Liverpool FC - News, Developments and All Seasons

Alategun
Re: Liverpool - Football Thread

Post by Alategun »

That was some game. Could have been more. Sunday next.👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾💪🏽

Alategun wrote: Thu Feb 24, 2022 3:05 am That was some game. Could have been more. Sunday next.👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾💪🏽
AlatEGUNGUN be careful, na express you dey go :lol: :lol:

Alategun wrote: Thu Feb 24, 2022 3:05 am That was some game. Could have been more. Sunday next.👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾💪🏽

Top game from both sides. Big misses and big big GK performances...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
kbt

Post by kbt »

What a really good game. Could have gone either way but well done Red Men. YNWA!!!
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

Glad Chelski lost
Alategun

Post by Alategun »

Glad for the team. They deserve it

Sadio Mane is one of the first in and last out every day for Liverpool training, and his work continues away from Kirkby having hired his own live-in physiotherapist.

Mane’s rise from Metz in the French second tier to a Premier League and Champions League winner with Liverpool was no fluke.

The newly crowned Africa Cup of Nations champions has shown a commitment beyond expectation, having left his village of Bambali as a 15-year-old to become one of the best footballers in the world.

Despite having now reached the pinnacle, Mane remains one of the most professional players in Jurgen Klopp‘s squad, regularly named as one of the first into training every day.

Now, it has been revealed that the 29-year-old has hired his own physio to complement his work with Liverpool, with the man in question having previously worked for the club.

Jose Luis Rodriguez spoke to The Athletic about his new role, having joined Mane throughout the Africa Cup of Nations in Cameroon, and explained how he spends two weeks every month living with the forward.

“When I left Liverpool, Sadio’s agency proposed that I help look after their players. They have a lot like [Marc-Andre] ter Stegen, Mane, Naby Keita, Serge Gnabry, Dejan Lovren,” he said.

“It was a very interesting option for me. Sadio had put my name forward. Now I live with Sadio for half of each month and the other half I’m at home in Seville.

“It makes sense to stay at Sadio’s place rather than be in and out all the time. He finishes at the club, comes home and works with me.”

That Mane leaves the gym at the AXA Training Centre to continue preparations at home speaks to his character as a model professional, along with his exceptional fitness record.

Rodriguez was employed by Liverpool for two-and-a-half years before departing in 2020, and predicts his client could still play at the top level into his late 30s.

“He always wants to give more. Success makes him hungrier for more,” he continued.

“If there are new challenges and new trophies to aim for, he’ll go for it.

“The minute he doesn’t feel challenged, he’ll look to do something else. The more Sadio wins, the more he wants.

“He’s a top athlete. Cristiano Ronaldo is still playing in the Premier League at 37. There’s no reason why Sadio can’t do the same.”

Those words may suggest that Mane could look to move on from Liverpool in the future, and with his contract due to expire in 2023 and no talks ongoing, there is certainly a chance he does so.

But Rodriguez – who admitted he would be open to returning to a full-time role with a club – insisted the No. 10’s focus is on silverware with his current side.

“He looks after himself so well. He’s so strong, physically and mentally,” he added.

“He’s in the best moment of his career and is so hungry to win more trophies with Liverpool.”

https://www.thisisanfield.com/2022/03/s ... l-in-2020/

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Alategun

Post by Alategun »

That was tough to watch. Nice 3 points. Our midfielders have to find a way to stick with runners. West Ham had too many chances. Offense not clicking. Too many blocked shot. We come out with a win. We go again. Inter on Tuesday next. YNWA....

Agreed. Giving up way too many chances

Alategun

Post by Alategun »

In the past when we had a lead, we would play really compact with a deadly counter from the trio upfront. Now even with the lead, we play so open and give up so many chances

Alategun wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 1:56 am In the past when we had a lead, we would play really compact with a deadly counter from the trio upfront. Now even with the lead, we play so open and give up so many chances

The pressing was very limited in this game. Probably because of the back to back games plus the CL game this midweek

This is why they say 2-0 is the most dangerous score in the game.

