What we've noticed about the Premier League so far
- The YeyeMan
Re: What we've noticed about the Premier League so far
I like it when people take a single game and seek to extrapolate the performance across a whole season. Tells me all I need to know.
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
Competitiveness does not necessarily mean good footie or attractive league.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 9:16 pmThe ever-expanding "middle class".txj wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 7:09 pmThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 5:35 pm People are conflating excitement and drama for competitiveness.
Absolutely. All you have to do is pay attention to details.
The level of tactical organization shown by mid level teams such as Bournemouth, Palace, Villa, Fulham, Forest, Brentford, Brighton, etc has been outstanding...
Even Guardiola pointed to this earlier in the season...
That Palace and Newcastle won trophies is another indication of the league's increasing competitiveness. Ironically, it's the same people that pay scant attention to the details who criticised the league when Man City were doing clean sweeps; and here they are offering tired criticism now the spoils are being shared.
Whether you like it or not, many indicators show there is a general drop in EPL quality even as the mid-tier teams improved. Those of us who watch footie all over the world saw the evidence on the green grass.

- The YeyeMan
My point was that some, you included, are conflating "attractiveness" for competitiveness.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 7:35 amCompetitiveness does not necessarily mean good footie or attractive league.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 9:16 pmThe ever-expanding "middle class".txj wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 7:09 pmThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 5:35 pm People are conflating excitement and drama for competitiveness.
The level of tactical organization shown by mid level teams such as Bournemouth, Palace, Villa, Fulham, Forest, Brentford, Brighton, etc has been outstanding...
That Palace and Newcastle won trophies is another indication of the league's increasing competitiveness. Ironically, it's the same people that pay scant attention to the details who criticised the league when Man City were doing clean sweeps; and here they are offering tired criticism now the spoils are being shared.
Whether you like it or not, many indicators show there is a general drop in EPL quality even as the mid-tier teams improved. Those of us who watch footie all over the world saw the evidence on the green grass.![]()
What are the indicators of a general drop in EPL quality?
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
© The YeyeMan 2025
- danfo driver
Bro, its not been competitive nor has it been attractive.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 7:35 amCompetitiveness does not necessarily mean good footie or attractive league.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 9:16 pmThe ever-expanding "middle class".txj wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 7:09 pmThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 5:35 pm People are conflating excitement and drama for competitiveness.
Whether you like it or not, many indicators show there is a general drop in EPL quality even as the mid-tier teams improved. Those of us who watch footie all over the world saw the evidence on the green grass.![]()
Its weird that some people are celebrating a "competition" caused by "drop" rather than "increase" in performance. Let me give you an analogy --
- lets assume that years ago, there were 5 students that used to score 90+ in exams and they always came first to 5th. And others scored below 70%. Everyone said there was no competition.
- then this year, those 5 students did not study and failed. They scored between 55-65 and then others scored below 70%. All of a sudden, some people claim that the exam is more competitive because everyone scored less than 70%.

It would have been a different story if the 5 students continued to score 90+ and the others who scored less than 70% worked hard and moved up to 85%+ --- now, that would be competitive!
The fact is that performances dropped significantly that Spurs and United almost got relegated. Not because the competition was top notch, but because they were sh11111tttt!!! Even Southampton needed the last 2 games to ensure that they did. not become the worst team in the history of the EPL. They are the second worse! Thats how bad the league was this season.
If someone cannot come to terms with the fact that his team won a very very weak league with a paltry 83 points, I cant help him.

danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 1:14 pmBro, its not been competitive nor has it been attractive.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 7:35 amCompetitiveness does not necessarily mean good footie or attractive league.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 9:16 pmThe ever-expanding "middle class".txj wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 7:09 pmThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 5:35 pm People are conflating excitement and drama for competitiveness.
Its weird that some people are celebrating a "competition" caused by "drop" rather than "increase" in performance. Let me give you an analogy --
- lets assume that years ago, there were 5 students that used to score 90+ in exams and they always came first to 5th. And others scored below 70%. Everyone said there was no competition.
- then this year, those 5 students did not study and failed. They scored between 55-65 and then others scored below 70%. All of a sudden, some people claim that the exam is more competitive because everyone scored less than 70%.No it wasnt. Everyone was just sh1t and did not study.
It would have been a different story if the 5 students continued to score 90+ and the others who scored less than 70% worked hard and moved up to 85%+ --- now, that would be competitive!
The fact is that performances dropped significantly that Spurs and United almost got relegated. Not because the competition was top notch, but because they were sh11111tttt!!! Even Southampton needed the last 2 games to ensure that they did. not become the worst team in the history of the EPL. They are the second worse! Thats how bad the league was this season.
If someone cannot come to terms with the fact that his team won a very very weak league with a paltry 83 points, I cant help him.![]()
Stay away from math and comparative statistical analysis
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
What are you smoking?The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 12:38 pmMy point was that some, you included, are conflating "attractiveness" for competitiveness.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 7:35 amCompetitiveness does not necessarily mean good footie or attractive league.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 9:16 pmThe ever-expanding "middle class".txj wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 7:09 pmThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 5:35 pm People are conflating excitement and drama for competitiveness.
What are the indicators of a general drop in EPL quality?

