Euro 2024

Re: Euro 2024

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sat Jul 13, 2024 7:31 pm

“un poco más señor?”

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:
NEXT tournament just be QUIET :mrgreen:

wiseone wrote: Fri Jul 12, 2024 6:05 pm "No wonder England look so pedestrian and bereft of ideas"

Despite being "pedestrian and bereft of ideas":

1) England has reached the Euros final for the second consecutive tournament;

2) Southgate has been undefeated in 86 of the 100 games he has managed England in;

3) Southgate has reached the semi-final in 3 of the last 4 tournaments he has been in; and

4) Southgate has a better record than any England manager except Sir Alf Ramsey (who won the World Cup).
Sleaky72 wrote: Fri Jul 12, 2024 2:29 pm
No wonder England look so pedestrian and bereft of ideas, and clinging to moments of individual magic rather than floating like a butterfly and stinging like a bee. All I see are a bunch of tug boats struggling to be keep up with the smooth sailing Spanish yachts.

England have more than enough talent to match and even surpass the Spanish. But it’s this primitive mentality of blood, Thunder, cussing and swearing that keeps this great nation behind. If England had a real coach they’d be ready to take the game to the Spanish with their unique assemblage of pace, power, artistry and a unique style of play.

Sadly after nearly a decade under Southgate we are still : banking on the guts and glory fight to the last man football mantra. Hell at this rate we should all tune into the BBC and wait for Winston Churchill to come back on and encourage us to fight on the beaches and fight on the shores and not give an inch to the enemy, rather than adopt a coherent and eye pleasing approach to the game that can defeat this Spanish team. Damn shame my friend

Next tine.
Take your meds and stop typing under the influence

Orion wrote: Sat Jul 13, 2024 2:05 pm
Sleaky72 wrote: Fri Jul 12, 2024 2:29 pm No wonder England look so pedestrian and bereft of ideas, and clinging to moments of individual magic rather than floating like a butterfly and stinging like a bee. All I see are a bunch of tug boats struggling to be keep up with the smooth sailing Spanish yachts.

England have more than enough talent to match and even surpass the Spanish. But it’s this primitive mentality of blood, Thunder, cussing and swearing that keeps this great nation behind. If England had a real coach they’d be ready to take the game to the Spanish with their unique assemblage of pace, power, artistry and a unique style of play.

Sadly after nearly a decade under Southgate we are still banking on the guts and glory fight to the last man football mantra. Hell at this rate we should all tune into the BBC and wait for Winston Churchill to come back on and encourage us to fight on the beaches and fight on the shores and not give an inch to the enemy, rather than adopt a coherent and eye pleasing approach to the game that can defeat this Spanish team. Damn shame my friend
You guys need to just STFU!!!!! :evil:

How has England performed in the past with all kinds of managers? Diddly squat!

Oh, now you have the best players in the world and should be trouncing every team? Seriously?? I thought it was only the white English supporters who had this kind of "superior" attitude of entitlement that has generated so much hate towards the English team over the years.

Previous English teams were rank losers again, and again, and again. Unable to close games, even when they had the upper hand, and they lose on penalties every damn time. A bunch of wilting LOSERS!

Now you have a team winning on their penalties, able to actually close the game down, and not go to penalties every damn time. Yet you now have more whingers than ever. :?

Southgate has been the best manager England has had, maybe since the 60s!

England has been to 3 major finals in its whole footballing history. Southgate now has 2 of those - 2/3.

I'm rooting for him to win the cup tomorrow just to silence these whinging babies! :evil:

Cucurella or Fabian Ruiz player of the tournament. Rodri was colossal in the early rounds, much like many others, was gassed by the business rounds.

Sleaky72 wrote: Sun Jul 14, 2024 9:52 pm Next tine.
Ha, I guess you feel justified now. Whatever the result, a person like you would still whinge. The result is irrelevant to you. If England had won, you would say they won despite Southgate or were just lucky. If they lose - well, it's Southgate.

You are the one who needs meds with that silly whingeing and sense of entitlement over a team that has historically been an abject failure. In the last 50 yrs, name one England manager that achieved even half of what Southgate has achieved. You can't because he achieved 100% of the finals England reached in that time.

Spain was the far better team in this competition and the favorites going into the final. But Southgate's team pushed them to the limit and always looked threatening. Spain was done with France by halftime.

Only a fool (or deluded fan) will think a historically poor side like England can magically start demolishing every team in sight with some fabled fairy tale coach.

Orion wrote: Sun Jul 14, 2024 10:53 pm
Sleaky72 wrote: Sun Jul 14, 2024 9:52 pm Next tine.
Ah, I guess you feel justified now. Whatever the result, a person like you would still whinge. The result is irrelevant to you. If England had won, you would say they won despite Southgate or were just lucky. If they lose - well, it's Southgate.

You are the one who needs meds with that silly whingeing and sense of entitlement over a team that has historically been an abject failure. In the last 50 yrs, name one England manager that achieved even half of what Southgate has achieved. You can't because he achieved 100% of the finals England reached in that time.

Spain was the far better team in this competition and the favorites going into the final. But Southgate's team pushed them to the limit and always looked threatening. Spain was done with France by halftime.

Only a fool (or deluded fan) will think a historically poor side like England can magically start demolishing every team in sight with some fabled fairy tale coach.
Oh dear Lord you have so many issues.
You came out here f bombing people who clearly are right and instead of sulking back to the hole you crawled out of, you keep acting like a menopausal mad woman.

I’m not gonna waste time combating your feminine energy ….

Learn some football and stop spreading cheeks and your foolishness on the internet. Now you wanna tell me what you think I would’ve said? Again take your damn meds, Dummy!

Here lemme leave you with your own opening statement …. STFU!

Two coaches that must go. Southgate and Deschamps. Birds of a conservative feather who play not to lose.

Sleaky72 wrote: Sun Jul 14, 2024 10:56 pm You came out here f bombing people who clearly are right
Right about what??

That England should be better than this Spanish side?? Or that England should trash Holland silly? A 2-1 win was not good enough for you?

What exactly were you right about?

By the way, I saw you in the match thread supporting Spain, so I know the result is irrelevant to you. You're not even a true fan—just someone who wants to mimic the silly delusions of some white English fans.

Prior to the tournament thought England could emerge and play world class football. They seemed to have the players. Particularly Bellingham and Rice, who I was thinking could be the leaders they’ve not had since 1970.

Rice busted. He was average. Timid and conservative. He definitely did not want the ball.

Bellingham fell short too. Solid player but not world class either. He also can’t lead.

England got by on luck, fighting spirit, and forcing opportunities when it mattered. It was only against Holland in the 1st half they showed some collective class.

I know some will say they took Spain to the brink to lose only 2-1. I think it’s deceptive. Even without Rodri, Spain still put England on its back heel.

It takes a tournament to make an assessment. And now that the smoke clears, we see England being England yet again. Hoof and run hard. A bit more class but not enough.

Most of all: no world class on the field leader. Still searching for that.

ohsee wrote: Sun Jul 14, 2024 11:08 pm Two coaches that must go. Southgate and Deschamps. Birds of a conservative feather who play not to lose.
Uncle Nnai Dede, you think they are republicans? :D

mate wrote: Mon Jul 15, 2024 12:25 am Prior to the tournament thought England could emerge and play world class football. They seemed to have the players. Particularly Bellingham and Rice, who I was thinking could be the leaders they’ve not had since 1970.

Rice busted. He was average. Timid and conservative. He definitely did not want the ball.

Bellingham fell short too. Solid player but not world class either. He also can’t lead.

England got by on luck, fighting spirit, and forcing opportunities when it mattered. It was only against Holland in the 1st half they showed some collective class.

I know some will say they took Spain to the brink to lose only 2-1. I think it’s deceptive. Even without Rodri, Spain still put England on its back heel.

It takes a tournament to make an assessment. And now that the smoke clears, we see England being England yet again. Hoof and run hard. A bit more class but not enough.

Most of all: no world class on the field leader. Still searching for that.
God bless you.
Let those who have eyes and ears pay attention.
While the others can bury their heads in the sands and attack people for daring to say the obvious

An England fan gives his take:
Can’t see it, I’ve sort of accepted our role in all this. We are the Spurs of World football….
https://www.bigsoccer.com/threads/uefa- ... 3/page-286
Ex nihilo nihil fit

Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

Cvnt :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

danfo driver wrote: Mon Jul 15, 2024 12:56 am
ohsee wrote: Sun Jul 14, 2024 11:08 pm Two coaches that must go. Southgate and Deschamps. Birds of a conservative feather who play not to lose.
Uncle Nnai Dede, you think they are republicans? :D
:biggrin: :biggrin:
Worse than Republicans. :biggrin:

Asking for the firing of 2 coaches who:

1) Led their team to 2 successive World Cup finals; and

2) Led their team to 2 successive European Championships finals;

3) led their team to 66% of all tournament finals his country has ever reached; and

4) is undefeated in 22 of 25 games he has been involved with at the World Cup...

...is the epitome of harsh.

wiseone wrote: Mon Jul 15, 2024 7:41 am Asking for the firing of 2 coaches who:

3) led their team to 66% of all tournament finals his country has ever reached; and

4) is undefeated in 22 of 25 games he has been involved with at the World Cup...

Here you go again. Always looking on the surface and refusing to drill down and take a critical forensic view and an understanding of the performance rather than just focusing on an outcome. Clearly you never learn. Anyway I’m not gonna be tedious and keep belaboring the issue, you’re entitled to your opinion and football views.

wiseone wrote: Mon Jul 15, 2024 7:41 am Asking for the firing of 2 coaches who:

Oga wiseone, I agree that Deschamps and Southgate have done the above--you forgot to add that Deschamps won a World Cup. But with the abundance of talent they are blessed with, they could do so much better. Southgate for example, limped to the Final, as if England is a second tier team struggling to match the big boys--they were lucky to beat the little boys they met. France also limped in these Euros, and relied on its defence to get to the semis where they were defeated by a team that showed them how football should be played.

