The Arsenal FC - Related News and Development for 2019/2020
Re: The Arsenal FC - Related News and Development for 2019/2
We did not lose that game because of Mustafi. We lost that game because of how Unai lined up the team and the players he started that day. He underestimated the opponent and we paid dearly for it. Fact not feelings.Nkume wrote:The most expensive 3 points we lost at home last year. You guys can comment. BTW, how many points did we lose the champions league spot by? I can document at least 12 point dropped directly because of Mustafi ALONE last season.
Like you, I have had a good look, I have taken time out to look at his numbers and drilling down into them with like for like comparisons. Mustafi has faults which are highlighted, but he also has strengths which are ignored. He is proactive as a CB and that his where he opens himself up to mistakes. When you are always on the front foot, he always leaves his critics with a lot to criticise him with the he should have done this or that.Cally wrote:I've taken a step back on this Mustafi issue and tried to reason it out. I don't think that Mustafi is a worse defender than most in the EPL, I daresay he's one of the better ones.
However, Arsenal fans are terribly notorious for scapegoating. Once you're unlucky to be singled out by them, you are done.
For the sake of his sanity and for unnecessary tension and pressure, he should just move on cause he will.never win with Arsenal fans. The only to win would be for him to be perfect, and no one ever is. Once he makes the first mistake, they will jump on him.
I get really frustrated with Mustafi and I have sworn at him many times. But he is nowhere as bad as being made out. It must be said, there is a devil in there and I just wish he uses it with more street sense. He actually has some of the best defensive numbers at the club and is a world class header of the ball.
Word.Robbynice wrote:We did not lose that game because of Mustafi. We lost that game because of how Unai lined up the team and the players he started that day. He underestimated the opponent and we paid dearly for it. Fact not feelings.Nkume wrote:The most expensive 3 points we lost at home last year. You guys can comment. BTW, how many points did we lose the champions league spot by? I can document at least 12 point dropped directly because of Mustafi ALONE last season.

This is where STAT-DNA led Arsenal astray. I will respond in full with videos to both you and Robby. Mustafi is absolute Garbage, and I answered why the anger is there in my response to Cally. Squillachi was garbage. Chambers aint great. Guess what, they will never get the treatment Mustafi is getting, and rightfully so.Waffiman wrote:Like you, I have had a good look, I have taken time out to look at his numbers and drilling down into them with like for like comparisons. Mustafi has faults which are highlighted, but he also has strengths which are ignored. He is proactive as a CB and that his where he opens himself up to mistakes. When you are always on the front foot, he always leaves his critics with a lot to criticise him with the he should have done this or that.Cally wrote:I've taken a step back on this Mustafi issue and tried to reason it out. I don't think that Mustafi is a worse defender than most in the EPL, I daresay he's one of the better ones.
However, Arsenal fans are terribly notorious for scapegoating. Once you're unlucky to be singled out by them, you are done.
For the sake of his sanity and for unnecessary tension and pressure, he should just move on cause he will.never win with Arsenal fans. The only to win would be for him to be perfect, and no one ever is. Once he makes the first mistake, they will jump on him.
I get really frustrated with Mustafi and I have sworn at him many times. But he is nowhere as bad as being made out. It must be said, there is a devil in there and I just wish he uses it with more street sense. He actually has some of the best defensive numbers at the club and is a world class header of the ball.
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu
- danfo driver
Wasnt this the game where Arsenal fans were saying that Unai should rest half the team for Europa??? And when I cautioned that it was silly to rest your team, hoping to qualify through Europa, when you had a clear chance of 4th place, they said my mouth was smelling?Robbynice wrote:We did not lose that game because of Mustafi. We lost that game because of how Unai lined up the team and the players he started that day. He underestimated the opponent and we paid dearly for it. Fact not feelings.Nkume wrote:The most expensive 3 points we lost at home last year. You guys can comment. BTW, how many points did we lose the champions league spot by? I can document at least 12 point dropped directly because of Mustafi ALONE last season.
You have made your mind up. Fair enough. Like I said, Mustafi has faults which are highlighted, but he also has strengths which are ignored. He is nowhere as bad as being made out.Nkume wrote:This is where STAT-DNA led Arsenal astray. I will respond in full with videos to both you and Robby. Mustafi is absolute Garbage, and I answered why the anger is there in my response to Cally. Squillachi was garbage. Chambers aint great. Guess what, they will never get the treatment Mustafi is getting, and rightfully so.Waffiman wrote:Like you, I have had a good look, I have taken time out to look at his numbers and drilling down into them with like for like comparisons. Mustafi has faults which are highlighted, but he also has strengths which are ignored. He is proactive as a CB and that his where he opens himself up to mistakes. When you are always on the front foot, he always leaves his critics with a lot to criticise him with the he should have done this or that.Cally wrote:I've taken a step back on this Mustafi issue and tried to reason it out. I don't think that Mustafi is a worse defender than most in the EPL, I daresay he's one of the better ones.
BTW! Bielik is on his way. A lot of interest in the player who Arsenal have put up for sale. They are talking £10m in the papers here.
I hope we don't sell Musti now that Holding is coming back. We will see the best of him again. Arsenal fans simply love to hate him.Waffiman wrote:You have made your mind up. Fair enough. Like I said, Mustafi has faults which are highlighted, but he also has strengths which are ignored. He is nowhere as bad as being made out.Nkume wrote:This is where STAT-DNA led Arsenal astray. I will respond in full with videos to both you and Robby. Mustafi is absolute Garbage, and I answered why the anger is there in my response to Cally. Squillachi was garbage. Chambers aint great. Guess what, they will never get the treatment Mustafi is getting, and rightfully so.Waffiman wrote:Like you, I have had a good look, I have taken time out to look at his numbers and drilling down into them with like for like comparisons. Mustafi has faults which are highlighted, but he also has strengths which are ignored. He is proactive as a CB and that his where he opens himself up to mistakes. When you are always on the front foot, he always leaves his critics with a lot to criticise him with the he should have done this or that.Cally wrote:I've taken a step back on this Mustafi issue and tried to reason it out. I don't think that Mustafi is a worse defender than most in the EPL, I daresay he's one of the better ones.
BTW! Bielik is on his way. A lot of interest in the player who Arsenal have put up for sale. They are talking £10m in the papers here.
Now this is becoming worrisome. Why are we selling our best players. I thought one of the reasons Arsenal eggheads were sold on Unai was because of his deep knowledge of our upcoming talents. What happened to that knowledge?
I wont sell myself. Many don't understand that as CD, Sokratis is very difficult to play with. Most of our CDs struggled with him as a partner.azuka wrote:I hope we don't sell Musti now that Holding is coming back. We will see the best of him again. Arsenal fans simply love to hate him.Waffiman wrote:You have made your mind up. Fair enough. Like I said, Mustafi has faults which are highlighted, but he also has strengths which are ignored. He is nowhere as bad as being made out.Nkume wrote:This is where STAT-DNA led Arsenal astray. I will respond in full with videos to both you and Robby. Mustafi is absolute Garbage, and I answered why the anger is there in my response to Cally. Squillachi was garbage. Chambers aint great. Guess what, they will never get the treatment Mustafi is getting, and rightfully so.Waffiman wrote:Like you, I have had a good look, I have taken time out to look at his numbers and drilling down into them with like for like comparisons. Mustafi has faults which are highlighted, but he also has strengths which are ignored. He is proactive as a CB and that his where he opens himself up to mistakes. When you are always on the front foot, he always leaves his critics with a lot to criticise him with the he should have done this or that.Cally wrote:I've taken a step back on this Mustafi issue and tried to reason it out. I don't think that Mustafi is a worse defender than most in the EPL, I daresay he's one of the better ones.
Now this is becoming worrisome. Why are we selling our best players. I thought one of the reasons Arsenal eggheads were sold on Unai was because of his deep knowledge of our upcoming talents. What happened to that knowledge?
It reminds me of Arsenal's struggles without Auba and Laca. Mustafi and Holding are a very good pair, they work very well together.
In 16 games without Laca and Auba last season, we won only 4. Now we have options, but I wait till the end of the window to celebrate. Arsenal trying to get Barca to loan out Umtiti. We get a CD, like him who is a warrior and leader, forget top 4, we are title contenders.
I don't understand myself. But the talk is, he won't sign the contract he has been offered because he wants some guarantees of first team time. They say he does not want to go on loan again. I am really disappointed because we have not given him a chance.
- Chief Ogbunigwe
Cally wrote:Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:what about our Brasilian Everton?
Chief O!! Idikwa greedy oo!![]()
we should show no mercy to all these yeye EPL teams, big or small.

Remember when Henry+Viera used to slap teams around? It is still paining Danfo till tomorrow

The Bergkamp, Pires, Kanu, Ljunberg, even Wiltord and the late Reyes go come add jara put!
These days, even fake Brasilians like Richalison dey harass us.
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Cally wrote:Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:what about our Brasilian Everton?
we should show no mercy to all these yeye EPL teams, big or small.![]()
Remember when Henry+Viera used to slap teams around? It is still paining Danfo till tomorrow![]()
The Bergkamp, Pires, Kanu, Ljunberg, even Wiltord and the late Reyes go come add jara put!
These days, even fake Brasilians like Richalison dey harass us.

Don't want to get ahead of myself but I cannot help it. When you consider is has taken us 30 months and 6 transfer windows of selling and buying to get where we are right now. I cannot help but indulge myself albeit prematurely.
We now have attacking options to give the opposition Phensic and Alabukun powder headaches. Opposing manager next season, trying to work out who he will be facing.
Auba, Laca, Pepe, Ozil, Iwobi, Mikh,
Martinelli, Ceballos, Guendouzi, Willock.
Plus youth players like Eddie, Saka off the bench.
Now Arsenal Umtiti or Rugani will do nicely, make sure you do not lose Tierney. We need him hom too. Then we are set to compete.
Imagine the pace in this attack for the counter attack. Martinelli, Auba and Pepe in a counter attack.
We now have attacking options to give the opposition Phensic and Alabukun powder headaches. Opposing manager next season, trying to work out who he will be facing.
Now Arsenal Umtiti or Rugani will do nicely, make sure you do not lose Tierney. We need him hom too. Then we are set to compete.
Imagine the pace in this attack for the counter attack. Martinelli, Auba and Pepe in a counter attack.
- Siddonlook11
Waffiman wrote:Don't want to get ahead of myself but I cannot help it. When you consider is has taken us 30 months and 6 transfer windows of selling and buying to get where we are right now. I cannot help but indulge myself albeit prematurely.
You are right - You are getting way way ahead of yourself . Wake up from that dream bro.
Pepe had his medical deal. Looks like the deal is done baring any last minute.
Bielik is going to derby for 10MP
Elneny linked with West ham 10MP
Amaechi already gone to Hamburg for 2.5 MP
Benaccer sell on revenue 4 MP
Club negotiating with Renne to sell Koscielny, club asking for 7 to 10MP
Mikhitaryan or Nelson will leave on loan or sale.
Jenkinson could also leave once Thierney deal is complete
Mustaffi wanted by Monaco, but Mustaffi refuses to leave, wants to stay and fight for his position.
Asano going out on loan
Nwakili on the way out.
Projected first 11
-------------------Leno-----------------------------
Thierney-------Chambers-------Sokratis----------Monreal-----
-------------Guendouzi---------------Torerra------------------
-----Pepe--------------------Ozil--------------Aubameyang----
----------------------------Lacazette--------------------------
Bielik is going to derby for 10MP
Elneny linked with West ham 10MP
Amaechi already gone to Hamburg for 2.5 MP
Benaccer sell on revenue 4 MP
Club negotiating with Renne to sell Koscielny, club asking for 7 to 10MP
Mikhitaryan or Nelson will leave on loan or sale.
Jenkinson could also leave once Thierney deal is complete
Mustaffi wanted by Monaco, but Mustaffi refuses to leave, wants to stay and fight for his position.
Asano going out on loan
Nwakili on the way out.
Projected first 11
-------------------Leno-----------------------------
Thierney-------Chambers-------Sokratis----------Monreal-----
-------------Guendouzi---------------Torerra------------------
-----Pepe--------------------Ozil--------------Aubameyang----
----------------------------Lacazette--------------------------
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu

Waffiman wrote:Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Cally wrote:Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:what about our Brasilian Everton?
we should show no mercy to all these yeye EPL teams, big or small.![]()
Remember when Henry+Viera used to slap teams around? It is still paining Danfo till tomorrow![]()
These days, even fake Brasilians like Richalison dey harass us.![]()

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)
Kai!!! I just know I'm ready to watch games o! A friend of mine that attended just one game last year despite being a season ticket holder just told me he's back! Arsenal fans are enthusiastic once again. Na Kroenke go enjoy the fruits Sha.Waffiman wrote:Don't want to get ahead of myself but I cannot help it. When you consider is has taken us 30 months and 6 transfer windows of selling and buying to get where we are right now. I cannot help but indulge myself albeit prematurely.
Meanwhile, that boy Martinelli gets me excited o! That one will surprise many this season.
This is all well and good. Getting these players in is one thing. Another is utilizing these players to their best capacity. The question here is are we all confident that Unai can mold these players varied abilities into a winning team? Me from what i saw of him last year, i am not confident. I hope Emery proves me wrong though.Waffiman wrote:Don't want to get ahead of myself but I cannot help it. When you consider is has taken us 30 months and 6 transfer windows of selling and buying to get where we are right now. I cannot help but indulge myself albeit prematurely.
- Chief Ogbunigwe
If he cannot, then he should go. The last thing we need is another coach for 50 years like the previous oneazuka wrote:This is all well and good. Getting these players in is one thing. Another is utilizing these players to their best capacity. The question here is are we all confident that Unai can mold these players varied abilities into a winning team? Me from what i saw of him last year, i am not confident. I hope Emery proves me wrong though.Waffiman wrote:Don't want to get ahead of myself but I cannot help it. When you consider is has taken us 30 months and 6 transfer windows of selling and buying to get where we are right now. I cannot help but indulge myself albeit prematurely.

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:If he cannot, then he should go. The last thing we need is another coach for 50 years like the previous oneazuka wrote:This is all well and good. Getting these players in is one thing. Another is utilizing these players to their best capacity. The question here is are we all confident that Unai can mold these players varied abilities into a winning team? Me from what i saw of him last year, i am not confident. I hope Emery proves me wrong though.Waffiman wrote:Don't want to get ahead of myself but I cannot help it. When you consider is has taken us 30 months and 6 transfer windows of selling and buying to get where we are right now. I cannot help but indulge myself albeit prematurely.
Imagine the pace in this attack for the counter attack. Martinelli, Auba and Pepe in a counter attack.![]()

If all these players arrive, Emery will be the one under pressure. Fans will be chilled because the Owner has done right by them. But if he does not get results, he will be in trouble real quick.azuka wrote:This is all well and good. Getting these players in is one thing. Another is utilizing these players to their best capacity. The question here is are we all confident that Unai can mold these players varied abilities into a winning team? Me from what i saw of him last year, i am not confident. I hope Emery proves me wrong though.Waffiman wrote:Don't want to get ahead of myself but I cannot help it. When you consider is has taken us 30 months and 6 transfer windows of selling and buying to get where we are right now. I cannot help but indulge myself albeit prematurely.
He has to build a team and take care of egos. So far none of those players who were not impressed have left the club. He is really working a tight rope if things go pear shaped. He really should be Machiavellian about getting rid of the players who will be the 1st to put the spanner in the works.
- Tunisian Gooner
No secret I'm not a fan of any current Arsenal CB bar Holding, no secret Arsenal CB's are flawed at the best of times and upgrades are needed in that position but....There is perhaps not a more unenviable, demanding job in football than being a CB for Arsenal FC. Not many if any clubs of Arsenal stature where the midfield and FB's so often leave their CB's so badly exposed, litany of examples where the midfield or FB's are either asleep at the switch, easily out fought or out run or zero communication to ensure cover when trying to outnumber opposition deep in other half.Waffiman wrote:I wont sell myself. Many don't understand that as CD, Sokratis is very difficult to play with. Most of our CDs struggled with him as a partner.azuka wrote:I hope we don't sell Musti now that Holding is coming back. We will see the best of him again. Arsenal fans simply love to hate him.Waffiman wrote:You have made your mind up. Fair enough. Like I said, Mustafi has faults which are highlighted, but he also has strengths which are ignored. He is nowhere as bad as being made out.Nkume wrote:This is where STAT-DNA led Arsenal astray. I will respond in full with videos to both you and Robby. Mustafi is absolute Garbage, and I answered why the anger is there in my response to Cally. Squillachi was garbage. Chambers aint great. Guess what, they will never get the treatment Mustafi is getting, and rightfully so.Waffiman wrote:Like you, I have had a good look, I have taken time out to look at his numbers and drilling down into them with like for like comparisons. Mustafi has faults which are highlighted, but he also has strengths which are ignored. He is proactive as a CB and that his where he opens himself up to mistakes. When you are always on the front foot, he always leaves his critics with a lot to criticise him with the he should have done this or that.Cally wrote:I've taken a step back on this Mustafi issue and tried to reason it out. I don't think that Mustafi is a worse defender than most in the EPL, I daresay he's one of the better ones.
It reminds me of Arsenal's struggles without Auba and Laca. Mustafi and Holding are a very good pair, they work very well together.
In 16 games without Laca and Auba last season, we won only 4. Now we have options, but I wait till the end of the window to celebrate. Arsenal trying to get Barca to loan out Umtiti. We get a CD, like him who is a warrior and leader, forget top 4, we are title contenders.
I don't understand myself. But the talk is, he won't sign the contract he has been offered because he wants some guarantees of first team time. They say he does not want to go on loan again. I am really disappointed because we have not given him a chance.
Obvious cliche but defense about the collective, in Arsenal golden age midfield i.e Edu, Gilberto, Petit, PV4, Razor, Freddie, FB's Cole and Lauren were relentless off the ball. That was with CB's the caliber of TA, Keown, Sol and Kolo, there was no abdicating defensive duties and routinely leaving CB's to fend for themselves.
Detective Bunk Moreland
'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'
I still remember that game where we beat Spurs 2-0 and he had Kane in his pocket the whole game. He scored arsenal' s first goal that day.Waffiman wrote:Like you, I have had a good look, I have taken time out to look at his numbers and drilling down into them with like for like comparisons. Mustafi has faults which are highlighted, but he also has strengths which are ignored. He is proactive as a CB and that his where he opens himself up to mistakes. When you are always on the front foot, he always leaves his critics with a lot to criticise him with the he should have done this or that.Cally wrote:I've taken a step back on this Mustafi issue and tried to reason it out. I don't think that Mustafi is a worse defender than most in the EPL, I daresay he's one of the better ones.
Arsenal fans are amazing.....we tend to overate those we like and then scapegoat those we despise.