The Arsenal FC-Related News & Developments for 2016/2017

Re: The Arsenal FC-Related News & Developments for 2016/2017

New year, hoping for a different outcome to the season as Wengers last season (hopefully) comes to an end. Let's send him off on a high (kush) note.
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

Palace don't do clean sheets. competent performance on D particularly set pieces by the Gunners and the Arsenal bank another 3 points.
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'

100%Naija wrote:New year, hoping for a different outcome to the season as Wengers last season (hopefully) comes to an end. Let's send him off on a high (kush) note.
Wenger is going nowhere! Those not satisfied should go and support another club.

WE true gunners who go to games at highbury and now at Emirates know that without Wenger there is no Arsenal. He has done miracles with the club. If not for money and referee's cheating, he would have won the TREBLE many times over! If not for the loudmouth Mourinho calling him specialist in failure no one will question Arsenal and his achievements.

Qualifying for the CL is already a HIGH! Something he has done every year. Respect the best coach and economists in the EPL. If not for Wenger, we will be like LEEDS :taunt:
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

Tunisian Gooner wrote:Palace don't do clean sheets. competent performance on D particularly set pieces by the Gunners and the Arsenal bank another 3 points.
Palace's defensive prep wasn't for this line-up - we gotta take adv
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.
bepanda

Post by bepanda »

Ozil is out "sick". Ramsey is now officially on his way out (Bench warmer). Walcott out. Gibbs ... whenever he starts, he gets injured. The Ox????

100%Naija wrote:New year, hoping for a different outcome to the season as Wengers last season (hopefully) comes to an end. Let's send him off on a high (kush) note.
Wenger is going nowhere! Those not satisfied should go and support another club.

WE true gunners who go to games at highbury and now at Emirates know that without Wenger there is no Arsenal. He has done miracles with the club. If not for money and referee's cheating, he would have won the TREBLE many times over! If not for the loudmouth Mourinho calling him specialist in failure no one will question Arsenal and his achievements.

Qualifying for the CL is already a HIGH! Something he has done every year. Respect the best coach and economists in the EPL. If not for Wenger, we will be like LEEDS :taunt:
You forgot to add some stats.

^and red typing.
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

Good game against Palace & i hope the gaffer stays spreading the load - there're a few tired teams out there, even worse many managers are very reluctant to really use their squad - the more you spread the load, the sharper & fresher your team is.
Giroud is a very fresh player - he outran CP defenders on the counterattack that led to the 1st goal - that's historic - he's a slow dude.
Against Bournemouth, i hope the gaffer stays bold & keeps spreading the load. As a fanbase, we've bcome fixated on Alexis & Ozil - we've a way of playing - pass & move - as we saw today, when the rules are followed big 'thangs' happen.
I will start Giroud on Wed & rest Alexis - yes, he's a stallion but rest dude when we can. We must help him help himself.(stay on the bench, we mightn't need him)
Elneny is off to Africa, can Lucas play 2 matches in 72hrs.
Fresh ones - Ox. Coq, Ramsey - is TW back for Weds
AW must get a real RB to help Hector - can't push central defenders out there.
Does Mustafi come in for Gabriel. We'll see.
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.

tolahs wrote:Good game against Palace & i hope the gaffer stays spreading the load - there're a few tired teams out there, even worse many managers are very reluctant to really use their squad - the more you spread the load, the sharper & fresher your team is.
Giroud is a very fresh player - he outran CP defenders on the counterattack that led to the 1st goal - that's historic - he's a slow dude.
Against Bournemouth, i hope the gaffer stays bold & keeps spreading the load. As a fanbase, we've bcome fixated on Alexis & Ozil - we've a way of playing - pass & move - as we saw today, when the rules are followed big 'thangs' happen.
I will start Giroud on Wed & rest Alexis - yes, he's a stallion but rest dude when we can. We must help him help himself.(stay on the bench, we mightn't need him)
we are playing less than 48 hours not wednessday.

Waffiman wrote:I see people who do not know what they are talking about moaning about a Liverpool win. I wish they go support Liverpool and leave us alone.

