Euro 2024
Re: Euro 2024
Hmmm hope it doesn’t turn out like the Battle of Hastings and you find yourself on a “bridge too far” when you follow Monty blindly into a death trap ambushCoach wrote: ↑Mon Jul 08, 2024 3:24 pm Down to the final four, the smart money’s on the big fella. At the high tables in Casino Reinschtad. Lucky number setpiece.
Randal not quite Kolo nut.
Wout Wieghorst.
Joselu.
None bigger than our Ivan Ragnursson Toney. Aptly named in ode to the Norsemen smashed at Stamford Bridge like Graham Potter’s blue bottle jobs.
https://www.espn.com/soccer/story/_/id/ ... fixing-ban
What skeletons in the UEFA officiating closet does this man know about?
I question what he knows and the governing body is pacifying him so he
won’t spill the beans. Cuz there’s no reason why this man is officiating a
EURO semi finals game.
Something isn’t right here
EURO semi finals game.
^The lengths the ABEGutans will go to. Shameless and yet, we’re unstirred. We’ve been there before. No bother. Stand and deliver.
...2005, he has served his punishment and was reinstated.Sleaky72 wrote: ↑Mon Jul 08, 2024 3:46 pm https://www.espn.com/soccer/story/_/id/ ... fixing-ban
EURO semi finals game.
Not holding brief for a crook, I guess he will not ffukup on the biggest stage, Wednesday.
Nah my man.mcal wrote: ↑Mon Jul 08, 2024 7:44 pm...2005, he has served his punishment and was reinstated.Sleaky72 wrote: ↑Mon Jul 08, 2024 3:46 pm https://www.espn.com/soccer/story/_/id/ ... fixing-ban
EURO semi finals game.
Not holding brief for a crook, I guess he will not ffukup on the biggest stage, Wednesday.
Once you’ve been convicted of match fixing that’s a lifetime ban… there should be no coming back from that. And then to be rewarded with a game at this level? Hell no I’m not having that
^Couldn’t agree more. There is an oath sworn by all officialdom and players the same, that being to not engage in impropriety. For one in the most powerful of positions to have flouted such rule intent on personal gratifications shows a quality of character that shouldn’t be dismissed.
That there’s previous between the scoundrel and Our Jude wreaks with volume of a European Unionist attempt at toppling the Brexit Behemoths. The establishment daren’t conceive the idea of British bombers descending on Berlin once more. 80 years to the day.
We shall overcome. Bombs away Biggles!
That there’s previous between the scoundrel and Our Jude wreaks with volume of a European Unionist attempt at toppling the Brexit Behemoths. The establishment daren’t conceive the idea of British bombers descending on Berlin once more. 80 years to the day.
We shall overcome. Bombs away Biggles!
- Scipio Africanus
How much are they paying these refs that this fellow was willing to take a bribe for the princely sum of 300 Euros? 300 Euros?! That is sofa change for many people!
Ex nihilo nihil fit
Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

...then why dem reinstate him?Sleaky72 wrote: ↑Mon Jul 08, 2024 11:15 pmNah my man.mcal wrote: ↑Mon Jul 08, 2024 7:44 pm...2005, he has served his punishment and was reinstated.Sleaky72 wrote: ↑Mon Jul 08, 2024 3:46 pm https://www.espn.com/soccer/story/_/id/ ... fixing-ban
EURO semi finals game.
Once you’ve been convicted of match fixing that’s a lifetime ban… there should be no coming back from that. And then to be rewarded with a game at this level? Hell no I’m not having that
One can say there is/are certain things we on the outside don't know as per plea to the governing body.
Just like that our naija youth coach (Salisu) who was caught, charged, served his time, and reinstated to coach.
...you can ask that of naija coach Salisu who accepted $750.Scipio Africanus wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 4:12 pm How much are they paying these refs that this fellow was willing to take a bribe for the princely sum of 300 Euros? 300 Euros?! That is sofa change for many people!