You replied to my post that clearly stated otherwise.

As for indicators, they are all around.

- The YeyeMan
You said, the EPL has become a joke and one of the reasons you gave was that "the champions [have been] crowned early and relegated teams out of it long before the end."; thus indicating you're championing entertainment and drama above competitiveness. If I've misunderstood your position, please clarify.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 2:11 pmWhat are you smoking?The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 12:38 pmMy point was that some, you included, are conflating "attractiveness" for competitiveness.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 7:35 amCompetitiveness does not necessarily mean good footie or attractive league.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 9:16 pmThe ever-expanding "middle class".txj wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 7:09 pmThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 5:35 pm People are conflating excitement and drama for competitiveness.
What are the indicators of a general drop in EPL quality?![]()
You replied to my post that clearly stated otherwise.![]()
As for indicators, they are all around.![]()
Would still like you to name those indicators....
Bigpokey24 quote:
© The YeyeMan 2025
- The YeyeMan
My friend, this is a terrible terrible analogy.danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 1:14 pmBro, its not been competitive nor has it been attractive.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 7:35 amCompetitiveness does not necessarily mean good footie or attractive league.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 9:16 pmThe ever-expanding "middle class".txj wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 7:09 pmThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 5:35 pm People are conflating excitement and drama for competitiveness.
- then this year, those 5 students did not study and failed. They scored between 55-65 and then others scored below 70%. All of a sudden, some people claim that the exam is more competitive because everyone scored less than 70%.No it wasnt. Everyone was just sh1t and did not study.
If someone cannot come to terms with the fact that his team won a very very weak league with a paltry 83 points, I cant help him.![]()
Bigpokey24 quote:
© The YeyeMan 2025
- Scipio Africanus
The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 3:02 pmMy friend, this is a terrible terrible analogy.danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 1:14 pmBro, its not been competitive nor has it been attractive.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 7:35 amCompetitiveness does not necessarily mean good footie or attractive league.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 9:16 pmThe ever-expanding "middle class".txj wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 7:09 pmThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 5:35 pm People are conflating excitement and drama for competitiveness.

DD the duncelet hasn't got two brain cells to rub togeza

Ayy di white man! *

*© Arie Spears
Ex nihilo nihil fit
Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

- Scipio Africanus

Ex nihilo nihil fit

- danfo driver
I disagree. Many teams "did not study" and dropped in performance, significantly, this season. Many! Man United, Tottenham, City, Arsenal even the likes of Villa and West Ham, just to name a few. Even Chelsea that has 66 points right now (with one game to go), finished the season with 63 points last year. Your own Liverpool with 83 points this season, got 82 points last season and finished 3rd.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 3:02 pmMy friend, this is a terrible terrible analogy.danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 1:14 pmBro, its not been competitive nor has it been attractive.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 7:35 amCompetitiveness does not necessarily mean good footie or attractive league.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 9:16 pmThe ever-expanding "middle class".txj wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 7:09 pmThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 5:35 pm People are conflating excitement and drama for competitiveness.
Performance and quality has been very bad this season.
- Scipio Africanus
*havedanfo driver wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 6:31 pmI disagree. Many teams "did not study" and dropped in performance, significantly, this season. Many! Man United, Tottenham, City, Arsenal even the likes of Villa and West Ham, just to name a few. Even Chelsea that has 66 points right now (with one game to go), finished the season with 63 points last year. Your own Liverpool with 83 points this season, got 82 points last season and finished 3rd.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 3:02 pmMy friend, this is a terrible terrible analogy.danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 1:14 pmBro, its not been competitive nor has it been attractive.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 7:35 amCompetitiveness does not necessarily mean good footie or attractive league.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 9:16 pmThe ever-expanding "middle class".txj wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 7:09 pmThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 5:35 pm People are conflating excitement and drama for competitiveness.

Ex nihilo nihil fit

That is illogical reasoning on your part.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 3:00 pmYou said, the EPL has become a joke and one of the reasons you gave was that "the champions [have been] crowned early and relegated teams out of it long before the end."; thus indicating you're championing entertainment and drama above competitiveness. If I've misunderstood your position, please clarify.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 2:11 pmWhat are you smoking?The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 12:38 pmMy point was that some, you included, are conflating "attractiveness" for competitiveness.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 7:35 amCompetitiveness does not necessarily mean good footie or attractive league.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 9:16 pmThe ever-expanding "middle class".txj wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 7:09 pmThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 5:35 pm People are conflating excitement and drama for competitiveness.
First of all, you need to explain what you mean by competitive, because I don’t see how you can think that one team running away with the league early is competitive.

BTW, that same EPL team was knocked out of Europe the moment things got tough.

This in a UEFA CL with its own dip in quality.

I don’t think you misunderstood my position. This looks like a case of looking through clouded lenses or more likely a “Love is blind” situation.

- danfo driver
Very well said.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 7:11 pmThat is illogical reasoning on your part.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 3:00 pmYou said, the EPL has become a joke and one of the reasons you gave was that "the champions [have been] crowned early and relegated teams out of it long before the end."; thus indicating you're championing entertainment and drama above competitiveness. If I've misunderstood your position, please clarify.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 2:11 pmWhat are you smoking?The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 12:38 pmMy point was that some, you included, are conflating "attractiveness" for competitiveness.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 7:35 amCompetitiveness does not necessarily mean good footie or attractive league.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 9:16 pmThe ever-expanding "middle class".txj wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 7:09 pm
First of all, you need to explain what you mean by competitive, because I don’t see how you can think that one team running away with the league early is competitive.![]()
BTW, that same EPL team was knocked out of Europe the moment things got tough.![]()
This in a UEFA CL with its own dip in quality.![]()
I don’t think you misunderstood my position. This looks like a case of looking through clouded lenses or more likely a “Love is blind” situation.![]()
- danfo driver
Look at how poor the EL final was. Low quality, devoid of ideas and very poor tactics.
Man U for instance, had one CF who was struggling against 2 big CBs. Rather than bring in an extra CF (Zirkzee), so he can play with two CFs against the 2 CBs, the coach replaced the CF in the box for a CF who cant play in the box.
On the other side, Postecoglu, now playing against a team that moved its CB forward to play as a CF, decided to bring in another CB (3 against 1) instead of exploiting that new space created by the opponent moving its CB to CF.
Everything about this game proved what this thread is saying.
Man U for instance, had one CF who was struggling against 2 big CBs. Rather than bring in an extra CF (Zirkzee), so he can play with two CFs against the 2 CBs, the coach replaced the CF in the box for a CF who cant play in the box.

Everything about this game proved what this thread is saying.

- Scipio Africanus
Nweeeehhh nweeehhh nwwwwiiiihhhh! Your takes are dumb!!!danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 9:42 pm Look at how poor the EL final was. Low quality, devoid of ideas and very poor tactics.
Man U for instance, had one CF who was struggling against 2 big CBs. Rather than bring in an extra CF (Zirkzee), so he can play with two CFs against the 2 CBs, the coach replaced the CF in the box for a CF who cant play in the box.On the other side, Postecoglu, now playing against a team that moved its CB forward to play as a CF, decided to bring in another CB (3 against 1) instead of exploiting that new space created by the opponent moving its CB to CF.
Everything about this game proved what this thread is saying.![]()

