The Arsenal FC-Related News & Developments for 2016/2017

Re: The Arsenal FC-Related News & Developments for 2016/2017

bepanda wrote:Ozil has not had a single good game since November. We are now half way through February ... 3 months without a single game from the German player of the year ... And he wants to be P.A.I.D. ...
But, let's all be honest. Wenger was lucky when he signed a great generation of guys, who held each other accountable. Sol, Laurent, Jens, Dixon, Viera, Thierry, ... etc. These guys were fighters. They policed each other and the team. They didn't let slackers and laziness to creep in.

The Invincible is the job of these tough minded players, Wenger was just a bystander.. and he made a career of it.
We have seen the real Wenger the last 12 years. He spineless and mostly overrated manager ... I feel sorry for those who still believe in this guy.
Bepanda

TBH TODAY, it wasn't the game plan ..... the selection of the squad more or less made it doomed from the beginning.

Pep, Mourinho, or any other top coach would have sat at least four or five of these players on the bench

bepanda

Post by bepanda »

I don't really know what Wenger teaches his teams, but for the past 12 years, Arsenal has collapsed consistently when it mattered most. It is not bad luck. It is not destiny. It is not magic. It is not vodoo. It is bad coaching. It is simply poor management decisions, it is lack of accountability.
When you watch how Arsenal players behave, when their team doesn't have the ball, high school teams do better than that. And the mistakes are so glaring, they are so obvious, one even wonders what this team does in training. Do they study video of opposing teams? Do they discuss how to defend? do they practice it?
To me, it is simple: the manager just doesn't believe in defensive minded football. Arsenal players don't know what to do when they don't have the ball. And Nobody is willing to teach them that.
They can get away with it against Hull City or Watford. But any team with comparable talent and decent coach will destroy them every time.
Bepanda
bepanda wrote:Ozil has not had a single good game since November. We are now half way through February ... 3 months without a single game from the German player of the year ... And he wants to be P.A.I.D. ...
But, let's all be honest. Wenger was lucky when he signed a great generation of guys, who held each other accountable. Sol, Laurent, Jens, Dixon, Viera, Thierry, ... etc. These guys were fighters. They policed each other and the team. They didn't let slackers and laziness to creep in.
The Invincible is the job of these tough minded players, Wenger was just a bystander.. and he made a career of it.
We have seen the real Wenger the last 12 years. He spineless and mostly overrated manager ... I feel sorry for those who still believe in this guy.
Bepanda
TBH TODAY, it wasn't the game plan ..... the selection of the squad more or less made it doomed from the beginning.
Pep, Mourinho, or any other top coach would have sat at least four or five of these players on the bench

This group of players are no longer playing for this manager. Never have I seen my club look so abject, hopeless, naive, and helpless. I've seen something I haven't seen before. These guys are no longer sticking out their necks for the manager. Reminds me of Chelsea players in the last days of Jose last season.

I love Arsene. The abuse turns my stomach, and I hope he preserves some honor and leaves...the sooner, the better. I can't wait for our new manager. I hope the hapless board make a very good choice. Till then, I'll just sit back and watch albeit with frustration.

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

tolahs

Post by tolahs »

Bepanda
You lighten the strength of any argument when you create unnecessary debit. AW came to the EPL as a revolutionary with great vision - to downplay that cannot be excused by our present depression. Those players in the '90s were ready to look past him but were pleasantly surprised.
He 's that guy with conviction who has refused to accept obvious failings - inotherwords he hasn't evolved as a coach - the advantages we'd in the 90s like fitness & diet are now common place even in the lower leagues. Old Brazil national teams didn't care much about the tactics of the opponent cos they could always impose their style - AW believed we could do that for a longtime - after consistent grumbles by many about a Plan 'B' - he has gone bunkers playing a rudderless system.
looking back, the board were wrong to expand his brief beyond coaching - we never recovered from the loss of David Dein. AW doesn't delegate - Steve Bould is a great defensive coach whose input has been cut - we've to save AW from himself else cos the damage to our club might be worse than we envision.
People are barking about Alexis & Ozil not signing - you better believe many agents & coaches are tapping up most of our squad right now.
His vision was huge in creating the invincibles - as a matter of fact he called it a season early - we were ahead the previous season & ended up losing - neurosis has played a huge part in Arsene's Arsenal - that's why we never repeated our league wins over consecutive seasons. We feel a bit of injustice & end up losing a few matches. Hope he enjoys the rest of his life but he must be let go.
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.

