The Arsenal FC - Related News and Development for 2019/2020

Re: The Arsenal FC - Related News and Development for 2019/2

Nkume wrote:Game over!

Mumustafi gave SUarez a MILE of freedom there. Absolute Shite!
I know you have given up on the player, I understand. But he is no so bad.

There is a player in there, he has shown it for us many times. Right now, his confidence is completely and totally shot. He is now hiding in the hope of avoiding mistakes. A real shame.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Like I told you guys when you bought him, there isnt!

bk-one wrote:

There is a player in there, he has shown it for us many times. Right now, his confidence is completely and totally shot. He is now hiding in the hope of avoiding mistakes. A real shame.

True.....Mustafi at his best(not saying he was ever the greatest defender) would never run out of a contest.......His confidence is gone and seeing him yesterday actually running away from a contest was quite a sad sight. The best thing would have been(besides selling him) just to take him out of the firing line for a couple of weeks/months. It worked for Koscielny(newly arrived) when he was so error prone to a point whereby he actually cost arsenal the carling cup against birmingham

It also worked for John Stones last season.

Central Defence is not a position where you can play somebody back onto form......it can work with other positions but not central defence.
I completely agree.

Nkume wrote:

LIKE I SAID EARLIER, ACCORDING TO STAT-DNA MUSTAFI IS THE BEST DEFENDER IN THE WORLD.
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

Waffiman wrote:So the rumours of us scouting Dayot Upamecano now seem to be true. Bild amongst others, are reporting, RB Leipzig has rejected a €60m bid for the player.

RBL will not sell at that price. But it is a good start point if they want the player. He is already a top quality player.
That would a game changing addition on so many levels.

Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'
azuka

Post by azuka »

azuka wrote:
Waffiman wrote:Something has changed.

Ozil in the 10 role in a positive 4-2-3-1 very Arsenal. He appears all over the pitch running the game.

Give him this role and he is the same player he's always been - one of the best playmaker in the game.
True but I will prefer him given that role in a 4-2-1-3 role with Auba, Lack and Pepe in front of him. Do that and add a standing DM player to the team and I will say we will give Man City a run for their money.
People complain about our defence but they forgot we lacking a key ingredient in the defensive structure. A pure DM, who knows his main role in the team is to seat back and shield the defence. That my friends is the missing ingredient. If anyone doubt go back and watch Rodrigo do it earlier for Man City against Liverpool.
I will go for that today over a CD now we seems to have blossoming CD pairings in Chambers and Socrates; and a possible Musti and Holdings combination
Come to think of it, what in God's name are we waiting for that we didn't go for Lamela. Yes Lamela of Southampton. Another option is to play Chambers there. This experiment of Xhaka as a DM should stop.
Xhaka is no DM. He is a deep lying playmaker. With him in the team, the structure is also different. Reminds me of Jorginho and Kante set up at Chelsea last season. I thought Lamela (formally of Juve) is more of a box to box CM.

I do agree on the need for a proper DM and how we can structurally change the team, given potential CD partnerships blossoming. Sokratis is a difficult CD to play with, but I noted with keen interest the ease Chambers slotted in alongside him. That looks a very promising partnership. But it needs the right structure in front of them. Just like Adam's, Keown and/or Bould needed Petit and Vieira.

Pepe's potential impact can change how we set up, especially structurally.

Pepe, he is such a good move cos he will improve the team both offensively and defensively. We do not have a natural RW at the club, cos Walcott was never replaced. Mikh played that role and was disappointing last season. Also he lacks the pace of Pepe.

At times Bellerin was doing the job of RB and RW last season. After his injury, the entire right side of the team hardly contributed to our play. It was a real problem trying to stretch the opposition cos everything came from the left. Defending against us was easy and teams had no fear for our attack, cos it was predictable.

I see Pepe having more freedom with us to move across the front line, putting him positions he will hurt the opposition. Emery had Mikh taking up a position between the CH and RB. Pepe will be far more effective, he will be like a striker/winger like Walcott was in a 4-2-3-1, only he has more to his game in terms of one on one situations, giving him the flexibility to play the Salah role in a 4-3-3 or straight up wide man in a 4-4-2 or even 4-2-3-1.

Another effect is, providing we get goals and assists from him and/or the other wing position, it means, we do not need a Ramsey-type or Xhaka deep lying playmaking type in the team. This gives us the option to field a more "conservative" midfield, like we did with Santi and Coquelin. Theoretically, this should help with our structure off the ball.

A lot is really dependent on the success of Pepe and our wide positions this season. I also like the look of Martinelli, fast, direct and very skilful. He is unlike Pepe who is a 6 footer but like Pepe has the tendency to be selfish but we need both player's directness. Both players will built up upper body strength but they also need time.
True Xhaka is no DM, but tell that to Emery.
Tactics and patterns work when there are core ingredients to make it work. Ask yourself how many time have Many City be caught with "the ball over CD" play? I bet you will find it have to name one. Trust me i doubt if man to man Man City CDs are better than what we have got. It's all about the ingredient. The key ingredient why Man City doesn't get got that easily is because they have a player in Ferandinho who easily shut off opposing play before the chance to do that occurs. And now watching Rodrigo against Liverpool where did they get such players from and we can't.
It's all well and good that we have Pepe. With Pepe in the team we are sure of more goals and can't stop us shipping in stupid goals. And that was our downfall last season. If we had conceded 5 less goals we likely at worst would have made the 4th position. It was that bad.
Even if we have Van D of Liverpool today in our team with the way the team plays we will still be conceding such goals. You know why our players are all gang-ho or how do they say it. I am no coach but the basics of defending says when a team is attacking from the right wing say the RFB goes to help the attack while the correspnding LFB stays put to help shore off the defence. But in our case what do we have: No matter where the attack is launched from our FBs are deep in the opponents half alongside our twin DM/CM leaving the CDs helplessly exposed. With such defensive structure why are we surprised we concede secondary school goals.
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

