[WC 2022 R16] MOROCCO 0(3) SPAIN 0(0) PKs Morocco advances to the Quarter finals!!!!

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

Re: [WC 2022 R16] MOROCCO 0(3) SPAIN 0(0) PKs Morocco advances to the Quarter finals!!!!

felarey wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:32 pm Moroccans are not arabs, they are North Africans. They'd stone you if you call them arabs especially the ones speaking Berber and not Arabic. They were conquered by arabs and anyone of them considering themselves arabs are just products of arabisation (if that's a word). None the less, they are Africans.
This is not entirely correct.

Morocco is mostly an Arabic and Muslim nation - and yes they are African.

Berbers are the minority.

atlas86
Re: [WC 2022 R16] MOROCCO 0(3) SPAIN 0(0) PKs Morocco advances to the Quarter finals!!!!

Post by atlas86 »

Kabalega wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:09 pm
Donzman wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:02 pm
Sleaky72 wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:57 pm Is it an accident or is there something to the fact that commentators keep saying the Arab world and not the African world are celebrating Morocco’s success?

Wonder whether those North African nations consider themselves more Arabian than African
They are both.
Morocco consider themselves Arab first, European next and African only when convenient.
Even their 2010 Africa World Cup bid was declined for being unAfrican.
No morrocan consider himself as european we are berbers african and arab.

atlas86 wrote: Wed Dec 07, 2022 12:00 am
Sleaky72 wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:57 pm Is it an accident or is there something to the fact that commentators keep saying the Arab world and not the African world are celebrating Morocco’s success?

Wonder whether those North African nations consider themselves more Arabian than African
They are both.
Morocco consider themselves Arab first, European next and African only when convenient.
Congratulations on your great victory! :clap: :clap: :clap:

this is how i am feeling about CAF football in Qatar

They are both.
wrong, a Ugandan knows more about your country than you do.

long time no see, congrats brother!

They are both.

Alsalam Aleikum from a Croatian-American my brother.

Croatia and Morocco made it to the final 8...confirming the superiority of our group.

Welcome to success. How does it feel? Lets both of us act like we've been there before.

:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

Just messing. Good luck to Morocco and Croatia.

Naysayers are doubting both our teams against Portugal and Brazil.

We will show them, In-sha-Allah!

Hakimi, the guy who coolly slotted the last winning penalty for Morocco was born and bred in Spain, and was trained in the youth set-up at Real Madrid. :D :taunt: E pain ndi Spain. :biggrin: Why was he not capped for Spain? These are neighbouring countries. If you stand near the water at the yacht club in Malaga, you can see the Atlas mountains in Moorocco. :lol: Just a small boat ride across the sea. That's how come the Moors were able to cross over and rule parts of Spain for 800 years. :thumbs: When Africans were kings. :D Today we ruled Spain again in football. :biggrin:

On another note, why was Laporte crying at the end? No be Frenchman e be? :biggrin: His team still dey for Wol Cup. Yes, I know why he was crying. Na yokes a dey yokes. :biggrin:

ohsee wrote: Wed Dec 07, 2022 2:47 am Hakimi, the guy who coolly slotted the last winning penalty for Morocco was born and bred in Spain, and was trained in the youth set-up at Real Madrid. :D :taunt: E pain ndi Spain. :biggrin: Why was he not capped for Spain? These are neighbouring countries. If you stand near the water at the yacht club in Malaga, you can see the Atlas mountains in Moorocco. :lol: Just a small boat ride across the sea. That's how come the Moors were able to cross over and rule parts of Spain for 800 years. :thumbs: When Africans were kings. :D Today we ruled Spain again in football. :biggrin:

On another note, why was Laporte crying at the end? No be Frenchman e be? :biggrin: His team still dey for Wol Cup. Yes, I know why he was crying. Na yokes a dey yokes. :biggrin:
they tried to cap him clay, he didn't agree. good for him.

ohsee wrote: Wed Dec 07, 2022 2:47 am Hakimi, the guy who coolly slotted the last winning penalty for Morocco was born and bred in Spain, and was trained in the youth set-up at Real Madrid. :D :taunt: E pain ndi Spain. :biggrin: Why was he not capped for Spain? These are neighbouring countries. If you stand near the water at the yacht club in Malaga, you can see the Atlas mountains in Moorocco. :lol: Just a small boat ride across the sea. That's how come the Moors were able to cross over and rule parts of Spain for 800 years. :thumbs: When Africans were kings. :D Today we ruled Spain again in football. :biggrin:

:curse: Im so mad at Enrique. Why didnt he take Ramos? That was the guy Spain needed to help break down that Moroccan bus.

bret- hart wrote: Wed Dec 07, 2022 3:02 am

:curse: Im so mad at Enrique. Why didnt he take Ramos? That was the guy Spain needed to help break down that Moroccan bus.
Ramos the defender?

I think Thiago was more needed.

The YeyeMan wrote: Wed Dec 07, 2022 3:03 am
bret- hart wrote: Wed Dec 07, 2022 3:02 am

Ramos the defender?

I think Thiago was more needed.
Yes that Ramos.

They are both.
Well, the FIFA members who saw Morocco’s 2010 World Cup bid presentation were left with the impresssion that Morocco was European. Certainly not African.

