Argentina Haters, “Messi’s goal in extra time was illegal”

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

Visit here for the latest interviews, news and features from the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™

Moderators: Moderator Team, phpBB2 - Administrators

Post Reply
User avatar
Kabalega
Eaglet
Eaglet
Posts: 17431
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 6:44 pm
Location: Here
Argentina Haters, “Messi’s goal in extra time was illegal”

Post by Kabalega »

Image

Image

WORLD CUP 2022
“Messi’s goal in extra time was illegal” - controversy in Argentina-France aftermath
The 2022 World Cup final was a classic, with Lionel Scaloni’s men prevailing after a dramatic penalty shootout, but a controversy has arisen in France.
As.com
Update: December 19th, 2022 06:02 EST
0
The 2022 World Cup final was a classic, with Lionel Scaloni’s men prevailing after a dramatic penalty shootout, but a controversy has arisen in France.
Argentina and France came into the 2022 World Cup final with little to choose between them. Despite the South Americans dominating for much of the game, appearing to be coasting to victory, in the end their win came down to extremely fine margins. And a new image of one of those key moments has some people in France feeling aggrieved.

Did Messi’s goal infringe the rules?

A late brace from Kylian Mbappé levelled the score at 2-2 so the two teams headed into extra-time. Despite the disappointment in that ending, it was Argentina who retook the lead, with talisman Messi knocking home from close range after an incredible Hugo Lloris save. And the claims now are that it should never have stood had the rules been followed to the letter.

According to the official regulations, referee Szymon Marciniak, possibly aided by his VAR team, should have awarded a free kick to France instead of awarding the goal due to non-players being on the pitch at the time. As the new still from the game show, some members of the non-playing Albiceleste squad had entered the field of play in the excitement before the ball crossed the goal line.


Full screen
With the regulations in hand, that is prohibited. Law 3, paragraph 9 of the Football Laws establishes:
If, after a goal is scored, the referee realises, before play restarts, an extra person was on the field of play when the goal was scored: the referee must disallow the goal if the extra person was:

a player, substitute, substituted player, sent off player or team official of the team that scored the goal; play is restarted with a direct free kick from the position of the extra person

French newspaper L’Equipe was one of the first media outlets to publish this image and give their explanations about the decision.

“Minute 108 of the game, after link up with Enzo Fernández and Leo Messi, Lautaro Martínez hits hard from close range. Hugo Lloris pushes the ball back, which lands at the feet of La Pulga. Messi volleys home and makes it 3-2 for Argentina, despite Jules Koundé's late blocking attempt,” states the French publication.

“Except that the goal is invalid If we strictly apply the rules,” it continues. “When Messi volleys Hugo Lloris’ save, some emotionally charged Argentine substitutes are already on the pitch, ready to celebrate. Which is strictly prohibited.”

The general consensus is that the refereeing team did a very good job in the final, and most would likely agree that overulling Messi’s goal based on a couple of people stepping over the line over 50 yards away may have been more of an injustice to the spirit of the game.

Out of interest, some people have pointed to the paragraph immediately following this rule as a reason for the goal standing, where the following is stated:

The referee must allow the goal if the extra person was:
a player, substitute, substituted player, sent off player or team official of the team that conceded the goal
an outside agent who did not interfere with play
However, an ‘outside agent’ refers to other elements not including those mentioned in the first line, e.g. substitutes.
“If your opponent is of choleric temper, seek to irritate him. Pretend to be weak, that he may grow arrogant.”- Sun Tzu
User avatar
Kabalega
Eaglet
Eaglet
Posts: 17431
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 6:44 pm
Location: Here
Re: Argentina Haters, “Messi’s goal in extra time was illegal”

Post by Kabalega »

French media fume at ‘illegal’ Messi World Cup goal
It has been argued that the Argentine’s extra-time strike shouldn’t have stood

Fans and pundits pointed out the potential infringement. © Twitter
Lionel Messi’s second goal against France in the World Cup final eventually won by Argentina should not have stood, according to some football fans and pundits.

Messi was the Player of the Match in a dramatic final which his team eventually clinched 4-2 on penalties after the score had ended 3-3 following extra time.

Argentina and their fans probably thought they were home and dry after leading France from the 23rd minute onwards when Messi scored a penalty, and then doubling their account through Angel Di Maria 13 minutes later.

In the space of 97 seconds, however, and with just 10 minutes remaining, Kylian Mbappe scored a brace which forced extra time.

Messi scored again in its first period, and it is this second goal by the Argentina captain that has come under scrutiny.

The seven-time Ballon d’Or winner was in the right place at the right time to hit the rebound home when Hugo Lloris saved Lautaro Martinez’s shot on 108 minutes.

With the linesman raising his flag for a moment, it was thought that the goal to put Argentina 3-2 up might be disallowed until TV pictures clarified Martinez was onside for the move.

From a different angle, though, shared worldwide in a still on Twitter, it appears that the goal could have been ruled out due to two of Argentina’s substitutes being on the pitch as Messi took the shot.

Some suggestion that Lionel Messi's second goal should have been disallowed because 2 Argentina subs stepped onto the pitch to celebrate just before the ball crossed the line.To the letter of the law perhaps, but it is far too insignificant to be within the remit of the VAR. pic.twitter.com/ZyL5c2k9eJ
— Dale Johnson (@DaleJohnsonESPN) December 19, 2022
Selon le règlement, le second but de Messi, dans la prolongation, aurait dû être refusé par l'arbitre de la rencontre, Szymon Marciniak. Des remplaçants argentins étaient, déjà, sur la pelouse avant que le ballon ne dépasse la ligne de but d'Hugo Lloris https://t.co/zR3T2EekCRpic.twitter.com/D8cmoe8xw5
— L'ÉQUIPE (@lequipe) December 19, 2022

“The rules are very clear: only 11 players from the same team can be on the field,” said Spanish digital newspaper Ok Diario.

“The VAR did not intervene to declare a goal illegal which with a simple television replay can be seen shouldn't have gone up on the scoreboard.

“Argentina would later be proclaimed world champion in a penalty shootout, but all the help they have had during the World Cup goes unnoticed by no one. It is not only the goal, but also having been awarded penalties in the quarterfinals, semifinals, and final of the competition to break the historical record,” it added.

An ESPN journalist conceded that the goal should have been disallowed “to the letter of the law perhaps” but argued that it was “far too insignificant to be within the remit of the VAR.”

French sports magazine L’Equipe sided with OK Diario, and gave referee Szymon Marciniak a 2/10 for his performance.

While most many that the Polish official did a decent job, especially when deciding to book Marcus Thuram for apparently diving in the penalty area, France manager Didier Deschamps didn’t agree and also pointed to Argentina having decisions go their way elsewhere.

“I need to be careful,” Deschamps said about criticizing Marciniak’s performance, while refusing to explain what he said to the referee post-match. “You saw it as well as I did.”

“It could have been worse, it could have been better. Before this match Argentina had been a little bit lucky but I don’t want to take anything away from them; they fully deserve the title.

French coach discusses virus effect after World Cup defeat READ MORE: French coach discusses virus effect after World Cup defeat
“It is not because we suffered from any decisions that they came out victorious. I just discussed this with the referee after the game but don’t want to go into details.”

To counter claims that Argentina were gifted Messi’s second goal, some fans said Dayot Upamecano handled the ball before it fell to Mbappe in the 117th minute.

Mbappe fired a shot at Gonzalo Montiel, who was then himself penalized for handball.

But Mbappe’s equalizer for 3-3 ultimately did not hamper Argentina’s quest for the title, after the penalty shootout heroics of their goalkeeper Emi Martinez came to the forefront and resulted in Messi lifting the trophy.

https://www.rt.com/sport/568505-messi-s ... world-cup/
Last edited by Kabalega on Tue Dec 20, 2022 3:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
“If your opponent is of choleric temper, seek to irritate him. Pretend to be weak, that he may grow arrogant.”- Sun Tzu
User avatar
airwolex
Eaglet
Eaglet
Posts: 33877
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Your worst Nightmare
Contact:
Re: Argentina Haters, “Messi’s goal in extra time was illegal”

Post by airwolex »

lmao nope
User avatar
joplass
Egg
Egg
Posts: 7775
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 2:47 am
Re: Argentina Haters, “Messi’s goal in extra time was illegal”

Post by joplass »

Hater or not that should not have been a goal. FIFA rule.
Man is comfortable in His imperfection but uncomfortable in His perfection. Me. (Inspired by Karol Józef Wojtyła - Crossing the Threshold of Hope)
User avatar
Bigpokey24
Super Eagle
Super Eagle
Posts: 101138
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Earth
Re: Argentina Haters, “Messi’s goal in extra time was illegal”

Post by Bigpokey24 »

Kabalega wrote: Tue Dec 20, 2022 9:56 am Image

Image

WORLD CUP 2022
“Messi’s goal in extra time was illegal” - controversy in Argentina-France aftermath
The 2022 World Cup final was a classic, with Lionel Scaloni’s men prevailing after a dramatic penalty shootout, but a controversy has arisen in France.
As.com
Update: December 19th, 2022 06:02 EST
0
The 2022 World Cup final was a classic, with Lionel Scaloni’s men prevailing after a dramatic penalty shootout, but a controversy has arisen in France.
Argentina and France came into the 2022 World Cup final with little to choose between them. Despite the South Americans dominating for much of the game, appearing to be coasting to victory, in the end their win came down to extremely fine margins. And a new image of one of those key moments has some people in France feeling aggrieved.

Did Messi’s goal infringe the rules?

A late brace from Kylian Mbappé levelled the score at 2-2 so the two teams headed into extra-time. Despite the disappointment in that ending, it was Argentina who retook the lead, with talisman Messi knocking home from close range after an incredible Hugo Lloris save. And the claims now are that it should never have stood had the rules been followed to the letter.

According to the official regulations, referee Szymon Marciniak, possibly aided by his VAR team, should have awarded a free kick to France instead of awarding the goal due to non-players being on the pitch at the time. As the new still from the game show, some members of the non-playing Albiceleste squad had entered the field of play in the excitement before the ball crossed the goal line.


Full screen
With the regulations in hand, that is prohibited. Law 3, paragraph 9 of the Football Laws establishes:
If, after a goal is scored, the referee realises, before play restarts, an extra person was on the field of play when the goal was scored: the referee must disallow the goal if the extra person was:

a player, substitute, substituted player, sent off player or team official of the team that scored the goal; play is restarted with a direct free kick from the position of the extra person

French newspaper L’Equipe was one of the first media outlets to publish this image and give their explanations about the decision.

“Minute 108 of the game, after link up with Enzo Fernández and Leo Messi, Lautaro Martínez hits hard from close range. Hugo Lloris pushes the ball back, which lands at the feet of La Pulga. Messi volleys home and makes it 3-2 for Argentina, despite Jules Koundé's late blocking attempt,” states the French publication.

“Except that the goal is invalid If we strictly apply the rules,” it continues. “When Messi volleys Hugo Lloris’ save, some emotionally charged Argentine substitutes are already on the pitch, ready to celebrate. Which is strictly prohibited.”

The general consensus is that the refereeing team did a very good job in the final, and most would likely agree that overulling Messi’s goal based on a couple of people stepping over the line over 50 yards away may have been more of an injustice to the spirit of the game.

Out of interest, some people have pointed to the paragraph immediately following this rule as a reason for the goal standing, where the following is stated:

The referee must allow the goal if the extra person was:
a player, substitute, substituted player, sent off player or team official of the team that conceded the goal
an outside agent who did not interfere with play
However, an ‘outside agent’ refers to other elements not including those mentioned in the first line, e.g. substitutes.
Drove to the pad and hit the shower Didn't even get no static from them cowards Cause just yesterday, them dudes tried to blast me Saw the police, and they rolled right past me No flexin', didn't even look in a fella' s direction As I ran the intersection Went to Short Dog's house, they was watchin' Yo! MTV Raps What's the haps on the craps?
SuperEagles

© Bigpokey24, most loved on CE
My post are with no warranties and confers zero rights. Get out your feelings
It is not authorized by CyberEagles. You assume all risk for your use.
All rights aren't reserved
User avatar
Bigpokey24
Super Eagle
Super Eagle
Posts: 101138
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Earth
Re: Argentina Haters, “Messi’s goal in extra time was illegal”

Post by Bigpokey24 »

SuperEagles

© Bigpokey24, most loved on CE
My post are with no warranties and confers zero rights. Get out your feelings
It is not authorized by CyberEagles. You assume all risk for your use.
All rights aren't reserved
User avatar
cic old boy
Flying Eagle
Flying Eagle
Posts: 63765
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 7:59 pm
Re: Argentina Haters, “Messi’s goal in extra time was illegal”

Post by cic old boy »

Mbappe's last pen shouldn't have been given.
https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/20799269 ... -handball/
http://www.naijiant.com/
User avatar
bret- hart
Eaglet
Eaglet
Posts: 26750
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 2:27 am
Location: your girls place
Re: Argentina Haters, “Messi’s goal in extra time was illegal”

Post by bret- hart »

2 scumbag countries accusing each other of cheating :rotf:
I AM THE EXCELLENCE OF EXECUTION- BRET THE "HITMAN" HART.

The Neo Nueves Hart foundation: R.Onyedika, M.Usor, Y.Sor, A.Adeleye, A.Okonkwo, N.Tella, A.Yusuf, E.Onyenezide, V.Lopez, O.Olusegun.
camex
Eaglet
Eaglet
Posts: 35970
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 11:09 pm
Re: Argentina Haters, “Messi’s goal in extra time was illegal”

Post by camex »

https://www.reuters.com/lifestyle/sport ... 022-12-24/
French didn't mention this' - referee hits back in criticism over Argentina goal
Reuters
FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 - Final - Argentina v France

[1/3] Soccer Football - FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 - Final - Argentina v France - Lusail Stadium, Lusail, Qatar - December 18, 2022 Argentina players celebrate with the trophy after winning the World Cup REUTERS/Lee Smith
 

Dec 24 (Reuters) - The World Cup final ended nearly a week ago but the drama around it continued as the match referee showed a photo on his phone during a news conference to respond to claims that Lionel Messi's extra-time goal should not have stood.

Argentina won the final in Lusail, Qatar 4-2 on penalties after the match ended 3-3 following 120 minutes of action, with Messi scoring twice and Kylian Mbappe bagging a hat-trick for France.
Advertisement · Scroll to continue
Report an ad

Szymon Marciniak, the first referee from Poland to officiate a World Cup final, faced criticism from French media that he should have chalked off Messi's extra-time goal because two Argentina substitutes appeared to enter the pitch before the ball went into the net.
article-prompt-devices
Register for free to Reuters and know the full story

French newspaper L'Equipe mentioned the International Football Association Board's Law 3, paragraph 9, which includes that the referee must disallow the goal if a substituted player was on the field of play when the goal was scored.
Latest Updates

NBA roundup: Luka Doncic posts 51 in win over Spurs
Medvedev aims to learn from tough moments, raise game in 2023
NHL roundup: Alex Tuch, Sabres knock off Bruins in OT
Arsenal open up seven-point lead as Man City, Newcastle held
Belarusian Sabalenka says Wimbledon ban on players 'changed nothing'

Marciniak responded to the criticism in a unique manner.

He pulled up a screenshot on his phone that showed seven French substitutes had entered the field while they were celebrating one of Mbappe's goals.

"The French didn't mention this photo, where you can see how there are seven Frenchmen on the pitch when Mbappe scores a goal," Marciniak said as he held up the phone while speaking to reporters.

Marciniak's comments came after a petition, asking the final to be replayed due to officiating errors, was launched. The petition has so far crossed 220,000 signatures.

Post Reply