Ex nihilo nihil fit

- The YeyeMan
Are those your indicators or...?Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 7:11 pmThat is illogical reasoning on your part.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 3:00 pmYou said, the EPL has become a joke and one of the reasons you gave was that "the champions [have been] crowned early and relegated teams out of it long before the end."; thus indicating you're championing entertainment and drama above competitiveness. If I've misunderstood your position, please clarify.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 2:11 pmWhat are you smoking?The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 12:38 pmMy point was that some, you included, are conflating "attractiveness" for competitiveness.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 7:35 amCompetitiveness does not necessarily mean good footie or attractive league.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 9:16 pmThe ever-expanding "middle class".txj wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 7:09 pm
First of all, you need to explain what you mean by competitive, because I don’t see how you can think that one team running away with the league early is competitive.![]()
BTW, that same EPL team was knocked out of Europe the moment things got tough.![]()
This in a UEFA CL with its own dip in quality.![]()
I don’t think you misunderstood my position. This looks like a case of looking through clouded lenses or more likely a “Love is blind” situation.![]()

Bigpokey24 quote:
© The YeyeMan 2025
- The YeyeMan
You conveniently fail to mention, from last season:danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 6:31 pmI disagree. Many teams "did not study" and dropped in performance, significantly, this season. Many! Man United, Tottenham, City, Arsenal even the likes of Villa and West Ham, just to name a few. Even Chelsea that has 66 points right now (with one game to go), finished the season with 63 points last year. Your own Liverpool with 83 points this season, got 82 points last season and finished 3rd.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 3:02 pmMy friend, this is a terrible terrible analogy.danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 1:14 pmBro, its not been competitive nor has it been attractive.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 7:35 amCompetitiveness does not necessarily mean good footie or attractive league.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 9:16 pmThe ever-expanding "middle class".txj wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 7:09 pmThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 5:35 pm People are conflating excitement and drama for competitiveness.
Forest are up >33 points
Brentford are up >16 points
Everton are up >5 points
Fulham are up >7 points
Bournemouth are up >5 points
Brighton are up >10 points
Palace are up >3 points
Newcastle are up >6 points
Chelsea are up (as you mentioned)
Aston Villa will be up if they win their last game.
Liverpool are up and have been on pre-season duty for the last month.
So at least half or over half the league have improved on last season's tally.
Bigpokey24 quote:
© The YeyeMan 2025
- The YeyeMan
There's a reason they're the worst teams remaining in the Premier League.... and yet.... they made a European final.danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 9:42 pm Look at how poor the EL final was. Low quality, devoid of ideas and very poor tactics.
Man U for instance, had one CF who was struggling against 2 big CBs. Rather than bring in an extra CF (Zirkzee), so he can play with two CFs against the 2 CBs, the coach replaced the CF in the box for a CF who cant play in the box.On the other side, Postecoglu, now playing against a team that moved its CB forward to play as a CF, decided to bring in another CB (3 against 1) instead of exploiting that new space created by the opponent moving its CB to CF.
Bigpokey24 quote:
© The YeyeMan 2025
- danfo driver
Yup! It was the first time the CL 3rd placed team did NOT drop down to EL.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Thu May 22, 2025 12:43 amThere's a reason they're the worst teams remaining in the Premier League.... and yet.... they made a European final.danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 9:42 pm Look at how poor the EL final was. Low quality, devoid of ideas and very poor tactics.
Last edited by danfo driver on Thu May 22, 2025 4:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
- danfo driver
LOL you are making my point and do not even know it. Those students you mentioned who usually score less than 70% are up because those who used to score 90% and did not study, are significantly worse this season, so they are giving up points to the ones you have listed.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Thu May 22, 2025 12:42 amYou conveniently fail to mention, from last season:danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 6:31 pmI disagree. Many teams "did not study" and dropped in performance, significantly, this season. Many! Man United, Tottenham, City, Arsenal even the likes of Villa and West Ham, just to name a few. Even Chelsea that has 66 points right now (with one game to go), finished the season with 63 points last year. Your own Liverpool with 83 points this season, got 82 points last season and finished 3rd.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 3:02 pmMy friend, this is a terrible terrible analogy.danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 1:14 pmBro, its not been competitive nor has it been attractive.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 21, 2025 7:35 amCompetitiveness does not necessarily mean good footie or attractive league.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 9:16 pmThe ever-expanding "middle class".txj wrote: ↑Tue May 20, 2025 7:09 pm
Forest are up >33 points
Brentford are up >16 points
Everton are up >5 points
Fulham are up >7 points
Bournemouth are up >5 points
Brighton are up >10 points
Palace are up >3 points
Newcastle are up >6 points
Chelsea are up (as you mentioned)
Aston Villa will be up if they win their last game.
Liverpool are up and have been on pre-season duty for the last month.
So at least half or over half the league have improved on last season's tally.