Yusuf said at the time: "I did accept $750 handed to me by one of the two agents to the two Nigerian players, only as a gift of trivial and symbolic value and not as an inducement to play the two players represented by the two agents, as Anas Aremeyaw Anas and Tiger Eye would want you to believe."
Chief that’s why I was speculating that maybe they reinstated him because he knew some dark secrets, which may have included, how pervasive match fixing and bribery was, amongst the football officiating cabal. Just speculating cuz it’s a little bizarremcal wrote: ↑Tue Jul 09, 2024 4:18 pm...then why dem reinstate him?Sleaky72 wrote: ↑Mon Jul 08, 2024 11:15 pmNah my man.mcal wrote: ↑Mon Jul 08, 2024 7:44 pm...2005, he has served his punishment and was reinstated.Sleaky72 wrote: ↑Mon Jul 08, 2024 3:46 pm https://www.espn.com/soccer/story/_/id/ ... fixing-ban
EURO semi finals game.
One can say there is/are certain things we on the outside don't know as per plea to the governing body.
Just like that our naija youth coach (Salisu) who was caught, charged, served his time, and reinstated to coach.
- airwolex
Morata one goal
Kane 2 flukes, playing utter shite
Depay one goal
Mbappe one penalty and missing chance after chance.
What's going on really with these wack strikers
Nobody can score a free kick. Guys missing sitters left right center.
Football is so different from what it used to be
Kane 2 flukes, playing utter shite
Depay one goal
Mbappe one penalty and missing chance after chance.
What's going on really with these wack strikers
Nobody can score a free kick. Guys missing sitters left right center.
Football is so different from what it used to be
Given France’s
problems with scoring, I am very surprised that they did not utilise Kingsley Coman (a dynamic attacker who has won 11 league championships at 3 different clubs, played in 2 Champions League finals, and who can play on the right or left).
Little sub-plots in that England v Netherlands match - such as the "Manchester City civil war" featuring Stones and Walker of England v Ake of The Netherlands
Can’t wait to see how Southgate approaches this final against Spain. Is he gonna sit behind Hadrian’s wall and soak up pressure and wait for a counter or a set play or will he come out swinging and take the game to the Iberians and make them play defense.
This will be captivating. Will be a classic game.
But I’m picking Espana!
England
has reached 5 tournament finals or semi-finals in its history. 3 of those (60%) were under Southgate in the last 6 years alone.
Good question. Very. For all the talk of Yamals and Williams, both of whom have been a breath of fresh air, there are a number of unsung heroes about the Spaniards. Fabian Ruiz has been very tidy, Olmo exquisite and Rodri, nothing short of imperial. The latter is without doubt the best player in World football. But for all the majesty and magicians, its Mark Cucurella who knits it all together as much as any other. Brilliant throughout the tournament, dead cert for the select XI. Solid on the outside and inverting with aplomb to allow the more adventurous midfielders to face forward.Sleaky72 wrote: ↑Thu Jul 11, 2024 11:24 am Can’t wait to see how Southgate approaches this final against Spain. Is he gonna sit behind Hadrian’s wall and soak up pressure and wait for a counter or a set play or will he come out swinging and take the game to the Iberians and make them play defense.
But I’m picking Espana!
England's current shape, 3-4-2-1, whilst boxing the midfield, leaves questions out wide. The wingbacks could be pushed back into a five, which blunts the shape entirely. Don't envision Southgate making sweeping changes, Trippier vs Shaw, most likely the only question asked.
Kane is an issue, immobile, ineffective are easily occupied. The press, which has been mediocre at best, is largely burdened by his inability to get about the defence. Laporte plays out all the more as a result and England drop deeper. Think a narrow 4-4-2 press is a must, rather than Bellingham pushing up however, would have Saka high in the right half-space. Overload the right flank. Williams doesn't track back as much. Stick Walker man-to-man and have Philomen and Bob mixing and blending in the channels.
Verticality is key. Play over the press, no need to go through it.
Coach a high 4-4-2 high press against Spain is a kamikaze suicide mission!!
