[WC 2022 R16] MOROCCO 0(3) SPAIN 0(0) PKs Morocco advances to the Quarter finals!!!!

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

Re: [WC 2022 R16] MOROCCO 0(3) SPAIN 0(0) PKs Morocco advances to the Quarter finals!!!!

Donzman wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:02 pm
Sleaky72 wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:57 pm Is it an accident or is there something to the fact that commentators keep saying the Arab world and not the African world are celebrating Morocco’s success?

Wonder whether those North African nations consider themselves more Arabian than African
They are both.
Interesting.
Thanks.
Doesn’t change the fact that they are well deserving winners
chamforna
Re: [WC 2022 R16] MOROCCO 0(3) SPAIN 0(0) PKs Morocco advances to the Quarter finals!!!!

Post by chamforna »

BeIN sports are now talking in terms of a Muslim team.......

Cito wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:59 pm
wanaj0 wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:58 pm
Kabalega wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:55 pm I cannot believe how bad Spao and Japan are at penalties.
Spain was NOT bad at penalties. Give credit to the Moroccan keeper. He failed to commit himself. He was calm and composed.
Bono is a very good goal keeper.
It showed. He guessed right at all times.
chamforna

Post by chamforna »

BeIN sports are now talking in terms of a Muslim team.......

Sleaky72 wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:57 pm Is it an accident or is there something to the fact that commentators keep saying the Arab world and not the African world are celebrating Morocco’s success?

Wonder whether those North African nations consider themselves more Arabian than African
They are both.
Morocco consider themselves Arab first, European next and African only when convenient.
Even their 2010 Africa World Cup bid was declined for being unAfrican.
SylverEagles
Re: [WC 2022 R16] MOROCCO 0 SPAIN 0

Post by SylverEagles »

airwolex wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:03 pm
SylverEagles wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:01 pm
airwolex wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:53 pm
SylverEagles wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:49 pm HAHAHAHAHA The supreme bottlers do it again!!
They are not bottlers though. They are a mid-team. They lost against Japan and Morocco and drew against Germany.
Not to diminish the work and effort of Morocco here but it seems we have all forgotten the history of Spain over the decades? Apart from 2008 - 2012, they have constantly failed to live up to expectations. I always wait for them to fail, it is almost set in stone.
It is the other way around boss, they overachieved in 2008-2012, and this is their level.
Hmm, that's one way of looking at it. May be people's expectations are always just beyond their capability. :thumb:

ohsee wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:06 pm
Kabalega wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:55 pm I cannot believe how bad Spao and Japan are at penalties.
Spain was NOT bad at penalties. Give credit to the Moroccan keeper. He failed to commit himself. He was calm and composed.
My bros, Bono knows all those Spanish players. :lol: He plays in La Liga for Sevilla. His entire decade-long career has been in La Liga, playing for five Spanish clubs. :biggrin: I am sure the penarity takers knew it, and it contributed to their inability to score. But yes, Bono is excellent. And most importantly, a team that depends on defending MUST practice penalty kicks rigorously. Which the evidence suggests the Moroccans did. :thumbs: :thumbs:
No. They picked their penalty kickers at the huddle after the FT, according to someone here. They just called out names and they response was YES SIR.

There are 3 essential things you should do in a Peña.
Spain did none of them.

fabio wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:08 pm
wanaj0 wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:04 pm
felarey wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:02 pm The Moroccans picked their penalty takers in their huddle. Players just called out names and got the ok from the player while their coach went thru each finger on one hand... interesting. That way it's everyone's call.
That's characteristics of a TEAM. Everyone working towards the same goal. Resolute defending by everyone. A lot to learn from them. They played to their strength.
You sef wan subscribe to the view sey Africans no dey plan. no fall my hand.
It is not about Africans but subscribing to the TEAM concept. The Moroccan team worked for each other. You have teams from all the confederations that cannot put in the hard work.

You saw Nigeria when a player took the ball from the designated penalty taker. That is INDISCIPLINE and such a player should be banished from the TEAM except he is a Maradona!
Donzman

Post by Donzman »

Kabalega wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:09 pm

They are both.
Morocco consider themselves Arab first, European next and African only when convenient.
I do not think this is a debate we want to have, but there are some who consider themselves African and others consider themselves Arab, and others consider both.