Holding back playing U23 ball - gotta ask about Mavropanos - whatta gwaan?? Jenkinson looking busy when compared.
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Like I told you guys when you bought him, there isnt!
Sad you were right about him.

bk-one wrote:

True.....Mustafi at his best(not saying he was ever the greatest defender) would never run out of a contest.......His confidence is gone and seeing him yesterday actually running away from a contest was quite a sad sight. The best thing would have been(besides selling him) just to take him out of the firing line for a couple of weeks/months. It worked for Koscielny(newly arrived) when he was so error prone to a point whereby he actually cost arsenal the carling cup against birmingham

Central Defence is not a position where you can play somebody back onto form......it can work with other positions but not central defence.
I completely agree.
the guy's greatest skill is raising his hands to get referees' attention for offsides

Tunisian Gooner wrote:
Waffiman wrote:So the rumours of us scouting Dayot Upamecano now seem to be true. Bild amongst others, are reporting, RB Leipzig has rejected a €60m bid for the player.

RBL will not sell at that price. But it is a good start point if they want the player. He is already a top quality player.
That would a game changing addition on so many levels.

Absolutely. But RBL will not let him go for anything less than €70m. I am hopeful.

If these stories are true, then what we have is our true CD target and the club will not release this story now. The player's Agent will not release the story. My educated guess is, RBL released the story in an attempt to try and make it an auction.

Another thing is, Arsenal will not make such a massive bid and walk away. This looks further down the line than what many may think. He has two years left of his contract with a massive release clause. But he is not signing a new deal, so the release clause is negotiable. If this window closes without a sale, come next window, he will have 18 months and be valued at considerably less than what they will get this window. This is why I say I am hopeful.

BTW! Who do you prefer? Ibrahima Konate or him. Both guys are incredible CDs. I must admit I have a slight preference for Konate cos I think he is faster, but I really do not mind.

I understand why we are going for Upamecano as he plays primarily in the LCB position allowing Saliba to play RCB next season. Upamecano reminds me of Sol Campbell.

bk-one wrote:

I completely agree.
the guy's greatest skill is raising his hands to get referees' attention for offsides

Time is too short. The best we can hope for now are free transfers, loan moves and deals weeks already in the works.

So maybe Thierney, Cahill and loan move for Rugiani.

ohenhen1 wrote:Time is too short. The best we can hope for now are free transfers, loan moves and deals weeks already in the works.

Your hatred for Arsenal is apparent. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

ohenhen1 wrote:Time is too short. The best we can hope for now are free transfers, loan moves and deals weeks already in the works.

Your hatred for Arsenal is apparent. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I want Koulibally or Kimpembe. But time is too short. At this stage if we try to buy anyone, it will be at a premium. I am a realist. Arsenal is mostly looking for loan moves outside Thierney.

Rugani is not ready for a club like Arsenal. it should tell you all you need to know that Juve went out to buy 3 CBs this summer, with 2 of them staying and playing ahead of Rugani-- even though they already have Chiellini and Bonnucci in the squad. He is a talent, but I wont waste my time getting him for 1 year because he will not be ready to play for a club like Arsenal for at least 3 years.

As for Cahill, :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: sighh.

Also major clearout about to happen.

Jenkinson in talks with Nottingham forest over a perm move
Koscielny in talks with Renne and Bordeaux
Mustaffi linked with Monaco
Elneny linked with West ham
Mikhitaryan linked with a move away from the club
Bielik already sold for 10 MP

jdizzy

Post by jdizzy »

ohenhen1 wrote:Also major clearout about to happen.

Jenkinson in talks with Nottingham forest over a perm move
Koscielny in talks with Renne and Bordeaux
Mustaffi linked with Monaco
Elneny linked with West ham
Mkhitaryan linked with a move away from the club
Bielik already sold for 10 MP
Where did you hear this?
Niente Ÿ impossibile!

by the way, ohenhen, CAHILL has signed for crystal palace --,his level.
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

B+ summer for us so far. It can become an A if we can shore up our defense and get rid of some dead wood before Thursday. If Arsenal are willing to spend this much now, imagine how much more purchasing power we'll have once Ozil, Mkhitarayan, and other underperformers come off the books.
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'

Tunisian Gooner wrote:

Thank you Kos.

Jenko you try small, but you no reach the level.

Mumu please go.

El Neny, you try too, but you no reach the level.
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu

Tunisian Gooner wrote:

MAGAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ope ooooo

"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact" :rotf: :rotf: - Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

Tunisian Gooner wrote:

Ope ooooo

why are you people celebrating? Did you sell Mustafi?

Tunisian Gooner wrote:

Ope ooooo

why are you people celebrating? Did you sell Mustafi?
Arsenal made some money na. E nor easy.

Not sure the manager minds if Mustafi stays another season.
"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact" :rotf: :rotf: - Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.