Is Alex Ferguson the greatest coach in the world?

Re: Is Alex Ferguson the greatest coach in the world?

Chxta wrote:
wiseone wrote:um....ever heard of a team called Aberdeen? He did work under a shoe string budget with a small town club called Aberdeen where he broke the dominance of Celtic and Rangers. Winning the Scottish title with Aberdeen back then is a bit like winning the EPL with Hull City! Rangers and Celtic were loaded back then and were richer than English teams. They were signing the top expensive English talent and taking them up north (not the other way like it is now). The Old Firm signed up top English internationals like (remember when Rangers and Celtic were signing players AWAY from English clubs - players like Wilkins, Hately, Butcher, Stevens, Gascoigne.....).

He broke a 15 year winning streak of the Old Firm and became the first non Old Firm team to win the SPL in 15 years. Since he leftno team apart from Rangers and Celtic has won the Scottish League in nearly 25 years (nearly a quarter of a century!).

"Under Alex Ferguson's guidance, the club won three league championships, four Scottish Cups, the European Cup Winner's Cup, the European Super Cup and a League Cup—all in the space of seven years. He won the Scottish Cup wins in three successive seasons from 1982 to 1984.
Then to top it off, he won the European Cup Winners' Cup with Aberdeen - beating Bayern Munich along the way in the semis, and a world class Real Madrid side in the final.

When Trappatoni, Perreira and Hiddink win a European trophy with a small town team like Burnley, Hull, Modena, or Como - then I'll be convinced they are as great as Ferguson!
:roll: Those guys have seen it all.
I want to see him work with a tight budget, with a team of limited talent, that meets a few times a year. Until then :boo: :boo:
But he didn't win any European titles with Aberdeen. By the way, in Scotland, Aberdeen can hardly be described as a small town. It is Scotland's third city.
WHere do you get ur misleading drivels from? Like you were misleading with the real time blah blah blah of Kenya-Naija cum Moza-Tunisia match, you have done exactly the same thing here. OR are you sying the rested Euro Winners Cup he won with Aberdeen wasnt a Euro title? Just ask Wenger how easy it is to win a Euro title.

BTW, the size of a city has nothing to do with its football club. London is bigger than Liverpool and Manchester, I believe, but they have bigger and more successful clubs in those cities than in all of London or prolly put together. In fact, Everton, not the biggest club in Merseyside; Nottingham Forest and Aston Villa most likely have better Euro pedigree than London clubs.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Chxta

Post by Chxta »

anointed wrote:
Chxta wrote:
wiseone wrote:um....ever heard of a team called Aberdeen? He did work under a shoe string budget with a small town club called Aberdeen where he broke the dominance of Celtic and Rangers. Winning the Scottish title with Aberdeen back then is a bit like winning the EPL with Hull City! Rangers and Celtic were loaded back then and were richer than English teams. They were signing the top expensive English talent and taking them up north (not the other way like it is now). The Old Firm signed up top English internationals like (remember when Rangers and Celtic were signing players AWAY from English clubs - players like Wilkins, Hately, Butcher, Stevens, Gascoigne.....).

He broke a 15 year winning streak of the Old Firm and became the first non Old Firm team to win the SPL in 15 years. Since he leftno team apart from Rangers and Celtic has won the Scottish League in nearly 25 years (nearly a quarter of a century!).

"Under Alex Ferguson's guidance, the club won three league championships, four Scottish Cups, the European Cup Winner's Cup, the European Super Cup and a League Cup—all in the space of seven years. He won the Scottish Cup wins in three successive seasons from 1982 to 1984.
Then to top it off, he won the European Cup Winners' Cup with Aberdeen - beating Bayern Munich along the way in the semis, and a world class Real Madrid side in the final.

When Trappatoni, Perreira and Hiddink win a European trophy with a small town team like Burnley, Hull, Modena, or Como - then I'll be convinced they are as great as Ferguson!
I want to see him work with a tight budget, with a team of limited talent, that meets a few times a year. Until then :boo: :boo:
But he didn't win any European titles with Aberdeen. By the way, in Scotland, Aberdeen can hardly be described as a small town. It is Scotland's third city.
WHere do you get ur misleading drivels from? Like you were misleading with the real time blah blah blah of Kenya-Naija cum Moza-Tunisia match, you have done exactly the same thing here. OR are you sying the rested Euro Winners Cup he won with Aberdeen wasnt a Euro title? Just ask Wenger how easy it is to win a Euro title.

BTW, the size of a city has nothing to do with its football club. London is bigger than Liverpool and Manchester, I believe, but they have bigger and more successful clubs in those cities than in all of London or prolly put together. In fact, Everton, not the biggest club in Merseyside; Nottingham Forest and Aston Villa most likely have better Euro pedigree than London clubs.
My apologies for that. Serious error on my part.

By the way, like it or not, Maputo still ended before Nairobi. One error on my part doesn't change that.

As to the third part of your diatribe, small town is small town, and a club in a small town is a small town club, for example Watford FC. Liverpool can in no way be described as a small town, neither can Nottingham or Birmingham.

