The Arsenal FC - Related News and Devts for all 2025-26 Season

Re: The Arsenal FC - Related News and Devts for 2024-25 Season

Scipio Africanus wrote: Wed Apr 16, 2025 11:47 pm
cchinukw wrote: Wed Apr 16, 2025 11:33 pm
Scipio Africanus wrote: Wed Apr 16, 2025 11:27 pm A certain alliteratively named pest was spotted quickly refiling his favorite Bukayo Saka monkey memes back among his large, very large collection of pictures :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :woot: :woot: :woot:

Oh the hope he felt after that early penalty miss :laugh:
I have been inspecting the forum. Fumigating as best I can. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Keep up the good work my brother! :thumbs:
One of them don appear. This Good Friday e go do dem like movie. :laugh: :rotf: :rotf:
"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact" :rotf: :rotf: - Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Wed Apr 16, 2025 11:23 pm
The YeyeMan wrote: Wed Apr 16, 2025 10:59 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Wed Apr 16, 2025 9:43 pm
Scipio Africanus wrote: Wed Apr 16, 2025 9:39 pm We have spanked Real home and away in the Champions League! When was the last time anyone did that? Even the gods of Jinx refused to intervene! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :woot: :woot: :woot:
win the cup first , all these are just stats. however i see Inter v assanal in the final
Four really good teams remaining. An interesting clash of styles.

I think it'll be a PSG v Inter final.
Assanal's D is the key this season. They did defeat PSG 2-0 earlier in the season
It's a much better PSG side they'll be facing.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

Scipio Africanus wrote: Wed Apr 16, 2025 11:30 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Wed Apr 16, 2025 11:22 pm
Scipio Africanus wrote: Wed Apr 16, 2025 9:39 pm We have spanked Real home and away in the Champions League! When was the last time anyone did that? Even the gods of Jinx refused to intervene! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :woot: :woot: :woot:
win the cup first , all these are just stats. however i see Inter v assanal in the final

Assanal's D is the key this season. They did defeat PSG 2-0 earlier in the season
It won't be easy but I think we'll beat PSG. They don't have the quality to overwhelm our defense and we have many different weapons to hurt them with.
They have the quality - Dembele, Kvara, Doue and Barcola is considerable quality. Not to mention the threat from the attacking full backs.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25

© The YeyeMan 2025

The YeyeMan wrote: Thu Apr 17, 2025 12:31 am
Bigpokey24 wrote: Wed Apr 16, 2025 11:23 pm

It's a much better PSG side they'll be facing.
Just saw the highlights. Have no clue how PSG lost to Assanal.

The YeyeMan wrote: Thu Apr 17, 2025 12:32 am

It won't be easy but I think we'll beat PSG. They don't have the quality to overwhelm our defense and we have many different weapons to hurt them with.
They have the quality - Dembele, Kvara, Doue and Barcola is considerable quality. Not to mention the threat from the attacking full backs.
They are also very vulnerable in defense. They did lose to pool and Villa. I didn't like how they finished vs villa. Seems they lost concentration or thought the tie was over when they were up 2 nill

elerineye

Post by elerineye »

Saliba can hurry up and go to Real Madrid… :evil:
...work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. - Phil. 2: 12

...as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD. - Josh. 24: 15

"You need to grow up and respect the fact that people can disagree with you without you getting personal about it. People have a right to express their opinion and you have no right to try and suppress the rights of others because you do not like or disagree with it." - Waffiman

They do have quality but not the quality to cause us too many problems. We just restricted Real Madrid(of Vini Jr, Rodrygo, Mbappe, Modric, Bellingham etc) to one cheap goal in over 3 hours of football, while putting 5 past them. That PSG defense might even be worse than Madrid's. I think we'll see off PSG.
Ex nihilo nihil fit

Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Apr 17, 2025 12:57 am

They are also very vulnerable in defense. They did lose to pool and Villa. I didn't like how they finished vs villa. Seems they lost concentration or thought the tie was over when they were up 2 nill
Enrique said they became over confident at 2-0 (5-1). I can't see that happening vs Arsenal.

Bigpokey24 quote:

© The YeyeMan 2025

Scipio Africanus wrote: Thu Apr 17, 2025 1:23 am

They do have quality but not the quality to cause us too many problems. We just restricted Real Madrid(of Vini Jr, Rodrygo, Mbappe, Modric, Bellingham etc) to one cheap goal in over 3 hours of football, while putting 5 past them. That PSG defense might even be worse than Madrid's. I think we'll see off PSG.
Real Madrid are currently in some serious poor form, 2 wins in 10. Lost 3 champs league games on the bounce , also lost to Lille, AC Milan etc. PSG do look good, for me , along with Inter they are the best teams today in europe

^and in typical despot fashion, mindless violence, in full view of the public. Partey’s absence in the first-leg has lost the midfield. The engine of PSG is the Portuguese wizardry in the centre of the park. The loss of our enforcer forfeits the midfield entirely. No one can deputise. No one.

@Scip, any more updates from the gospel of TikTok on the Bob vs GoGo Madueke matter?

Said from the beginning that Inter was my dark horse this year. But if Barca crank up that MF, nobody left can live with them.

But I suspect that their suicidal high line maybe their undoing.

Its the defense that I think triumphs here, which is advantage Inter and Arsenal

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Can’t even say how proud I am of this team.
Myles Lewis Skelly: my goodness what a baller.
And bloody Declan Rice: what else is there to say about him. Still don’t understand what Saka was doing on that botched PK and Willow come on. I know you’ll go to Madrid eventually but why gift them a momentum changing goal.

But aside from those two gaffes, how do we explain Thomas Partey bottling it and getting the dumbest of all yellow cards to rule him out of the first leg against PSG. Thought Declan Rice was ready to fight him. It was funny and shocking all at once.

Partey and Skelly have been revelations this season but I still can’t understand how a player of such importance and intelligence can act like that.

I was so impressed however by the composure and the game plan drawn up by Arteta and the execution of the players. Again what a performance.

I don’t know whether it will be enough against PSG, but imagine if we had a top striker and two more quality attacking midfielders. We would literally walk all over anyone in Europe. Well this summer will be interesting

Arsenal for life,PSG is no joke but they will also be facing a tougher Arsenal,
The good thing is they are not bus parking team and will come out attacking which is good for us.
Partey absent is a key here,if we can get decent result at home before heading to Paris it will be great as Partey will be back.
Now who play in Partey absent?

Chief, while I am happy that Arsenal won, don't underestimate PSG, especially with Dembele 2.0 (and not Dumbele), and the young wizards Doue and Barcola. And let us not forget that Real was playing without three starters in their defence--Mendy, Militao and Carvajal. The only experienced defenders they had yesterday were Rudiger and Alaba, and the latter was just back from long-term injury, and he is also no longer "the best left-back in the world."

I want Arsenal in that final, but PSG is a real worry.

ohsee wrote: Thu Apr 17, 2025 6:09 pm

Chief, while I am happy that Arsenal won, don't underestimate PSG, especially with Dembele 2.0 (and not Dumbele), and the young wizards Doue and Barcola. And let us not forget that Real was playing without three starters in their defence--Mendy, Militao and Carvajal. The only experienced defenders they had yesterday were Rudiger and Alaba, and the latter was just back from long-term injury, and he is also no longer "the best left-back in the world."

Fo' sho' PSG is a strong team. Fo' sho'! :thumbs: I watched Dembele in a couple of their games and he seemed to have improved his decision making, then I watched him against Villa and I saw a good bit of the old Dembele. So in my opinion it is a toss up which Dembele shows up on match day. Kvarakatskhelia(sp) is also a very sharp player. Speedy and with great close control of the ball, a very dangerous combination. He can definitely hurt us, and if we are not careful he can win a PK or two for PSG against us, but I have confidence in the Arsenal defense. They will make it very hard for PSG to score. No guarantees that PSG won't get a bit of joy but I doubt it. Remember we didn't have Gabriel for the entire series against Real and we still allowed them only one gra-gra goal after over 180 minutes of football, whilst dashing them 5. :thumbs: Kiwior has been EXCELLENT. So has Timber. So has MLS. Saliba is Saliba.

