Euro 2024
- airwolex
Re: Euro 2024
Kpom!!Sleaky72 wrote: ↑Tue Jul 16, 2024 3:05 pm Luis De La Fuente,
“Don’t need a collection of superstars. I come from a grassroots background, Our commitment, to the people we trust in the youth system, is not a pose, it is a conviction”
And you wonder how a man with a team full of SOCIEDAD players could play such beautiful football and overcome ….
Croatia
Italy
Hosts Germany
France
England
To win a title.
That’s the difference of COACHING!!!
Apart from that; they have good players! Maybe not highly rated but very good.
Shaw is not that better than Cucurellla, Rice not better than Ruiz, Walker not much better than Carvajal, Stones and Laporte were team-mates, Mainoo not better than Rodri and it goes on and on.
Whenever these Spanish teams, the likes of Sociedad, Bilbao meet the English teams in the Europa, they more ofetn than not win, and Real owns the top tier ones in the Champions League.
Too much is made of the likes of Kane, Foden and Bellingham as far as I'm concerned.
Sleaky72 wrote: ↑Tue Jul 16, 2024 3:05 pm Luis De La Fuente,
“Don’t need a collection of superstars. I come from a grassroots background, Our commitment, to the people we trust in the youth system, is not a pose, it is a conviction”
And you wonder how a man with a team full of SOCIEDAD players could play such beautiful football and overcome ….
Croatia
Italy
Hosts Germany
France
England
To win a title.
That’s the difference of COACHING!!!
Fuente definitely did a great job. I also marvel it's for once not primarily RM and Barca, but spread. Still, these are great Spanish players. It took me this tournament to realize that...keeping in mind they won the 2023 NL as well.
Now everything is in place for a juggernaut of a team. As we discussed before, maybe they rival and surpass that 2010 team? You got a great coach knowing how to play his great players, backed by a great league and program management.
Spain is a blend of older, middle aged, and young emerging players. Wow. I bow.
Luis DLF did an excellent job. Espana
did not have the best players in the tournament (France did), but it had the best team.
Not one single player in this current Spanish team would have been able to get into that great 2010 team (not even Rodri and Yamal). Yet this current Spanish team is so "plug and play" in its system that it can still beat teams who have better individual players.
mate wrote: ↑Wed Jul 17, 2024 2:19 am
Now everything is in place for a juggernaut of a team. As we discussed before, maybe they rival and surpass that 2010 team? You got a great coach knowing how to play his great players, backed by a great league and program management.
- Site Admin
who wonders? one sociedad player was first choice but umm sociedad played in the champions league last season and made the last sixteen.
Chief, the UEFA technical committee thinks different, and named six Spain players to the team of the tournament. Only "the Mbappe of center backs", William Saliba, and Mike Magnan of France made it into the team. If the gods protect young William from career destroying injury, and the distractions of fame, he is going to be immense. What am I saying, he already is. And Deschump didn't want to play him. Real, are you watching? Come for him after Arsenal wins the Premier League.wiseone wrote: ↑Wed Jul 17, 2024 2:54 am Luis DLF did an excellent job. Espanadid not have the best players in the tournament (France did), but it had the best team.
mate wrote: ↑Wed Jul 17, 2024 2:19 am

