by Damunk
Synopsis wrote: Sat Dec 10, 2022 11:02 pm Image
Hmmmm.
No comment before dem winch me. :rotf:

Re: Portion of players not born in the country of their team. World Cup 2022

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2022 3:16 am
by Molue Conductor
World be interested to see countries ranked by number of players by birth.

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2022 12:11 pm
by airwolex
Yep...Morocco has been very clever using stars nurtured by others. Na so

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2022 12:17 pm
by panafrican
Morocco has 16 players born outside. And the coach Walid Regragui was born in France.

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2022 12:24 pm
100% of Argentina's players were all born in Argentina and they made the last 4..hmmmm see how daft this graph is?

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2022 12:27 pm
by airwolex
Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Dec 11, 2022 12:24 pm 100% of Argentina's players were all born in Argentina and they made the last 4..hmmmm see how daft this graph is?
But it is just giving you the data. How is it daft?

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2022 12:57 pm
by Enugu II
Molue Conductor wrote: Sun Dec 11, 2022 3:16 am
World be interested to see countries ranked by number of players by birth.
It is very interesting data. Lots if interesting ways to look at data. There may also be one that may look at teams with Managers who are coaching their own national teams v Managers coaching other national teams, etc.

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2022 3:24 pm
by camex
There is a clear proof of something I Saïd earlier. That francophone countries get more from thé diaspora than anglophones, one. I Wonder why.

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2022 4:33 pm
by wazobia
camex wrote: Sun Dec 11, 2022 3:24 pm There is a clear proof of something I Saïd earlier. That francophone countries get more from thé diaspora than anglophones, one. I Wonder why.
Probably a couple of organizational things which make it easier to play for these countries. I would not lump all francophone countries together though. Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia stand out. Senegal is probably the best of the rest. Foreign born Nigerian players identify with the culture but our poor organization holds them back from representing Nigeria.

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2022 4:48 pm
by Damunk
airwolex wrote: Sun Dec 11, 2022 12:27 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Dec 11, 2022 12:24 pm 100% of Argentina's players were all born in Argentina and they made the last 4..hmmmm see how daft this graph is?
But it is just giving you the data. How is it daft?
. :smile: :smile: :smile:

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2022 5:29 pm
by felarey
Imagine Morocco eliminating all of Canada, Spain, Portugal and France. Where most of their players were born or developed.

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2022 5:38 pm
by camex
wazobia wrote: Sun Dec 11, 2022 4:33 pm
camex wrote: Sun Dec 11, 2022 3:24 pm There is a clear proof of something I Saïd earlier. That francophone countries get more from thé diaspora than anglophones, one. I Wonder why.
Probably a couple of organizational things which make it easier to play for these countries. I would not lump all francophone countries together though. Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia stand out. Senegal is probably the best of the rest. Foreign born Nigerian players identify with the culture but our poor organization holds them back from representing Nigeria.
I think there is more to it. France has improved its youth training since thé 80s. And so as France improved, so did thé african diaspora borned in France. We are now seeing thé effect on this révolution in Africa

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2022 7:08 pm
by wazobia
camex wrote: Sun Dec 11, 2022 5:38 pm
wazobia wrote: Sun Dec 11, 2022 4:33 pm
I think there is more to it. France has improved its youth training since thé 80s. And so as France improved, so did thé african diaspora borned in France. We are now seeing thé effect on this révolution in Africa
True. I think the francophone African youth in diaspora also seem to excel in football, perhaps because of focus, sheer numbers of them and talent.