Easily the best striker Africa ever had....
- Otuoma Wuon Ogolo
Airwolex,Its all very well and good to advocate African unity, but you'll be hard pressed to get any West-African to speak Swahili. No offence but we have our own languages and to discard that for a hybrid of Bantu and Arabic is not happening.
You have been reading too much into this Darfur thing (Arab/African conflict)
Swahili is one the sweetest languages you can speak after French and Lingala. Most of the Arabic words have been replaced by authentic African words. It is spoken and understood in Kenya, Uganda, Somali,Mozambique, Tanzania, Congo, Rwanda & Urundi. Over 160 Million speakers. Now you want us to pick one of your Yeye languages? Swahili is the natural choice.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/swahili/highlights ... hezo.shtml
Fifa yaionya Tanzania
Shirikisho la soka la Tanzania halijawahi kupata mafanikio chini ya mwenyekiti Muhidin Ndolanga
Shirikisho la soka duniani Fifa limeonya kwamba litalichukulia hatua shirikisho la soka la Tanzania TFF endapo halitafanya uchaguzi kufikia mwishoni mwa mwaka huu.
Onyo hilo limetolewa baada ya maafisa wa TFF kusema kuwa wanaweza wasifanye uchaguzi kwasababu ya madai ya kuingiliwa na serikali katika uendeshaji wa mchezo huo.
Msemaji wa Fifa John Schumacher amesema kuwa kwa mujibu wa mpango wa kurekebisha matatizo ndani ya TFF, shirikisho hilo lazima likamilishe uchaguzi kabla ya Desemba 31.
Uongozi uliopo madarakani unaoongozwa na mwenyekiti Muhidin Ndolanga uliingia madarakani mwaka 2001 na majukumu yao yanamalizika mwaka 2005.
Hata hivyo tangu uchaguzi huo wa mwaka 2001, Fifa imeingilia kati na kujaribu kuweka utaratibu wa kurekebisha matatizo - miongoni mwa mapendekezo ni kuandikwa kwa katiba mpya na kufanyika kwa uchaguzi kabla ya kumalizika mwaka huu.
Katibu Mkuu wa TFF Michael Wambura amesema kuwa msajili wa vyama vya michezo wa serikali amekataa kuitambua katiba mpya ya shirikisho hilo.
"Timid men prefer the calm of despotism to the boisterous sea of liberty."
Thomas Jefferson
- airwolex
But yeye languages like Igbo, Yoruba, Hausa, Bini, Ijaw, Urogho have been spoken many a times in the World-Cup. Infact, most of the anthems sang by the Naija supporters Clubs in the stands are done in this so called yeye languages. Your mighty Swahili will never enjoy the same privilege. All it will be used for is when communicating when tribesmen are hunting wilderbeast.
- Otuoma Wuon Ogolo
It started in Naija. The Naija one is the most comical. The funniest I have heard so far is "Opata Yarn" and some people even say "Yarning Opats"...Otuoma, Pidgin English is not a Nigerian language. its a slang spoken by most, if not all WEST AFRICANS
Thomas Jefferson
Otuoma
I would have rated George Weah the greatest in Africa and his goals for AC Milan were wonderful. Can you expalin why no-one seems to have heard of this Chitala you speak of?
p.s. Most of the comments about you in pidgin English are not insults merely good natured ribbing of the sort we hand ourselves.
I would have rated George Weah the greatest in Africa and his goals for AC Milan were wonderful. Can you expalin why no-one seems to have heard of this Chitala you speak of?
p.s. Most of the comments about you in pidgin English are not insults merely good natured ribbing of the sort we hand ourselves.
But you know Naija.Otuoma Wuon Ogolo wrote:Anointed,anointed wrote:#$%,
You should introduce urself to Disneyworld. You have a knack for stunning comics and cartoon and even caricatures. I've been following ur edition everyday with religious passion cos you help me loosen up after the hustle and bustle of work.
Since tomorrow is Saturday and there's no work and much pressure, can I have tomorrow's edition today. One more round of humour won't do any damage.
All I am here for is just mingle with my brothers from the West and follow soccer. I have to confess we Kenyans have no website dedicated to Harambee stars. Even if we formed one only two tribes Luo & Luhya will logon to it. The rest of the Kenyans are into Athletics, Field Hockey, Cricket, Swimming, Rugby and the rest of the sports which other African countries have ignored thru no fault of their own...The two Kenyan tribes, Luos and Luhyas combined are less than half the population of Igbos alone. Given the grim statistics, we would have less than 5 people logging on every day. Not a good idea, is it?
So at times I am guilty of using humor to fill in the blanks. Unfortunately, this has the effect of waking up deeply hidden Naija Nationalistic feelings. People end up insulting me in their local dialects. I don't understand a word from Naija. I realize lots of people have insulted me on this board based on where I am from . Well, I rarely stoop that low. But do not feel that I am full of humor 24/7.
You have been warned![]()
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Re: Easily the best striker Africa ever had....
I will admit to being a fan of Zambian football but I have never heard of this Chitalu. Otuoma Wuon Ogolo are you sure he is not a creation of your over active imagination?

Otuoma Wuon Ogolo wrote:His name was Godfrey Chitalu. I watched him play for Zambia in the 80's . He really clicked with another partner (name forgotten) and their combination was devastating. They had this habit of running in pairs, with Chitalu close behind. As soon as they reached the 18-yard line, the player in front would leave the ball for Chitalu to slot home. He often unleashed powerful kicks that very few goalies managed to hold on to. He was responsible for tearing many nets across the continent with his powerful shots. His style of play was so unique that the only person who comes to mind is Bobby Charlton of England. If you watch Sir Bobby Charlton's goals, then you'd have an idea of what I am talking about.
Unfortunately, I learned today that Chitalu was in the doomed plane that crashed in Senegal. Anybody from Central/South remember Chitalu? Chitalu's record of 107 goals in one season(Zambia) still stands to this day.
Nkono, Kunde, Massing, Tataw, Ebwelle , Pagal,Mbida, Mfede, Mbouh,Makanaky,Kana-Biyik,Oman-Biyik, Ekeke, Milla,.....Too Strong to be Intimidated, Too Stong to be defeated! Indomitable!!!! Marc Viven-Foe R.I.P!!!
- Otuoma Wuon Ogolo
I will admit to being a fan of Zambian football but I have never heard of this Chitalu. Otuoma Wuon Ogolo are you sure he is not a creation of your over active imagination
Makanaky,
Admitting to being a fan and being knowledgeable about Zambian soccer are mutually exclusive points my friend.
Just "google" Godfrey Chitalu . Do you know anyone who has scored 107 goals in a season? If you did, then you'd have known Chitalu. Even Mulumba (former APOY),member of first Black African team to play in WC admits the legendary Chitalu was the best there ever was. I am coming to the realization that knowledge was withheld in some sections of Africa. I will not mention the specific regimes . But this is shocking. Makanaky, I will revisit your previous posts just to find out what else you might have missed

Thomas Jefferson
- Field Marshall Ogolo
Re:
Godfrey Chitalu is a legendary Zambian footballer who played as a forward for Kitwe United and Kabwe Warriors. He is regarded as one of the greatest African footballers of all time. He is known for some great footballing records, including two African champions club records, being the only African to make the top 5 international goal scorers, and breaking two world records – twice. However, do you know that Chitalu has a better goal-scoring record than Cristiano Ronaldo, Pele, and Lionel Messi? While Messi has 91 goals in a calendar year, Godfrey Chitalu scored 109 goals in 1972. Unfortunately, Chitalu is not given much credit. FIFA may have deliberately shunned his heroics because he played on the African continent.original skeepolah wrote: ↑Thu Oct 21, 2004 9:19 pm Guys why even reeply...If that is the best we had how come this is the 1st time i have ever heard of him??Omo otogolo just wants to tell a story and wants replies......The guy might not have been that bad, but go figure why he is not a household name....Maaaannnnnnnnnn!!!!!!!!!![]()
https://theafricandreamsl.com/godfrey-c ... in-africa/
I never LOSE, I either WIN or LEARN. – Nelson Mandela
- YemiBrazil
Re: Re:
13 November 1978Field Marshall Ogolo wrote: ↑Sun Apr 06, 2025 5:54 pmGodfrey Chitalu is a legendary Zambian footballer who played as a forward for Kitwe United and Kabwe Warriors. He is regarded as one of the greatest African footballers of all time. He is known for some great footballing records, including two African champions club records, being the only African to make the top 5 international goal scorers, and breaking two world records – twice. However, do you know that Chitalu has a better goal-scoring record than Cristiano Ronaldo, Pele, and Lionel Messi? While Messi has 91 goals in a calendar year, Godfrey Chitalu scored 109 goals in 1972. Unfortunately, Chitalu is not given much credit. FIFA may have deliberately shunned his heroics because he played on the African continent.original skeepolah wrote: ↑Thu Oct 21, 2004 9:19 pm Guys why even reeply...If that is the best we had how come this is the 1st time i have ever heard of him??Omo otogolo just wants to tell a story and wants replies......The guy might not have been that bad, but go figure why he is not a household name....Maaaannnnnnnnnn!!!!!!!!!![]()
Zambia 9-0 Kenya (Chitalu hattrick).
29 June 1980
Zambia 5-0 Kenya (Chitalu hattrick).
Now I understand

- Field Marshall Ogolo
Big Fat Liar!YemiBrazil wrote: ↑Mon Apr 07, 2025 2:36 am13 November 1978Field Marshall Ogolo wrote: ↑Sun Apr 06, 2025 5:54 pmGodfrey Chitalu is a legendary Zambian footballer who played as a forward for Kitwe United and Kabwe Warriors. He is regarded as one of the greatest African footballers of all time. He is known for some great footballing records, including two African champions club records, being the only African to make the top 5 international goal scorers, and breaking two world records – twice. However, do you know that Chitalu has a better goal-scoring record than Cristiano Ronaldo, Pele, and Lionel Messi? While Messi has 91 goals in a calendar year, Godfrey Chitalu scored 109 goals in 1972. Unfortunately, Chitalu is not given much credit. FIFA may have deliberately shunned his heroics because he played on the African continent.original skeepolah wrote: ↑Thu Oct 21, 2004 9:19 pm Guys why even reeply...If that is the best we had how come this is the 1st time i have ever heard of him??Omo otogolo just wants to tell a story and wants replies......The guy might not have been that bad, but go figure why he is not a household name....Maaaannnnnnnnnn!!!!!!!!!![]()
29 June 1980
Now I understand![]()
I never LOSE, I either WIN or LEARN. – Nelson Mandela

Kai. How quickly 21 years goes by.

Since I'm on a Naija site and don't want to be banned or annoy forumers, I'll say Yekini
However, if I had the free will to give an honest opinion, it would be
1. E'too
2. Weah
3. Drogba
4. Yeboah
However, if I had the free will to give an honest opinion, it would be
1. E'too
2. Weah
3. Drogba
4. Yeboah
- YemiBrazil
Field Marshall Ogolo wrote: ↑Mon Apr 07, 2025 2:37 pmBig Fat Liar!YemiBrazil wrote: ↑Mon Apr 07, 2025 2:36 am13 November 1978Field Marshall Ogolo wrote: ↑Sun Apr 06, 2025 5:54 pmGodfrey Chitalu is a legendary Zambian footballer who played as a forward for Kitwe United and Kabwe Warriors. He is regarded as one of the greatest African footballers of all time. He is known for some great footballing records, including two African champions club records, being the only African to make the top 5 international goal scorers, and breaking two world records – twice. However, do you know that Chitalu has a better goal-scoring record than Cristiano Ronaldo, Pele, and Lionel Messi? While Messi has 91 goals in a calendar year, Godfrey Chitalu scored 109 goals in 1972. Unfortunately, Chitalu is not given much credit. FIFA may have deliberately shunned his heroics because he played on the African continent.original skeepolah wrote: ↑Thu Oct 21, 2004 9:19 pm Guys why even reeply...If that is the best we had how come this is the 1st time i have ever heard of him??Omo otogolo just wants to tell a story and wants replies......The guy might not have been that bad, but go figure why he is not a household name....Maaaannnnnnnnnn!!!!!!!!!![]()
29 June 1980
Now I understand![]()