That’s how Morocco lost out to S. Africa.
Re: [WC 2022 R16] MOROCCO 0 SPAIN 0

King Futcha wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:36 pm
Cito wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:31 pm
King Futcha wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:17 pm
Cito wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:15 pm Morocco needs at least an average striker and they will be OK. That #21 no be am.
he's good unfortunately the bright lights are getting to him.
You mean all these chances he kept missing ,that an average striker could put away, were caused by the occasion?
he has nine goals and four assists in twelve appearances this season, i'd say thats pretty good, so i will conclude its the occasion.
While playing in serie B. Don’t forget to add that little info.
The guy shouldn’t be on the team. He is below average and Morocco needs better.
Re: [WC 2022 R16] MOROCCO 0 SPAIN 0

Cito wrote: Wed Dec 07, 2022 3:30 pm
King Futcha wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:36 pm
Cito wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:31 pm
King Futcha wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:17 pm
Cito wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:15 pm Morocco needs at least an average striker and they will be OK. That #21 no be am.
he's good unfortunately the bright lights are getting to him.
You mean all these chances he kept missing ,that an average striker could put away, were caused by the occasion?
he has nine goals and four assists in twelve appearances this season, i'd say thats pretty good, so i will conclude its the occasion.
While playing in serie B. Don’t forget to add that little info.
The guy shouldn’t be on the team. He is below average and Morocco needs better.
im gonna safely assume you've never seen the guy play before yesterday. he knows how to score, that is why he was in the team. he didn't perform yesterday but to say he doesn't deserve to be there based on that, is lazy analysis. but you apparently know better than the coach who has his team in the quarterfinals so i will leave it there.

The YeyeMan wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 11:13 pm
felarey wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:32 pm Moroccans are not arabs, they are North Africans. They'd stone you if you call them arabs especially the ones speaking Berber and not Arabic. They were conquered by arabs and anyone of them considering themselves arabs are just products of arabisation (if that's a word). None the less, they are Africans.

They are as Arabic as Nigeria is English. Any arab influence came from conquest. If nigerians were white, we could be called English.

Interestingly, Morocco’s defeat of Spain brought rapturous applause and celebration across the so-called Arab world and in diasporic communities identifying as such. Prominent buildings and monuments have been lit up in Moroccan red or draped in their flag and footage of the Palestinian flag be toasted in the dressing room is doing the rounds. Why Palestine and not the GWG or colours of their fallen, departure lounge comrades?

Given their representation of all Africa according to Cyberia, is there any evidence of similar celebrations in Nigeria, Ghana, Senegal, South Africa, Cote D’Ivoire, Kenya, Uganda, Congo etc etc. After all, is this not a triumph for all Africa?

Why’s the homepage still green? Throw some Red on it Mods, Africa’s up in this biyatch.

felarey wrote: Wed Dec 07, 2022 9:55 pm

They are as Arabic as Nigeria is English. Any arab influence came from conquest. If nigerians were white, we could be called English.
It is not the same at all bros. They are Arab and Berber Africans just as the only Moroccan here has said.

airwolex wrote: Thu Dec 08, 2022 12:40 am

It is not the same at all bros. They are Arab and Berber Africans just as the only Moroccan here has said.
The Moroccan has spoken but Nigerians will correct him and tell him what they think he is. :rotf:

Not gonna argue, Berbers are indigenous to Morocco, Arabs are not. They are very distinct people only united by religion i.e. Islam (sunni) hence why some think they're arabs. Many have eurocentric features like green, blue eyes, red, blonde hair etc. Arabs have black hair, brown/black eyes. If it counts, once dated a moroccan from Montreal, for the love of God, they don't want to be called arabs. Lebanese? Maybe...

If you interact with them for 2 mins, you'd know they're not the same as saudis, emiratis, qataris etc. Outfits more colourful, more horsemen than arabs. Now Morocco itself has many settlers...arabs, turks, persians, east europeans, kurds etc.

The YeyeMan wrote: Thu Dec 08, 2022 12:46 am

The Moroccan has spoken but Nigerians will correct him and tell him what they think he is. :rotf:
Common now, sometimes we argue over igbo vs ibo. I wouldn't pick my awareness from CE.

Coach wrote: Thu Dec 08, 2022 12:19 am Interestingly, Morocco’s defeat of Spain brought rapturous applause and celebration across the so-called Arab world and in diasporic communities identifying as such. Prominent buildings and monuments have been lit up in Moroccan red or draped in their flag and footage of the Palestinian flag be toasted in the dressing room is doing the rounds. Why Palestine and not the GWG or colours of their fallen, departure lounge comrades?

Given their representation of all Africa according to Cyberia, is there any evidence of similar celebrations in Nigeria, Ghana, Senegal, South Africa, Cote D’Ivoire, Kenya, Uganda, Congo etc etc. After all, is this not a triumph for all Africa?

Why’s the homepage still green? Throw some Red on it Mods, Africa’s up in this biyatch.

Coach,

You are on to something.
DOHA/RABAT, Dec 6 (Reuters) - Moroccans wildly celebrating their team's historic World Cup knockout victory over Spain on Tuesday were joined by people across the Middle East and North Africa ecstatic at what they saw as a victory for the entire Arab world.

From Baghdad to Casablanca, fans cheered as Morocco became the first Arabic-speaking country to reach the quarter-finals of the World Cup in Qatar, the first held in an Arab country. They won 3-0 on penalties after a 0-0 draw following extra time.
https://www.reuters.com/lifestyle/sport ... 022-12-06/

Iraqi Shi'ite cleric Moqtada al-Sadr, Dubai ruler Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid al-Maktoum, Lebanese Prime Minister Najib Mikati and Libyan Prime Minister Abdulhamid al-Dbeibah were among those to congratulate Morocco.

“This is a win for all Arabs, not just Morocco and the joy is even greater since it was achieved on Arab soil,” said Hazem al Fayez, a Jordanian who was honking his car horn in Amman to celebrate.

“I think it’s a great and much-needed win for the youth of the Arab world and especially the youth of Morocco," said Ralph Beydoun, 31, in Beirut.
Interesting perspectives