Boy! I despise negative people e.g. moaners. It is why I get rid of them from my life.
Dude stfu with your patronizing boolshit. For years you moaned about Fergie, ManU, Mourinho, Chelsea, Barcelona, referees, injuries, and whatnot. Yet you have the audacity to call people rightfully criticizing Wenger moaners.

Just shut it abeg and go suck almighty MrHeWhoShallNeverBeCriticized's cock. He's not God. :roll:

Now you're blaming champions league for Wenger's expected failure to win the EPL. Your holy grail for Wenger's so called success all these years which you repeatedly threw in our collective faces has been him qualifying for the champions league and now you're using that same champions league as your excuse for his failures yet again. You can't have it both ways. Chelsea and Liverpool knew they were not competition in the champions league so they built their team accordingly based on the competitions they are competing in. Wenger knew Arsenal is playing in an additional competition so it was his job to build his team accordingly...this means a deeper and bigger squad than Chelsea and Liverpool after all Arsenal would be making additional revenue than both those teams by virtue of playing in the champions league. That's more money to invest in a deeper squad to compete in an additional competition. But "oh gosh waah waah I didn't know Chelsea and Liverpool wouldn't be playing champions league, is not fair". Hello, it's called PLANNING. So sorry but your excuse is bunkum. Feed it to your fellow blind Wenger worshipers.

Besides was Chelsea not in the champions league when they easily won the league two seasons ago? Who won the EPL when ManU and Chelsea met in the Champs league final many years ago? Did United not win the treble many years ago?

In fact probably the only season a team that wasn't in the champions league won the EPL was last season. And yet here you are already making excuses again because you can't bring yourself to accept Wenger is a failure. Abeg carry go and stop funking up this thread. This is a new year. Enough with the nonsense.

Good day.
:clap: :clap: :clap: Nothing else to add,thanks for been a honest gooner in this forum that call it straight.I remember your big debate with okokobioko when you were defending Wenger all that years and drinking koolaid.

Sam Peters - Klitschko picture anybody?
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

amafolas wrote:I'm tired of making this argument with words. Giroud starting is bad for our offense.

Arsenal EPL 2015/2015 goals per game
Giroud starts: 1.42 (26 games)
Giroud no start: 2.33 (12 games)

If you think that's a fluke, how about this season so far)

Arsenal EPL 2016/2017 goals per game
Giroud starts: 1.0 (1 game)
Giroud no start: 2.23 (17)

Or put in another way..
since 2015/2016, percentage of games Arsenal scored > 1goal
Giroud starting: 45% (27 games)
Giroud not starting: 66% (29 games)

The funny thing is Giroud not starting doesn't even hurt Giroud's scoring chances. He scores quite well as a sub. I watch Arsenal's pattern of play very carefully. Giroud starting, (though carries the risk of a headed goal out of nothing), but overall makes our attack less potent. And its not a coincidence, I have already explained why repeatedly. His presence and attributes (lack of mobility, and needing others to play in close proximity of him) lead to congested playing area and limited counter attack threat.

The solution is simple, every game, give us 70 mins to try to score via the dynamic combo of Alexis/Ozil/Iwobi/Walcott/Lucas/Ox. If we haven't scored by 70 mins, throw Giroud in and start crossing from any and everywhere. There were a couple of games this season where late in the game, i was wishing we had Giroud to throw in.
Hmmmmm..............
Afuta watching and rewatching dat fest goal wit di counter attack nous,
mobility and athleticism Giroud showed........
O ya mi l'enu......

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

Waffiman wrote:I see people who do not know what they are talking about moaning about a Liverpool win. I wish they go support Liverpool and leave us alone.

Boy! I despise negative people e.g. moaners. It is why I get rid of them from my life.
Dude stfu with your patronizing boolshit. For years you moaned about Fergie, ManU, Mourinho, Chelsea, Barcelona, referees, injuries, and whatnot. Yet you have the audacity to call people rightfully criticizing Wenger moaners.

Just shut it abeg and go suck almighty MrHeWhoShallNeverBeCriticized's cock. He's not God. :roll:

Now you're blaming champions league for Wenger's expected failure to win the EPL. Your holy grail for Wenger's so called success all these years which you repeatedly threw in our collective faces has been him qualifying for the champions league and now you're using that same champions league as your excuse for his failures yet again. You can't have it both ways. Chelsea and Liverpool knew they were not competition in the champions league so they built their team accordingly based on the competitions they are competing in. Wenger knew Arsenal is playing in an additional competition so it was his job to build his team accordingly...this means a deeper and bigger squad than Chelsea and Liverpool after all Arsenal would be making additional revenue than both those teams by virtue of playing in the champions league. That's more money to invest in a deeper squad to compete in an additional competition. But "oh gosh waah waah I didn't know Chelsea and Liverpool wouldn't be playing champions league, is not fair". Hello, it's called PLANNING. So sorry but your excuse is bunkum. Feed it to your fellow blind Wenger worshipers.

Besides was Chelsea not in the champions league when they easily won the league two seasons ago? Who won the EPL when ManU and Chelsea met in the Champs league final many years ago? Did United not win the treble many years ago?

In fact probably the only season a team that wasn't in the champions league won the EPL was last season. And yet here you are already making excuses again because you can't bring yourself to accept Wenger is a failure. Abeg carry go and stop funking up this thread. This is a new year. Enough with the nonsense.

Good day.
I did not mention your name, since you have owned up to what you are. My only response to you is; Fark Off.

Read what I wrote, the message is clear. I can't stand moaning, negative people. Take your poison to someone else.

When Arsenal won 7 games in a row, his moaning, miserable rear end was nowhere to be found. Now he wants give Arsenal fans lectures about other teams winning. Charming. :oops: :oops: :oops:
You still don't wanna get it do you? We don't give a shhiit about winning seven games in a row. For all we care lose ten in a row as long as at the end of the season we WIN THE GADDEM FRICKIN LEAGUE TITLE!!!

That's it. That's the ONLY way Wenger ban shut us up.

It's another frickin new year. Enough already.
Misery and moaning loves company. Fark Off and go find your mates. I cannot be wasting my time with your bile and poison. I got far better things to do than to put darkness in my life.

Tunisian Gooner wrote:Palace don't do clean sheets. competent performance on D particularly set pieces by the Gunners and the Arsenal bank another 3 points.
Just get the job done. You will not believe the sqad has been ravaged by flu.

I noticed no one here has mentioned Xhaka, at the Emirates, they do and they love him. He was majestic again today. Once again, he gave a compete display of midfield play, you name it, he did and did it better than anyone. This continues, we could be looking at a really special player.

amafolas wrote:
Waffiman wrote: I know I am on point when I provide some detail to expose your theory and stats as a sham and you claim I am not on point. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

You claim you have nothing against Giroud, I have no doubt about this. But the fact that you have nothing against Giroud and make such a claim that has no basis in fact as borne out by proper analysis of results, team and opposition make your claim very insidious and pernicious.

My points are:

Arsenal lower scoring rate when Giroud is in the team is not down to Giroud only. This is down mainly to the players in the team, then tactics and opposition.

You are wrong to say or imply Giroud is solely responsible because our style of play changes and we play slower. Arsenal play fast attacking high tempo football scoring goals with Giroud in the team, so long as he has the creative, fast, penetrative players with him in the team. The stats show, Arsenal's style of play and goals scored drop when these players are not with Giroud in the team.

Yes! Arsenal have adapted their game to a slower possession based more patient build up game of recent, but this is mainly at home games against teams that come to defend deep and catch you on the counter attack and a set piece. The question should be why? The answers lies in the amount of counter attacking and set piece goals we conceded due to teams studying our game and exposing our weaknesses

Away from home when we play Giroud in the team, our style of play is different. This is one reason why we had the best Away record in the league last season. Once again, this has nothing to do with Giroud. But these teams are now adapting their tactics at Home to a similar system when they are playing away from Home to avoid losing. Not Giroud's fault.