They also play in CAF so is an African Federation.

chamforna wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:08 pm BeIN sports are now talking in terms of a Muslim team.......
There we go …

Sleaky72 wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:13 pm
chamforna wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:08 pm BeIN sports are now talking in terms of a Muslim team.......
There we go …
Predictable. It's just getting warmed up :rotf:

They are both.
I’d always heard that about Northern African nations so that’s why I asked.
Funny I used to like Argentina but once I learned they ethnically cleansed all people of color, not only from the national team but society I couldn’t bring myself to root for ‘em ever. South American teams are historically integrated but they ain’t having it.

Not making a comparison to Morocco but just wondering about National identities

Donzman wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:12 pm

They are both.
I do not think this is a debate we want to have, but there are some who consider themselves African and others consider themselves Arab, and others consider both.

:lol: :lol: Sounds like chasing a woman who doesn’t care that much for you…. :)

fabio wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:08 pm
wanaj0 wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:04 pm
felarey wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:02 pm The Moroccans picked their penalty takers in their huddle. Players just called out names and got the ok from the player while their coach went thru each finger on one hand... interesting. That way it's everyone's call.
That's characteristics of a TEAM. Everyone working towards the same goal. Resolute defending by everyone. A lot to learn from them. They played to their strength.
You sef wan subscribe to the view sey Africans no dey plan. no fall my hand.
Stop trying to be clever by half, it was very apparent. Maybe your feed didn't show it. And yes, it doesn't mean Africans don't plan, really don't know how you came to that thought talkless conclusion. For me it's a sign of a team that wins and loses together. Your mates ask you to take it, that's an infallible mandate.

green4life wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:14 pm
Sleaky72 wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:13 pm
There we go …
Predictable. It's just getting warmed up :rotf:
Success has many fathers but FAILURE is an orphan

Kabalega wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:16 pm

They are both.

Boom!!
GREENWHITEGREEN

Post by GREENWHITEGREEN »

With Spain out, I bet they think it's more likely to come home.
-Simpli fy -

fabio wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:10 pm
ohsee wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:06 pm
My bros, Bono knows all those Spanish players. :lol: He plays in La Liga for Sevilla. His entire decade-long career has been in La Liga, playing for five Spanish clubs. :biggrin: I am sure the penarity takers knew it, and it contributed to their inability to score. But yes, Bono is excellent. And most importantly, a team that depends on defending MUST practice penalty kicks rigorously. Which the evidence suggests the Moroccans did. :thumbs: :thumbs:
No. They picked their penalty kickers at the huddle after the FT, according to someone here. They just called out names and they response was YES SIR.
You seem butt hurt by this development, only thing you can think of is negative, amazing!

They are both.

There are Moroccans players right now celebrating with the Berber flag, those players do not consider themselves Arab.

Morocco in this cup will represent many things, African, Arab, Berber, Muslim, non top tier and will cheered on by many.

As we say success has many fathers..
GREENWHITEGREEN

Post by GREENWHITEGREEN »

H-A-K-I-M-I!
-Simpli fy -
Donzman

Post by Donzman »

Kabalega wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:16 pm

They are both.

If that is how you see it. Let me ask you, are Sudanese Africans or Arabs? How about Somalis, are they African? Arab is a culture and some Africans are Arabs.

Identify is not either/or, not sure how that is "chasing a woman who doesn't care for you."

Anyway, congrats to Morocco. Africa has a representative in the QF.

Sleaky72 wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:16 pm

They are both.
I’d always heard that about Northern African nations so that’s why I asked.
Funny I used to like Argentina but once I learned they ethnically cleansed all people of color, not only from the national team but society I couldn’t bring myself to root for ‘em ever. South American teams are historically integrated but they ain’t having it.

Not making a comparison to Morocco but just wondering about National identities
Careful.
National identities are getting more fluid and it’s a individual call for the players.
Also, all my comments on the issue are generalizations.