You’ve gotta be kidding me mate!
- airwolex
The only thing that can stop Spain is Spain. As long as they are aggressive for 75% of the match and don't let England bore you to death with their turgid play, they are good.
Their main advantage for me is actually in the midfield, Ruiz, Olmo and Rodri have been superb. The player of the tournament should come from one of them.
Mid-block. High is indeed suicidal, a low block much the same. A 4-4-2 pressing shape is commonplace. In the context of England, the challenge is to exercise full potential in the transitions. Spain will have the ball but when they don’t, that is where the opposition must win the game. France, as AfCON as they were, created chances, squandered opportunities.
This Spain is most certainly not the second coming of the behemoth that bossed football across all continents 2008-2012.
@Wolex Soyinka, the Spaniards have played the midfield like the sweetest of sonnets in A-minor. Cucurella’s role has been invaluable to that. Defensively astute, he’s allowed Williams to thrive and in stepping inside, has given more control to the midfield when needed. That being said, Ousmane Dumbbele had them on the ropes out wide and Kilian MCrappe was given time and space on more than one occasion. Point being, their style of place, their aggression in the press offers chance in the transition.
England are both blessed and burdened by their pre-tournament talismen, Kane and Bellingham. Neither is fully fit, neither has 90 minutes in their legs, yet both are indispensable. The challenge then becomes getting the most from their 70%. If forced into a back five, all will be lost. England must stand tall, stand firm and swing with both hands. There’s nothing to fear. Bigger beasts have stood across the dividing line and been reduced to rubble. Berlin. 1945. Been there. Done it.
Coach my guy I’m not trying to be tedious but you want a 4-4-2 with a high press and want to play a low block? It doesn’t compute my friend.Coach wrote: ↑Thu Jul 11, 2024 2:38 pmMid-block. High is indeed suicidal, a low block much the same. A 4-4-2 pressing shape is commonplace. In the context of England, the challenge is to exercise full potential in the transitions. Spain will have the ball but when they don’t, that is where the opposition must win the game. France, as AfCON as they were, created chances, squandered opportunities.
This Spain is most certainly not the second coming of the behemoth that bossed football across all continents 2008-2012.
You will leave massive gaps and the intricate passing of the Iberians will rip you shreds. The best strategy is to drop into a hybrid 4-3-3/4-5-1 tempt action to one side of the field and press with intensity and win the ball and create a counter attack with a lot of open field ahead … space between lines is not something you can survive with against the Spanish
^4-4-2 high press? Hardly. Mid-block is a must. A low block with Harry No Pace won’t work. A high press is more risk than reward.
Kane is too isolated up top and absolutely immobile, not only does this invite the defenders to play out, but also to step up. England reflexively drop whenever a side exercise competence in possession. The worry in a back three is how quickly that reverts to a five and imprisons the out-ball.
Southgate won’t change it, sadly, the opportunities for change were squandered and thus it will be what it is. But what could’ve been. Persisting with Trippier when both Guehi and Konsa are capable at left-back, forfeited game time for other squad members and rest for those running on empty.
Trippier vs Yamal, or anyone for that matter, is an issue, even more so if at left wingback with no direct ally to prevent the overload. From the early utterances, he will start once more, set-peices aside, it’s an almighty risk that has become a reckless formality.
Kane is too isolated up top and absolutely immobile, not only does this invite the defenders to play out, but also to step up. England reflexively drop whenever a side exercise competence in possession. The worry in a back three is how quickly that reverts to a five and imprisons the out-ball.
Southgate won’t change it, sadly, the opportunities for change were squandered and thus it will be what it is. But what could’ve been. Persisting with Trippier when both Guehi and Konsa are capable at left-back, forfeited game time for other squad members and rest for those running on empty.
Trippier vs Yamal, or anyone for that matter, is an issue, even more so if at left wingback with no direct ally to prevent the overload. From the early utterances, he will start once more, set-peices aside, it’s an almighty risk that has become a reckless formality.