You can run along now...
Onye kwe, Chi ya ekwe

Chxta wrote:
anointed wrote:
Chxta wrote:

My apologies for that. Serious error on my part.

By the way, like it or not, Maputo still ended before Nairobi. One error on my part doesn't change that.

As to the third part of your diatribe, small town is small town, and a club in a small town is a small town club, for example Watford FC. Liverpool can in no way be described as a small town, neither can Nottingham or Birmingham.

You can run along now...
Misleading must be ur middle name.

Is Aberdeen a small town? Going by how you started this, you said the third largest city in Scotland. You were talking about relatives. So I answered in the relative i.e comparing them to London cos you compared Aberdeen to Glasgow and whichever is the 2nd largest city in Scotland.

So is any of Liverpool or Birmingham the largest in England? The point is that the size of city has nothing to do with its productivity or its football club. How many "big city" clubs in big USA can beat your so called "small town" clubs in the English Championship, Esatern Europe et al let alone the "small city" Hulls, Stokes, Wigans etc. And Isnt Japan supposed to be a small country?

Perspectives, pls. The running shoes are for you.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:haba...wait until he goes head-to-head with Amodu now...

Respect to Ferguson, though Mourinho was dominating him anyhow just a few years ago...
:D :D :D :D you know on CE, Wenger is better than Fegwuson...

If more CEs were fans of Fegwuson, maybe they will be able to identify a winner when they see one.

Chxta

Post by Chxta »

anointed wrote: Misleading must be ur middle name.

Is Aberdeen a small town? Going by how you started this, you said the third largest city in Scotland. You were talking about relatives. So I answered in the relative i.e comparing them to London cos you compared Aberdeen to Glasgow and whichever is the 2nd largest city in Scotland.

So is any of Liverpool or Birmingham the largest in England? The point is that the size of city has nothing to do with its productivity or its football club. How many "big city" clubs in big USA can beat your so called "small town" clubs in the English Championship, Esatern Europe et al let alone the "small city" Hulls, Stokes, Wigans etc. And Isnt Japan supposed to be a small country?

Misinterpretation must be in your DNA.

Aberdeen is not a small town. Going back in the thread it was clearly stated that Trappatoni, Hiddink and Perreira had never managed small town clubs to success like Fergie had. I pointed out that Aberdeen is not a small town, so that doesn't apply.

By the way, Japan is not a small country. It is the ninth largest in the world in what matters the most.

Big city US clubs such as the LA Galaxy would beat small town English clubs like Brighton & Hove Albion hands down on a good day, so what are you on about? It is that kind of arrogance that looks at our World Cup draws and automatically assumes that Naija should beat Greece and Korea despite the fact that both have achieved better results at full national team level than our Eagles in the last decade.

You need perspective. Failing that, my sister is a damned good ophthalmologist. You need your vision corrected.
Onye kwe, Chi ya ekwe

Chxta wrote:

Aberdeen is not a small town. Going back in the thread it was clearly stated that Trappatoni, Hiddink and Perreira had never managed small town clubs to success like Fergie had. I pointed out that Aberdeen is not a small town, so that doesn't apply.

By the way, Japan is not a small country. It is the ninth largest in the world in what matters the most.

Big city US clubs such as the LA Galaxy would beat small town English clubs like Brighton & Hove Albion hands down on a good day, so what are you on about? It is that kind of arrogance that looks at our World Cup draws and automatically assumes that Naija should beat Greece and Korea despite the fact that both have achieved better results at full national team level than our Eagles in the last decade.

You need perspective. Failing that, my sister is a damned good ophthalmologist. You need your vision corrected.
Let's not insult each other.

WHat I notice though in ur write up is that you are lumping small town clubs with small clubs but they are two different things.

There are small clubs in small towns
There are big clubs in small towns
There are big clubs in big cities
There are small clubs in big cities

Also, there are relatives. In Europe, Aberdeen are a small club and they arent certainly big in Scotland compared to Rangers and Celtic but Aberdeen may be a big city in Scotland but then the size of a city has little or nothing to do with its output.

Just compare Monaco with other clubs in France!
Chxta

Post by Chxta »

anointed wrote:
Chxta wrote:

WHat I notice though in ur write up is that you are lumping small town clubs with small clubs but they are two different things.

Also, there are relatives. In Europe, Aberdeen are a small club and they arent certainly big in Scotland compared to Rangers and Celtic but Aberdeen may be a big city in Scotland but then the size of a city has little or nothing to do with its output.

Fair enough.

I'll be off to church soon (horrors!). My madam insists that I go today, and since they are usually the ones in charge...
Onye kwe, Chi ya ekwe

Chxta wrote:
anointed wrote:
Chxta wrote:

Fair enough.

I'll be off to church soon (horrors!). My madam insists that I go today, and since they are usually the ones in charge...
:thumbs: Pay attention to the homily. No dozing, no carrying of newspapers to the church. I'd be asking questions later.

Another thing people fail to realise is that Ferguson won the European Cup with Man Utd with seven players who came through the club's youth system:
G Neville, P Neville, Giggs, Butt, Scholes, Beckham, Brown.