@Cally, said it back in 05, Wengerism was killing the club, a little botox under the skin and fool were wolf whistling about stability, consistency and various other bullsh*ts. First it was Highbury housing project, then Puma, then financial fair play, all have been and gone and still, Beloved is being held down and having it forced in. Stability they cried and yet, such has been the philosophy, the totalitarianism of the despot that, the cataclysm is every bit a possibility upon his departure. Stability. Wengerism has been adding drops of salt peter to anti-matter for years. Stability. The moment the old git goes, Beloved is doomed. Stability, hiccup.
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

Cally wrote:This group of players are no longer playing for this manager. Never have I seen my club look so abject, hopeless, naive, and helpless. I've seen something I haven't seen before. These guys are no longer sticking out their necks for the manager. Reminds me of Chelsea players in the last days of Jose last season.

I love Arsene. The abuse turns my stomach, and I hope he preserves some honor and leaves...the sooner, the better. I can't wait for our new manager. I hope the hapless board make a very good choice. Till then, I'll just sit back and watch albeit with frustration.
Frankly can you blame them?

How does AW justify playing Coq? Coq has been poor for weeks, AW finally has both Xhaka and Elneny back in the fold, has OX playing well in CM but what does AW do...benches El neny, exiles OX to the RW and starts a woeful Coq.

How do you bench a warrior like Welbeck?

I posted this before the game....
I had hoped for an Elneny, Xhaka, OX midfield 3, also no Welbeck is a disappointment. no matter result story of the night will be AW and Ozil.
too much emphasis of what Arsenal will do on the ball by AW. My concern is off the ball acumen, drive & effort, Elneny will be missed, as will Welbeck.

Everyone knew that type of line up Arsenal required if they were to have any chance of a decent outcome in Munich save...of course Arsene Wenger.

Sooner or later you retain or lose faith of people based on your performance and in AW case his players lack faith in him is well deserved.
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'

@Tunis, the lineup was irrelevant, the outcome was inevitable, t'is only the blind foolishness of patriotism that had any, one's self included, think otherwise. When Wenger was swinging his axe like Pol Pot, cleansing the squad of the undesirable, one argued a totalitarian state was being created by a modern day deity. Transition, they said. Lauren to Bellerin, Vieira to Coquelin, Henry to Giroud, Campbell to Koscielny, Cole to Monreal. Not one leader to replace five. Leaders are always a threat to authority, bring the potential for rebellion and mutiny. Leaders were banished, replaced with hearts and minds, void of substance, empty and easily controlled.

In the aftermath, Wenger has, for the umpteenth cited mental collapse...what else did he expect when he's spent the best part of a decade creating and conditioning the perfect coward. Twas said years back, as tumblers spilt their fill down throats in those all exclusive bars before the games, Wenger would kill his legacy, drag his greatness through the cesspit and squalor before mounting the gallows before an audience made up of many once upon a time sympathisers. Puma they said, the puma came and waits patiently, with the jackals and hyenas for the body to be cut down from the noose.
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

Coach wrote:@Tunis, the lineup was irrelevant, the outcome was inevitable, t'is only the blind foolishness of patriotism that had any, one's self included, think otherwise. When Wenger was swinging his axe like Pol Pot, cleansing the squad of the undesirable, one argued a totalitarian state was being created by a modern day deity. Transition, they said. Lauren to Bellerin, Vieira to Coquelin, Henry to Giroud, Campbell to Koscielny, Cole to Monreal. Not one leader to replace five. Leaders are always a threat to authority, bring the potential for rebellion and mutiny. Leaders were banished, replaced with hearts and minds, void of substance, empty and easily controlled.

