The Arsenal FC-Related News & Developments for 2016/2017

azuka
Re: The Arsenal FC-Related News & Developments for 2016/2017

Post by azuka »

Sad and difficult to admit. It's the end of an era. The AW era. Just time to move on. He's like a leader during the way who was great during the war but woeful when peace came.
Our loss to BM is basically a case of drive a car with only one good tire while 3 are bad or average at the best. In this case lining up with at best 4 great players with 7 average players and expecting a great result.
And this has happened consistently and that's why I likened him to d war-time leader.
AW's greatest undoing is his loyalty to his players. He believes so much on some who don't even believe in themselves. Eg OX.
Like I said. It's the end of an era. Thanks AW. You will always be our legend.
lionga

Post by lionga »

lionga wrote:Come come Arsenalists, abeg helep me wit dis wan.

The injury to Koscielny was tough, but...

...in what universe does Kieran Gibbs don the captain's armband in a game of this magnitude?
What does that have to do with anything?
A lot, actually.

OK, let me put it another way: Under what circumstances do you think Gibbs could naturally take the armband: with a Team B/reserve side in the EFL cup; or with the first team, away at Bayern freaking Munich, in the Champions League?

Let's ask another question: who else could have taken the armband after KOS left the pitch?

...Exactly.

Coach said it all in his response to me. This team has no natural leaders, and it is due to the chop and change - for lack of a better term - approach to the squad staffing in the past decade. A player like Walcott who has been at the club for 10 years could have taken the armband when he came on, but does anyone here think he is actually captain material? I still see him as a kid! :lol: :oops: . Ditto Gibbs.

The history of that armband post Vieira epitomizes Arsenal's longterm squad leadership problems.

bepanda wrote:He is at Arsenal's training ground gathering knowledge about what happened in Munich.
What we all saw on television is just a lie, an illusion. He will bring us the true insight from the Arsenal training facility.
When players spend many years at a club, we all want to see them learn and improve.
I don't see how Gibbs, Walcott, Ox, Coquelin have improved in the last 5=6+ years. Wenger spent big on guys in the past 3+ years. Those guys came with big expectations ... but they all look like school boys.
I don't know what goes on at the practice facility, but I don't believe many players are challenged enough in practice. Arsenal practices probably look like extended vacations ...
Ebyboy wrote:Where is Waffiman?
Gunzilla

Post by Gunzilla »

anikulapo wrote:Waffi it's okay Bro you can come out now :woot: :woot: like Arsene you speak too quickly and learn too slowly my brother :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

But it's okay the sun will still shine in the morning :laugh:
The Guy is just too emotional where Wenger is concerned..lol...He fails to see what has been glaring to many of us for years..The problem is Wenger and his flawed/failed philosophy.Its hard to admit.But its there for all to see..

Like i said some months ago...its gonna get worse before it gets better...
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

bepanda wrote:He is at Arsenal's training ground gathering knowledge about what happened in Munich.
What we all saw on television is just a lie, an illusion. He will bring us the true insight from the Arsenal training facility.
When players spend many years at a club, we all want to see them learn and improve.
I don't see how Gibbs, Walcott, Ox, Coquelin have improved in the last 5=6+ years. Wenger spent big on guys in the past 3+ years. Those guys came with big expectations ... but they all look like school boys.
I don't know what goes on at the practice facility, but I don't believe many players are challenged enough in practice. Arsenal practices probably look like extended vacations ...
People, ain't nothing to gloat about - we're Gooners - some of us are riders for life, others chose to hold up - very many are now coming together for a decisive push - that's life - 'igbe' happens. To knock those who belief in AW now's tribal - we ain't got time for chest thumping - regardless of how you ride - the world laughing at us. What're we(the board) going to do???
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

We've a situation with a board who are totally amateurish when it comes to crisis management.
There're leaks visa the odd journo as a way to message-test - but we're way past that now. Very poor indeed
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.
Gunzilla

Post by Gunzilla »

tolahs wrote:
People, ain't nothing to gloat about - we're Gooners - some of us are riders for life, others chose to hold up - very many are now coming together for a decisive push - that's life - 'igbe' happens. To knock those who belief in AW now's tribal - we ain't got time for chest thumping - regardless of how you ride - the world laughing at us. What're we(the board) going to do???
Unfortunately,people who "Stan" for Wenger are still in the majority in the emirates.Their slavish devotion to a once great manager is a big reason Wenger is still at the helms. They ban protests in the stadium,report those that are unhappy to the club who then deny fellow supporters entry into the Stadium.

The "we told you so" gloats are thus unfortunately inevitable.

Gunzilla wrote:
tolahs wrote:
Unfortunately,people who "Stan" for Wenger are still in the majority in the emirates.Their slavish devotion to a once great manager is a big reason Wenger is still at the helms. They ban protests in the stadium,report those that are unhappy to the club who then deny fellow supporters entry into the Stadium.

I for one will gloat...not at Arsenal's predicament (cos as a fan I hate to see the club wallow in mediocrity), but at those delusional followers (they know themselves) who showed little go no respect for the valid criticisms we raised over the years. Instead they attacked us and questioned our fandom. I sure hope they're enjoying the show.

So yes I'll say it, I FRICKIN TOLD YOU SO.

Cue Chealsea ...

...I tell you the truth, unless a kernel of wheat is planted in the soil and dies, it remains alone. But its death will produce many new kernels--a plentiful harvest of new lives.

Jn 12:24..

Maybe we need to implode pata pata to rebuild :atc: :atc: :atc:

This loss while expected was still very painful.

Siddonlook11 wrote:Cue Chealsea ...

...I tell you the truth, unless a kernel of wheat is planted in the soil and dies, it remains alone. But its death will produce many new kernels--a plentiful harvest of new lives.

Jn 12:24..

Maybe we need to implode pata pata to rebuild :atc: :atc: :atc:

This loss while expected was still very painful.
speak for yourself jo.

tolahs

Post by tolahs »

Gunzilla wrote:
tolahs wrote:

Pls let's not conflate things - the disappointment in AW is very widespread - the beef has always been in how he goes. Some people sometimes fronted by Piers Morgan have been militant & loud. The majority didn't want to be bounced into any actions. Self-appointed people with agendas killed the potency of resentment cos they were on radio shows often claiming to speak for the fan base. Appreciate that sorta attitude is often resented in areas outside of football. Sometimes go with the flow & ride the wave.
With Lee Dixon & Keown coming out to ask their former gaffer to rethink his position - the board will take note.
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

Gunzilla wrote:
tolahs wrote:

I for one will gloat...not at Arsenal's predicament (cos as a fan I hate to see the club wallow in mediocrity), but at those delusional followers (they know themselves) who showed little go no respect for the valid criticisms we raised over the years. Instead they attacked us and questioned our fandom. I sure hope they're enjoying the show.

With respect, you're being tribal but what does ones' ego & vanity do for the depression we as a collective find ourselves. Clubs & agents are doing right now what they always do when one of theirs is in crisis - totally tapping up any class player we have beyond Ozil & Alexis. We all saw these problems in once great clubs Inter & AC - look at them now
It's too early to throw words like 'delusional' about when AW's still the gaffer. In the midst of passionate arguments - fans like the rest of the world will try anything to validate their stance - that's why it's a sport that gets us to invest a lot emotionally.
right now's about getting our board to stand up & clarify things not a time to thump chest Hezbullah styli - we're sinking & the situation must be arrested now.
AW in vs AW out ain't gonna do zilch for levels of depression we're likely to face in the near future. The way our board is posing right now - Liverpool kills us in 10 odd days.
Remember the leaks in Scolari's Chelsea - we look ripe for that. GOYG!!!

Still no Waffi? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: why am I not surprised ... So typical :woot: :rotf: :rotf:

anikulapo wrote:Still no Waffi? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: why am I not surprised ... So typical :woot: :rotf: :rotf:
Haba! He has travelled on holiday and has no internet access. Kindly bear with us :taunt:
Gunzilla

Post by Gunzilla »

tolahs wrote:
Gunzilla wrote:
tolahs wrote:

Pls let's not conflate things - the disappointment in AW is very widespread - the beef has always been in how he goes. Some people sometimes fronted by Piers Morgan have been militant & loud. The majority didn't want to be bounced into any actions. Self-appointed people with agendas killed the potency of resentment cos they were on radio shows often claiming to speak for the fan base. Appreciate that sorta attitude is often resented in areas outside of football. Sometimes go with the flow & ride the wave.
With Lee Dixon & Keown coming out to ask their former gaffer to rethink his position - the board will take note.
Its so funny that you threw Piers Morgan name out there to discredit what a large number of fans feel..Being fronted by Piers Morgan ?? He speaks only for himself (and all that he has said about Wenger is true!). The fact is that what is going on at the Board level at Arsenal can never happen at any other top club in the UK. The Board basically telling the fans to eff off with their clamor for a Manager that actually wants and is trying its best to win the biggest silverware...while paying the top ticket prices in Europe.

I have seen on TV where Newcastle fans have stormed the directors box in hundreds demanding a manager to be sacked.I have seen Coventry fans stopping their Directors from leaving the stadium.But only at Arsenal is it a taboo to demand that a Manager that has not won the league in 13 years be sacked. Self appointed agenda Indeed !!

It only cements the perception that Arsenal fans a bunch of rich and soft toffs and not a working man's club like most others.

anikulapo wrote:Still no Waffi? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: why am I not surprised ... So typical :woot: :rotf: :rotf:
Haba! He has travelled on holiday and has no internet access. Kindly bear with us :taunt:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Sad but you may be right as that might be the excuse for not show or get better things today

Gunzilla wrote:
tolahs wrote:

To think they have gone silent after few days one of the chief yash licker was pumping chase how we have complete team and Wenger this and that.
Hope they leave the club with Wenger when his time is gone.
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

Don't think Waffi is hiding.

If I know waffi, he is writing a long post on Arsenal and AW akin to a thesis.
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'

Guys how good is Mustafi?I said it that we waste 35 million on him.I will play Holding ahead of him.How such players guarantee starting sport is shocking?Where is that stats that we have never open yash with him starting?

This droopy eyed wastepipe player needs to leave Arsenal! The club was winning titles big and small before he came. The minute e join, pipeline vamoose. Go away already! 5 time waste.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/38995112
Forward Mesut Ozil believes he is being made the scapegoat for Arsenal's problems, according to his agent.

Ozil, 28, was criticised again after Arsenal suffered a 5-1 defeat at Bayern Munich in Wednesday's Champions League last-16 first leg.

"Criticism is normal if a player plays badly," Dr Erkut Sogut told BBC Sport.

"But Mesut feels people are not focusing on his performance; they are using him as a scapegoat for the team after bad results."

Ozil joined Arsenal from Real Madrid in 2013 for a club-record £42.4m, and came with a reputation as one of the game's leading playmakers.

But his displays have often been questioned and the Germany international has come under increased scrutiny in recent weeks.

Against Bayern, the 20 passes that Ozil completed was the same amount as home goalkeeper Manuel Neuer.

"Bayern had 74% possession," said Sogut, who is Ozil's lawyer and representative. "How can someone in the No.10 position create chances if you don't have the ball?

"In these games people usually target a player who cost a lot of money and earns a lot of money - that is Mesut. But he can't be always be the scapegoat. That's not fair.

"Football is a team sport and Arsenal are not performing well as a team. Eleven players were on the pitch but Mesut was singled out for criticism. Was he the reason that Arsenal conceded five goals?

"It started before the match, throughout the week leading up to the game. People started discussing: 'Should he play? Should he be dropped?'.

"It was as if everyone knew Arsenal would not make it through and we needed a scapegoat. This is not right. You win as a team and you lose as a team."
'People say he has poor body language but that's how he is'....

Tunisian Gooner wrote:Don't think Waffi is hiding.

If I know waffi, he is writing a long post on Arsenal and AW akin to a thesis.

azuka wrote:Sad and difficult to admit. It's the end of an era. The AW era. Just time to move on. He's like a leader during the way who was great during the war but woeful when peace came.
Our loss to BM is basically a case of drive a car with only one good tire while 3 are bad or average at the best. In this case lining up with at best 4 great players with 7 average players and expecting a great result.
And this has happened consistently and that's why I likened him to d war-time leader.
AW's greatest undoing is his loyalty to his players. He believes so much on some who don't even believe in themselves. Eg OX.
Can't disagree. Except add a cautious note. Instead of the end of an era, for now, it feels like the end of an era.

Why? Nothing is decided yet.

azuka wrote:Sad and difficult to admit. It's the end of an era. The AW era. Just time to move on. He's like a leader during the way who was great during the war but woeful when peace came.
Can't disagree. Except add a cautious note. Instead of the end of an era, for now, it feels like the end of an era.

Why? Nothing is decided yet.
Is dat you bruv? :rotf: The question the goons want to know is "Do you think it's time for Wenger to leave"?