Now on to THEIR defense. If Mendes is not careful with his overlapping runs, Saka will rip PSG apart all on his own. Hakimi on the PSG right side might get more joy from his overlapping runs, but Martinelli (who blows hot and cold and often makes extremely, extremely frustrating decisions) is a threat nonetheless. Then we have MLS who can be a scary offensive weapon for us. We have Merino with his typically top shelf Spanish soccer IQ and his danger on set-pieces. On our bench we have the superlative Nwaneri, and the ever dangerous Trossard(AKA Bossard :thumbs: ).

We also have our ever present threat from set-pieces. Free kicks, corner kicks. Arsenal have scored more from set-pieces than ANY club team in Europe. My only worries are the questionable form of Odegaard(still looking extremely rusty) and the absence of Brigadier General Partey for the first leg.

We should beat PSG, but this is football. Anything can happen. (© the late great Stephen Keshi)
Ex nihilo nihil fit

txj wrote: Thu Apr 17, 2025 10:18 am

Said from the beginning that Inter was my dark horse this year. But if Barca crank up that MF, nobody left can live with them.

But I suspect that their suicidal high line maybe their undoing.

Its the defense that I think triumphs here, which is advantage Inter and Arsenal
The bookies have Barca as favourites, followed by PSG, then Arsenal and finally Inter.

I might place a wager on Inter, Bilbao and Betis to win their competitions.

Bigpokey24 quote:

© The YeyeMan 2025

Scipio Africanus wrote: Thu Apr 17, 2025 9:09 pm
ohsee wrote: Thu Apr 17, 2025 6:09 pm

Fo' sho' PSG is a strong team. Fo' sho'! :thumbs: I watched Dembele in a couple of their games and he seemed to have improved his decision making, then I watched him against Villa and I saw a good bit of the old Dembele. So in my opinion it is a toss up which Dembele shows up on match day. Kvarakatskhelia(sp) is also a very sharp player. Speedy and with great close control of the ball, a very dangerous combination. He can definitely hurt us, and if we are not careful he can win a PK or two for PSG against us, but I have confidence in the Arsenal defense. They will make it very hard for PSG to score. No guarantees that PSG won't get a bit of joy but I doubt it. Remember we didn't have Gabriel for the entire series against Real and we still allowed them only one gra-gra goal after over 180 minutes of football, whilst dashing them 5. :thumbs: Kiwior has been EXCELLENT. So has Timber. So has MLS. Saliba is Saliba.

Now on to THEIR defense. If Mendes is not careful with his overlapping runs, Saka will rip PSG apart all on his own. Hakimi on the PSG right side might get more joy from his overlapping runs, but Martinelli (who blows hot and cold and often makes extremely, extremely frustrating decisions) is a threat nonetheless. Then we have MLS who can be a scary offensive weapon for us. We have Merino with his typically top shelf Spanish soccer IQ and his danger on set-pieces. On our bench we have the superlative Nwaneri, and the ever dangerous Trossard(AKA Bossard :thumbs: ).

We also have our ever present threat from set-pieces. Free kicks, corner kicks. Arsenal have scored more from set-pieces than ANY club team in Europe. My only worries are the questionable form of Odegaard(still looking extremely rusty) and the absence of Brigadier General Partey for the first leg.

We should beat PSG, but this is football. Anything can happen. (© the late great Stephen Keshi)
Oga Roman General, I hope you are right.

If PSG successfully reduces the game to one of controlled possession Arsenal will struggle, even with Partey.

You get the sense that too much is being made of the victory over a Madrid team living entirely on past achievements in the CL, considerable as that maybe.

Success by the English teams against PSG has come from chaos theory.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

^^^^ Nonsense. City are able to control the game better than PSG ever could and we bulldozed them. The best way to beat Arsenal is to go into a low block, frustrate our wingers and strike on counters and set-pieces. That is why I am jubilant that we did not meet Atletico. That would have been a nightmare game for us.
Ex nihilo nihil fit

@Africanus, City are as washed up as the plates drying on the dish rack. A proper assessment of PSG is offered by both legs vs a Liverpool flying through the Premier League at that point in time. The first-leg in particular was frightening. Their midfield was monstrous, the type Mary Shelley wrote about. They’re not to be underestimated and could easily when the whole lot. All of it.

Looking at that second goal.
Martinelli’s touch on the ball and the ability
to tuck inside the defender without breaking stride
should be a manual for every youth academy player.
That was top class, including the finish.
Bravo Lad!