FA Appoints Thomas Tuchel as England's 🏴 New Manager
- Scipio Africanus
Re: FA Appoints Thomas Tuchel as England's 🏴 New Manager
And a Champions League title with Chelsea. Hm! Dis is not good ohhhh ....The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 7:59 pm ABEG stands firm.
Tuchel's record isn't exceptional under close scrutiny. One extremely fortunate Bundesliga championship as manager of Bayern Munich; a couple of Ligue 1 titles with PSG is nothing to crow about.
And he'll walk when the English press turn on him.
ABEG stands firm.
Ex nihilo nihil fit
Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

- The YeyeMan
After Fat Frank had got them through the group stages.Scipio Africanus wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 10:30 pmAnd a Champions League title with Chelsea. Hm! Dis is not good ohhhh ....The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 7:59 pm ABEG stands firm.
Tuchel's record isn't exceptional under close scrutiny. One extremely fortunate Bundesliga championship as manager of Bayern Munich; a couple of Ligue 1 titles with PSG is nothing to crow about.
ABEG stands firm.
Now let's see him stand on his own two feet. One bad result and the knives will be out. The English press don't play.
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
Garçon, more champagne! Only the best of the pressed grapes.
Re: Thomas Tuchel Set to Become England's 🏴 New Manager
...am afraid our NFA will follow suit, they will say, "see England too"

The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Thu Oct 17, 2024 2:06 amAfter Fat Frank had got them through the group stages.Scipio Africanus wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 10:30 pmAnd a Champions League title with Chelsea. Hm! Dis is not good ohhhh ....The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 7:59 pm ABEG stands firm.
ABEG stands firm.
Now let's see him stand on his own two feet. One bad result and the knives will be out. The English press don't play.
I fear that in a few months we'll be asking you the ultimate question:
How do you like your Pickles Sir

Last edited by txj on Thu Oct 17, 2024 10:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
You are living in serious denial.kalani JR wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 8:04 pmThose aren't really top football nations and considering the quality of Portguese coaches today them having Bobby Martinez is hilarious.Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 4:36 pmYou are unlikely to get much support on these pages for your position because we know that too many will feel checkmated by a football superpower going for a foreign coach.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 4:13 pm England made a good decision in choosing Tuchel as manager. Instead of falling for the nativist and Xenophobic nonsense of hiring an English coach they simply went for the coach they believed was the best available they could get. It makes sense, that's how it's supposed to be. Good luck to Tuchel and thumbs up to England for prioritizing quality over politics.![]()
Barely a few weeks ago Mr Highbury confidently proclaimed with full chest that no serious football country hires a foreign coach unless they were “slaves”…
Until we politely pointed out Belgium.
And Portugal.
And the USA.
And Peru
And now England.
Lawd have mercy….![]()

England (4), Belgium (6), Portugal (8) and Colombia (9) all have foreign coaches and are 4 of FIFA’s top 10 ranked nations, but “they aren’t really top footballing nations”.
Okay now. Let’s re-word it.
Are they nations that take their football seriously?
This is a strange hiring, whatever Midas touch this guy had, he lost long time ago.
England need a world cup winner as coach, these modern day players would only respect such a person based on his achievement.
Klinsmann would have been a good match.
England need a world cup winner as coach, these modern day players would only respect such a person based on his achievement.
Klinsmann would have been a good match.
- bret- hart
Good appointment. Wish Nigeria did the same and appointed Kwesi Appiah or Aliou Cisse instead of yeye Interim coach. Anyways ABEG!
- The YeyeMan
Time will tell.txj wrote: ↑Thu Oct 17, 2024 5:55 pmThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Thu Oct 17, 2024 2:06 amAfter Fat Frank had got them through the group stages.Scipio Africanus wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 10:30 pmAnd a Champions League title with Chelsea. Hm! Dis is not good ohhhh ....The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 7:59 pm ABEG stands firm.
ABEG stands firm.
I fear that in a few months we'll be asking you the ultimate question:
How do you like your Pickles Sir![]()

