Sidney Sam
Sidney Sam
These things can be so fleeting. The Turkish club, Antalyaspor, has just released 33-year old footballer, Sidney Sam, so he most likely has to retire. 10 years ago, Sam was courted by Nigeria for the Super Eagles and refused. He ended up with just five caps for Germany.
This life sha...
Onye kwe, Chi ya ekwe
Re: Sidney Sam
i do not understand your post
Bigpokey24 wrote:i do not understand your post
Uncle chxta is saying Sidney would have played forever in he had chosen the SE, and that every player that accepted the SE invitation and played for team went on to have 100 caps for Nigeria...

- furiously frank
No, he's saying Sidney would have probably won AFCON and increased his worth and respect which would have elevated him and wouldn't be in Europe backwaters late at this age. He would have played with Kanu Nwankwo, Sunday Oliseh, Jay Jay et al.1naija wrote:Bigpokey24 wrote:i do not understand your post
Uncle chxta is saying Sidney would have played forever in he had chosen the SE, and that every player that accepted the SE invitation and played for team went on to have 100 caps for Nigeria...
Kai, it's been a while since I heard that name. Where is he these days?
- The YeyeMan
Tobi17 wrote:Kai, it's been a while since I heard that name. Where is he these days?
These things can be so fleeting. The Turkish club, Antalyaspor, has just released 33-year old footballer, Sidney Sam, so he most likely has to retire. 10 years ago, Sam was courted by Nigeria for the Super Eagles and refused. He ended up with just five caps for Germany.
This life sha...
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
Isn't Mikel currently in the same league? I don't think playing for Nigeria would have increased his visibility anymore than playing in the Bundesliga as he did.
Which Mikel?kalani JR wrote:Isn't Mikel currently in the same league? I don't think playing for Nigeria would have increased his visibility anymore than playing in the Bundesliga as he did.

I forgot he joined Stoke last year.naijaguy wrote:Which Mikel?kalani JR wrote:Isn't Mikel currently in the same league? I don't think playing for Nigeria would have increased his visibility anymore than playing in the Bundesliga as he did.
yea rightkalani JR wrote:I forgot he joined Stoke last year.naijaguy wrote:Which Mikel?kalani JR wrote:Isn't Mikel currently in the same league? I don't think playing for Nigeria would have increased his visibility anymore than playing in the Bundesliga as he did.

- Eaglezbeak
He might have been able to show his children and grandchildren pictures of him in the World Cup, even if nothing else.kalani JR wrote:Isn't Mikel currently in the same league? I don't think playing for Nigeria would have increased his visibility anymore than playing in the Bundesliga as he did.
Sometimes these things mean more than just the money or even the fame when the curtains close.
I'm sure in his private moments he will reflect on things that might have been.
Yeah playing in the World Cup is a consideration but he wanted to play for Germany in the World Cup not Nigeria and he wasn't far off really.Damunk wrote:He might have been able to show his children and grandchildren pictures of him in the World Cup, even if nothing else.kalani JR wrote:Isn't Mikel currently in the same league? I don't think playing for Nigeria would have increased his visibility anymore than playing in the Bundesliga as he did.
Sometimes these things mean more than just the money or even the fame when the curtains close.
Damunk wrote:He might have been able to show his children and grandchildren pictures of him in the World Cup, even if nothing else.kalani JR wrote:Isn't Mikel currently in the same league? I don't think playing for Nigeria would have increased his visibility anymore than playing in the Bundesliga as he did.
Am not so sure, Some of these players have no emotional connection with the Country as those who think and feel they should play for Nigeria because of the Nigerian connection that they have.
"Are you sure you want to go to red alert? It does mean changing the bulb..."
Kryten to Rimmer, Red Dwarf
If you are truly a professional footballer, for the most part you know how to manage your allegiances.Ipe Grams wrote:Damunk wrote:He might have been able to show his children and grandchildren pictures of him in the World Cup, even if nothing else.kalani JR wrote:Isn't Mikel currently in the same league? I don't think playing for Nigeria would have increased his visibility anymore than playing in the Bundesliga as he did.
Am not so sure, Some of these players have no emotional connection with the Country as those who think and feel they should play for Nigeria because of the Nigerian connection that they have.
Players get bought and sold all the time from one club to another, often with little or no say of their own in the matter
It comes with the territory and as long as you consider yourself a true professional you take it in your stride and give your all once you sign on the dotted line. The 'emotional connection' you mention probably comes into play in the early stages when you are making that decision where to go and ply your trade (that's if you even have a choice sef).
But once that is settled, I think it is less relevant,
If he had signed to play for Nigeria, I doubt he would have found himself on the world stage and not be fully committed. Sportsmen are incredibly competitive and want to win at all costs. Unless they have serious issues going on, I don't see how such a player would be in a World Cup team and still be reluctant to perform at his very best for that team on the biggest stage of all. In fact, it is every player's ultimate dream.
It only comes round once for most players. He made the wrong choice of vehicle to carry him to his ultimate destination.
It happens.

Damunk wrote:If you are truly a professional footballer, for the most part you know how to manage your allegiances.Ipe Grams wrote:Damunk wrote:He might have been able to show his children and grandchildren pictures of him in the World Cup, even if nothing else.kalani JR wrote:Isn't Mikel currently in the same league? I don't think playing for Nigeria would have increased his visibility anymore than playing in the Bundesliga as he did.
Players get bought and sold all the time from one club to another, often with little or no say of their own in the matter
It comes with the territory and as long as you consider yourself a true professional you take it in your stride and give your all once you sign on the dotted line. The 'emotional connection' you mention probably comes into play in the early stages when you are making that decision where to go and ply your trade (that's if you even have a choice sef).
If he had signed to play for Nigeria, I doubt he would have found himself on the world stage and not be fully committed. Sportsmen are incredibly competitive and want to win at all costs. Unless they have serious issues going on, I don't see how such a player would be in a World Cup team and still be reluctant to perform at his very best for that team on the biggest stage of all. In fact, it is every player's ultimate dream.
It only comes round once for most players. He made the wrong choice of vehicle to carry him to his ultimate destination.
It happens.
I think it is highly relevant as national team is not club football. He is German and as of 2017 never even been to Nigeria before. For his children Nigeria might be a random country wheres as showing them pictures of himself playing for the German national team actually means something.
"If two grown men can't make a pervert happy for a few minutes in order to watch a film about zombies, then maybe we should all just move to Iran!"
so how many pictures has his kids seen?kofi86 wrote:Damunk wrote:If you are truly a professional footballer, for the most part you know how to manage your allegiances.Ipe Grams wrote:Damunk wrote:He might have been able to show his children and grandchildren pictures of him in the World Cup, even if nothing else.kalani JR wrote:Isn't Mikel currently in the same league? I don't think playing for Nigeria would have increased his visibility anymore than playing in the Bundesliga as he did.
It happens.
I think it is highly relevant as national team is not club football. He is German and as of 2017 never even been to Nigeria before. For his children Nigeria might be a random country wheres as showing them pictures of himself playing for the German national team actually means something.
sorry, meant to say might mean something.
"If two grown men can't make a pervert happy for a few minutes in order to watch a film about zombies, then maybe we should all just move to Iran!"