Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

Re: Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

YemiBrazil wrote: Mon Aug 29, 2022 5:30 pm I don't care how much United spends. They will generate it back in no time especially if they start getting the business done on the green grass again - some people don kolo for that club matter and will buy anything Man United :lol: :mrgreen:

Spend spend spend.
We must have 2 good players per position all over the pitch.

As much as I hate to say this: 🤦🏽 Utd should get Auba or Depay as a temporary 1-2 season stopgap signing until they find out whether Mason Greenwood will be transferred to Prison FC or until they can buy another striker. They missed an opportunity with Werner, and were very close to buying Haaland before he joined Dortmund.

Alas, pickings are now slim.
chopachop

Post by chopachop »

wiseone wrote: Mon Aug 29, 2022 9:57 pm As much as I hate to say this: 🤦🏽 Utd should get Auba or Depay as a temporary 1-2 season stopgap signing until they find out whether Mason Greenwood will be transferred to Prison FC or until they can buy another striker. They missed an opportunity with Werner, and were very close to buying Haaland before he joined Dortmund.

Alas, pickings are now slim.
Depay is better than Werner and any of the forwards they have right now CR7 included
and he can be gotten very very cheap however I doubt they will go for him since he is
cheap and the Manu recruiting team is the most clueless on the planet just like a kid handed
a cheque book. Their reasoning is any player expensively priced must be good. Feyernood must
be cursing to have not demanded 50M euro onwards for Malacia.
chopachop

Post by chopachop »

benteke wrote: Mon Aug 29, 2022 7:52 pm
YemiBrazil wrote: Mon Aug 29, 2022 5:30 pm I don't care how much United spends. They will generate it back in no time especially if they start getting the business done on the green grass again - some people don kolo for that club matter and will buy anything Man United :lol: :mrgreen:

Spend spend spend.
We must have 2 good players per position all over the pitch.
Watched the win against Southampton, most of the players are just not good for a
midt table team let alone a team like Manu. The team is a shadow of Manu of past
more like a championship side.

You are right. It is almost as if Man Utd is allergic to spending less than 50 million on a player. The failure to sign Tolisso (available for free) when the team desperately needed midfield reinforcements is an example of this. Ronaldo’s days at the club are numbered (and Mason Greenwood might never play pro football again). Hence a CF is an acute problem position. Hence I am puzzled as to why they blew 80-90 million on winger Antony when the team already has Sancho, Rashford, Martial, Elanga, and Diallo who play in the same position, and especially when Antony has not yet done anything to suggest he is better than Salah, Mane, Luiz Diaz, Mahrez, Ziyech, and Jota (all of whom have proven themselves by winning the league title and playing in Champions League finals, and all of whom cost 50-30 million less than Antony).
chopachop wrote: Tue Aug 30, 2022 1:34 am
Depay is better than Werner and any of the forwards they have right now CR7 included
and he can be gotten very very cheap however I doubt they will go for him since he is
cheap and the Manu recruiting team is the most clueless on the planet just like a kid handed
a cheque book. Their reasoning is any player expensively priced must be good. Feyernood must
be cursing to have not demanded 50M euro onwards for Malacia.

Rashford will get his run down the middle, Martial too. Is it enough? All chicken no sides, is it ever?

Coach - playing Martial and/or Rashford as the CF leaves only Sancho, Antony, and Elanga for the wide positions. 1-2 injuries or suspensions and they will be in big trouble. TBH in a normal world Elanga should not even be in the first team squad and should be out on loan getting experience elsewhere.

Man Utd has sold 21yo James Garner to Everton. Garner was a key player for Notts Forest while on loan there last season and helped get them promoted to the EPL. He also played very well against EPL opposition (including Arsenal) during Forest's FA Cup matches.

Given Man Utd's poor history with selling its academy players, let us hope they do not have to pay 90 million to buy him back in 4 years time...

danfo driver wrote: Mon Aug 29, 2022 5:44 pm
:D :wink:

Football is the only sport where fans cry over the owner's money and the owner laughs over the fans' money. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

United MUST go out and dominate in these last 4 days! No stone unturned! They need to spend insultingly and aggressively tell the league to FOOOK OFF! They are a bit close to where I believe they will easily get top 4. Antony, a ST, a CM (preferably De Jong) and a right back, and United will enter top 4.

This is not the time for sentiments.
Had you guys gotten that top class CM and ST and a top RB, you would easily have gotten top 4. Easily!

Anyway, i like the tactical aspect of your game in the last 3 games. With Antony coming in, and Casemiro -- you can see he is head and shoulders above all midfielders in both games, in which he has entered. Will be interesting.

Chopachop and Yeyeman: as I was saying...

wiseone wrote: Wed Aug 24, 2022 5:11 pm Sancho is one of Man Utd’s best signings of the post SAF era. He will come good.