The next World Cup is a long way away, and a day is a long time in English football...
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
top football nations is has a lot more to do with pedigree than ranking, are Croatia and Colombia bigger football nations than Germany?Damunk wrote: ↑Thu Oct 17, 2024 9:49 pmYou are living in serious denial.kalani JR wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 8:04 pmThose aren't really top football nations and considering the quality of Portguese coaches today them having Bobby Martinez is hilarious.Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 4:36 pmYou are unlikely to get much support on these pages for your position because we know that too many will feel checkmated by a football superpower going for a foreign coach.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 4:13 pm England made a good decision in choosing Tuchel as manager. Instead of falling for the nativist and Xenophobic nonsense of hiring an English coach they simply went for the coach they believed was the best available they could get. It makes sense, that's how it's supposed to be. Good luck to Tuchel and thumbs up to England for prioritizing quality over politics.![]()
Barely a few weeks ago Mr Highbury confidently proclaimed with full chest that no serious football country hires a foreign coach unless they were “slaves”…
And Portugal.
And the USA.
And Peru
And now England.
Lawd have mercy….![]()
England (4), Belgium (6), Portugal (8) and Colombia (9) all have foreign coaches and are 4 of FIFA’s top 10 ranked nations, but “they aren’t really top footballing nations”.
- Scipio Africanus
Speaking of Germany, they seriously considered hiring a foreign coach during their phase in the football wilderness in the early 2000s. They eventually (mistakenly) settled on Klinsmann. If they had gone with a top foreign coach, with their talent stacked team(Schweinsteiger, Podolski, Klose, Lehmann etc) they would have easily won the 2006 World Cup played at home.kalani JR wrote: ↑Fri Oct 18, 2024 7:28 amtop football nations is has a lot more to do with pedigree than ranking, are Croatia and Colombia bigger football nations than Germany?Damunk wrote: ↑Thu Oct 17, 2024 9:49 pmYou are living in serious denial.kalani JR wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 8:04 pmThose aren't really top football nations and considering the quality of Portguese coaches today them having Bobby Martinez is hilarious.Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 4:36 pmYou are unlikely to get much support on these pages for your position because we know that too many will feel checkmated by a football superpower going for a foreign coach.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 4:13 pm England made a good decision in choosing Tuchel as manager. Instead of falling for the nativist and Xenophobic nonsense of hiring an English coach they simply went for the coach they believed was the best available they could get. It makes sense, that's how it's supposed to be. Good luck to Tuchel and thumbs up to England for prioritizing quality over politics.![]()
And Portugal.
And the USA.
And Peru
And now England.
Lawd have mercy….![]()
Ex nihilo nihil fit

why did they decide against this?Scipio Africanus wrote: ↑Fri Oct 18, 2024 9:06 amSpeaking of Germany, they seriously considered hiring a foreign coach during their phase in the football wilderness in the early 2000s. They eventually (mistakenly) settled on Klinsmann. If they had gone with a top foreign coach, with their talent stacked team(Schweinsteiger, Podolski, Klose, Lehmann etc) they would have easily won the 2006 World Cup played at home.kalani JR wrote: ↑Fri Oct 18, 2024 7:28 amtop football nations is has a lot more to do with pedigree than ranking, are Croatia and Colombia bigger football nations than Germany?Damunk wrote: ↑Thu Oct 17, 2024 9:49 pmYou are living in serious denial.kalani JR wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 8:04 pmThose aren't really top football nations and considering the quality of Portguese coaches today them having Bobby Martinez is hilarious.Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 4:36 pmYou are unlikely to get much support on these pages for your position because we know that too many will feel checkmated by a football superpower going for a foreign coach.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 4:13 pm England made a good decision in choosing Tuchel as manager. Instead of falling for the nativist and Xenophobic nonsense of hiring an English coach they simply went for the coach they believed was the best available they could get. It makes sense, that's how it's supposed to be. Good luck to Tuchel and thumbs up to England for prioritizing quality over politics.![]()
And Portugal.
And the USA.
And Peru
And now England.
Lawd have mercy….![]()
...you wan foreign coach, them you gotta have the money, and a professional NFA.Damunk wrote: ↑Thu Oct 17, 2024 9:49 pmYou are living in serious denial.kalani JR wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 8:04 pmThose aren't really top football nations and considering the quality of Portguese coaches today them having Bobby Martinez is hilarious.Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 4:36 pmYou are unlikely to get much support on these pages for your position because we know that too many will feel checkmated by a football superpower going for a foreign coach.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 4:13 pm England made a good decision in choosing Tuchel as manager. Instead of falling for the nativist and Xenophobic nonsense of hiring an English coach they simply went for the coach they believed was the best available they could get. It makes sense, that's how it's supposed to be. Good luck to Tuchel and thumbs up to England for prioritizing quality over politics.![]()
And Portugal.
And the USA.
And Peru
And now England.
Lawd have mercy….![]()
Nigeria does not have both, period!
Dem say, better soup na money make am.
We got to stop this pretending, and banding ourselves with those countries who they are more professional in behavior.
This is not the first time that England will be appointing a foreign coach.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 7:59 pm ABEG stands firm.
ABEG stands firm.
Let us see whether Tuchel will surpass the achievement of Southgate who was ridiculed here. A prophet has no honour in his house.
You forgot Belgium (#6)
Oh….and Portugal (#8)
And Colombia (#9).

For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Yeye pride and maybe some hyper-conservatism have often ensured England (maybe the Home Nations generally) were left behind.
England has never been fast to key into actual football evolution right from the outset. Despite being the inventor of the game, the author of the first football rules and home of the oldest football club and football tournament in the world; England wasn't in the combo that established FIFA in 1904. Matter of fact, England was in and out of FIFA until after the Second World War, when it joined permanently. They considered it laughable that some people would venture to start a FIFA or organize a World Cup for the game it started and wrote the rules.
For me, with England's head start in football, it should have won at least 4 World Cup titles before 1966. For crying out loud, England had it all to the extent that FIFA is a member of IFAB, not the other way round. Sir Stanley Rous single-handedly updated the The Rules of the Game, initially written in 1872, in the 50s to cater for the lacunas and evolution of language. Even soccer, the so-called term of the Americans is from England.
While many English football playing personnel remained competitive till the 80s, the coaching stagnated for whatever reason. Several nations grew as football evolved from and into catenaccio, total football (actually the invention of an English man), jogo bonita, tiki taka etc; England was stuck too long with WM and long balls. It affected them in Europe for long. Not until after the Bosman Rule broke the barriers and there was an arrival of a deluge of foreign players did things start to change but not with English coaches.
It will take new generation of coaches like Eddy Howe, Graham Porter, Kieran McKenna etc to rewrite the narratives.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Tuchel doesn't appear as having a track record to sustain good record so he doesn't usually stay long at a job.Scipio Africanus wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 10:30 pmAnd a Champions League title with Chelsea. Hm! Dis is not good ohhhh ....The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 7:59 pm ABEG stands firm.
ABEG stands firm.
He has walked into a cauldron called the English Press. Beyond their football rivalry, which started seriously in 1966, they also have ancestral and linguistic history. The English language is from German but I don't think there's enough bad blood there to fray hairs but you never know with the English Press. I'm expecting a screaming headline like Tuchel-sea because of Tuchel's preference for his Chelsea staff.
Tuchel, welcome to hell.
Uncle Anointed,anointed wrote: ↑Thu Oct 24, 2024 6:25 pmTuchel doesn't appear as having a track record to sustain good record so he doesn't usually stay long at a job.Scipio Africanus wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 10:30 pmAnd a Champions League title with Chelsea. Hm! Dis is not good ohhhh ....The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed Oct 16, 2024 7:59 pm ABEG stands firm.
ABEG stands firm.
He has walked into a cauldron called the English Press. Beyond their football rivalry, which started seriously in 1966, they also have ancestral and linguistic history. The English language is from German but I don't think there's enough bad blood there to fray hairs but you never know with the English Press. I'm expecting a screaming headline like Tuchel-sea because of Tuchel's preference for his Chelsea staff.
Tuchel, welcome to hell.
The reasonable part of my brain says, this might just be what the doc ordered and the English may just win something really soon. The irrational part of my brain seething with disdain of everything the England national team hopes they crash and burn in the worst possible painful and disgraceful fashion.
My sense is that they are slowly getting their act together even if hesitantly. That the suits at the FA choose to damn all the history etc and go for a German takes balls in a country rife with a xenophobic and racist press/never mind the history between them. I hope my irrational brain trumps the rational one, but I sense that long drought may just be close to over.
Anyway, it is no time for siddon look, I have asked for the force urgency of the clarion call of prayer and fasting to commence earnestly and now because I can't bear 50 years of propaganda. Dem still no let us hear word since 1966 for a trophy won before 3/4 of the worlds population was born .
God bless and keep Nigeria and make his face shine on her undeserving as she may be.
Just for context, this chart shows the percentage of foreign managers in each of the same top 5 leagues.

That is today. When the Premier League started in 1992 it did not have a single non-British manager. By the start of this century only about 6 non-Brits had managed in the Premier League. The proliferation of foreign managers is a recent phenomenon propelled by the entrance of foreign owners and massive money from the Premier League’s TV distribution deals.