So is Africa still good in football?

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

So is Africa still good in football?

too many strange threads popping up after match day one..now we have a CAF team in the Q-finals .

Give us more slots and watch us win it

get this into una heads... our competition is Europe's elites /Brazil and Argentina..CAF football is freaking hard

Re: So is Africa still good in football?

Morocco does not play like fools, like the typical African team. Did you see them tracking runners all day? Abeg pack dis rubbish comot hia.

Indeed we are bros...indeed we are!

Scipio Africanus wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:53 pm Morocco does not play like fools, like the typical African team. Did you see them tracking runners all day? Abeg pack dis rubbish comot hia.
Morocco qualified from the CAF region and they are an African country . you should learn to encourage your own ... They aren't better than us. The worldcup isn't designed for CAF, CONCACAF or AFC to win it. shebi we get 9 teams in 2026..we go see..

airwolex wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:56 pm Indeed we are bros...indeed we are!
Now you are North African abi? :mrgreen: Abeg go and hide in shame. Using the well organized North Africans to pose while your rat eaten house is crumbling in full view of everybody in the public market square :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Scipio Africanus wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:59 pm
Now you are North African abi? :mrgreen: Abeg go and hide in shame. Using the well organized North Africans to pose while your rat eaten house is crumbling in full view of everybody in the public market square :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
abeg, follow us Celebrate . no vex..but we will watch another CAF team in the world-cup and they have a 50% chance to overcome Portugal/Switzerland..

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:04 pm
abeg, follow us Celebrate . no vex..but we will watch another CAF team in the world-cup and they have a 50% chance to overcome Portugal/Switzerland..
I am celebrating o! I don order my couscous with extra lamb already! :thumbs:

Like Tunisia?

But you did not differentiate when you lumped the entire Africa together

The next AFCON will be so competitive ... i am so excited .. Let's go CAF

wanaj0 wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:06 pm
Like Tunisia?

Tunisia is also very well organized. Germany was bounced in the 1st round of their WC too. Does that mean they don't have an organized league? Go and fix your damned country and stop looking for excuses for abject failure :arrow: :arrow:
Last edited by Scipio Africanus on Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Bros they used our jaga jaga model oh, with most of their players stolen from Europe. Just enjoy the victory with us. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

airwolex wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:11 pm
Bros they used our jaga jaga model oh, with most of their players stolen from Europe. Just enjoy the victory with us. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I am currently waiting for my couscous with extra lamb to arrive. Who no like better tin? :mrgreen:

Scipio Africanus wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:10 pm
Like Tunisia?

Tunisia is also very well organized. Germany was bounced in the 1st round of their WC too. Does that mean they don't have an organized league? Go and fix your damned country and stop looking for excuses for abject failure :arrow: :arrow:
BUT you were not discussing Nigeria but rather AFRICA :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Scipio Africanus wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:53 pm Morocco does not play like fools, like the typical African team. Did you see them tracking runners all day? Abeg pack dis rubbish comot hia.
Oh really, interesting we finding this out from you NOW and not in the group stages, you could have said at the time that Africa can't play football EXCEPT Morocco

Monday morning quarter backing sure is fun :biggrin:

Like Tunisia?

Instead of getting others to do it, why not take the initiative, Ah ..its "those" Africans, my bad!!! :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

wanaj0 wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 7:14 pm
Like Tunisia?

BUT you were not discussing Nigeria but rather AFRICA :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
I just love how folks are trying to jsutify their position by adding jara when their initial premise has been debunked

Anyone can make an argument for or against anything

One thing is clear, its very likely we "African fans" that are naive about football and not the players who are professionals and dont go out to a game wit an intention to lose or play badly
wazobia

Post by wazobia »

The top African and Asian teams can compete with the the European and South American teams once you exclude the top 5 or 6 European teams and Brazil/Argentina. Unfortunately the dominance of these 8 teams or so is used to justify the places allocated to European and South American teams. The 48 team format will offer African and Asians teams opportunities to progress to the latter stages, even if from a statistical standpoint alone. Theee is a possibility of an African team being seeded if FIFA rankings are used. These small details account for some of the reasons we struggle to make deep runs in the World Cup.We might not yet see much progress in 2026 but it will surely come with more slots.
WOWO = ONO (oh no!) = OBO

WOWO 'We only want Oyinbo'

ONO 'Oyinbo na Oyinbo'

OBO 'Oyinbo be Oyinbo'

Do a probability analysis of 50% likely win outcome for each team at any game in the world cup and a European team wins the cup. So the number of teams from each federation works in their favor.

oboy some of these European teams will never ever qualify out of Africa ..chei

akamoke wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 8:17 pm
Like Tunisia?

Instead of getting others to do it, why not take the initiative, Ah ..its "those" Africans, my bad!!! :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
So I'm supposed to leave my job and travel thousand of miles to go and do the job of people WHO ARE ALREADY BEING PAID TO DO THE DAMNED JOB! What next, I should go and fix the go-slow situation in Lagos and clean up the dirty gutters? Damn son! Take time o!

akamoke wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 8:20 pm
Like Tunisia?

I just love how folks are trying to jsutify their position by adding jara when their initial premise has been debunked

One thing is clear, its very likely we "African fans" that are naive about football and not the players who are professionals and dont go out to a game wit an intention to lose or play badly
Every post of yours has the word "naive" in it, even when that is not the topic under discussion. Did someone call you naive at work? See this is what happens when you spend too much time with Oyinbos exclusively. If you don't have strong self esteem you begin to take every bit of criticism personally.

A well adjusted person understands that they are separate from their actions. A mental weak, inferiority complex-riddled person with low self esteem CANNOT accept even a grain of criticism because in their mind it confirms their already very low opinion of themselves. Of course these people hide their low self esteem by being excessively proud of being [insert any nationality here].

Go ahead and reply, and don't forget to use the word "naive" again! :mrgreen:

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 6:50 pm too many strange threads popping up after match day one..now we have a CAF team in the Q-finals .

Give us more slots and watch us win it

get this into una heads... our competition is Europe's elites /Brazil and Argentina..CAF football is freaking hard
Really?  :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: How hard is hard for CAF football? Anyway, all games are hard, whether CAF, or not

Scipio Africanus wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 10:23 pm
akamoke wrote: Tue Dec 06, 2022 8:20 pm
Like Tunisia?

Every post of yours has the word "naive" in it, even when that is not the topic under discussion. Did someone call you naive at work? See this is what happens when you spend too much time with Oyinbos exclusively. If you don't have strong self esteem you begin to take every bit of criticism personally.

A well adjusted person understands that they are separate from their actions. A mental weak, inferiority complex-riddled person with low self esteem CANNOT accept even a grain of criticism because in their mind it confirms their already very low opinion of themselves. Of course these people hide their low self esteem by being excessively proud of being [insert any nationality here].

Go ahead and reply, and don't forget to use the word "naive" again! :mrgreen:
What a naive comment :P

However, I won't let you ascribe that statement to me, I am just pointing out the ridiculousness of the statement which people use simply because they heard some European TV commentator use it..but hey lets use it on CE to make us seem like we are making intelligent analysis

Criticisms is ok but calling people brainless, naive, unable to play football...that's not criticism , that is insult and hardly helpful

On your other point, so its easy to criticize but when asked to step to the plate, its someone else's job

Got it!!!