I kinda agree with all the committee's picks except for Cucurella. But then, I have no LB to replace him.
https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/29267423 ... le-walker/
The TOTT consists of the 11 players who were in the best form during the tournament. That is why broken nosed Mbappe (one of only two human beings to score a hat-trick in a World Cup final) did not make the team. Otherwise in what planet would he not be deemed among Europe's 11 best players?
Even with limiting the team to form, that UEFA TOTT is dodgy. No idea how Kante (whose performances were scarily good) did not make the TOTT, or how Maignan was adjudged to be the best GK in the tournament ahead of the Georgia
GK Mamardashvili and Oblak of Slovenia
. Dani Olmo (who was sitting on the bench until the QF stage) being in the team is a bit strange too.
Even with limiting the team to form, that UEFA TOTT is dodgy. No idea how Kante (whose performances were scarily good) did not make the TOTT, or how Maignan was adjudged to be the best GK in the tournament ahead of the Georgia
ohsee wrote: ↑Thu Jul 18, 2024 2:44 am
Chief, the UEFA technical committee thinks different, and named six Spain players to the team of the tournament. Only "the Mbappe of center backs", William Saliba, and Mike Magnan of France made it into the team. If the gods protect young William from career destroying injury, and the distractions of fame, he is going to be immense. What am I saying, he already is. And Deschump didn't want to play him. Real, are you watching? Come for him after Arsenal wins the Premier League.![]()
I kinda agree with all the committee's picks except for Cucurella. But then, I have no LB to replace him.
Last edited by wiseone on Thu Jul 18, 2024 10:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.
^Kante didn’t make the team due to the body of evidence favouring the inclusion of the selected.
@Mazi, Marc Acucu-Danger was brilliant, start to finish.
TOTT lists are always heavily biased towards the winning team (hence 6 of the 11 selected players being Spaniards). As good as Fabian Ruiz was, he did not play better than Kante (whose performances made me question whether he is a laboratory manufactured athlete rather than a human). Mikautadze and Kvaratskhelia of Georgia
also deserved a shout in that TOTT. Ditto Pepe of Portugal
Last edited by wiseone on Thu Jul 18, 2024 10:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Good points.wiseone wrote: ↑Thu Jul 18, 2024 3:10 am The TOTT consists of the 11 players who were in the best form during the tournament. That is why broken nose Mbappe (one of only two human beings to score a hat-trick in a World Cup final) did not make the team. Otherwise in what planet would he not be deemed among Europe's 11 best players?
Even with limiting the team to form, that UEFA TOTT is dodgy. No idea how Kante (whose performances were scarily good) did not make the TOTT, or how Maignan was adjudged to be the best GK in the tournament ahead of the GeorgiaGK Mamardashvili and Oblak of Slovenia
. Dani Olmo (who was sitting on the bench until the QF stage) being in the team is a bit strange too.
ohsee wrote: ↑Thu Jul 18, 2024 2:44 am
Chief, the UEFA technical committee thinks different, and named six Spain players to the team of the tournament. Only "the Mbappe of center backs", William Saliba, and Mike Magnan of France made it into the team. If the gods protect young William from career destroying injury, and the distractions of fame, he is going to be immense. What am I saying, he already is. And Deschump didn't want to play him. Real, are you watching? Come for him after Arsenal wins the Premier League.![]()
wiseone wrote: ↑Thu Jul 18, 2024 4:14 pm TOTT lists are always heavily biased towards the winning team (hence 6 of the 11 selected players being Spaniards). As good as Fabian Ruiz was, he did not play better than Kante (whose performances made me question whether he is a laboratory manufactured athlete rather than a footballer). Mikautadze and Kvaratskhelia of Georgiaalso deserved a shout in that TOTT. Ditto Pepe of Portugal

What a fraud Roberto Martinez is
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
How do you keep Vitinha on the bench in order to play Neves from the Saudi pro league?
Muy Bueno
Roberto Martinez.
Great subs
1-1
Roberto Martinez.
Great subs
1-1
2-1 Ronaldo
Sergio Conceciao has been such an inspired substitution by Martinez. Germany has it all to do now … Wirtz for 120 mill plus? Have at it Liverpool …
Should’ve been 3-1.
Ter Stegen was paralyzed on his line
Had no idea that UEFA has restarted last year's Euros tournament...

- The YeyeMan
At first I thought it might be rest from the CL final but Martinez started with Mendes...
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed Jun 04, 2025 11:17 pmAt first I thought it might be rest from the CL final but Martinez started with Mendes...
In a hybrid right back role
- danfo driver
Sometimes I look at Martinez and I want to slap him so hard with every power I have in my body. But you know what? he has a fantastic agent. This man relegated Wigan, wasnt top notch at Everton, was poor at Belgium and he still got the Portugal job.
Enrique gave you the blue print right there, just use it! But no, he wants to do it his own way. I saw Joao Neves at right back and I felt so bad for the kid. Kaii!!!
When Semedo (a RB who did not play a single minute of CL football this season) was available and sitting on the bench. Baffling.
txj wrote: ↑Thu Jun 05, 2025 1:09 amIn a hybrid right back roleThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed Jun 04, 2025 11:17 pmAt first I thought it might be rest from the CL final but Martinez started with Mendes...