Referee for Argentina vs. Netherlands World Cup Match Sent Home

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

Referee for Argentina vs. Netherlands World Cup Match Sent Home

https://www.yahoo.com/lifestyle/referee ... 12724.html

Aaron Chow
Mon, December 12, 2022 at 10:01 PM
Following his controversial decisions in the heated Argentina vs. Netherlands match for the Qatar World Cup quarterfinals, Spanish referee Antonio Mateu Lahoz has reportedly been released from the tournament while the game's VAR officials will still be given the option to participate in future competitions.

The game which has been coined the "Battle of Lusail," ended 2-2 in extra time and was ultimately decided in a penalty shootout which Argentina ultimately claimed the victory (4-3). During the match, the La Liga referee issued a record of 18 yellow cards and one red.

At one point in the game, midfielder Leandro Paredes kicked the ball into the Netherlands bench with Dutch captain Virgil van Dijk responding by bumping him into the ground, resulting in multiple bookings as the game seemed to spiral out of control. By the end of the competition, two of Argentina's coaching staff were given cards and three players were booked during the penalty shootouts.

In a post-match interview, Argentina captain Lionel Messi expressed his frustration and asked FIFA to look into the issue.

- ADVERTISEMENT -

"I don’t want to speak about referees because they will sanction you. But people saw what happened. I think FIFA must take care of this. It cannot put a referee like that for a match of such magnitude, of such importance. The referee cannot fail to be up to the task," he said.

FIFA has also announced that Argentine referees Fernando Rapallani and Facundo Tello will not be given any more matches for the rest of the tournament due to a conflict of interest as Argentina advances to the semis.

Elsewhere in sports, adidas unveils the "Al Hilm" Qatar World Cup Finals ball.

Re: Referee for Argentina vs. Netherlands World Cup Match Sent Home

They should have sent him home before the match

sabb

Post by sabb »

lol, at Messi expressing frustration, dude u lucky the ref has utmost respect for you and did not give u ur marching orders after dat deliberate handball, shior
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

sabb wrote: Tue Dec 13, 2022 7:46 pm lol, at Messi expressing frustration, dude u lucky the ref has utmost respect for you and did not give u ur marching orders after dat deliberate handball, shior
Chief I agree with you about Messi getting his marching orders, but nna, no ref can send Messi off at a FIFA World Cup. It has nothing to do with respect. :idea:

The most impassioned game of the tournament thus far. Had everything. Missed nothing. Granted the Ref lost control, but in doing so, ceded it to two bulls painted red. Argentina up for it. Netherlands up for it. Was good to see Edgar Davids in the mix. Big blunder having De Jong in the commentary box, guest of honour for such proceedings. Legend.

Game of the tournament.

Coach wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 8:16 am The most impassioned game of the tournament thus far. Had everything. Missed nothing. Granted the Ref lost control, but in doing so, ceded it to two bulls painted red. Argentina up for it. Netherlands up for it. Was good to see Edgar Davids in the mix. Big blunder having De Jong in the commentary box, guest of honour for such proceedings. Legend.

Game of the tournament.
So control went missing too.
:wink:

Control was not missed rather ceded to the warring parties. Control was most certainly still on deck and very much in the right hands.
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

Click bait story. Was the referee sent home due to poor performance or was he sent home because his assignments were done? With three games to go, only referees/match officials needed for the remaining games are kept on roster.
Check out Sooting's website:
https://shootingstarssc.com/
folem

Post by folem »

Toxicarrow wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 2:39 pm Click bait story. Was the referee sent home due to poor performance or was he sent home because his assignments were done? With three games to go, only referees/match officials needed for the remaining games are kept on roster.
Your take looks more like the real story.