Page 1 of 3

Morocco 1 - 0 Namibia (FT)

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 3:45 pm
by aruako1
Very confident start by the Atlas Lions.

Re: Morocco 0 - 0 Namibia (1st Half)

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 3:59 pm
by aruako1
Loads of pretty football but Namibia is not under tremendous pressure. The smaller teams have been better organised defensively in this AFCON.

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 4:08 pm
by vancity eagle
Morocco is the Arsenal of African football.

over elaborate, pretty build up with little end product.

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 4:22 pm
by aruako1
vancity eagle wrote:Morocco is the Arsenal of African football.

It is a myth that Arsenal has little end product. They are always up there amongst the attacking teams in the EPL. Arsenal's issues have mostly been defensive.

Back to the topic...Morocco need to be more direct

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 4:24 pm
vancity eagle wrote:Morocco is the Arsenal of African football.

I thought they were your fav to win it all just like they were supposed to beat Spain and Portugal

Re: Morocco 0 - 0 Namibia (2H)

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 4:53 pm
by oloye
How come all the keeper's I have seen so far in this tournament look so much more assured than our own keeper? Even the Namibian keeper has shown better ball handling and composure

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 4:58 pm
by Tobi17
oloye wrote:How come all the keeper's I have seen so far in this tournament look so much more assured than our own keeper? Even the Namibian keeper has shown better ball handling and composure
Duhh cause it's Akpeyi we've got, even my 90 year old granny will look more assured than that clown.

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:00 pm
oloye wrote:How come all the keeper's I have seen so far in this tournament look so much more assured than our own keeper? Even the Namibian keeper has shown better ball handling and composure
Duhh cause it's Akpeyi we've got, even my 90 year old granny will look more assured than that clown.
He’s also one of the few yet to concede.Can your granny do that?

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:01 pm
by YUJAM
The Namibian left footer is impressive. Shitembi. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Petrus_Shitembi

Morocco is being given a fight in this one.

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:06 pm
by oloye
Nna that small man Namibia brought in does not look like a footballer to me

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:09 pm
by charlie
Namibia proving there are no small teams in African football anymore.

Personally, I have been very impressed with the tactical awareness and technical abilities of African footballers. We have come a long way. Now if only our local and continental leagues could catch up to the skill levels.

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:11 pm
by oloye
charlie wrote:Namibia proving there are no small teams in African football anymore.

Personally, I have been very impressed with the tactical awareness and technical abilities of African footballers. We have come a long way. Now if only our local and continental leagues could catch up to the skill levels.
They have looked a well disciplined side, I think that has helped them greatly inspire of their limitations. Watching them I can understand how they qualified.

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:12 pm
Our game v Burundi starting to look better and better.

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:14 pm
by Kabalega
He’s also one of the few yet to concede.Can your granny do that?
A former Ugandan goalie worked with Akpeyi in S.A, while Rohr was sending his boys to train Uzoho in Spain before the World Cup.

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:15 pm
by charlie
charlie wrote:Namibia proving there are no small teams in African football anymore.

They have looked a well disciplined side, I think that has helped them greatly inspire of their limitations. Watching them I can understand how they qualified.

One other thing to add. The officiating has been outstanding in all the games we have seen so far.
And all this without VAR. I have not seen one missed call, not to talk of controversy.

International competitions need more African refs.

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:17 pm
by oloye
That small Namibian is balling, he is fighting for everything, now I believe you never judge a book by its cover. Bobo is covering every inch of grass in his area of operation

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:18 pm
by oloye
charlie wrote:

One other thing to add. The officiating has been outstanding in all the games we have seen so far.
And all this without VAR. I have not seen one missed call, not to talk of controversy.

Proving that refs can be competent if the right ones are selected.

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:19 pm
by aruako1
Goal. Morocco score!

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:19 pm
by charlie
charlie wrote:

Proving that refs can be competent if the right ones are selected.
And they dont have an inherent bias against people of color or lesser nations.

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:20 pm
by oloye
Jesus what an own goal

by Kabalega
oloye wrote:Nna that small man Namibia brought in does not look like a footballer to me
:shock: :shock:
In Central Africa, the smallest man is the last man you want to mess with....
The shorter they are, the higher they jump, the faster they run and use all manner of tricks to get their advantage.

The physical size advantage prevalent in W. Africa is, for the most part, a myth propagated by racist Europeans.

by charlie
Nice free kick! Disaster for Namibia.
Valiant effort, but terrible own goal....

Re: Morocco 1 - 0 Namibia (2H)

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:21 pm
by maceo4
Lucky team lol