowing it's all on you now.
Definitely agree, the pressure during the real thing is crazy, but there are teams who do seem to always have the right mentality to be able to handle these situations like Germany etc…Croatia is actually turning out to be another one given what they did in the last WC and continuing to this one…

airwolex wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 7:10 pm
felarey wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 7:08 pm A semi final slot is no way guaranteed for Brazil if they face Croatia. They will have to bring a very serious A game and be clinical. Missing chances against Croatia is dying a slow death. They know how to handle football exuberance and deal with teams that are up for it :lol: Hard to beat.
They haven't beaten Korea yet guys
Hence the big IF.

chopachop

Post by chopachop »

Croatia was so poor in this match, they were poor against Belgium if not of lukaku they would have
the competition good bye, I am surprised they don't any forward players, no wingers that could take
on the Japanese.
chopachop

Post by chopachop »

Brazil will despatch the Korean team with ease,
I won't be surprised if it ends 4 nil.