Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

Re: Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

On mentality alone, these teams are miles apart.

joao wrote: Sun Oct 02, 2022 4:27 pm On mentality alone, these teams are miles apart.
Khaki no be leather but days like today are needed so the true magnitude of work needed to get back to the top is re-emphasized.

Rebuild for Europe conquest not just the EPL. Pep's team is already at full maturity. Solid hardworking team. Ten Hag's, the signs are good.

joplass wrote: Sun Oct 02, 2022 3:05 pm Embarrassment at the Etihad. We are so bad we make City look like everyone on that team is a Pele. The last two goals specially brought our shame forward. Varan a WC winner stopped playing while the ball is still playable and Haaland with the tip of this boot. Malacia runs with Foden who's expecting a cross from Haaland but the defender managed to run behind the attacker.
...if I am defender, I'll fake injury not to play and defend Haaland. That guy is big and strong, only his shot can wound someone, you can't push him around or off the ball. But he was frustrated during the international break by Slovenia.

When facing Man City away it is vital to have really good CDMs because you will spend most of the game without the ball, and have to spend lots of energy chasing and trying to get it back.

If only Man Utd had an experienced Champions League winning CDM in their squad...

wiseone wrote: Sun Oct 02, 2022 5:11 pm When facing Man City away it is vital to have really good CDMs because you will spend most of the game without the ball, and have to spend lots of energy chasing and trying to get it back.

If only Man Utd had an experienced Champions League winning CDM in their squad...

It is all Mourinho's fault :taunt:

danfo driver wrote: Sun Oct 02, 2022 3:41 pm
balo wrote: Sun Oct 02, 2022 3:36 pmGaddem. 6 - 1
nah real Gaddem! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

the first step in beating City is recognizing how fantastic they are and how great their striker and coach are. this knowledge will let you check your arrogance and silliness at the door. You can then proceed to protect your weaknesses and exploit theirs.
Reason why spurs were able to do a duble on them by protect thir weekness and exploit city weakness..

wiseone wrote: Sun Oct 02, 2022 5:11 pm When facing Man City away it is vital to have really good CDMs because you will spend most of the game without the ball, and have to spend lots of energy chasing and trying to get it back.

They do,United is just a poor team,lucky to beat Arsenal and liverpool.A fit Partey in that game united for chop stone.

kajifu wrote: Sun Oct 02, 2022 6:17 pm

They do,United is just a poor team,lucky to beat Arsenal and liverpool.A fit Partey in that game united for chop stone.
We have heard you and your world class Partey. It's still October, enjoy it while it lasts. A fit Wenger and you would have won just one champions league by now.

The sight of Haaland positioning himself against Martinez and Malacia (he is 9 inches taller than both of them), and Eriksen trying to “mark” him at a corner (while giving away 6 inches in height); was laughable.

When Varane was off injured, Man Utd had only one outfield player above 6 feet tall - while defending a corner - against Haaland. 🤦🏽 Yet for some reason, Man Utd did not think it was a good idea to get their only 6 footer to mark Haaland. Playground stuff.

I hope ETH’s stubborn refusal to acknowledge that size matters in the EPL will not cost him his job.

Scipio Africanus wrote: Sun Oct 02, 2022 3:59 pm Can Arsenal take points off City? Kai! This team sef!
Nna, na wa for City. The EPL should make City play minus one or even two players, that's how good they are. In all the talk about their forwards and midfielders, we forget about the defenders. Today--and in the last game he played for Switzerland--Akanji looked like the second coming of Virgil van Dijk. The van Dijk of two seasons ago, that is. Bobo is calm and collected on the ball, and plays like he is playing against small pikins. Has he always been like this, or is this the influence of Pep? Pep claims to know how to make defenders better.

ohsee wrote: Sun Oct 02, 2022 9:58 pm
Scipio Africanus wrote: Sun Oct 02, 2022 3:59 pm Can Arsenal take points off City? Kai! This team sef!
Nna, na wa for City. The EPL should make City play minus one or even two players, that's how good they are. In all the talk about their forwards and midfielders, we forget about the defenders. Today--and in the last game he played for Switzerland--Akanji looked like the second coming of Virgil van Dijk. The van Dijk of two seasons ago, that is. Bobo is calm and collected on the ball, and plays like he is playing against small pikins. Has he always been like this, or is this the influence of Pep? Pep claims to know how to make defenders better.
Pep has undoubtedly influenced Akanji's sense of positioning and confidence on the ball. But back to how to beat City. Arsenal came close last season but for a disallowed(wrongfully IMO) goal and a sending off.

The playbook to beat City is a very difficult one. Carefully co-ordinated pressing(requiring very fit and very well drilled players) to put them off their rhythm, skillful passers to pick out runners on the wings or deliver perfect through balls, and quality finishers to put the ball away (like what Vieira's team did to them last season). A lot of "ands" :scared: :scared: :scared: because if you slip up on any of those, City will punish you IMMEDIATELY, not 10 minutes later, not 5 minutes later, not even 2 minutes later o!, but IMMMEDIATELY!

Ten Hag definitely missed the trick somewhere.
He must have assumed the same line up and tactics that worked against Liverpool and Arsenal would be fine vs City.

As some have mentioned, teams like Newcastle, Palace have given City some headaches this season, their managers did their homework.
City vs Arsenal will be an interesting game.
And before that City faces Liverpool, that should be good to watch for neutrals

Scipio Africanus wrote: Sun Oct 02, 2022 10:35 pm
Pep has undoubtedly influenced Akanji's sense of positioning and confidence on the ball. But back to how to beat City. Arsenal came close last season but for a disallowed(wrongfully IMO) goal and a sending off.

The playbook to beat City is a very difficult one. Carefully co-ordinated pressing(requiring very fit and very well drilled players) to put them off their rhythm, skillful passers to pick out runners on the wings or deliver perfect through balls, and quality finishers to put the ball away (like what Vieira's team did to them last season). A lot of "ands" :scared: :scared: :scared: because if you slip up on any of those, City will punish you IMMEDIATELY, not 10 minutes later, not 5 minutes later, not even 2 minutes later o!, but IMMMEDIATELY!
Very good analysis, Skip nwokem. True-true, if you miss any "and", that team go punish you well-well. :lol:

As I was saying…

Smalling scored the winning goal for Roma as they beat Italian champions Inter Milan 2-1 - AWAY. If he was not 32, Smalling would probably be in with a shout of making England’s World Cup squad.

Smalling has a knack of scoring important goals. I recall that he also scored the winning goal in the Manchester Derby a few years ago after Man Utd came from 0-2 down at HT against Man City to win 3-2.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.espn.c ... form%3Damp
wiseone wrote: Tue Sep 20, 2022 12:06 am Just watched ex Man Utd defender Chris “Mike” Smalling put in a shift for Roma. He looked solid and steady. Not Baresi, but looks like a defender of 🔝 6 club ability.

Then I thought: why did Man Utd sell him, keep Jones and Lindelof, and pay 80 million for Maguire? None of Jones, Lindelof, and Maguire is a better player than Smalling. The fact that Man Utd paid over 110 million for Lindelof and Maguire (none of whom is better than a solid but not outstanding Smalling) is an indictment of the club’s recruitment.
Last edited by wiseone on Mon Oct 03, 2022 6:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

As I was saying, Smalling was playing for Mourinho. Remember Mourinho was the problem with United. Once he was sacked the treble was guaranteed. He was the one holding the team back.
wiseone wrote: Mon Oct 03, 2022 2:41 am As I was saying…

Smalling scored the winning goal for Roma as they beat Italian champions Inter Milan 2-1 - AWAY. If he was not 32, Smalling would probably be in with a shout of making England’s World Cup squad.

Smalling has a knack of scoring important goals. I recall that he also scored the winning goal in the Manchester Derby a few years ago after Man Utd came from 0-2 down against Man City to win 3-2.

wiseone wrote: Tue Sep 20, 2022 12:06 am Just watched ex Man Utd defender Chris “Mike” Smalling put in a shift for Roma. He looked solid and steady. Not Baresi, but looks like a defender of 🔝 6 club ability.

Then I thought: why did Man Utd sell him, keep Jones and Lindelof, and pay 80 million for Maguire? None of Jones, Lindelof, and Maguire is a better player than Smalling. The fact that Man Utd paid over 110 million for Lindelof and Maguire (none of whom is better than a solid but not outstanding Smalling) is an indictment of the club’s recruitment.

wiseone wrote: Sun Oct 02, 2022 9:38 pm The sight of Haaland positioning himself against Martinez and Malacia (he is 9 inches taller than both of them), and Eriksen trying to “mark” him at a corner (while giving away 6 inches in height); was laughable.

When Varane was off injured, Man Utd had only one outfield player above 6 feet tall - while defending a corner - against Haaland. 🤦🏽 Yet for some reason, Man Utd did not think it was a good idea to get their only 6 footer to mark Haaland. Playground stuff.

I hope ETH’s stubborn refusal to acknowledge that size matters in the EPL will not cost him his job.

You should watch Martinez vs Haaland in Dortmund v Ajax.

Football is not simplistic. Having a 8ft CB doesnt mean that you wont conceed corners. Ajax had two short CBs and they pocketed Haaland and kept a clean sheet. How many headers did City score yesterday?

Uncle, the Akanji praise is laughable. I saw him at Dortmund and he was okay -- not great. I have seen him at City and he is better than the horrid Ake, but still not great.

We all saw how shaky their defense looked once Pep started taking out the starting forward players who keep possession of the ball and deprive the opponents space to put pressure on their defense.

Laporte is back soon and I expect him to partner Dias. Akanji and Stones as back ups and the sh11t Ake as 5th choice.

:lol: :lol: :lol: No he hasnt. You guys are just making stuff up now. Akanji is under less pressure simply because City keeps the ball more than Dortmund.

:taunt: :taunt:
wanaj0 wrote: Mon Oct 03, 2022 2:24 pm As I was saying, Smalling was playing for Mourinho. Remember Mourinho was the problem with United. Once he was sacked the treble was guaranteed. He was the one holding the team back.
wiseone wrote: Mon Oct 03, 2022 2:41 am As I was saying…

Smalling has a knack of scoring important goals. I recall that he also scored the winning goal in the Manchester Derby a few years ago after Man Utd came from 0-2 down against Man City to win 3-2.

danfo driver wrote: Mon Oct 03, 2022 2:44 pm
Uncle, the Akanji praise is laughable. I saw him at Dortmund and he was okay -- not great. I have seen him at City and he is better than the horrid Ake, but still not great.

We all saw how shaky their defense looked once Pep started taking out the starting forward players who keep possession of the ball and deprive the opponents space to put pressure on their defense.

Laporte is back soon and I expect him to partner Dias. Akanji and Stones as back ups and the sh11t Ake as 5th choice.
Well, Chief, maybe you are right. I don't pretend to be an expert on footie. But your opinion is in the minority (not that minority opinion is wrong). Twtter is blowing up over Akanji, and the commentators on the EPL Channel were effusively singing his praises. But we are only four games in. He may revert to the form you have seen at Dortmund in the coming games. I have to agree that except for the last game I was never impressed with his performances for the Swiss national team.

Not sure why Akanji is getting so much praise after leaking 3 goals against an outclassed opponent - while playing for the best team in the world.

wiseone wrote: Mon Oct 03, 2022 6:28 pm Not sure why Akanji is getting so much praise after leaking 3 goals against an outclassed opponent - while playing for the best team in the world.
Did you watch the game at all?

danfo driver wrote: Mon Oct 03, 2022 2:45 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: No he hasnt. You guys are just making stuff up now. Akanji is under less pressure simply because City keeps the ball more than Dortmund.
Of course Pep has influenced Akanji's play. You won't play on Pep's team if he doesn't see you taking his tips on board. Next you'll be telling me Pep hasn't influenced Haaland's play :laugh: