Is Alex Ferguson the greatest coach in the world?

PABLO
Is Alex Ferguson the greatest coach in the world?

Post by PABLO »

Hughes: Ferguson surprise

Nobody here thought Mark Hughes would become a manager, never in a million years.

Sir Alex Ferguson has claimed that 'never in a million years' did he expect Mark Hughes to make the step up into management.

The Manchester United boss was at the helm of the Old Trafford outfit while the Manchester City manager was on the Red Devils' playing staff in his days as a marauding forward.

The Welshman has gone on to carve out a successful career in the dugout with spells at the helm of his national side, Blackburn Rovers and now City.

Hughes is the envy of many Premier League managers given the vast riches at his disposal as he is charged with the task of turning the Eastlands outfit into a Premier League force.

City are targeting a top-four finish this season and will face their bitter rivals in the two-legged Carling Cup semi-finals early next year.

That will pit veteran boss Ferguson against Hughes once again, with the Scot surprised at which of his charges have made a success of coaching.

Difficult
He told Inside United: "It's difficult to assess that because you don't know what ambitions the players have.

"Currently we've got (Ryan) Giggs, (Paul) Scholes and (Gary) Neville taking their coaching badges. That's great and I encourage them to do that because it gives them a platform if they want to stay in the game.

"It can be difficult to pinpoint who would make it as a manager.

"For instance, nobody here thought Mark Hughes would become a manager, never in a million years, and we all thought Bryan Robson was a certainty to be a top manager."

Ferguson is still unsure as to who poses the greatest threat to United's bid for silverware this season, with both City and Chelsea boasting vast financial resources.

He added: "It's difficult to say with so much money coming into the game. Manchester City have millions, Chelsea have money and you can't count out anyone.

"You don't know where the next deluge of money's going to come from. You just have to say, 'Here's another challenge.' We won't be afraid of it."
PABLO
Re: Is Alex Ferguson the greatest coach in the world?

Post by PABLO »

I’m not one of his fans, but give honor to whom honor is due. This guy has not only produced players who are regarded as the best in the world. He has also produced great coaches. Under his managerial leadership, great players under him are fast becoming a force to be reckoned with in the coaching world. I was shocked to read this morning that Mark Hughes played under Ferguson. With the way these two are fighting against each other in the last few weeks… who would have ever believed Hughes was once a player under the wings of Sir Fergie?
mightyjets

Post by mightyjets »

You have to give it to the man SAF. After the team he put out against Wolfsburg and their performance I am inclined to get out of my ABU stands and award him the best coach I have ever seen. Faced with a huge injury crisis, compare the team he put out against the team Wenger put out against Olympiakos and the results. The man is a legend !

Buffalo soldier
dreadlock rasta
There was a buffalo soldier,
in the heart of north london
Stolen from africa,
brought to North London,
Fighting on; get in!,
fighting for the gunners.

mightyjets wrote:You have to give it to the man SAF. After the team he put out against Wolfsburg and their performance I am inclined to get out of my ABU stands and award him the best coach I have ever seen. Faced with a huge injury crisis, compare the team he put out against the team Wenger put out against Olympiakos and the results. The man is a legend !
They admitted they have never ever used Carrick as a central defender,when i told people Fletcher was a baller dem no gree,Fletcher won me over when he owned Patrick Viera an Assenal in game.That team against Wolfsburg and scoreline was crazy.2 midfielders and a foward in defence,Assenal for chop cane!

haba...wait until he goes head-to-head with Amodu now...

Respect to Ferguson, though Mourinho was dominating him anyhow just a few years ago...

omey2k4 wrote:
mightyjets wrote:You have to give it to the man SAF. After the team he put out against Wolfsburg and their performance I am inclined to get out of my ABU stands and award him the best coach I have ever seen. Faced with a huge injury crisis, compare the team he put out against the team Wenger put out against Olympiakos and the results. The man is a legend !
They admitted they have never ever used Carrick as a central defender,when i told people Fletcher was a baller dem no gree,Fletcher won me over when he owned Patrick Viera an Assenal in game.That team against Wolfsburg and scoreline was crazy.2 midfielders and a foward in defence,Assenal for chop cane!
Darren Fletcher is one of those players that I would have sold to Div 3
The guy has served me humble pie seriously

As for SAF and the Wolfsburg game, I am just speechless.
I knew we would lose, it was a matter of 'how many goals Dzeko would score'

I dey come watch the game now. I am still baffled at the scoreline

Darren Fletcher , now that is my boy, a real nusiance and pest, but a damn effective pest. My boy has come of age, not only does he go about irritating opponents snapping and biting at them, my boy can also ball. He reminds me of Robby Savage with a swagger, that is my boy Fletcher.

