Rule change: In-game PKs should be awarded in twos, score both, you get 2 goals. Miss even 1, you get 0 goals

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

Rule change: In-game PKs should be awarded in twos, score both, you get 2 goals. Miss even 1, you get 0 goals

I am sick of this cheap cowardly way of scoring goals. Score a real goal if you want a goal. Argentina I am looking at you. Mscheww!!!

On edit: In light of suggestions made by the very smart folks on CE, football should borrow a page from basketball and award TWO PKs for a foul in the box, each PK being worth half a goal.

So if you were really going to score, you won’t dive for PKs as you will be less certain of converting both than just trying to score a regular goal.

On another edit: Forget the half goals. You get 2 PKs for each foul against you in the box but if you miss any of them you get 0 goals. If you score both, you get two goals. How is that idea?

This shifts PKs into better risk reward territory. If your team is up 1-0 in the 90th minute and you commit a foul in the box, if the other team makes both their PKs, your team will go from being up 1-0 to being down 1-2. The risk of that will keep defenders honest.

On the other side of the equation, if you are down 0-1 in the 90th minute and you have a real chance to score, you would probably take it rather than accept being awarded PKs where you have to score BOTH Pks to get the 2 goals.
Last edited by Scipio Africanus on Sun Dec 18, 2022 2:05 pm, edited 8 times in total.

Re: Rule change: In-game penalty kicks should count for only half a goal

Scipio Africanus wrote: Sat Dec 17, 2022 7:29 pm I am sick of this cheap cowardly way of scoring goals. Score a real goal if you want a goal. Argentina I am looking at you. Mscheww!!!
You have a solid point, specially about Argentina at this WC. I counted two penalties that should not have been.

Supposing Ghana scored the penalty vs Uruguay (Suarez), a clear goal scoring opportunity denied, now redeemed at 50% the value? Nonsense

Coach wrote: Sat Dec 17, 2022 7:50 pm Supposing Ghana scored the penalty vs Uruguay (Suarez), a clear goal scoring opportunity denied, now redeemed at 50% the value? Nonsense
Considering the actual score of the England v France game should be 1/2 v 2, I can see why you are pained :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Harry Harry Kaneeeeeee! :lol:

Coach wrote: Sat Dec 17, 2022 7:50 pm Supposing Ghana scored the penalty vs Uruguay (Suarez), a clear goal scoring opportunity denied, now redeemed at 50% the value? Nonsense
Oga you have been hiding in dat loo wey no get wata for too long.

Scores in dat game were tied at 1-1 before the PK was given. Is 1.5 equal to 1?

Scipio Africanus wrote: Sat Dec 17, 2022 8:29 pm

Scipio, I believe Coach has a valid point. Ghana had a goal that was prevented via a foul. To replace that would-be goal with half a goal means rewarding fouls that can half the value of a goal.

And if Uruguay had been up 2-1 at that point, then what Suarez did becomes even more pragmatic if all Ghana will get from his audacious foul is a half goal.

danfo driver wrote: Sat Dec 17, 2022 8:19 pm
Considering the actual score of the England v France game should be 1/2 v 2, I can see why you are pained :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Harry Harry Kaneeeeeee! :lol:

theDunamis wrote: Sun Dec 18, 2022 12:40 am

Scipio, I believe Coach has a valid point. Ghana had a goal that was prevented via a foul. To replace that would-be goal with half a goal means rewarding fouls that can half the value of a goal.

And if Uruguay had been up 2-1 at that point, then what Suarez did becomes even more pragmatic if all Ghana will get from his audacious foul is a half goal.
Ah I see. This is not the first rule change I suggested :laugh: In that particular Suarez case, it would have been unfair to Ghana to have a 100% chance of scoring (ball was clearly going in before Suarez .. erm .. intervened) reduced to a 50% chance of scoring a PK. In that case the ref should have simply awarded a goal to Ghana. A regular goal :thumbs:

theDunamis wrote: Sun Dec 18, 2022 12:40 am

You guys just gave me an idea. Football should borrow a page from basketball and award TWO PKs for a foul in the box, each PK being worth half a goal.

So if you were really going to score, you won’t dive for PKs as you will be less certain of converting both than just trying to score a regular goal.

folem
Re: Rule change: In-game PKs should be awarded in twos, each PK being worth half a goal

Post by folem »

Scipio Africanus wrote: Sat Dec 17, 2022 7:29 pm I am sick of this cheap cowardly way of scoring goals. Score a real goal if you want a goal. Argentina I am looking at you. Mscheww!!!

On edit: In light of suggestions made by the very smart folks on CE, football should borrow a page from basketball and award TWO PKs for a foul in the box, each PK being worth half a goal.

On another edit: Forget the half goals. You get 2 PKs for each foul against you in the box but if you miss any of them you get 0 goals. If you score both, you get two goals. How is that idea?
In BB, there's no half points.

Maybe 2 PKs for 1 Goal/Point each, Goals inside 18 for 2 Goals/Points, Outside 18 for 3 Goals/Points, FK for 2 Goals/Points. OG for 1 Goal/Point, Outside Opponent Half for 4 Goals/Points.
Re: Rule change: In-game PKs should be awarded in twos, each PK being worth half a goal

folem wrote: Sun Dec 18, 2022 1:38 pm

In BB, there's no half points.

Maybe 2 PKs for 1 Goal/Point each, Goals inside 18 for 2 Goals/Points, Outside 18 for 3 Goals/Points, FK for 2 Goals/Points. OG for 1 Goal/Point, Outside Opponent Half for 4 Goals/Points.
Actually in basketball you get 1 point for each converted free throw award after a foul, which is half of the regular 2 points you get for a basket. I think regular goal scoring in soccer is fine. It is the PK part that bugs me. You handle a ball that isn't goal bound, and voila, suddenly the other team has a chance for an awoof goal! Mba.

Re: Rule change: In-game PKs should be awarded in twos, score both, you get 2 goals. Miss even 1, you get 0 goals

Hand ball penalties shouldn’t be given unless it’s deliberate. Even when the defender’s arms are away from the body, contact is usually accidental. In the case of a deliberate handball, if the ball was goal bound, the goal should be awarded❗️

Re: Rule change: In-game PKs should be awarded in twos, score both, you get 2 goals. Miss even 1, you get 0 goals

At the top flight, penalties are scored 85% of the time. 11% saved and 4% off target or hit the post. Suarez reduced a 100% chance of scoring to 85% not 50%.

The only way to compensate is to count a 100% chance as a goal. Controversy will arise from balls that may have hit the post. Also you’re getting more tech and reviews.

folem

Post by folem »

felarey wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 3:05 pm At the top flight, penalties are scored 85% of the time. 11% saved and 4% off target or hit the post. Suarez reduced a 100% chance of scoring to 85% not 50%.

The only way to compensate is to count a 100% chance as a goal. Controversy will arise from balls that may have hit the post. Also you’re getting more tech and reviews.
If it was 100% chance then it must be a goal. It of course cannot be 100% chance.

folem wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 4:03 pm
felarey wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 3:05 pm At the top flight, penalties are scored 85% of the time. 11% saved and 4% off target or hit the post. Suarez reduced a 100% chance of scoring to 85% not 50%.

If it was 100% chance then it must be a goal. It of course cannot be 100% chance.
The goal that Suarez prevented with his hands against Ghana in 2010 was 100% going in.

folem

Post by folem »

felarey wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 5:42 pm
folem wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 4:03 pm

The goal that Suarez prevented with his hands against Ghana in 2010 was 100% going in.

U mean Suarez should have headed the ball out instead of using his hands?