Monaco vs Arsenal 0-2 (FT) (Agg 3-3) Monaco advance

Re: Monaco vs Arsenal 0-2 (FT) (Agg 3-3) Monaco advance

enemies (of our progress) are out in full force, I see. Yeye people.

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:enemies (of our progress) are out in full force, I see. Yeye people.
:clap: :clap: :clap: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
ojafranpa

Post by ojafranpa »

anikulapo wrote:So how did Ozil play :tic: Same old okpolo eyed slug? :taunt:
Talk to your boy Shakinson. :rotf:

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:enemies (of our progress) are out in full force, I see. Yeye people.
Oga Chief, I do not understand fans having a pop at other fans for praising the team for the way we played. Like it's not ok to be disappointed and praise.

Ring a Ring a Roses
A pocket full of roses
Ashes Ashes
We all fall down!!

anikulapo wrote:Why am I not surprised the West Virginian Mountain Goat is out in full force and.spamming the site with his drivel and ecstasy at an Arsenal set back.

What a lousy wanker ..Please go somewhere else and glory hunt ...elede :roll:
angel*. Unlike you, Waffi, sky etc. I am guest and foremost an Arsenal fan before a Wenger fan.

After the first leg I said Arsenal will win the return leg but lose the tie. I'm not necessarily a clairvoyant. That's been how they've been for years and the sooner you all admit it falls squarely on the manager the better for us all. They've been failing before Özil and Giroud were acquired. So it'll be sheer folly to blame them or any player. Wenger is the only common denominator in all those years of futility. I said this after they lost to Bayern. You all just keep getting fooled by hollow victories against teams that clearly felt the tie was already won.

This will happen again next season. Mark my words.

bouncino

Post by bouncino »

anikulapo wrote:Why am I not surprised the West Virginian Mountain Goat is out in full force and.spamming the site with his drivel and ecstasy at an Arsenal set back.

angel*. Unlike you, Waffi, sky etc. I am guest and foremost an Arsenal fan before a Wenger fan.

After the first leg I said Arsenal will win the return leg but lose the tie. I'm not necessarily a clairvoyant. That's been how they've been for years and the sooner you all admit it falls squarely on the manager the better for us all. They've been failing before Özil and Giroud were acquired. So it'll be sheer folly to blame them or any player. Wenger is the only common denominator in all those years of futility. I said this after they lost to Bayern. You all just keep getting fooled by hollow victories against teams that clearly felt the tie was already won.

Yemster,
Don't dwell too long on that one game. The loss to Monaco has been the only bad patch this year. Save for that the team has come correct this year both before and after that loss. I would rather focus on the positives rather than dwell on the one blip.
The messed up in the first leg but have since won 4 games since then.

It is disgraceful that we have now been reduced to celebrating the performance rather than the outcome of yesterday's match.

We cannot claim to be greater fans of Arsenal than former players Lee Dixon and Emmanuel Petit. They both concluded that Arsenal should have qualified but for our abysmal defending and missed goal opportunities at the Emirates.

It was bloody Monaco NOT Chelsea or Real Madrid!

cchinukw wrote:It is disgraceful that we have now been reduced to celebrating the performance rather than the outcome of yesterday's match.

We cannot claim to be greater fans of Arsenal than former players Lee Dixon and Emmanuel Petit. They both concluded that Arsenal should have qualified but for our abysmal defending and missed goal opportunities at the Emirates.

No one here is celebrating the performance. There is difference between celebrating and praising.
Blukyt
Re: Monaco vs Arsenal 0-1 (2H) (Agg 3-2)FT Monaco advance

Post by Blukyt »

Waffiman wrote:No anger about tonight at all, that was a really positive display. We lost it in the first leg, as we all feared at the time.

I must add, the gods were really against us in both legs. Cannot believe how unlucky we have been.
We were not unlucky bruh. We were stupid. Very very stupid in the 1st leg. We paid the price. Showed character to try correct the wrongs, but we gotta take the L.

cchinukw wrote:It is disgraceful that we have now been reduced to celebrating the performance rather than the outcome of yesterday's match.

No one here is celebrating the performance. There is difference between celebrating and praising.
I have no problem praising the players but definitely not the coach. If this was the first time then yes, but it's a pattern.

Ekorian wrote:Arsenal against Monaco. :lol: :lol: :lol:

They got knecked the feck oooouuuuuuttttttt. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :clap: :clap: :clap: :bump: :bump: :bump: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :agree: :agree: :agree: :drool: :drool: :drool:

Whatever you are, please stick to it, do not use me to justify your position. It's pointless because we are all Arsenal fans and we all support our club no matter Manager or players. At least that's the way it is for me.

Ekorian wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

...even small boy Roberto come coach win 8-) 8-) 8-)

Ekorian wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

...even small boy Roberto come coach win 8-) 8-) 8-)
Dayum :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

amafolas wrote:
Tunisian Gooner wrote:
Skylolo wrote:Unlike many here I hope Wenger gives the boys they credit they deserve for that performance tonight. People said we could not score against Monaco, cannot contain Kondogbia etc etc......this could have been a different result had Welbecks ball not been cleared off the line with the Monaco GK well beaten.

We have all rightfully criticized the team for the performance 3 weeks ago, today was a different performance but it was not enough. Ozil, Cazorla, Kos etc etc stood up like Giants in that second half....Coquelin played his part in the first it bodes well for the future.

Most shortsighted people will continue to think these near misses after impressive away performances count for nothing, but football is a funny old game...the levels we attain to gain victories like this push us forward in our growth as a team as we pursue the biggest trophies in the future.
Well said.

Recall Arsenal losing out on double in crushing fashion 98/99, UEFA cup final on PK's in 2000, 2001 FA cup final on last minute Owen brace.

The invincibles did just miraculously appear, there was a ton of heart break on the path to glory. I know a its cliche but champions are always tested by failure. Now its up to this team to show they retain such resilience in the week, months and years ahead. May sound naive but I confident this Arsenal will step up to the challenge.
Word!
yo waffi. if your friend Wenger wasn't playing let-me-see-what-I-can-get-away-with with our defense at the start of the season, won't we be challenging Chelsea right now. It was horribly irresponsible of the man to go into the season with only 2 senior CD's, one of which was Mertesecker and needed a break.
Our defensive wahala at the start of the seaso will cost us a possible league title this year. Gabriel or someone of that sort should have been bought in summer not in January.
I disagree. The injuries were the problem. He lost his players and could not even train with them. The difference since the players came back is clear. Notice how the injury regime has changed. No rushing players back.
Injuries were not the problem. Horrible squad managment was. We had injuries on the offensive end too but that's not why we were dropping points. Defensively we lacked numbers period! Imagine if we didn't get Welbz and Sanchez till January how thin we would have been attacking wise.

The injuries killed us defensively because we lacked enough numbers. Gabriel and Coquelin-like player should have been sorted out in summer not till later in the season. Do those two, and we would have been able to weather injuries storm much better.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

Giroud's ineptitude clearly cost us this tie haba how many.goals can one.man miss.

Over the two legs there were at least five goals that a fairly decent striker would have buried to send us to the next round. Oh well you pay the price for letting your fate rest with mediocre players yet claim to have lofty goals :curse:

Re: Monaco vs Arsenal 0-1 (2H) (Agg 3-2)

Ekorian wrote:Mo gbe :ohmy:
:woot: :woot: :woot: :woot: :woot: hen...na so belle pain you during the game? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

YemiBrazil wrote:Referee blow whistle now
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

pajimoh wrote:God help Monaco. These goons no go let earth rest o

even Breda Jimoh was panicking after Arsenal scored the second goal :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

YemiBrazil wrote:Referee blow whistle now
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Can you imagine the ref?

prolonging goons agony? :tic:

Ekorian wrote:Arsenal against Monaco. :lol: :lol: :lol:

They got knecked the feck oooouuuuuuttttttt. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :clap: :clap: :clap: :bump: :bump: :bump: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :agree: :agree: :agree: :drool: :drool: :drool:

Never gets old. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

amafolas wrote:
Tunisian Gooner wrote:
Skylolo wrote:Unlike many here I hope Wenger gives the boys they credit they deserve for that performance tonight. People said we could not score against Monaco, cannot contain Kondogbia etc etc......this could have been a different result had Welbecks ball not been cleared off the line with the Monaco GK well beaten.

We have all rightfully criticized the team for the performance 3 weeks ago, today was a different performance but it was not enough. Ozil, Cazorla, Kos etc etc stood up like Giants in that second half....Coquelin played his part in the first it bodes well for the future.

Most shortsighted people will continue to think these near misses after impressive away performances count for nothing, but football is a funny old game...the levels we attain to gain victories like this push us forward in our growth as a team as we pursue the biggest trophies in the future.
Well said.

Recall Arsenal losing out on double in crushing fashion 98/99, UEFA cup final on PK's in 2000, 2001 FA cup final on last minute Owen brace.

The invincibles did just miraculously appear, there was a ton of heart break on the path to glory. I know a its cliche but champions are always tested by failure. Now its up to this team to show they retain such resilience in the week, months and years ahead. May sound naive but I confident this Arsenal will step up to the challenge.
Word!
yo waffi. if your friend Wenger wasn't playing let-me-see-what-I-can-get-away-with with our defense at the start of the season, won't we be challenging Chelsea right now. It was horribly irresponsible of the man to go into the season with only 2 senior CD's, one of which was Mertesecker and needed a break.
Our defensive wahala at the start of the seaso will cost us a possible league title this year. Gabriel or someone of that sort should have been bought in summer not in January.
I disagree. The injuries were the problem. He lost his players and could not even train with them. The difference since the players came back is clear. Notice how the injury regime has changed. No rushing players back.
Injuries were not the problem. Horrible squad managment was. We had injuries on the offensive end too but that's not why we were dropping points. Defensively we lacked numbers period! Imagine if we didn't get Welbz and Sanchez till January how thin we would have been attacking wise.

The injuries killed us defensively because we lacked enough numbers. Gabriel and Coquelin-like player should have been sorted out in summer not till later in the season. Do those two, and we would have been able to weather injuries storm much better.
Go have a look at the injuries and the pattern of. Talking about numbers, that was exactly the problem - we lost too many simultaneously for 2 positions.