Both coaches should be thanked for their services, given national honours and medals, and eased off the stage. I seriously doubt that France will win another world cup with Deschamps. I know England will not win with Southgate. It is time for France and England to find coaches like Scaloni and de la Fuente, men who can fully utilize the talents they are blessed with. They can do that, or settle for mediocrity and being Canada, i.e., "Look, aren't we wonderful, we came fourth!"

Spain won with two cast-off, "take dem, we no want" French center backs! Imagine di likeness! :biggrin: France is so blessed with an abundance of centerbacks that they allowed two of their quality defenders to play for Spain. It is not like Laporte and Lenormand have Spanish ancestry--they were given Spanish citizenship so they could play for Spain after France ignored them. A French team that had Konate sitting on the bench all tournament can afford to do that. :thumbs:

Ohsee, the problems are:

1) France 🇫🇷 firing the most successful manager in its history;

2) England firing the second most successful manager in its history; and

3) elite football is a game of extremely fine margins. Changing the manager will not guarantee improved results.

There are so many uncontrollable elements. e.g. would a different manager have prevented Mbappe from suffering a broken nose?👃 (which clearly affected his performance at the Euros)

Would a different manager have got France to the World Cup final without Kante, Pogba, Benzema, Nkunku, and Varane (in the group phase) as Deschamps did?

Would a different manager have somehow got Rashford, Saka, and Sancho to score the penalties that Donnarumma saved at the last Euros final?

Broken noses and Donnarumma's brilliance are not things that a new manager can control.
ohsee wrote: Mon Jul 15, 2024 2:36 pm Oga wiseone, I agree that Deschamps and Southgate have done the above--you forgot to add that Deschamps won a World Cup. But with the abundance of talent they are blessed with, they could do so much better. Southgate for example, limped to the Final, as if England is a second tier team struggling to match the big boys--they were lucky to beat the little boys they met. France also limped in these Euros, and relied on its defence to get to the semis where they were defeated by a team that showed them how football should be played.

Both coaches should be thanked for their services, given national honours and medals, and eased off the stage. I seriously doubt that France will win another world cup with Deschamps. I know England will not win with Southgate. It is time for France and England to find coaches like Scaloni and de la Fuente, men who can fully utilize the talents they are blessed with. They can do that, or settle for mediocrity and being Canada, i.e., "Look, aren't we wonderful, we came fourth!"
Last edited by wiseone on Mon Jul 15, 2024 4:37 pm, edited 2 times in total.

wiseone wrote: Mon Jul 15, 2024 3:34 pm Ohsee, the problems are:

1) France 🇫🇷 firing the most successful manager in its history;

2) England firing the second most successful manager in its history; and

3) elite football is a game of fine margins. Changing the manager will not guarantee improved results.

There are so many uncontrollable elements. e.g. would a different manager have prevented Mbappe from suffering a broken nose?👃 (which clearly affected his performance at the Euros)

Would a different manager have got France to the World Cup final without Kante, Pogba, Benzema, Nkunku, and Varane (in the group phase) as France did?

Would a different manager have somehow got Rashford, Saka, and Sancho to score the penalties that Donnarumma saved at the last Euros final?

Broken noses and Donnarumma's brilliance are not things that a new coach can control.
ohsee wrote: Mon Jul 15, 2024 2:36 pm Oga wiseone, I agree that Deschamps and Southgate have done the above--you forgot to add that Deschamps won a World Cup. But with the abundance of talent they are blessed with, they could do so much better. Southgate for example, limped to the Final, as if England is a second tier team struggling to match the big boys--they were lucky to beat the little boys they met. France also limped in these Euros, and relied on its defence to get to the semis where they were defeated by a team that showed them how football should be played.

wiseone, I don't want to get into a long drawn out debate about this. The Euro is over, and I want to get back to important things I was doing before all my time was taken up by football. :rotf:

I will tackle your points once, and you can have the last word.

All successful managers have a sell-by date, especially if you don't want to stagnate/rest on your laurels, and you want to do better. Sir Alf Ramsey focked up big-time in 1974 WC qualification, and was fired long after his sell-by date. It did not have to get to that point. He was revered until he really, really screwed up. Let them go while they are still respected by some.

Elite football might indeed be a game of fine margins, but the EPL has been dominated by City for how many seasons now? When City show up on the field, everyone expects them to win convincingly in most games, and no one expects the fine margins to fall in favour of the other team. The team has the talent and the manager to make "fine margins" irrelevant.

A manager for a stacked French team that relies on only Mbappe is a lousy manager.

Yes, a better manager than Deschamps would have done gotten that France to the final, and won it in regular time.

A different manager would have won the previous Euros for England in regular time. After scoring the first goal, Southgate retreated into his shell, like the over-cautious manager he is.

Now that Southgate has gone, England can line up that long queue of successful English managers who have won the Premier League.

https://www.skysports.com/amp/football/ ... t-to-spain

Luis De La Fuente,

“Don’t need a collection of superstars. I come from a grassroots background, Our commitment, to the people we trust in the youth system, is not a pose, it is a conviction”

And you wonder how a man with a team full of SOCIEDAD players could play such beautiful football and overcome ….

Croatia
Italy
Hosts Germany
France
England

To win a title.
That’s the difference of COACHING!!!