I asked if the team were the same in the 26 and 12 games with Giroud as sub and starter? There is a clear reason wny? But I stop for now.

Let me debunk your theory and stats even further. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Here is your stat:
If you think that's a fluke, how about this season so far)

Arsenal EPL 2016/2017 goals per game
Giroud starts: 1.0 (1 game)
Giroud no start: 2.23 (17)
1st you have used games when Giroud played as a Sub, as evidenced with your Giroud stats for this season. Now you claim you only meant when games he starts. If this is the case Why have used used stats with Girouds as sub to back up your claim?

Make up your mind. Stop this because the stats for this year has no bearing towards your thesis. In a season where Arsenal has played 1,620 minutes of EPL football, Girouds with only 260 minutes is now being used as part of the team's scoring stat for the team. That is just plain ridiculous let us try to compare apples with apples if we want some true sense of what is really happening. Let us not embellish or exaggerate for it serves no one any good.

Now let's forget about the stats for this season because it is really is at best argumentative, the reality is, it is irrelevant and pointless to your thesis. Of course I can only use the 2015/16 numbers as you claim this phenomenon is since 2015/16. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Here is your stat:
Arsenal EPL 2015/2015 goals per game
Giroud starts: 1.42 (26 games)
Giroud no start: 2.33 (12 games)
In 2015/16 Giroud made 38 league appearances, with 26 as starts and 12 as sub. He scored 16 goals. Giroud played a part in every game last season and he get rewarded by your thesis. Chai! Giroud don suffer. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Here is a full listing of the games. I have put a capital 'S' next to the games he came on as a sub.

Arsenal 0 - 2 West Ham
C Palace 1 - 2 Arsenal
Arsenal 0 - 0 Liverpool
Newcastle 0 - 1 Arsenal S
Arsenal 2 - 0 Stoke S
Chelsea 2 - 0 Arsenal S
Leicester 2 - 5 Arsenal S
Arsenal 3 - 0 Man Utd S
Watford 0 - 3 Arsenal
Arsenal 2 - 1 Everton
Swansea 0 - 3 Arsenal
Arsenal 1 - 1 Tottenham
West Brom 2 - 1 Arsenal
Norwich 1 - 1 Arsenal
Arsenal 3 - 1 Sunderland
Aston Villa 0 - 2 Arsenal
Arsenal 2 - 1 Man City
Southampton 4 - 0 Arsenal
Arsenal 2 - 0 Bournemouth
Arsenal 1 - 0 Newcastle
Liverpool 3 - 3 Arsenal
Stoke 0 - 0 Arsenal
Arsenal 0 - 1 Chelsea (Subbed after 22 minuted)
Arsenal 2 - 1 Burnley
Arsenal 0 - 0 Southampton
Bournemouth 0 - 2 Arsenal
Arsenal 2 - 1 Leicester
Man Utd 3 - 2 Arsenal S
Arsenal 1 - 2 Swansea S
Tottenham 2 - 2 Arsenal S
Everton 0 - 2 Arsenal S
Arsenal 4 - 0 Watford S
West Ham 3 - 3 Arsenal S
Arsenal 1 - 1 C Palace S
Arsenal 2 - 0 West Brom
Sunderland 0 - 0 Arsenal
Arsenal 1 - 0 Norwich
Man City 2 - 2 Arsenal
Arsenal 4 - 0 Aston Villa

From the above Arsenal scored 45 goals in the 26 games Giroud started. Arsenal also scored 2 or mored goals in 10 of those games.

Note the first pattern in most of the high scoring games and wins. They seem to all comes in clusters.

Note. Arsenal still score highly when Giroud starts in some of these games.

Well, if you study the teams for these games (with or without Giroud) you will notice the presence of creativity and penetration. You will notice the teams have 3 or 4 of; Santi, Sanchez, Ozil, Theo/Oxlade/Campbell, Iwobi, Welbeck Ramsey and Bellerin.

Here is a fact, When Giroud plays in any team that has Santi, Ozil, Sanchez and Walcott, we score 2 or more goals even against some of the toughest defences. When Theo drops out Ramsey comes in Right of a 4-3-3, we also score plenty of goals and win the vast majority of their games.

It is when Arsenal lose 3 or 4 of these players that the team suffers, with or without Giroud in the team. Just have a look at what happened when we lost Santi, Ramsey, then Sanchez last season. In most of those games, Giroud played, we did not score many goals. Indeed, we played to slow patient possession game and ground out results.

When Sanchez returned in Feb, with Welbeck and Iwobi adding to creativity, and the security of Coquelin, Arsenal started scoring again. Giroud was dropped for Welbeck and Theo initially but he returned to the team and we continued scoring, albeit not as consistently.

I repeat, just go and have a look at the teams to go with the results and there is a clear pattern, this is no coincidence.

It is pure lazy analysis to blame Giroud for the scoring rate dropping when you have lost players Sanchez, Santi, Welbeck, Theo, Oxlade, Ramsey etc for the majority of the games in which Giroud played. Indeed, your stat holds no credibility or any ounce of respect when one drills down more into the detail. Your stats and thesis is pure and complete BS.

Let us stop this BS of looking at one player and start looking to blame his for what is truly a team failure and nothing to do with the player. If you want, I can continue and show you games from those results which debunks your theory even more.

I ask you one more question. Why is Giroud still a central part of this Arsenal squad and close to signing a new contract if he was solely responsible for Arsenal lower scoring rate. Do you for one second believe the club will offer him a much improved contract if he such a problem.

Oh! I forgot his defensive stat. Go speak to any Coach in the league, they will tell you Giroud is the best defender of the near post in the EPL. You watch him at corner kicks especially, he is a giant for the team. Go analyse how many goals we concede from his zone when defending the set piece.

This is what I don't like about you Waffi. When I am being diplomatic about calling out the invalidity of some of your arguments or don't want to outright call you out on falsehoods, you tend to take my diplomacy for timidity or weakness in my argument. So you get emboldened and start using a gloating tone and rude ords. Unlike some people here, I really don't like insulting people I'm arguing with or using condescending tone. In fact, the more wrong the other side is, the more respectful I try to be with my words. I really hate making people look stupid.

Anyways rather than insulting each other back and forth, I am willing to make a bet (you choose the terms). Forget the past, starting from next game to the end of the season, in the EPL, arsenal will score less on average with Grioud starting than they do when he isn't. If you are so confident in the invalidity of my argument, please put your money where your mouth is.
If they do score less goals, it will not be solely because of Giroud. It will be mainly down to what players are in the team with Giroud, then tactics and opposition.

I see my post has upset you. I do apologise for that was not intended. Just a bit of dark humour that has gone down the wrong way with you. Abeg, nor vex.

If you remove emotion and try to read my posts, I do not disagree on lower scoring with Giroud, but I argue it depends on who is playing with him in the team. With Giroud in the team, they also have a high scoring rate. Once again, it depends on who is in the team with him.

I used the results from last season as a guide and evidence of this. I have since analysed other seasons and this is not in dispute. You need to see Arsenal scoring rate when Santi is in the team with Giroud, Ozil and Sanchez. It is higher than 2 goals per game.

Giroud and Santi have an excellent understanding with Giroud coming to the edge of the penalty box, setting off quick, flicks, one twos, from Santi's deeper passes. This way Giroud drags the CD out of position and space is quickly taken up by one of our attackers.

Arsenal tend to drop in their scoring rate when they lose key personnel, not because of Giroud only.
Well what have you made of our last 2 games?

Giroud in the team, 2 games, with different tactics but the same system. We get 2 clean sheets.

Nothing slow in the 2nd of the West Brom game and today. With Xhaka playing so well in that midfield, we really do move the ball quickly. Ramsey can't get in the team and Xhaka's is now controlling affairs in that midfield. Giroud's is actually more of a decoy occupying defenders while the likes of Sanchez and Iwobi run free to receive passes from midfield.

bouncino wrote:Waffi,
Like seriously, the team needs new lease of life.
Some of those players can do better than they are doing but AW is okay with mediocre performances. He does not task them enough.
Did you read the interview granted by Ramsay where he said Ozil gets 2 sometimes 3 days off training.
I am usually not against Ozil but he has not being it in recent times and keeps playing. How Walcott consistently makes the team beats me. And even on a players off day, he will wait till 65-70 mins to make changes. So predictable.
You know what they say about a man, who bears children in old age? They older siblings born in the man's youth are usually better disciplined while the other one turn spoilt brats.
Such is the case of AW now. He needs to retire
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Interesting. Many say, he works harder and is tougher task master than he use be. Indeed it is argued that he needs someone to take him away and get his mind off things like David Dein used to do. They say he delegates a lot more now but he is till all football.

Wenger resting players has always been his modus Operandi. Henry used to go days not training to keep him as fresh as possible. All clubs do the same with players the fitness people say are in need of rest.

On Theo, He is having a great season.

Long way to go my friend. Wenger will decide what he wants to do come of the season. Sadly this is affecting players not wanting to sign contracts. I fear some key players (Ozil) will leave if he goes. This season is crucial for us, it will decide Wenger's faith at the Emirates. I see the fans turning if there is no challenge for the title.

I am happy with the team so far, there has been improvement all round and we are benefiting from a deeper squad. Let's see how things develop in the next 4 games, this will be key. After these games, Santi returns, or is close to returning.

We need to get back to the sort of form we showed against the top 4, 5, 6 teams in the last two seasons for the remaining games. This could be where silverware is decided this season.

Top-assistants this season (all comps):

Alexis 10
Özil 6
Chamberlain 6
Cazorla 4
Lucas 4
Gibbs 3
Iwobi 3
Bellerín 3
Ramsey 2
Giroud 2

Top-scorers this season (all comps):

Alexis 14
Walcott 11 (9 in the league)
Özil 9
Giroud 7
Chamberlain 6
Lucas 5
Iwobi 3
Xhaka 3
Cazorla 2
Koscielny 2

On Subs, have you noticed how other teams now copy Wenger with subs? Here is the reason, the boffins have done a study and found Arsenal to be the team that got the best results from Subs. Indeed it has been found that subs from the 70th minute had the most impact on results positively. When I read this, I chided myself for not realising that Wenger is one of the most analytical Managers, if he does something regularly like his subs, it is for a reason.

Here are extracts from a write up which has come about from this study. https://positivelyarsenal.com

"…. the total of goals scored by subs during the Wenger era …. 161, from 2,206 substitutions made. That represents 9.9 per cent of all Arsenal goals scored under this manager, and they have come at a rate of one for every 13.7 subs.”

This season, 12 per cent of the team’s total for the season-to-date had come from the bench. Furthermore Wenger was responsible for the best ever season in the club’s history with the use of substitutes in 2005/06, when 20 goals (a sizeable 21 per cent of the season’s total) came from this source.

Arsenal has scored more goals in the last 15 minutes of games than any other team in the Premier League, yes within that 20 minute window when Arsene is infamous for making “late” substitutions.

Look at this Data for all games in December. I know someone who does this study on a monthly basis and all clubs now use this data.

Game by Game Substitutions as of Dec 26, 2016

Game----No of subs-----1st sub---2nd sub--3rd sub---Goals bef 70--Goals aft 70--Result
18---------3------------71-------71------74---------0------------1---------W
17---------3------------65-------75------78---------1------------0---------L
16---------3------------71-------71------88---------1------------0---------L
15---------3------------25-------69------78---------2------------1---------W
14---------3------------66-------87------88---------0------------4---------W
13---------3------------16-------75------76---------2------------1---------W
12---------3------------73-------80------83---------0------------1---------D
11---------3------------65-------70------71---------1------------0---------D
10---------2------------71-------71-------0---------1------------0---------W
9----------3------------32-------69------79---------3------------0---------W
8----------3------------67-------77------88---------2------------2---------W
7----------3------------62-------62------75---------1------------1---------W
6----------3------------69-------77------89---------0------------3---------W
5----------2------------67-------74-------0---------0------------0---------D
4----------3------------68-------82------83---------3------------0---------W
3----------3------------70-------70------74---------3------------0---------W
2----------3------------73-------73------78---------0------------0---------D
1----------3------------59-------61------67---------2------------1---------L
Total------61--------1090----1314----1269-------22----------15
Avg-------91%--------57------73------79--------1.2----------0.8

My first observation is that Wenger is absolutely correct about the importance of the 70th minute mark in not only scoring goals but game-deciding goals at that. Arsenal has lost only one out of 9 games this season when they have scored after the 70th minute. The sole occasion was that mad, frenetic season-opener encounter with Liverpool. In all of the other eight games Arsenal have either gone on to win or draw. In contrast, on at least three occasions this season we have scored the opening goal and not only failed to win but, as should be fresh in our minds from recent events, eventually lost two important fixtures.

The second observation is while goals before the 70 minute mark exceed those after by a ratio of nearly 1.5:1, those 22 goals are being scored at a rate of 1 every 48 minutes while those scored after 70 minutes are happening at a rate 1 every 24 minute. It doesn’t take a mathematical genius to understand that the last 20 minutes of games is the most decisive for goal-scoring and deciding the fate of a match.

Much of the other information generated by the table is secondary to my primary points but some are notable. For example, contrary to the constant carping by the usual suspects, Arsene’s average time for making his first sub is the 61st minute. The 2nd and 3rd subs are generally within the 80 minute window. Additionally, 91% of the time the manager makes all three subs belying the claim by some he makes insufficient use of the resources at hand.

What many of the critics fail to recognize or conveniently ignore is during the barren years, Arsene had a paucity of quality reserves at his disposal to make changes to decisively impact the game. These days the boss can call on Giroud, Ramsey, Chamberlin or Gibbs to make decisive contributions during that critical 20 minute period. But then as humans there is a tendency to recognize change long after it has taken place; the phenomenon of consciousness slowly catching up with changes in nature.

I will conclude by noting that facts and data by themselves rarely cause people to change the opinions they have long held no matter how divorced from reality; false consciousness it is called. In a recent twitter post, the boss himself observed a common allergic reaction to facts:

“We were sh1t today”
Have you seen the stats?
“Stats lie”
No, they are facts
“Facts lie then.”
Ok.

Good day.
:clap: :clap: :clap: Nothing else to add,thanks for been a honest gooner in this forum that call it straight.I remember your big debate with okokobioko when you were defending Wenger all that years and drinking koolaid.
:roll: :roll: :roll:
Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

Good day.
Damn! :rotf: :rotf:
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube

Gudo wrote:

Good day.
yemi has been calling out Waffi the hypocrite since... forever :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

100%Naija wrote:
Gudo wrote:

Good day.
yemi has been calling out Waffi the hypocrite since... forever :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
The house flies are swarming over and on the sh1t of their master. To be expected from ewus. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

tolahs wrote:Good game against Palace & i hope the gaffer stays spreading the load - there're a few tired teams out there, even worse many managers are very reluctant to really use their squad - the more you spread the load, the sharper & fresher your team is.
My bad!!!
More reason why he should freshen up the squad - Palace play Swans on the same day & Allardyce is complaining the other guys got an extra day to rest - AW must be bold. Gibbs injured & Jenkinson(under par) - a lot to expect Monreal & Hector to replicate today's form. Elsewhere - make changes.

tolahs wrote:
My bad!!!
More reason why he should freshen up the squad - Palace play Swans on the same day & Allardyce is complaining the other guys got an extra day to rest - AW must be bold. Gibbs injured & Jenkinson(under par) - a lot to expect Monreal & Hector to replicate today's form. Elsewhere - make changes.
I don't think he has plenty options with a flu hit squad and injuries.

100%Naija wrote:
Gudo wrote:

Good day.
The house flies are swarming over and on the sh1t of their master. To be expected from ewus. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Thatll be a perfect description of what you do for your master, wenger. Happy new year sha.