The biggest improvement i see is in that the defence is a lot more assured.
There's still a long way to go, more clinical teams will score goals, but it's a big improvement from the comical stuff we were seeing every week with Maguire in the team.
Everything else can improve from the going to midfield and then attack.
The only problem would be that the likes of Varane and Martial cannot stay fit for long.

...that match vs Leicester yesterday was haphazard.
Looks like they were tired, and lucky to have score, and their defense held on.
All those free kicks around United area could have resulted in one or more goals.
A good team will eat them for supper when gifted such chances.

mcal wrote: Fri Sep 02, 2022 1:43 pm ...that match vs Leicester yesterday was haphazard.
All those free kicks around United area could have resulted in one or more goals.
Like i said, there's still a long way to go, good teams will score goals, it will happen.
But at least there is a bit of improvement in the way the back 4 is operating.
Confidence is coming back but by bit.
Once the midfield also gets into a rhythm, and the attackers start making teams think twice, then we can start talking about top 4 and other things.
The manager himself also admitted there is a long way to go.
A draw vs Arsenal will do :thumbs:

mcal wrote: Fri Sep 02, 2022 1:43 pm ...that match vs Leicester yesterday was haphazard.
tiredness or no tiredness. You were playing an away game against a team that is hurt and angry. A team that has been beaten up and down and had to defend their honor in front of their fans. How did you think that will go? You will show up and humiliate them in front of their fans? :lol: Thats now how football works.

Like play like play, manure is back in business. [knK]gawd damnit[/KnK]

100%Naija wrote: Fri Sep 02, 2022 6:55 pm Like play like play, manure is back in business. [knK]gawd damnit[/KnK]
Looks like your boys are also back in business so no hiding place from yabbis for any of us this weekend! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

YemiBrazil wrote: Fri Sep 02, 2022 7:17 pm
100%Naija wrote: Fri Sep 02, 2022 6:55 pm Like play like play, manure is back in business. [knK]gawd damnit[/KnK]
Looks like your boys are also back in business so no hiding place from yabbis for any of us this weekend! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
my fren gerra away...like ojoro sooting blank stars, yall will finish below the Great Arsenal!!! :taunt:

100%Naija wrote: Sat Sep 03, 2022 1:08 am
YemiBrazil wrote: Fri Sep 02, 2022 7:17 pm
my fren gerra away...like ojoro sooting blank stars, yall will finish below the Great Arsenal!!! :taunt:
:lol: :lol: We go worry about final finish in May

danfo driver wrote: Thu Sep 01, 2022 9:59 pm

Football is the only sport where fans cry over the owner's money and the owner laughs over the fans' money. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

United MUST go out and dominate in these last 4 days! No stone unturned! They need to spend insultingly and aggressively tell the league to FOOOK OFF! They are a bit close to where I believe they will easily get top 4. Antony, a ST, a CM (preferably De Jong) and a right back, and United will enter top 4.

Had you guys gotten that top class CM and ST and a top RB, you would easily have gotten top 4. Easily!

Anyway, i like the tactical aspect of your game in the last 3 games. With Antony coming in, and Casemiro -- you can see he is head and shoulders above all midfielders in both games, in which he has entered. Will be interesting.
Like I said, had you guys gotten that top class CM and ST and a top RB (Dalot is trying), you would easily have gotten top 4. Easily!

Wey that wise one? I told you United can't get worse than their first two games. They are looking very good.. as long as Maguire no dey, una fit challenge for title

benteke wrote: Sat Aug 13, 2022 7:57 pm
Cristao II wrote: Sat Aug 13, 2022 7:22 pm
benteke wrote: Sat Aug 13, 2022 7:10 pm
Cristao II wrote: Sat Aug 13, 2022 7:07 pm Eriksen still making the crappy corner kicks he used to make at Spurs.
Can you imagine, United is relying on him for midfield duties.
After Spurs let him go coz they want to improve
He is still a good player but he needs people who intelligently move into space around him.
That's besides the point my man.

Europe is brimming full of all sorts of central midfielders and DMs.

And then a club like United opts to go and get Eriksen at 30something years old to come and service midfield.

That's not a serious club policy.
Hello, dear. You were saying?

Where is Phil Jones? Very strange that an employee of Man Utd who is a professional footballer did not play any of the club’s pre-season games, did not go on the pre-season tour, was not sold, and has not made a single match day squad yet no one talks about it. Is he OK? Has he been kidnapped by a drug cartel?

I am starting to think that he has a serious congenital health issue that the club does not want to reveal (similar to Darren Fletcher’s health issues).

danfo driver wrote: Sun Sep 04, 2022 6:25 pm
danfo driver wrote: Thu Sep 01, 2022 9:59 pm

Like I said, had you guys gotten that top class CM and ST and a top RB (Dalot is trying), you would easily have gotten top 4. Easily!
True. One more transfer window.

Good win today.