He has always balanced big money signings with youth talent. Let's not forget that he won his first United trophy largely due to the goalscoring exploits of a teenage rookie called Mark Robins.
Last edited by wiseone on Sat Jun 01, 2024 12:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BIZZY

Post by BIZZY »

Some people really need to think things over before they write.

SAF has never worked on a shoe string budget
SAF has never worked with impatient club chairmen
This manager and that manager is better than SAF
This club and that club is bigger than Man Utd

BE SERIOUS

You might want to do some research into where this guy started from, what he achieved before Man Utd and the standing of SAF among people who KNOW football to know what a legend this guy is. Look at the players he has produced. Look at the teams he has produced. Look at the managers he has produced and then look at the drama he has faced at Old Trafford with chairmen and shareholders. Just because everything is rosy now doesnt mean it has always been.

p.s
CE is proof that some people have never seen any football on TV. they probably do even know that some TV channels show football. They spend their lives listening to football on the radio under a tree somewhere and think they have something to say. Silly motherlovers
UP UP......... N AWAY!!

You are right. Some of the posts on this thread can be taken seriously only if (a) most of the posters are under 15 years old and thus are not aware of SAF's prior success before the current modern Man U era (b) never watched football before 2000.

When he first came to Man U he was in awe at the size of the club and players like Norman Whiteside commented how Fergie kept muttering "Big place this, isn't it?" The man was managing at East Stirlingshire, St Mirren and Aberdeen for well over a decade/several years before he came to Man U! At some of those clubs he had so little money that they could not afford to employ ground staff and a marketing dept. Ferguson himself used to drive around town with a loudspeaker shouting fixtures out and encouraging people to come out and support the team! This is mentioned in his biography. Some of the players at his disposal were not "professionals" by any standards of today's game.

East Stirlingshire

Ferguson was appointed manager of East Stirlingshire, at the comparatively young age of 32. It was a part-time job that paid £40 per week, and the club did not have a single goalkeeper at the time....the club's results improved considerably.

St. Mirren

Ferguson was manager of St. Mirren from 1974 until 1978, producing a remarkable transformation of a team in the lower half of the old Second Division watched by crowds of just over 1,000, to First Division champions in 1977, discovering talent like Billy Stark, Tony Fitzpatrick, Lex Richardson, Frank McGarvey, Bobby Reid and Peter Weir while playing superb attacking football. The average age of the league winning team was 19 and the captain, Fitzpatrick, was 20.

BIZZY wrote:Some people really need to think things over before they write.

SAF has never worked on a shoe string budget
SAF has never worked with impatient club chairmen
This manager and that manager is better than SAF
This club and that club is bigger than Man Utd

BE SERIOUS

You might want to do some research into where this guy started from, what he achieved before Man Utd and the standing of SAF among people who KNOW football to know what a legend this guy is. Look at the players he has produced. Look at the teams he has produced. Look at the managers he has produced and then look at the drama he has faced at Old Trafford with chairmen and shareholders. Just because everything is rosy now doesnt mean it has always been.

p.s
CE is proof that some people have never seen any football on TV. they probably do even know that some TV channels show football. They spend their lives listening to football on the radio under a tree somewhere and think they have something to say. Silly motherlovers

MOVE TO WORLD FOOTBALL

As Real Madrid prepare for today’s Champions League final, just a reminder that Madrid has not lost a European final in 41 years. The last time they lost a European final was in 1983 - to Aberdeen: which was managed by….Alex Ferguson (before he became a knight of the realm).

https://x.com/SkySportsNews/status/1796 ... SportsNews
Last edited by wiseone on Sat Jun 01, 2024 5:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wiseone wrote: Sat Jun 01, 2024 12:10 pm MOVE TO WORLD FOOTBALL

As Real Madrid prepare for today’s Champions League final, just a remember that Madrid has not lost a European final in 41 years. The last time they lost a European final was in 1983 - to Aberdeen: which was managed by….Alex Ferguson (before he became a knight of the realm).

https://x.com/SkySportsNews/status/1796 ... SportsNews
Oga wiseone, thanks for your posts on Sir Alex. Most of his pre-Man United achievements I did not know. He has to be in the running for GOAT of managers.

You are welcome.

SAF's Aberdeen also beat Bayern Munich in the semi-final en route to that 1983 final against Real Madrid.

I often say that SAF's greatest work was at Aberdeen, not Manchester United. At Aberdeen he did not have a large budget or massive corporate machine behind him.

ohsee wrote: Sat Jun 01, 2024 2:06 pm
Oga wiseone, thanks for your posts on Sir Alex. Most of his pre-Man United achievements I did not know. He has to be in the running for GOAT of managers.

For UK based cybers (and the foreign based Cybers with VPNs - Ohsee I am looking at you! :D ), this will be a great documentary on Boxing Day:

wiseone wrote: Fri Dec 20, 2024 2:35 am For UK based cybers (and the foreign based Cybers with VPNs - Ohsee I am looking at you! :D ), this will be a great documentary on Boxing Day:
:biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:
I will look out for it. :biggrin: