[WC 2022 SF #1] ARGENTINA 3(Messi, Alvarez X2) CROATIA 0

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

Man Ataye
Re: [WC 2022 SF #1] ARGENTINA 3(Messi, Alvarez X2) CROATIA 0

Post by Man Ataye »

Geez. Is Messi gonna win everything. ?????;I wanted him to win if in 2014. Not this 1.
Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

:clap:

Good 2 hear.Nice 2 know of the rebuilding mode
Yes yes. U he IT'S did them in. Sure took its toll
mate wrote: Tue Dec 13, 2022 11:14 pm
gosh wrote: Tue Dec 13, 2022 11:04 pm Croatia appeared to play with lots of heavy legs today. They just didn't seem themselves at all, and barely had any shots on goal.
True. We finally felt the OTs.

But it's a marathon as they say. We just weren't fit and good enough. I have no problem admitting this.

We will be back. Already the Croatian FA has made some statements about what worked and what didn't. We have a lot of gre :clap: :clap: at young players. I'm happy and proud of Croatia...at least 4th place, 2nd semi in a row.

Hats off to Argentina.

Argentina have really raised their game, and are clearly improving as the competition goes on.

Could there be 3 stars on the horizon ?

AreaDaddy wrote: Tue Dec 13, 2022 11:28 pm Argentina have really raised their game, and are clearly improving as the competition goes on.

Could there be 3 stars on the horizon ?
me i am just a hater, I think they've done well if they win it , i will be glad Europe didn't if they don't i will yab messi big time.. So France or Morocco best win this ish ( Franc , Argentina or Morocco nah one of them go be world champs) as always s nah vets dey always win WorldCup

Argentina was not 3 goals better but the Croatia defense was soft todat. I am not a fan of the way Sosa plays, he reminds me of that kid based in Russia that Rohr took to the worldcup as a left back. Both I feel lack the athleticism to play the role. The gtwo goals rocked Croatia and the attack just was not there to catch up with a hustling team like Argentina. The best team in this tourney for me was Portugal followed by Brazil and both already out the rest just sorta overachieving. All three teams left can win it.

oscar52 wrote: Tue Dec 13, 2022 11:50 pm Argentina was not 3 goals better but the Croatia defense was soft todat. I am not a fan of the way Sosa plays, he reminds me of that kid based in Russia that Rohr took to the worldcup as a left back. Both I feel lack the athleticism to play the role. The gtwo goals rocked Croatia and the attack just was not there to catch up with a hustling team like Argentina. The best team in this tourney for me was Portugal followed by Brazil and both already out the rest just sorta overachieving. All three teams left can win it.

Sosa got rattled. He's 24, actually extremely fast, a good athlete, maybe needs some more muscle. The mental strength wasn't there, costing him especially on offense...as he made bad passes and dribbles.

Today was the only day he really messed up defensively. Just panicked on that 2nd goal, barely getting a flick when he could have cleared if more composed. I really hope he gets over this and can continue to develop...as he has the raw attributes.

But like you noted, it's hard to teach having a 90 minute winner's mentality. It will come down to him. But I can tell you Croatia does its best to help its players develop to their max. We know he needs it.

How did this happen? How did Argentina beat Croatia by this score margin (3-0), how?

Odas wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 1:45 am How did this happen? How did Argentina beat Croatia by this score margin (3-0), how?
By scoring 3 goals.

You know, the ball went over the Croatian line 3 times in the goal.

We got our azzes kicked. Argentina got revenge for us beating them by the same score in 2018.

Odas wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 1:45 am How did this happen? How did Argentina beat Croatia by this score margin (3-0), how?
...lapses in defense. I only saw the first 2 goals, gave up, returned it became 3.

mcal wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 1:54 am
...lapses in defense. I only saw the first 2 goals, gave up, returned it became 3.
Yep. This pretty much summarizes it.

It wasn't naive defending...just poor defending in moments. 2 players stand out.

Lovren, who was out of position and didn't cover and challenge.

Sosa, who let nerves get the best of him to whiff on a challenge for the 2nd goal.

3rd goal was Messi magic vs our best defender Gvardiol, who was left alone for 7 seconds.

Messi. Messi. Messiiiiiiii. (His pk was shade to Kane on how not to kill 10 birds in downtown Doha).

But Paulo didn’t explain it well to me. I was told that he had a bad hamstring. Na wao. Kudos to Scaloni for stitching together an airtight unit which allows Messi to rewind the clock by 10 years or more.

Damn. At a point I was waving my hand in the air like an Argie fan reminiscent of 1986 when I supported another superhuman legend in the final game. Muscle memory is still sharp. … Vamos Albicelestes :clap: :clap:

green4life wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 2:28 am Messi. Messi. Messiiiiiiii. (His pk was shade to Kane on how not to kill 10 birds in downtown Doha).

But Paulo didn’t explain it well to me. I was told that he had a bad hamstring. Na wao. Kudos to Scaloni for stitching together an airtight unit which allows Messi to rewind the clock by 10 years or more.

Damn. At a point I was waving my hand in the air like an Argie fan reminiscent of 1986 when I supported another superhuman legend in the final game. Muscle memory is still sharp. … Vamos Albicelestes :clap: :clap:
:mad: :mad: :veryangry: :veryangry:
Fanboys don start already. :biggrin:

mate wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 1:52 am
By scoring 3 goals.

We got our azzes kicked. Argentina got revenge for us beating them by the same score in 2018.
Sorry Mate. Your boys fought hard but today was there was too much Messi & Alvarez to cope with plus the fact your boys have absolutely no threat upfront finally cost you. I feel bad for Modric- true generational player. So much quality even at the twilight of his career. I was hoping he’d get to the finals again but today, Messi and co were too much. The kid Josko Gvardiol took a few lessons today and will be better for it in the future. Good luck in the 3rd place match. :thumb:

ohsee wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 2:33 am
green4life wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 2:28 am Messi. Messi. Messiiiiiiii. (His pk was shade to Kane on how not to kill 10 birds in downtown Doha).

:mad: :mad: :veryangry: :veryangry:
Fanboys don start already. :biggrin:
Uncle, normally I will be rooting for France (Morocco done try but the happy days should be over tomorrow). Honestly it will be difficult for me to root against Messi in THIS final.
Re: [WC 2022 SF #1] ARGENTINA 2(Messi, Alvarez) CROATIA 0

Cito wrote: Tue Dec 13, 2022 9:34 pm Poor Gvardiol, taken to a class on how this works. :D
The young boy was literally taken to kindergarten school by gran Pa Messi. Na wao. Very brutal.
Re: [WC 2022 SF #1] ARGENTINA 0 CROATIA 0

King Futcha wrote: Tue Dec 13, 2022 9:56 pm
ohsee wrote: Tue Dec 13, 2022 9:51 pm
Scipio Africanus wrote: Tue Dec 13, 2022 7:14 pm In other news Upamecano and Rabiot missed training with France today. Konate (Ohsee's boy) and Fofana are likely to start in their place tomorrow.
France won't miss Upamecano, but they will miss Rabiot. I have come to appreciate the guy's robust and never say die play. Konate will be a more than adequate replacement for Dayot.
Saliba would start over Konate in my humble opinion if indeed they are out which has not been confirmed.

and Guendouzi would replace Rabiot, France are not going to have that many damn brothers in their lineup :)
I don't think Deschamps trusts Saliba as much as he trusts Konate. Apparently Deschamps was not impressed with Saliba's performance during the Nations League game against Denmark. The story is that Deschamps chalked it up to inexperience. Unless both Upamecano and Konate are injured, Saliba will not start.

maceo4 wrote: Tue Dec 13, 2022 9:36 pm It’s hard to feel bad for these defensive/negative teams when they get undone…this should have been Brazil/Arg but it is what it is…
Finally someone said it. Brazil should’ve been in this game. It would’ve been WW3 as opposed to todays scrimmage match. It is what it is.
hestonap

Post by hestonap »

Mate,
Sorry about the result, but this was one bridge too far for you guys. Croatia though has a very impressive WC pedigree - 2 semis and 1 final placement is on mean feat. I'm hoping the impossible happens and this cup comes to Africa but Messi and his fellows seem to have hit their stride at the right time.
God bless and keep Nigeria and make his face shine on her undeserving as she may be.
Re: [WC 2022 SF #1] ARGENTINA 1(Messi) CROATIA 0

joplass wrote: Tue Dec 13, 2022 8:45 pm All this is on that ref and on FIFA, that illegal pk just destroyed Croatia.
Lol. Illegal pk ko. Illegal flogging ni.

That was a stonewall pk. As clear as night and day.

green4life wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 2:34 am
mate wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 1:52 am
By scoring 3 goals.

Sorry Mate. Your boys fought hard but today was there was too much Messi & Alvarez to cope with plus the fact your boys have absolutely no threat upfront finally cost you. I feel bad for Modric- true generational player. So much quality even at the twilight of his career. I was hoping he’d get to the finals again but today, Messi and co were too much. The kid Josko Gvardiol took a few lessons today and will be better for it in the future. Good luck in the 3rd place match. :thumb:

Fair points. Today the better team win. Croatia will try to win 3rd place to conclude this successful WC run,

👍
SylverEagles

Post by SylverEagles »

You ought to be ashamed of yourself. I understand acknowledging Messi but supporting Argentina?? Tufiakwa!! We should take away your Naija citizenship. :sneaky: :sneaky: :twisted:

SylverEagles wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 3:16 am

You ought to be ashamed of yourself. I understand acknowledging Messi but supporting Argentina?? Tufiakwa!! We should take away your Naija citizenship. :sneaky: :sneaky: :twisted:
And ban him from CE for life! Chei! :mad: He probably wears an Argie jersey in public :mrgreen:

Cant help but root for Messi. Sorry guys but i want Argentina and Messi to win. Hope i dont get my Nigerian citizenship revoked. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: