Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

Re: Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

Mr. Piffington wrote: Sat Jul 16, 2022 5:43 pm Embarrassing for everyone involved. Man United just need to move on to other targets, it's clear the young man doesn't want to join them.

Don't be fooled. Frankie Goes to Hollywood wants the transfer.
You don't send two directors to negotiate if a player does not want you.
Besides he's a Dutchie like Ten Haag...

Frankie just wants his money from Barca first; as he should.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
chopachop

Post by chopachop »

txj wrote: Sun Jul 17, 2022 7:47 pm
Mr. Piffington wrote: Sat Jul 16, 2022 5:43 pm Embarrassing for everyone involved. Man United just need to move on to other targets, it's clear the young man doesn't want to join them.

Don't be fooled. Frankie Goes to Hollywood wants the transfer.
You don't send two directors to negotiate if a player does not want you.
Besides he's a Dutchie like Ten Haag...

Frankie just wants his money from Barca first; as he should.
it is unacceptable that barca is dragging their feet to pay the money.
it is not like they are going to look for the money from somewhere,
why can't they just cut it from the sizeable sum of money they will be
paid for selling the very player money is owed to. It gives the club a very bad image
and should be deplored by the socios.

Lisandro Martinez: Man Utd agree to sign Argentina centre-back from Ajax in £57m deal
Manchester United have agreed to sign Argentina central defender Lisandro Martinez from Ajax in a deal worth up to 67m euros (£57m).

The 24-year-old is expected to sign a five-year contract with the option of a further year.

The move, for an initial £49m, is subject to a medical, personal terms being finalised and a UK visa.

The deal includes £8.5m in add-ons and £2.2m in solidarity payments to Martinez's former clubs.
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/62170735

:shock:
chopachop

Post by chopachop »

Argie defender for 67M euros, when there far better defenders out there for even 0ne quarter that
amount. looks like is desperate to sign players even at any cost or they are awash with money or negotiating
is something they are not good at.

chopachop wrote: Sun Jul 17, 2022 11:04 pm Argie defender for 67M euros, when there far better defenders out there for even 0ne quarter that
amount. looks like is desperate to sign players even at any cost or they are awash with money or negotiating
have you watched him? And can you name the better defenders? Thanks!

60M for the butcher..kai that is a lot..however he is a very good player

chopachop

Post by chopachop »

danfo driver wrote: Sun Jul 17, 2022 11:06 pm
chopachop wrote: Sun Jul 17, 2022 11:04 pm Argie defender for 67M euros, when there far better defenders out there for even 0ne quarter that
Yes, I have watched him.
I don't think he is worth that amount. I won't waste my precious time naming
players that are not playing in the EPL.

Signing a slow 5’9 tall defender in the most physical league in the world is not a good idea (especially when 6’4 Pau Torres is available). Man Utd’s new transfer strategy seems to be to sign players who used to play for ETH.

wiseone wrote: Mon Jul 18, 2022 10:29 am Signing a slow 5’9 tall defender in the most physical league in the world is not a good idea (especially when 6’4 Pau Torres is available). Man Utd’s new transfer strategy seems to be to sign players who used to play for ETH.
The coach knows the 5’9 defender and in an impatient club like Man Utd, Management and fans may not give him enough time to get the Torres of the world to buy into his system. Coaching is not always plug and play.

Besides, those Spanish players are usually homesick.

chopachop wrote: Mon Jul 18, 2022 6:14 am
danfo driver wrote: Sun Jul 17, 2022 11:06 pm
Yes, I have watched him.
I don't think he is worth that amount. I won't waste my precious time naming
players that are not playing in the EPL.
Okay, I have never really watched him. Since you say you have, I'll defer to you.

dem dey look good oo, see the 2nd goal

I hope we play like that when the season starts. It looks like Erik likes Martial, other managers did not play him much.

Winning trophies is a different ball game, but this manager is clearly on the right track. I can't wait for his first taste of the typical Man United crisis and meltdown sometime around October/November. How well he navigates that period will go a long way in defining his 'reign' at Old Trafford.

All the signs are looking good. This is not just a 'technical' person, he is detailed, and he is very involved in training and during matches. Teams tend to evolve into the manager's mindset and seems United finally got their own revolutionary manager after Sir Alex in the mold of the younger LVG, the Guardiolas, the Klopps etc. Goodluck with any player going behind his back to talk to the management. They will have to choose between that player and Ten Hag, and good luck with that even if you are a Cristiano Ronaldo though Ronaldo is way above such pettiness as a thorough professional.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/thebusbyba ... t-want-him

Ronaldo has backed himself into a corner. He is willing to take a pay cut to join a CL club but none of them wants him because no CL club wants to build its squad around a legendary but ageing 38yo forward on enormous wages who will stretch their budget to breaking point (even if he takes a pay cut).

As I said before: he should return to Sporting Lisbon. He could play CL football there, compete for the Portuguese title, score loads of goals, and be adored at the club where his story started.

wiseone wrote: Thu Jul 21, 2022 7:43 pm https://www.google.com/amp/s/thebusbyba ... t-want-him

Ronaldo has backed himself into a corner. He is willing to take a pay cut to join a CL club but none of them wants him because no CL club wants to build its squad around a legendary but ageing 38yo forward on enormous wages who will stretch their budget to breaking point (even if he takes a pay cut).

As I said before: he should return to Sporting Lisbon. He could play CL football there, compete for the Portuguese title, score loads of goals, and be adored at the club where his story started.

No surprises there lad.
Am sure all those managers at the elite CL clubs have looked at CR7 and Messi last season and all thought naah, we don't want a piece of that, all the elite clubs have their forwards pressing and running non stop for 90mins every week, its no longer about goals only.

One more season at United mostly on the bench and starting the odd cup cames, or it's To MLS.

The Messi vs CR7 era is over, maybe Messi still has some life left in him, but its done

Benteke, alternate scenario: what if Rashford, Sancho, and Martial keep on scoring in pre-season such that it becomes impossible for ETH to drop them when the season starts? If Ronaldo cannot find a new club he may not be able to get into the Man Utd first 11 because he did not do pre-season training and will not be match fit when the season starts.

Can you imagine Ronaldo sitting on the bench while Rashford, Sancho, Martial and Elanga play ahead of him?...
Last edited by wiseone on Fri Jul 22, 2022 11:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

wiseone wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 12:38 am Benteke, lternate scenario: what if Rashford, Sancho, and Martial keep on scoring in pre-season such that it becomes impossible for ETH to drop them when the season starts? If Ronaldo cannot find a new club he may not be able to get into the Man Utd first 11 because he did not do pre-season training and will not be match fit when the season starts.

Can you imagine Ronaldo sitting on the bench while Rashford, Sancho, Martial and Elanga play ahead of him?...
If there is no big development/announcement on a CR7 transfer until the season starts, then i can imagine that situation you describe above happening game upon game, and the English media having a field day every Monday with front pages of Ronaldo sulking on the bench or stands. :biggrin:

It is highly possible because let's be honest, which manager would ignore the way those boys are building up a chemistry in pre season and looking lively in front of goal.

But then again, football is football, when the proper season starts, the dynamics can change, and surprise surprise we could find Ten Hag calling on Ronaldo to rescue some sticky situations.
It would be a surprise and a worry as well if once again United ends up having to rely on CR7 for goals.

Anyway if CR7 is still at Old Trafford when the season starts, it may be a headache for Ten Hag

benteke wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 1:47 am
wiseone wrote: Fri Jul 22, 2022 12:38 am Benteke, lternate scenario: what if Rashford, Sancho, and Martial keep on scoring in pre-season such that it becomes impossible for ETH to drop them when the season starts? If Ronaldo cannot find a new club he may not be able to get into the Man Utd first 11 because he did not do pre-season training and will not be match fit when the season starts.

If there is no big development/announcement on a CR7 transfer until the season starts, then i can imagine that situation you describe above happening game upon game, and the English media having a field day every Monday with front pages of Ronaldo sulking on the bench or stands. :biggrin:

It is highly possible because let's be honest, which manager would ignore the way those boys are building up a chemistry in pre season and looking lively in front of goal.

But then again, football is football, when the proper season starts, the dynamics can change, and surprise surprise we could find Ten Hag calling on Ronaldo to rescue some sticky situations.
It would be a surprise and a worry as well if once again United ends up having to rely on CR7 for goals.

Anyway if CR7 is still at Old Trafford when the season starts, it may be a headache for Ten Hag
The only good thing for Manu is that you guys have a top class manager that i rate over Pep.
But those guys with airhead decision will be tested when season start and Ronaldo if he stay will be an important player for your team when the big moment comes.If Manu board knows what to do allow ETH to uysed this season to understand EPL,the next season he will be wining lague easy.
Dude is a dam good coach i pray he f ailed just for beloved sake ,Arsenal is the right club for him with less pressure.

He is back.
A big meeting with Ten Hag, there may be a big announcement

United should do everything within their power to make sure Ronaldo leaves and never comes back.

danfo driver wrote: Tue Jul 26, 2022 11:14 pm United should do everything within their power to make sure Ronaldo leaves and never comes back.
But there is a big problem.
No CL club seems to want our Ronaldo

Unless theres a surprise shock announcement this week, then Ronaldo is staying at Old Trafford this season.

I say get rid. His absence will free up 25 million from the wage bill which the club can use to finance 3-4 other players' salaries.

Manchester United want De Jong, Barcelona have told De Jong they need him gone, De Jong wants to stay in Barcelona, and Manchester United still waiting for De Jong to change his mind.

Ronaldo wants to leave Manchester United, no club has expressed interest in Ronaldo, Manchester United don't want Ronaldo to leave.
Tic toc tic toc.......