In the aftermath, Wenger has, for the umpteenth cited mental collapse...what else did he expect when he's spent the best part of a decade creating and conditioning the perfect coward. Twas said years back, as tumblers spilt their fill down throats in those all exclusive bars before the games, Wenger would kill his legacy, drag his greatness through the cesspit and squalor before mounting the gallows before an audience made up of many once upon a time sympathisers. Puma they said, the puma came and waits patiently, with the jackals and hyenas for the body to be cut down from the noose.
Well stated coach.

It may have made no difference but at very least, no matter how remote chances of success are it's on the manager to employ the required tactics and line up to pull out the best result possible.
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'

^He's not even trying any more. He's a silver haired ideologist staring into the distance, swallowing lumps in his throat as an inxredible of antithesis marches on the horizon. His vision failed and now, he is blind.

Waffi it's okay Bro you can come out now :woot: :woot: like Arsene you speak too quickly and learn too slowly my brother :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

But it's okay the sun will still shine in the morning :laugh:

lionga

Post by lionga »

Come come Arsenalists, abeg helep me wit dis wan.

The injury to Koscielny was tough, but...

...in what universe does Kieran Gibbs don the captain's armband in a game of this magnitude?

What does Captaincy mean at the club? There are no leaders, this is not a wretched fate stumbled upon, rather an endpoint reached through sheer deliberation. In the Wengerian utopia, captaincy is fluid, passes from player to player, circumstantial and yet absolutely irrelevant. There is no purpose to the captain beyond being a devoted follower of the fantastically flawed philosophy, of which they all are. Gibbs, in such instance, is perfect for the role, Zelelem, Bielik, Adelaide the same.

The problem is Wengerism, a genuine leader would've called his men to arms and addressed that in an instant. Henry, Vieira, Petit, Cole et al all questioned the ambition and all walked the plank. What remains is a progeny of mind numbed invertebrates living the life of Riley.

lionga wrote:Come come Arsenalists, abeg helep me wit dis wan.

...in what universe does Kieran Gibbs don the captain's armband in a game of this magnitude?
Exactly my question, but Coach has answered us.... all of dem na di same...

Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

Where is Waffiman?

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

Coach wrote:@Tunis, the lineup was irrelevant, the outcome was inevitable, t'is only the blind foolishness of patriotism that had any, one's self included, think otherwise. When Wenger was swinging his axe like Pol Pot, cleansing the squad of the undesirable, one argued a totalitarian state was being created by a modern day deity. Transition, they said. Lauren to Bellerin, Vieira to Coquelin, Henry to Giroud, Campbell to Koscielny, Cole to Monreal. Not one leader to replace five. Leaders are always a threat to authority, bring the potential for rebellion and mutiny. Leaders were banished, replaced with hearts and minds, void of substance, empty and easily controlled.

Even those leaders who came before were failed by a stubborn vision of the way the game 'ought' to be played. It's why they kept getting beat time and time again in Europe by inferior sides.
bepanda

Post by bepanda »

He is at Arsenal's training ground gathering knowledge about what happened in Munich.
What we all saw on television is just a lie, an illusion. He will bring us the true insight from the Arsenal training facility.
When players spend many years at a club, we all want to see them learn and improve.
I don't see how Gibbs, Walcott, Ox, Coquelin have improved in the last 5=6+ years. Wenger spent big on guys in the past 3+ years. Those guys came with big expectations ... but they all look like school boys.
I don't know what goes on at the practice facility, but I don't believe many players are challenged enough in practice. Arsenal practices probably look like extended vacations ...
Ebyboy wrote:Where is Waffiman?

bepanda

Post by bepanda »

You cannot buy experience and wisdom. I don't know how long Waffi has been watching soccer, but I hope he is learning valuable lessons.
Bepanda
anikulapo wrote:Waffi it's okay Bro you can come out now :woot: :woot: like Arsene you speak too quickly and learn too slowly my brother :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
But it's okay the sun will still shine in the morning :laugh:

lionga wrote:Come come Arsenalists, abeg helep me wit dis wan.

What does that have to do with anything?

bepanda

Post by bepanda »

I beg to differ with your argument. I have followed Wenger since his days at Monaco. The success he had with the Invincibles made us believe that he was the sole architect of that generation.
I believe it is time to question that theory. The last 12 years have proven to me that, he might have been more lucky than good. Because he doesn't seem to really know what the root cause of that success was. I would equate Wenger with an extraordinary offensive coordinator (to borrow the term from American football). He has produced some of the best offensive teams generation after generation. There is no denying him that.
However, the Invincible had something else that Wenger has not been able to reproduce: Defensive tenacity. And that defensive tenacity didn't start in defense. It started upfront. Players with a "thugish" attitude in them. These guys had many games, where they played with 10 men (because of red card) and still didn't lose. They had personalities, who were willing to fight the opponent, but also fight one another.
The closest Arsenal came to actually again was 2007/08 when they were 4 points behind. They had Flamini/Fabregas as enforcers. With a keeper not named Almunia, they would have won the league that year. Flamini left, Wenger has never been closer.
Instead of buying players with an attitude, he continues to buy players who are lazy and allows them to continue to be lazy.

Bepanda
tolahs wrote: You lighten the strength of any argument when you create unnecessary debit. AW came to the EPL as a revolutionary with great vision - to downplay that cannot be excused by our present depression. Those players in the '90s were ready to look past him but were pleasantly surprised.
He 's that guy with conviction who has refused to accept obvious failings - inotherwords he hasn't evolved as a coach - the advantages we'd in the 90s like fitness & diet are now common place even in the lower leagues. Old Brazil national teams didn't care much about the tactics of the opponent cos they could always impose their style - AW believed we could do that for a longtime - after consistent grumbles by many about a Plan 'B' - he has gone bunkers playing a rudderless system.
looking back, the board were wrong to expand his brief beyond coaching - we never recovered from the loss of David Dein. AW doesn't delegate - Steve Bould is a great defensive coach whose input has been cut - we've to save AW from himself else cos the damage to our club might be worse than we envision.
People are barking about Alexis & Ozil not signing - you better believe many agents & coaches are tapping up most of our squad right now.
His vision was huge in creating the invincibles - as a matter of fact he called it a season early - we were ahead the previous season & ended up losing - neurosis has played a huge part in Arsene's Arsenal - that's why we never repeated our league wins over consecutive seasons. We feel a bit of injustice & end up losing a few matches. Hope he enjoys the rest of his life but he must be let go.

You think he does not have work like some lazy people?

Anyway, he traveled for work and there is no internet where he is. Once he is able to log on, he will respond to you. Just be patient.
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

You think he does not have work like some lazy people?

Anyway, he traveled for work and there is no internet where he is. Once he is able to log on, he will respond to you. Just be patient.
Okay Waffiman has traveled.
Where is PapaK?
Where is Robbynice?

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

bepanda wrote:I beg to differ with your argument. I have followed Wenger since his days at Monaco. The success he had with the Invincibles made us believe that he was the sole architect of that generation.
I believe it is time to question that theory. The last 12 years have proven to me that, he might have been more lucky than good. Because he doesn't seem to really know what the root cause of that success was. I would equate Wenger with an extraordinary offensive coordinator (to borrow the term from American football). He has produced some of the best offensive teams generation after generation. There is no denying him that.
However, the Invincible had something else that Wenger has not been able to reproduce: Defensive tenacity. And that defensive tenacity didn't start in defense. It started upfront. Players with a "thugish" attitude in them. These guys had many games, where they played with 10 men (because of red card) and still didn't lose. They had personalities, who were willing to fight the opponent, but also fight one another.
The closest Arsenal came to actually again was 2007/08 when they were 4 points behind. They had Flamini/Fabregas as enforcers. With a keeper not named Almunia, they would have won the league that year. Flamini left, Wenger has never been closer.
Instead of buying players with an attitude, he continues to buy players who are lazy and allows them to continue to be lazy.

Bepanda
tolahs wrote: You lighten the strength of any argument when you create unnecessary debit. AW came to the EPL as a revolutionary with great vision - to downplay that cannot be excused by our present depression. Those players in the '90s were ready to look past him but were pleasantly surprised.
You know it isn't luck though.