Page 1 of 2

So who are we supporting today?

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 3:25 pm
by Tobi17
My heart is going for France and my head for Morocco.

Re: So who are we supporting today?

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 3:29 pm
by marko
il just watch a nice game of football! i like both teams, want to see Morocco in the finals, can they do it? that is another question

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 3:40 pm
by YemiBrazil
France for me.

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 3:48 pm
by maceo4
Either one of my ‘we’ will make it to the final so I’m good lol…but I think it will be my ‘oui oui’ boys.

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 4:06 pm
by vancity eagle
Morocco all the way. Can't believe you all are rooting for France.

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 4:14 pm
by Tobi17
vancity eagle wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 4:06 pm Morocco all the way. Can't believe you all are rooting for France.
On a more petty level, majority of the French players look more like me, that's any more than I can say for our North African brothers

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 4:19 pm
by Damunk
Tobi17 wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 4:14 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 4:06 pm Morocco all the way. Can't believe you all are rooting for France.
On a more petty level, majority of the French players look more like me, that's any more than I can say for our North African brothers
You can also look at it like this:
Your people were stolen away and used to make your enemies look good. :rotf:

Morocco for me.

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 4:52 pm
i am supporting both, this is a win, win situation for me

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 5:13 pm
by iworo
There must be a perceived benefit for supporting France, right? I personally don't see any benefit in supporting France over Morocco. Morocco and Cameroon's heroic performances in 86 and 90' World Cups resulted to FIFA increasing Africa's slots; and smoothed the path for Nigeria to play with the big boys on the world stage. Long term thinking is your best short term strategy. Why should I favor supporting bunch of black kids (aka Saka, Mbappe, etc) representing European countries to win the World Cup when I know that seeing an African country in the final (or possibly winning) will inspire next generation of African kids and very likely inspire next generation of foreign born African players to represent motherland (aka Moroccan foreign born players)?

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 5:35 pm
iworo wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 5:13 pm There must be a perceived benefit for supporting France, right? I personally don't see any benefit in supporting France over Morocco. Morocco and Cameroon's heroic performances in 86 and 90' World Cups resulted to FIFA increasing Africa's slots; and smoothed the path for Nigeria to play with the big boys on the world stage. Long term thinking is your best short term strategy. Why should I favor supporting bunch of black kids (aka Saka, Mbappe, etc) representing European countries to win the World Cup when I know that seeing an African country in the final (or possibly winning) will inspire next generation of African kids and very likely inspire next generation of foreign born African players to represent motherland (aka Moroccan foreign born players)?
let's address this, who would inspire African kids / the next generation . The likes of Kante or the likes of Rabah Madja.. Now be honest with yourself, which of these players do you think an African would look up to

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 5:40 pm
by Thelastoneleft
My heart is with Morocco but my head wants France to win, just to reduce the chances of Messi and Argentina winning it all. I don't think Morocco will be able to challenge Messi and Argentina in a possible grand finale. So, .... allez les Bleus (can't believe I actually said that) :oops: :oops: :oops:

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 6:23 pm
by Orion
Thelastoneleft wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 5:40 pm My heart is with Morocco but my head wants France to win, just to reduce the chances of Messi and Argentina winning it all. I don't think Morocco will be able to challenge Messi and Argentina in a possible grand finale. So, .... allez les Bleus (can't believe I actually said that) :oops: :oops: :oops:

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 6:39 pm
I need someone to help me take out Argentina :(

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 7:01 pm
by vancity eagle
Damunk wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 4:19 pm

Morocco for me.
No mind am.

Do many here not actively root against England who even parade Nigerian players.

Africa all day long.

Those black players are winning plaudits for Europeans.

The historical significance of what Morocco can achieve FAR outweighs rooting for somebody that "looks like me"

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 7:02 pm
by vancity eagle
iworo wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 5:13 pm There must be a perceived benefit for supporting France, right? I personally don't see any benefit in supporting France over Morocco. Morocco and Cameroon's heroic performances in 86 and 90' World Cups resulted to FIFA increasing Africa's slots; and smoothed the path for Nigeria to play with the big boys on the world stage. Long term thinking is your best short term strategy. Why should I favor supporting bunch of black kids (aka Saka, Mbappe, etc) representing European countries to win the World Cup when I know that seeing an African country in the final (or possibly winning) will inspire next generation of African kids and very likely inspire next generation of foreign born African players to represent motherland (aka Moroccan foreign born players)?
KPOM KPOM KPOM.

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 7:05 pm
by vancity eagle
Thelastoneleft wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 5:40 pm My heart is with Morocco but my head wants France to win, just to reduce the chances of Messi and Argentina winning it all. I don't think Morocco will be able to challenge Messi and Argentina in a possible grand finale. So, .... allez les Bleus (can't believe I actually said that) :oops: :oops: :oops:
And you think Morocco will not be able to take out Argentina if they had taken out France Portugal, Spain, Belgium.

Argentina is not the best team at this WC.

Morocco has already beaten better.

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 7:29 pm
by ohsee
Damunk wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 4:19 pm

Morocco for me.
:biggrin:
Stolen away for whia? Na dem take dia own leg waka go France. :biggrin: If you want to see people who were "stolen away," look at Morocco carefully. There's melanin in them thar features, representing our long-lost ancestors from millennia ago taken there as abd. Know ya history. :biggrin:

I want whoever will beat the Argies to win. :clap: :clap: :agree: :agree: Messi must mess up again. :clap: :clap: :agree: :agree:

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 7:29 pm
by bret- hart
El Nesiri, Hakimi etc are black too.

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 7:46 pm
Morocco has been jinxed.. the bad luck of many who posted here wey dem carry use for Se , don rob on top Morocco

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 7:48 pm
by King Futcha
Bigpokey24 wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 7:46 pm Morocco has been jinxed.. the bad luck of many who posted here wey dem carry use for Se , don rob on top Morocco
where is the game thread, what are we paying you for.

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 8:18 pm
by AreaDaddy
I was not sure but now match don start. I know I want Morocco to win

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 8:34 pm
by bret- hart
Morocco number 8 is a brother too lol

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2022 9:42 pm
by Field Marshall Ogolo
Tobi17 wrote: Wed Dec 14, 2022 3:25 pm My heart is going for France and my head for Morocco.
I was supporting both teams. But will now support France. Argentina will make a joke out of Morocco.