Easily the best striker Africa ever had....

Otuoma Wuon Ogolo
Easily the best striker Africa ever had....

Post by Otuoma Wuon Ogolo »

His name was Godfrey Chitalu. I watched him play for Zambia in the 80's . He really clicked with another partner (name forgotten) and their combination was devastating. They had this habit of running in pairs, with Chitalu close behind. As soon as they reached the 18-yard line, the player in front would leave the ball for Chitalu to slot home. He often unleashed powerful kicks that very few goalies managed to hold on to. He was responsible for tearing many nets across the continent with his powerful shots. His style of play was so unique that the only person who comes to mind is Bobby Charlton of England. If you watch Sir Bobby Charlton's goals, then you'd have an idea of what I am talking about.
Unfortunately, I learned today that Chitalu was in the doomed plane that crashed in Senegal. Anybody from Central/South remember Chitalu? Chitalu's record of 107 goals in one season(Zambia) still stands to this day.
"Timid men prefer the calm of despotism to the boisterous sea of liberty."
Thomas Jefferson
BabaNaija

Post by BabaNaija »

I thought you were gonna say Oleich.

Are you on drugs?
Akure4Life

Post by Akure4Life »

This guy lives in his own world.
Akure4Life

Ojota is my hood.
Otuoma Wuon Ogolo

This guy lives in his own world.
Akure,
What a sad thing to live in a cocoon.
Thomas Jefferson
daddyrich

Post by daddyrich »

Otuoma Wuon Ogolo wrote: What a sad thing to live in a cocoon.

...if the best you've ever seen is Godfrey Chitalu :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
Baxter Onigbinde's second coming is the most disingenious stint ever in Nigerian coaching history.
Re: Easily the best striker Africa ever had....

Otuoma Wuon Ogolo wrote:His name was Godfrey Chitalu. I watched him play for Zambia in the 80's . He really clicked with another partner (name forgotten) and their combination was devastating. They had this habit of running in pairs, with Chitalu close behind. As soon as they reached the 18-yard line, the player in front would leave the ball for Chitalu to slot home. He often unleashed powerful kicks that very few goalies managed to hold on to. He was responsible for tearing many nets across the continent with his powerful shots. His style of play was so unique that the only person who comes to mind is Bobby Charlton of England. If you watch Sir Bobby Charlton's goals, then you'd have an idea of what I am talking about.
Unfortunately, I learned today that Chitalu was in the doomed plane that crashed in Senegal. Anybody from Central/South remember Chitalu? Chitalu's record of 107 goals in one season(Zambia) still stands to this day.
...wow...Kenyan Ganja must be something! :shock:

Pa
Otuoma Wuon Ogolo

Another striker worth his salt was Opoku Nti of Ghana. I only saw him play once. What a striker he was!
Thomas Jefferson
ivanuche

Post by ivanuche »

fine toto son of palm wine :D u don chop ?try make u chop oh make u for dey see road! :lol: :lol:
They used to say Muhammad Ali could float like a butterfly and sting like a bee. Arsenal swim with the grace of a dolphin — and bite like a shark. The GREAT Brian Clough. viewtopic.php?t=18273

If you're having girl problems i feel sorry for u son,i gat 99 problems but da *Nice Lady* aint one !

http://www.brazzil.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7162 BLACK BEAUTIES !
http://www.ypforum.org/nigeria2002
azuka

Post by azuka »

Any surprise Kenya is at the bottom rung of the football ladder?
Otuoma Wuon Ogolo

Azuka,
The Kenyan society is complete. We are bound together by our love for more than one sport. Our players may be guilty of not taking football too seriously. But we can more than compensate for this shortcoming by venturing into other areas like Cricket, Athletics, Rugby and other areas where Africans have traditionally fallen short. Btw a woman from Kenya just won the Nobel Peace Prize the other day. Our stability is by design. Putting too many eggs in one basket has never been our motto.
Have a nice day.
Thomas Jefferson

I swear the stuff Otuoma smokes hasn't been discovered yet.
daddyrich

Post by daddyrich »

ivanuche wrote:fine toto son of palm wine

Baxter Onigbinde's second coming is the most disingenious stint ever in Nigerian coaching history.
Otuoma Wuon Ogolo

Nice to see you Airwolex.
Thomas Jefferson

Otuoma Wuon Ogolo wrote:
Nice to see you Airwolex.
Hello #$%.
azuka

Post by azuka »

Quote:

Azuka,
The Kenyan society is complete. We are bound together by our love for more than one sport. Our players may be guilty of not taking football too seriously. But we can more than compensate for this shortcoming by venturing into other areas like Cricket, Athletics, Rugby and other areas where Africans have traditionally fallen short. Btw a woman from Kenya just won the Nobel Peace Prize the other day. Our stability is by design. Putting too many eggs in one basket has never been our motto.
Have a nice day.
story.

airwolex wrote:I swear the stuff Otuoma smokes hasn't been discovered yet.
Apparently it's dry paw paw leaves that he smokes. It was mentioned here some time ago.
Otuoma Wuon Ogolo

Hey fellas,
I promise to mention a Naija striker ( Rashidi Yekini ) if you all promise to leave me alone. It seems the world begins and stops in Naija. I will not let this happen. There are other people in the continent , you know. Plus it's an open secret that Naija defence has been its Achilles' heel all along. I believe a team needs strong & tall defenders to be successful in today's soccer.
Thomas Jefferson
original skeepolah

Post by original skeepolah »

Guys why even reeply...If that is the best we had how come this is the 1st time i have ever heard of him??Omo otogolo just wants to tell a story and wants replies......The guy might not have been that bad, but go figure why he is not a household name....Maaaannnnnnnnnn!!!!!!!!! :roll:
kongi the emir

Post by kongi the emir »

#$%, meeeeennnn!!! where can i get some of that masai weed??

Otuoma Wuon Ogolo wrote:

Azuka,
Have a nice day.
no disrespect intended but do kenya have a rugby team? i wanna see their picture this must surely be another idea by the white man to eliminate the black/African race. people wey no see food chop go play rugby nke!
Otuoma Wuon Ogolo

packerland wrote:
Otuoma Wuon Ogolo wrote:

Azuka,
Have a nice day.
no disrespect intended but do kenya have a rugby team? i wanna see their picture this must surely be another idea by the white man to eliminate the black/African race. people wey no see food chop go play rugby nke!
Packerland,

By Michael Mundia Kamau

The third generation of rugby players arrived on the scene in the late 1980s / early 1990s as the likes of Jacko were waning. This partly comprised the legendary Edward Rombo(pictured right), Gordon Anampiu, John Ohaga, Stephen Kimwele, Joseph Muganda, Duncan “Yakas” Kioni, George Adul, Henry Miheso, Oscar Khabure, Martin Ndeda, John Kiwinda, Tito Okuku, Solomon Munyua, Eric Kibe and JC Wakhu. Even at this later stages the Black vs. White rivalry for the domination of Kenyan rugby persisted though teams like Oribis R.F.C. and Miro R.F.C. had fallen away. Edward Rombo’s accomplishments were however the most outstanding.

For one, Rombo led Machine to two successive Kenya Cup titles in 1989 and 1990. Rombo was a class player who dazzled many a person with his brilliant back play. He had speed, mesmerizing side steps, was absolutely daring, and had an ability to quickly detect weaknesses in opponents and fully capitalise on them.

I remember one such display at the Easter Blackrock Rugby Festival for clubs in 1988, when Rombo was playing for Machine. Stuart Melville of the U.K. were touring Kenya at the time and after their game with Machine, members of their contingent kept asking to meet “Rambo” (It was the 1980s and Sylvester Stallone’s action sequels “Rambo” were a big hit). Rombo also had a lip and is Kenya rugby’s equivalent of boxing legend, Muhammed Ali. He taunted and disarmed opponents with memorable phrases.

All this caught the attention of selectors at the Singapore Cricket Club Sevens and led to Rombo being drafted into U.K. rugby league side, Leeds R.F.C. , for a professional career in 1991. Rombo further secured a scholarship to study Law at the prestigious Leeds University. Rombo’s grand achievement wrote an entirely new and historical chapter in the history of Kenyan rugby. While at Leeds R.F.C. , Rombo played and excelled alongside the world’s best, such as former All Black full back, John Gallagher.

Rombo’s achievement thus speaks volumes for itself and he indeed did Kenya proud. He certainly did not have access to the same facilities that the All Blacks did, but he nonetheless reached the top. Regrettably however, younger generations of rugby players have not measured up to or surpassed his accomplishments.

You can read parts 2 & 3 below
http://www.scrum.com/features/Kenya2.asp
Thomas Jefferson

Otuoma Wuon Ogolo wrote:
packerland wrote:
Otuoma Wuon Ogolo wrote:

Azuka,
Have a nice day.
Packerland,

By Michael Mundia Kamau

The third generation of rugby players arrived on the scene in the late 1980s / early 1990s as the likes of Jacko were waning. This partly comprised the legendary Edward Rombo(pictured right), Gordon Anampiu, John Ohaga, Stephen Kimwele, Joseph Muganda, Duncan “Yakas” Kioni, George Adul, Henry Miheso, Oscar Khabure, Martin Ndeda, John Kiwinda, Tito Okuku, Solomon Munyua, Eric Kibe and JC Wakhu. Even at this later stages the Black vs. White rivalry for the domination of Kenyan rugby persisted though teams like Oribis R.F.C. and Miro R.F.C. had fallen away. Edward Rombo’s accomplishments were however the most outstanding.

For one, Rombo led Machine to two successive Kenya Cup titles in 1989 and 1990. Rombo was a class player who dazzled many a person with his brilliant back play. He had speed, mesmerizing side steps, was absolutely daring, and had an ability to quickly detect weaknesses in opponents and fully capitalise on them.

I remember one such display at the Easter Blackrock Rugby Festival for clubs in 1988, when Rombo was playing for Machine. Stuart Melville of the U.K. were touring Kenya at the time and after their game with Machine, members of their contingent kept asking to meet “Rambo” (It was the 1980s and Sylvester Stallone’s action sequels “Rambo” were a big hit). Rombo also had a lip and is Kenya rugby’s equivalent of boxing legend, Muhammed Ali. He taunted and disarmed opponents with memorable phrases.

All this caught the attention of selectors at the Singapore Cricket Club Sevens and led to Rombo being drafted into U.K. rugby league side, Leeds R.F.C. , for a professional career in 1991. Rombo further secured a scholarship to study Law at the prestigious Leeds University. Rombo’s grand achievement wrote an entirely new and historical chapter in the history of Kenyan rugby. While at Leeds R.F.C. , Rombo played and excelled alongside the world’s best, such as former All Black full back, John Gallagher.

Rombo’s achievement thus speaks volumes for itself and he indeed did Kenya proud. He certainly did not have access to the same facilities that the All Blacks did, but he nonetheless reached the top. Regrettably however, younger generations of rugby players have not measured up to or surpassed his accomplishments.

You can read parts 2 & 3 below
http://www.scrum.com/features/Kenya2.asp
not doubting but can you post the whole teams photo since you said kenya has a team