Complete this sentence..."The last time Ghana won AFCON"

oluwaseye the 1st.
Re: Complete this sentence..."The last time Ghana won AFCON"

Post by oluwaseye the 1st. »

Awolowo, Azikiwe, Mbadiwe, Akinloye, Okadigbo, Aminu Kano, Waziri Ibrahim, Adelakun, Bola Ige, Ajasin, Onabanjo, Ambrose Alli, Shehu Kangiwa et.al were still strutting their stuff across the political landscape of Nigeria.
Truth needs no support system, it can stand firmly on its legs!!

COYS
GIN

Post by GIN »

Chris Okotie was a major POP STAR.
504/505 was the shizznit.
Samson Siasia speaking FACTs about 2008.
“I have been waiting for this job for almost three years now and that was before the 2008 Beijing Olympics. I was to be the coach of the Super Eagles after the interview conducted for the job. But that time I said no, I wasn’t ready. Now that I am ready, I am not intimidated at all. I am ready for this job,” he declared matter-of-factly" http://africanfootball.mtnfootball.com/ ... m_ID=36099

There was no "Ghana must go" bags.
Riversboy

Post by Riversboy »

Muhammad Ali had just retired a year before.

The Berlin Wall was up.

Ben Johnson was still legit, and was yet to run at the Olympic Games.

The English Premiership did not exist.

RB.
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote: is this what we celebrate these days, nutmeg?
Riversboy

Post by Riversboy »

Oh I forgot:

No African team had won any FIFA World Cup at any age grade, or the Olympics.

Edit: umm.... Does that mean when Ghana last won the Afcon, age cheating hadn't been invented yet? :blink: :???:

RB.

this thread is a classic in the making. :clap:
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

Usman dan Fodio was planning the annexation of Kwara. Jaja of Opobo was being shipped into exile...

When Ghana last won AFCON - Gyan's parents were ........

East Germany was still a country

Babangida wasn't in office yet

Post by Ebyboy »

It was just after the discovery of sliced bread
Penicilin had just been discovered
Sugery was still done by barbers and there was no anaesthetic
There were no airplanes
Ghana was still the Gold Coast

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

Goodluck had no shoes
Last edited by Prince on Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kai make una easy on the bredas.. they've even stoped posting on ghanaweb.. the place go soon turn to camfoot

GIN

Post by GIN »

Sumanguru was still calling shots in the region.
“I have been waiting for this job for almost three years now and that was before the 2008 Beijing Olympics. I was to be the coach of the Super Eagles after the interview conducted for the job. But that time I said no, I wasn’t ready. Now that I am ready, I am not intimidated at all. I am ready for this job,” he declared matter-of-factly" http://africanfootball.mtnfootball.com/ ... m_ID=36099

...New Edition were even yet to release this era defining single.

Riversboy

Post by Riversboy »

Molue Conductor wrote:Babangida wasn't in office yet
Heck, even Buhari wasn't in office yet.
Umaru Dikko hadn't seen the inside of a crate yet.

RB.
Riversboy

Post by Riversboy »

Fela hadn't released "Beasts of no nation"

Osibisa was reigning.

"Back to the future" wasn't out yet.

Joao Havalange still ruled FIFA.

Thomas Sankara was yet to rule Upper Volta.

RB.
oluwaseye the 1st.

Post by oluwaseye the 1st. »

Hogan Jimoh was still a boxing champion and Dele Udoh had just been killed by a useless policeman somewhere in Lagos
Truth needs no support system, it can stand firmly on its legs!!

COYS

muhahaha.... consolation thread.

you still trail us by 1 Cup...yes ONE....you will never catch us

You've had 30 years and sake of one Greece-d AFCON, una dey beat chest.

Riversboy

Post by Riversboy »

Anini and Shina Rambo were yet to terrorist anyone.

The Space Shuttle Had only had test flights.

RB.
GIN

Post by GIN »

Bredas were able to stand tall on their golden stool.
Yellow Man was the King of Reggae.
WAI was not in effect.
Prof Ambrose Ali still had his doe hidden in a water tank.

Meanwhile where are all the Ghanaians? When I came to this forum the main guys were the Cameroonians. With the demise of their team they disappeared and the few we have left are in R and R. I guess Ghana's time here is over...meanwhile

The last time Ghana won AFCON Cote D' Ivoire was Ivory Coast. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

Molue Conductor wrote:
Catalyst wrote:We had 9 planets?

Back in those days, only 8 teams featured in the tourney; semi finals was easier to reach.

PS. This thread is exactly why Ghanaians dread we winning the whole thing. This thread can go for miles and miles. It is one of those one that just get bumped randomly for years until Ghana wins it. And that does not look like it is going to happen any time soon. Based on current trend, even Burkina Faso have a better chance.
you berra call them Upper Volta or the breda's might get confused.
My hand no dey ooo

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif