Euro 2024

Re: Euro 2024

ohsee wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 12:36 am Germany is looking like a serious contender. Yes, it is Scotland, but this is a great display.
I wasn’t that impressed with Germany … the so called Bravehearts left their tickers in the highlands … Total capitulation.

The midfield is Modric(RM), Kovacic(Man C), Brozovic(Al Nasr). All these are great players. Modric can go 65 mins while the other 2 prime, know for fitness as well as talent. Backed by young talents Baturina(Dinamo) and Sucic(RB Salzburg), all 20.
Like I said I hope I’m wrong for your sake but that midfield doesn’t Impress me nor does the offense compared to prior generations … but heart and mental toughness is something your folks will never be in want for

mate wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 12:18 am
Scipio Africanus wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 11:42 pm
bret- hart wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 10:33 pm This is how you deal with minnows. If na nigeria now we go dey struggle 😪. This new coach needs to come I quick and get my Eagles flying again.
Nigeria's problem is that we overcomplicate things in the attacking phase. Take several touches to take the ball to the flank, take several more touches trying to beat the man at the flank, take several more touches trying to advance into the box from the flank, ... etc. Meanwhile the opposition has used this time to position themselves perfectly to defend you.

When Germany see space, fiam! the ball is sent there immediately! They take the ball to the flank, fiam! it is slammed across the goal mouth immediately! The ball is whizzing across the goal mouth and if there is a German player there, you know a hot shot is coming! No faffing about!
My take is the Super Eagles have attackers. It's the midfield and defense that seems to have fallen off the standard. I haven't watched too many games the past few years, but I keep seeing some pretty bad errors leading to bad goals.

I look up the midfielders and defenders thread every now and then to see how this is developing. Again, I think Nigeria is in a down cycle, especially in those vital components. I also will briefly repeat what I said a ways back on our forum here: Nigeria will find it harder to develop top footballers without a strong league.

Natural talent as well all incessantly discuss is not enough.
Nigerian attackers do better under a good, well-organized system. Unfortunately that is non-existent in the SE setup. In the SE attackers are allowed to do unlimited improv, with frustrating results. I don't think we have scored more than one goal in 4 consecutive WC qualifiers! Also I think we overrate our players. Most of them are simply not as good as we think they are.
Ex nihilo nihil fit

Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

Croatia's 🇭🇷 midfield consists of a player who has won the Champions League 6 times, played in a World Cup final, and who currently plays for the Spanish and European champions, another player who plays for the world and English Champions, a third player who has played in a World Cup final and Champions League final, and all 3 have played in a World Cup final and Champions League final.

Yet you think "that midfield doesn't impress me"? :shock:

🤦🏽
Sleaky72 wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 1:33 am
Like I said I hope I’m wrong for your sake but that midfield doesn’t Impress me nor does the offense compared to prior generations … but heart and mental toughness is something your folks will never be in want for

Fox has already started its BS in the first game of the tournament.

As the screen graphic showed the Germany 🇩🇪 team, the Fox commentators gave us the Scotland line-up (which we could not see) and spoke about Scotland's formation. Then when the screen graphic changed to show the Scotland lineup, the commentators switched and instead spoke about the Germany 🇩🇪 line up and formation (which we could not see).

Fox finds ingenious new ways to make its football coverage tragi-comic.

joplass wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 6:54 pm The competition is about to kick off and already I am dreading Fox Sport commentators here in the US.
Please if someone has a web link please share it.

wiseone wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 1:44 am Croatia's 🇭🇷 midfield consists of a player who has won the Champions League 6 times, played in a World Cup final, and who currently plays for the Spanish and European champions, another player who plays for the world and English Champions, a third player who has played in a World Cup final and Champions League final, and all 3 have played in a World Cup final and Champions League final.

Yet you think "that midfield doesn't impress me"? :shock:

🤦🏽
Lol Chief past performance is no indicator of future success. Luka is 90 years old … what he did in the past while relevant from an experience point of view, matters little in the present against young fresh legs.
Love the guy, one of my favorite players but Father Time catches up to us all.

Luka won the Champions League 13 days ago. I am amazed that he aged over 50 years in those 13 days.

Kovacic won the Premier League last month and Brozovic played in the Champions League final last sesson.
Sleaky72 wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 1:51 am
Lol Chief past performance is no indicator of future success. Luka is 90 years old … what he did in the past while relevant from an experience point of view, matters little in the present against young fresh legs.
Last edited by wiseone on Sat Jun 15, 2024 4:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

Scipio Africanus wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 11:42 pm
bret- hart wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 10:33 pm This is how you deal with minnows. If na nigeria now we go dey struggle 😪. This new coach needs to come I quick and get my Eagles flying again.
Nigeria's problem is that we overcomplicate things in the attacking phase. Take several touches to take the ball to the flank, take several more touches trying to beat the man at the flank, take several more touches trying to advance into the box from the flank, ... etc. Meanwhile the opposition has used this time to position themselves perfectly to defend you.

When Germany see space, fiam! the ball is sent there immediately! They take the ball to the flank, fiam! it is slammed across the goal mouth immediately! The ball is whizzing across the goal mouth and if there is a German player there, you know a hot shot is coming! No faffing about!
Our midfilders are lazy and the wingers and wingbacks are selfish with low IQ. Also they cant shoot at distance. Its so annoying watching Nigeria not be able to get the basics right. :-x :-x :-x :-x :-x

wiseone wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 1:00 am Fox’s “football commentators” (if a bunch of guys droaning like punters at the pub deserve the name) are utterly appalling. The only saving grace is that since this is the European Championships, we will not have to listen 🎧 to a 90 minute monotone of them repeatedly describing an African team with 5’5 tall players as “powerful” and “athletic”.
joplass wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 6:54 pm The competition is about to kick off and already I am dreading Fox Sport commentators here in the US.
I can't believe so many pundits get paid. Many are clueless. Clearly they get cues from marketing team.

I really question how many games they actually watch. And what they really know about the individual players. They sure repeat pop culture soundbites a lot.

The midfield is Modric(RM), Kovacic(Man C), Brozovic(Al Nasr). All these are great players. Modric can go 65 mins while the other 2 prime, know for fitness as well as talent. Backed by young talents Baturina(Dinamo) and Sucic(RB Salzburg), all 20.
That was the EXACTLY midfield that took 3rd last WC and got us to the NL finals last year. And all 3 played in the 2018 WC final, with Kovacic coming off the bench. The same midfield the out possessed Brazil, which is rare, to beat them last WC.

We will of course see. You never know if Father Time already has struck for Modric or if he has a last tournament reservoir of magic.

mate wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 11:17 pm
It's cyclical. You saw how Germany has gone out in round 1 of recent tournaments. They are back.

Nigeria also will be back. And to be sure, just like with Croatia, we're starting late in terms of opportunity, development, and freedom really. Germany has competed forever. Nigeria and Croatia only really in the 90s.

I have one CORE way I rate my team: how many big time players are at big roles at big clubs?

Only then is anybody a serious consistent contender. Sure, a disciplined team with less than this can occasionally make a run: Turkey, Japan, Bulgaria, Morocco...but having elite players means you can make such runs often and with conviction.

We're all football fans. We know with enough eye tests if we have the footballers. If they're contenders or less than that or minnows.
Yea but we have been in the doldrums for way too long. The NFF is the biggest obstacle against the progression of Nigerian football. The corruption and neglect has caught up with us. At this point i want the Nigerian feds to get involved and clean house.

bret- hart wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 2:58 am
mate wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 11:17 pm
It's cyclical. You saw how Germany has gone out in round 1 of recent tournaments. They are back.

Nigeria also will be back. And to be sure, just like with Croatia, we're starting late in terms of opportunity, development, and freedom really. Germany has competed forever. Nigeria and Croatia only really in the 90s.

I have one CORE way I rate my team: how many big time players are at big roles at big clubs?

Only then is anybody a serious consistent contender. Sure, a disciplined team with less than this can occasionally make a run: Turkey, Japan, Bulgaria, Morocco...but having elite players means you can make such runs often and with conviction.

We're all football fans. We know with enough eye tests if we have the footballers. If they're contenders or less than that or minnows.
Yea but we have been in the doldrums for way too long. The NFF is the biggest obstacle against the progression of Nigerian football. The corruption and neglect has caught up with us. At this point i want the Nigerian feds to get involved and clean house.

That might be what it takes. Many countries have done it. Germany pretty much cleaned house after 1998, overhauling significantly.

BTW: I noted this: https://us.soccerway.com/players/player ... d/nigeria/

This seems like a decent pool with some decent club representation. I read in the main forum the debates about foreign vs domestic league players. Surely there has to be a balanced optimal mix?

wiseone wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 2:39 am Luka won the Champions League 13 days ago. I am amazed that he aged over 50 years in those 13 days.

Kovacic won the Premier League last month and Brozovic played in the Champions League final last sesson.
Lol, Luka did what?
He won what? He contributed as much to the victory as the ball boy my man. Football isn’t golf or Boxing. Being a member of a team that wins something is much more different than “winning” something dude. I see you’ve let the media craft a narrative for you …

And Kova? :mrgreen:
He contributed as much to City’s title run as El Neny did to Arsenal’s second place finish. Cmon man.
Anyway it’s an opinions game and it will all play out on the field

mate wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 2:55 am
That was the EXACTLY midfield that took 3rd last WC and got us to the NL finals last year. And all 3 played in the 2018 WC final, with Kovacic coming off the bench. The same midfield the out possessed Brazil, which is rare, to beat them last WC.

We will of course see. You never know if Father Time already has struck for Modric or if he has a last tournament reservoir of magic.
Mate.
Italy won the last Euros and didn’t even make it out of qualifying for the next World Cup. Again past performance isn’t an indicator of future or present success. Croatia has talent and heart, however, and in my opinion, some of your key contributors are past their sell by date. But this is all commentary … it will all play out on the field and I’m rooting for them

Sleaky72 wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 9:38 am
wiseone wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 2:39 am Luka won the Champions League 13 days ago. I am amazed that he aged over 50 years in those 13 days.

Lol, Luka did what?
He won what? He contributed as much to the victory as the ball boy my man. Football isn’t golf or Boxing. Being a member of a team that wins something is much more different than “winning” something dude. I see you’ve let the media craft a narrative for you …

He contributed as much to City’s title run as El Neny did to Arsenal’s second place finish. Cmon man.
We clearly watch different games. I watch EVERY RM and MC game. Kova played a lot and contributed a lot. This was his 1st season and he is settling in to be a consistent starter. Modric came in many games and made an impact, in the CL as well...and can start and play for 65 minutes or so at the highest level, better than almost any current midfielder.

Football is also about quality. Both these guys are on the best clubs in the world and are great midfielders. Your analogies aren't valid in this context. Use the eye test, actually watching an entire game to see who is doing what and when.

But like you said, we will see if this unimpressive midfield does something. I know that last friendly vs a highly touted Portugal suggested some potential.

:)

Again, if Croatia fails, it will be because of our mentality and bad luck. Possible. But we have the talent to go deep, even win.

Sleaky72 wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 1:30 am
ohsee wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 12:36 am Germany is looking like a serious contender. Yes, it is Scotland, but this is a great display.
I wasn’t that impressed with Germany … the so called Bravehearts left their tickers in the highlands … Total capitulation.
You may be right. We will see when they face the Swiss, though even that may not be the best indicator of how good they are. Let's just wait and see.

mate wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 2:19 pm

Lol, Luka did what?

We clearly watch different games. I watch EVERY RM and MC game. Kova played a lot and contributed a lot. This was his 1st season and he is settling in to be a consistent starter. Modric came in many games and made an impact, in the CL as well...and can start and play for 65 minutes or so at the highest level, better than almost any current midfielder.

Football is also about quality. Both these guys are on the best clubs in the world and are great midfielders. Your analogies aren't valid in this context. Use the eye test, actually watching an entire game to see who is doing what and when.

But like you said, we will see if this unimpressive midfield does something. I know that last friendly vs a highly touted Portugal suggested some potential.

Again, if Croatia fails, it will be because of our mentality and bad luck. Possible. But we have the talent to go deep, even win.
mate my guy, how bodi? Hope all is well with you and family. We are about to find out aren't we? In 5 minutes to be exact. This is my game of the day. Damn! And I neva chop breakfast. Let me grab an apple or something and go siddon for my favourite chia in front of the big screen TV. :thumbs:

ohsee wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 12:24 am
Ma fren, get an IPTV subscription and watch it on Canadian TV, UK, Australian, and anybody you want who speaks English and watches footie. Throw away your regular TV channels and go IPTV. It's cheaper, and gives you waaaaaaaaaaaaay more international options than regular TV in one country. :thumb:
Chief,

I will look into it. Good idea.

Plenty of goals so far in this tournament.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

ohsee wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 4:33 pm

Lol, Luka did what?

mate my guy, how bodi? Hope all is well with you and family. We are about to find out aren't we? In 5 minutes to be exact. This is my game of the day. Damn! And I neva chop breakfast. Let me grab an apple or something and go siddon for my favourite chia in front of the big screen TV. :thumbs:
Chai, mate, wetin dey happun? I am confuse. Should I leave this game as done and dusted, and go and chop my breakfast? No, it is Croatia, and I know they are capable of making a comeback. They missed a couple of very good scoring chances. Let me find something to eat fast, and return to my favourite position in front of the TV.

joplass wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 5:14 pm
ohsee wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 12:24 am
Ma fren, get an IPTV subscription and watch it on Canadian TV, UK, Australian, and anybody you want who speaks English and watches footie. Throw away your regular TV channels and go IPTV. It's cheaper, and gives you waaaaaaaaaaaaay more international options than regular TV in one country. :thumb:
Chief,

I will look into it. Good idea.
My guy, please research before putting your money down. Make sure you get a good and reliable provider with lots of options. :thumb:

:mrgreen:
Ahem Mate and Wiseone,
I’m busy at a bourbon event … can anyone update the score for me lol. Don’t say you weren’t told :rotf:

ohsee wrote: Sat Jun 15, 2024 4:33 pm

Lol, Luka did what?

We $#% the bed.

😀

I posted on the fans thread.

We have to rebuild in tournament now.

🤷

🏳️