Portion of players not born in the country of their team. World Cup 2022

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

Portion of players not born in the country of their team. World Cup 2022

Re: Portion of players not born in the country of their team. World Cup 2022

Synopsis wrote: Sat Dec 10, 2022 11:02 pm Image
Hmmmm.
No comment before dem winch me. :rotf:

World be interested to see countries ranked by number of players by birth.

Yep...Morocco has been very clever using stars nurtured by others. Na so
panafrican

Post by panafrican »

Morocco has 16 players born outside. And the coach Walid Regragui was born in France.
The indomitable lions ; Africa's best team ever.

100% of Argentina's players were all born in Argentina and they made the last 4..hmmmm see how daft this graph is?

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Dec 11, 2022 12:24 pm 100% of Argentina's players were all born in Argentina and they made the last 4..hmmmm see how daft this graph is?
But it is just giving you the data. How is it daft?

Molue Conductor wrote: Sun Dec 11, 2022 3:16 am
World be interested to see countries ranked by number of players by birth.
It is very interesting data. Lots if interesting ways to look at data. There may also be one that may look at teams with Managers who are coaching their own national teams v Managers coaching other national teams, etc.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
camex

Post by camex »

There is a clear proof of something I Saïd earlier. That francophone countries get more from thé diaspora than anglophones, one. I Wonder why.
wazobia

Post by wazobia »

camex wrote: Sun Dec 11, 2022 3:24 pm There is a clear proof of something I Saïd earlier. That francophone countries get more from thé diaspora than anglophones, one. I Wonder why.
Probably a couple of organizational things which make it easier to play for these countries. I would not lump all francophone countries together though. Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia stand out. Senegal is probably the best of the rest. Foreign born Nigerian players identify with the culture but our poor organization holds them back from representing Nigeria.
WOWO = ONO (oh no!) = OBO

WOWO 'We only want Oyinbo'

ONO 'Oyinbo na Oyinbo'

OBO 'Oyinbo be Oyinbo'

airwolex wrote: Sun Dec 11, 2022 12:27 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Dec 11, 2022 12:24 pm 100% of Argentina's players were all born in Argentina and they made the last 4..hmmmm see how daft this graph is?
But it is just giving you the data. How is it daft?
. :smile: :smile: :smile:

Imagine Morocco eliminating all of Canada, Spain, Portugal and France. Where most of their players were born or developed.

camex

Post by camex »

wazobia wrote: Sun Dec 11, 2022 4:33 pm
camex wrote: Sun Dec 11, 2022 3:24 pm There is a clear proof of something I Saïd earlier. That francophone countries get more from thé diaspora than anglophones, one. I Wonder why.
Probably a couple of organizational things which make it easier to play for these countries. I would not lump all francophone countries together though. Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia stand out. Senegal is probably the best of the rest. Foreign born Nigerian players identify with the culture but our poor organization holds them back from representing Nigeria.
I think there is more to it. France has improved its youth training since thé 80s. And so as France improved, so did thé african diaspora borned in France. We are now seeing thé effect on this révolution in Africa
wazobia

Post by wazobia »

camex wrote: Sun Dec 11, 2022 5:38 pm
wazobia wrote: Sun Dec 11, 2022 4:33 pm
I think there is more to it. France has improved its youth training since thé 80s. And so as France improved, so did thé african diaspora borned in France. We are now seeing thé effect on this révolution in Africa
True. I think the francophone African youth in diaspora also seem to excel in football, perhaps because of focus, sheer numbers of them and talent.
WOWO = ONO (oh no!) = OBO

WOWO 'We only want Oyinbo'

ONO 'Oyinbo na Oyinbo'

OBO 'Oyinbo be Oyinbo'