Diogo Jotta, passed away

Re: Diogo Jotta, passed away

azuka

Post by azuka »

May their souls rest in peace. May they never walk alone.

A tragic situation indeed. May he rest in peace

Diogo rest in peace. Thanks for the wonderful memories. May your wife and family find the strength to endure this loss.

Sad news, Rest in Peace.

Re: Diogo Jota has died.

Coach wrote: Thu Jul 03, 2025 9:52 am The sooner legislation is brought in regarding the use of supercars the better, for all. Too much power in untrained hands. These are not your average set of wheels.

The likes of Verstappen, Hamilton and Norris dedicate a lifetime towards taming these beasts and still exercise cautions in the switchbacks and dummy moves. The tyres are checked and changed time and again over the course of one race. No, a Lamborghini isn’t F1 calibre, but neither is it a Rav 4 or C-class coupe.

Jota joins Jose Reyes and the many others before him. Tragic loss of life.

May his widow and children find strength and comfort to live on in his legacy.
Here we go again, legislation ko legislation ni. Why do some people always feel we need more govt in our lives to solve our problems? More overreach? What about people dieing everyday in mazdas, RAv 4s and mini vans? The people that buy lambos pay a premium to drive and enjoy them. Let them be. We already have enough laws with speed limits, driving tests etc. We don't need no nonsense legislation, people are gonna do what they do. That C-Class coupe in another person's hands would do the lambo.... if I got my hands on it. :)

can't shake off this incredibly sad feeling...
I mean, like all day...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Val de Lubián e portela de Padornelo; autovía A-52

@Felarey, it’s not about governing individual autonomy, the suggestion isn’t that the law stop people owning such cars, rather the requirement for a certain skillset to drive them. It’s the nature of man to assume his dominion over all things, at times unproven and untested.

Why would a regular drivers licence qualify anyone to drive a super car? Having passed a driving test in a Citroen C1, does that automatically imply competence to drive a Maclaren F1?

Yes, RTAs happen all day and those ending fatality are of no less importance. In this instance, it’s a common theme, young man, super car. Flash, fancy, fast, as pleasing as they are to the eye, these cars are beasts tamed only by skilled hands. To suggest such skill be a requirement to drive, is not only safeguarding the driver but the innocent bystander or road user. If there’s no learning to be had, then what, an acceptance as par for course?

Holy smoke. RIP❗️

Coach wrote: Thu Jul 03, 2025 10:42 pm @Felarey, it’s not about governing individual autonomy, the suggestion isn’t that the law stop people owning such cars, rather the requirement for a certain skillset to drive them. It’s the nature of man to assume his dominion over all things, at times unproven and untested.

Why would a regular drivers licence qualify anyone to drive a super car? Having passed a driving test in a Citroen C1, does that automatically imply competence to drive a Maclaren F1?

Yes, RTAs happen all day and those ending fatality are of no less importance. In this instance, it’s a common theme, young man, super car. Flash, fancy, fast, as pleasing as they are to the eye, these cars are beasts tamed only by skilled hands. To suggest such skill be a requirement to drive, is not only safeguarding the driver but the innocent bystander or road user. If there’s no learning to be had, then what, an acceptance as par for course?
Coachito, no measure of skill can prevent an accident that’s the consequence of a tire blowout. The emphasis should be on proper vehicle maintenance and sensible operation of said vehicle regardless of what type of vehicle it happens to be.

I once had the wheel of a used car I had just bought break off. Fortunately, I wasn’t on a highway where I would have been traveling at a significant speed otherwise, only God knows what would have been my fate. Instead, I had just turned the corner on a city street and the car screeched to a halt as the wheel ended up about 50 yards from where it had broken off. I was just plain lucky🤔❗️

Coach wrote: Thu Jul 03, 2025 10:42 pm @Felarey, it’s not about governing individual autonomy, the suggestion isn’t that the law stop people owning such cars, rather the requirement for a certain skillset to drive them. It’s the nature of man to assume his dominion over all things, at times unproven and untested.

Innocent bystander? Every car is a potential 4000 pound weapon that could hurt the innocent bystander. Why pick on drivers of supercars? Govt should be trying to make our lives better not more difficult. They should be about getting more peeps in lambos not pushing those with lambos in grocery getters like RAV4. We can encourage supercar drivers to get some training but don't need another legislation from big govt. Soon you'd start throwing people in jail because they haven't taken yet another training. A lambo is a street legal car, some people daily it.

smallpikin

Post by smallpikin »

May their souls rest peacefully.
"If you aren't keeping the score
you're only practising". Hugh Collum, Finance Director, SmithKline Beecham.

felarey wrote: Fri Jul 04, 2025 12:22 am

Innocent bystander? Every car is a potential 4000 pound weapon that could hurt the innocent bystander. Why pick on drivers of supercars? Govt should be trying to make our lives better not more difficult. They should be about getting more peeps in lambos not pushing those with lambos in grocery getters like RAV4. We can encourage supercar drivers to get some training but don't need another legislation from big govt. Soon you'd start throwing people in jail because they haven't taken yet another training. A lambo is a street legal car, some people daily it.
Bros, I take it say na lambo you dey drive? Up you. Make you no dey yab Rav4 biko. Naim I dey drive. Anyway, this thread is about Diogo's passing. Let us not derail it.

ohsee wrote: Fri Jul 04, 2025 3:24 am
felarey wrote: Fri Jul 04, 2025 12:22 am

Bros, I take it say na lambo you dey drive? Up you. Make you no dey yab Rav4 biko. Naim I dey drive. Anyway, this thread is about Diogo's passing. Let us not derail it.
Papa, I don't have a lambo :D , just not a fan of more govt in people's lives. Yes I agree respectfully, this should continue to be about Diogo's passing.