Only a seasoned ogbologbo like Ferguson would put a team that has only 1 natural defender (Evra) in a CL match and still go out and win convincingly without moaning. The tactics deployed was comical but damn effective, thus showing you play according to waht you have. I could not believe that Nani was trying to defend as a left full back, i had to watch and watch again before becoming convinced.

They say the cubs of Tiger must look like a Tiger, Hughes has already continued the fight with Wenger from where his father Fergie retired.

Sir Fergie a Machester and a coaching legend :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

oloye wrote:Darren Fletcher , now that is my boy, a real nusiance and pest, but a damn effective pest. My boy has come of age, not only does he go about irritating opponents snapping and biting at them, my boy can also ball. He reminds me of Robby Savage with a swagger, that is my boy Fletcher.

Only a seasoned ogbologbo like Ferguson would put a team that has only 1 natural defender (Evra) in a CL match and still go out and win convincingly without moaning. The tactics deployed was comical but damn effective, thus showing you play according to waht you have. I could not believe that Nani was trying to defend as a left full back, i had to watch and watch again before becoming convinced.

They say the cubs of Tiger must look like a Tiger, Hughes has already continued the fight with Wenger from where his father Fergie retired.

Sir Fergie a Machester and a coaching legend :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
Even Waffiman co-signs this :thumbs: :thumb:

I'm not convinced until he coaches a national team.

Coaching at ManU for so long is totally different from coaching at a club like Real Madrid, Chelsea or many national teams. The owners have no patience for results and the national teams have a limited talent pool among other problems.

I certainly place Trapattoni, Hiddink and Carlos A. Parriera ahead of him.
junior

Post by junior »

The Ugandan. wrote:I'm not convinced until he coaches a national team.

Coaching at ManU for so long is totally different from coaching at a club like Real Madrid, Chelsea or many national teams. The owners have no patience for results and the national teams have a limited talent pool among other problems.

He was Jock Stein's assistant for the Scotland National team in the 80s I think. Also, he may have had a brief stint as boss after Stein's untimely death. I will have to do some research to verify the timelines.
THE wicked flee when no man pursueth: but the righteous are as bold as lion.
Proverbs 28:1

Wow those 3 guys u mention will slap your face for this statement

omey2k4 wrote:

:roll: Those guys have seen it all.
I want to see him work with a tight budget, with a team of limited talent, that meets a few times a year. Until then :boo: :boo:
cyrilndo

Post by cyrilndo »

Where is felarey?
Sir Alex....
Come pay your dues to the greatest. :D :D :D
" The best way to have a fair judgement on anything is to imagine yourself sitting somewhere in space watching planet earth with the beings that inhabit it, especially those who call themselves homo sapiens. You have no nationality or tribe, you are not a fan of Arsenal, Barca, Inter Milan, Manchester United etc. You won't see a booty or huge boobs if they walk pass you. Money is like tissue to you. what is your opinion? "

This post has been made by camex whom I have ignored.

He took Scotland to the 1986 after the death of Jock Stein. Scotland, though very boisterous, didnt make it to the 2nd round.

Meanwhile, wey Felarey?
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

anointed wrote:

He took Scotland to the 1986 after the death of Jock Stein. Scotland, though very boisterous, didnt make it to the 2nd round.

Meanwhile, wey Felarey?
He dropped his best defender Alan hansen ....

He had a personal issue with Hansen I believe. SAF mentioned it in his memoirs. Apparently the Liverpool players in the squad (Hansen especially) had during a key qualifier against Wales, refused to give management inside tips on how to cope with their Liverpool team mate Ian Rush. That angered SAF who felt they were putting Liverpool above their country.

Also, SAF's greatest strength is his ability to motivate his players. Man U don't even have the most talented squad in the EPL, but they win most of the time because he makes sure his players are up for every game and play like their lives depend on it. They fight till their last breath. That is why they score so many late goals.

Prince wrote:
anointed wrote:

Meanwhile, wey Felarey?
He dropped his best defender Alan hansen ....

Let me know when he helps Scotland recover from their slump.
The OF have royally screwed them!
Chxta

Post by Chxta »

omey2k4 wrote:

No they won't. Bar Perreira, the other two have won everything in club footie, same as SAF, so they are all from the same planet...
Onye kwe, Chi ya ekwe

....f' him! :veryangry:

um....ever heard of a team called Aberdeen? He did work under a shoe string budget with a small town club called Aberdeen where he broke the dominance of Celtic and Rangers. Winning the Scottish title with Aberdeen back then is a bit like winning the EPL with Hull City! Rangers and Celtic were loaded back then and were richer than English teams. They were signing the top expensive English talent and taking them up north (not the other way like it is now). The Old Firm signed up top English internationals (remember when Rangers and Celtic were signing players AWAY from English clubs - players like Wilkins, Hateley, Butcher, Stevens, Gascoigne.....).

He broke a 15 year winning streak of the Old Firm and became the first non Old Firm team to win the SPL in 15 years. Since he left no team apart from Rangers and Celtic has won the Scottish League in nearly 25 years (nearly a quarter of a century!).

"Under Alex Ferguson's guidance, the club won three league championships, four Scottish Cups, the European Cup Winner's Cup, the European Super Cup and a League Cup—all in the space of seven years. He won the Scottish Cup wins in three successive seasons from 1982 to 1984.
Then to top it off, he won the European Cup Winners' Cup with Aberdeen - beating Bayern Munich along the way in the semis, and a world class Real Madrid side in the final.

When Trappatoni, Perreira and Hiddink win a European trophy with a small town team like Burnley, Hull, Modena, or Como - then I'll be convinced they are as great as Ferguson!
I want to see him work with a tight budget, with a team of limited talent, that meets a few times a year. Until then :boo: :boo:
Last edited by wiseone on Sun Dec 13, 2009 7:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Chxta

Post by Chxta »

wiseone wrote:um....ever heard of a team called Aberdeen? He did work under a shoe string budget with a small town club called Aberdeen where he broke the dominance of Celtic and Rangers. Winning the Scottish title with Aberdeen back then is a bit like winning the EPL with Hull City! Rangers and Celtic were loaded back then and were richer than English teams. They were signing the top expensive English talent and taking them up north (not the other way like it is now). The Old Firm signed up top English internationals like (remember when Rangers and Celtic were signing players AWAY from English clubs - players like Wilkins, Hately, Butcher, Stevens, Gascoigne.....).

He broke a 15 year winning streak of the Old Firm and became the first non Old Firm team to win the SPL in 15 years. Since he leftno team apart from Rangers and Celtic has won the Scottish League in nearly 25 years (nearly a quarter of a century!).

"Under Alex Ferguson's guidance, the club won three league championships, four Scottish Cups, the European Cup Winner's Cup, the European Super Cup and a League Cup—all in the space of seven years. He won the Scottish Cup wins in three successive seasons from 1982 to 1984.
Then to top it off, he won the European Cup Winners' Cup with Aberdeen - beating Bayern Munich along the way in the semis, and a world class Real Madrid side in the final.

When Trappatoni, Perreira and Hiddink win a European trophy with a small town team like Burnley, Hull, Modena, or Como - then I'll be convinced they are as great as Ferguson!
But he didn't win any European titles with Aberdeen. By the way, in Scotland, Aberdeen can hardly be described as a small town. It is Scotland's third city.
Onye kwe, Chi ya ekwe

"But he didn't win any European titles with Aberdeen."

um....Chxta, you no read carefully today? Which bit of this was not clear in my post:

"Under Alex Ferguson's guidance, the club won...the European Cup Winner's Cup, the European Super Cup .....he won the European Cup Winners' Cup with Aberdeen - beating Bayern Munich along the way in the semis, and a world class Real Madrid side in the final."

As for Aberdeen being Scotland's third city. That is only relative. Aberdeen's population is about 200K. So Aberdeen's population is roughly the same as English towns like Dudley. Heck even Bradford, Derby and Plymouth are bigger than Aberdeen! Tell me, have Dudley, Bradford, Derby or Plymouth won the league or beaten Real Madrid in your lifetime?

You also have not addressed the fundamental point that in the past 40 years, the only team other than Celtic and Rangers to win the SPL was managed by Alex Ferguson.

Chxta wrote:
wiseone wrote:um....ever heard of a team called Aberdeen? He did work under a shoe string budget with a small town club called Aberdeen where he broke the dominance of Celtic and Rangers. Winning the Scottish title with Aberdeen back then is a bit like winning the EPL with Hull City! Rangers and Celtic were loaded back then and were richer than English teams. They were signing the top expensive English talent and taking them up north (not the other way like it is now). The Old Firm signed up top English internationals like (remember when Rangers and Celtic were signing players AWAY from English clubs - players like Wilkins, Hately, Butcher, Stevens, Gascoigne.....).

He broke a 15 year winning streak of the Old Firm and became the first non Old Firm team to win the SPL in 15 years. Since he leftno team apart from Rangers and Celtic has won the Scottish League in nearly 25 years (nearly a quarter of a century!).

But he didn't win any European titles with Aberdeen. By the way, in Scotland, Aberdeen can hardly be described as a small town. It is Scotland's third city.

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:haba...wait until he goes head-to-head with Amodu now...

Respect to Ferguson, though Mourinho was dominating him anyhow just a few years ago...