Terrible performance...

But we move on.

Alategun

Post by Alategun »

Team looks tired. Jota is off pace. Maybe Firmino coming back to false 9 will help ease things a little.

Alategun wrote: Wed Mar 09, 2022 2:50 am Team looks tired. Jota is off pace. Maybe Firmino coming back to false 9 will help ease things a little.

They do look tired. Liverpool have 3 critical games before the international break -- 2 PL games and 1 FA Cup game. Their away game against Arsenal will likely be the one that tests them the most and that I assume Klopp will optimize his rotation for.

Good game overall. Tweaked the press to mostly contain and constrain the build ups from Brighton and then switched quickly.

What a player Diaz is.

Hopefully Mo is ok…

Alategun

Post by Alategun »

Diaz is something else. Thought everyone played well. Took us a while to get up yo speed. After the 1st 15 minutes, there was always going yo be 1 winner.

Liverpool to sign 16-year-old who has already made Celtic debut
March 14, 2022
Joanna Durkan

Liverpool are closing in on an agreement to sign 16-year-old Celtic winger Ben Doak, with the versatile teenager pulled by the prospect of working with Jurgen Klopp.

The Scottish winger has not yet signed a professional contract with Celtic having only turned 16 in November, but has 25 senior minutes to his name.

Doak already has two appearances off the bench in the Scottish Premiership, the first of which, at the end of January, made him Celtic’s second-youngest debutant in history.

The teenager is highly-rated and despite Celtic’s efforts to keep him at Parkhead, the chance to pounce has seen Liverpool spring into action with the club “closing in” on his signature, according to James Pearce of The Athletic.

The 16-year-old had a long list of suitors, which previously included Chelsea, but the Reds’ “pedigree for developing and promoting young players” and the “prospect of working with Klopp” are said to have proved decisive.

While Celtic will receive a fee, it will be minor compensation for their role in his development rather than a substantial payment to take him to Merseyside.

If the move is rubber-stamped, it will first be on a scholarship deal with players unable to agree to a professional contract until they are 17 – which in Doak’s case will be on November 11.

It’s another nod to Liverpool’s change in recruitment policy at the academy level following the post-Brexit changes that restrict overseas signings under the age of 18.

Doak would represent the latest British recruit into the youth set up, with the likes of Kaide Gordon, Bobby Clark and Calum Scanlon all recently added to the ranks as possible future homegrown players.

What do we know about Doak?

The 16-year-old has risen through the ranks at Celtic and is capped at under-16 and under-17 level for Scotland.

Forward-thinking and energetic on the right-hand side, Doak, by all accounts, has taken the pressure of being thrown into Celtic’s first team in his stride.

And he earned plenty of praise from manager Ange Postecoglou following his debut against Dundee United at the end of January:

“He’s a fantastic kid who comes from a good family. He looked really composed for his age,” the Celtic manager said.

“He’ll have grown up a bit today, it will given him a different perspective on life. He probably would have been on the other side of the terracing if he hadn’t been playing!”
https://www.thisisanfield.com/2022/03/l ... tic-debut/

The game with Arsenal might prove tricky. Will be very interesting to see how we approach it.

The YeyeMan wrote: Mon Mar 14, 2022 5:21 pm The game with Arsenal might prove tricky. Will be very interesting to see how we approach it.

Agreed. Will be a very tough game...
Hopefully Salah is ok

It's taken on even more importance after tonight's result...

Hopefully Liverpool drop points when they visit Emirate,Time for us to cement a top 4 with a victory against t he best team in Europe.
Arsenal need to not lose that game,a Pool win then the title is theirs,
Alategun

Post by Alategun »

For a 0-0 game with very few chances so far, very entertaining game.
Alategun

Post by Alategun »

Diaz is being marked by 2 people along with Mane. Need Salah on and more movement from Tiago and Henderson