National Anthems

Kai, Zimbabwe and Ugandas, 1000 times better than :lol: Nigeria's
Re: National Anthems

ANC wrote:Kai, Zimbabwe and Ugandas, 1000 times better than :lol: Nigeria's
emancipate yourself from low-self esteem! Tufiakwa :lol:

Senator WIRES wrote:

ok

ANC wrote:
Senator WIRES wrote:

ok
you are clueless; national anthems are not commercial music. each has unique character ingrained to the nations. you dont compare them

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Nothing in the world touches the South African national anthem, my undisputed favorite.
Then the Nigerian and the German.

All the rest are 'just there'.

Damunk wrote:Nothing in the world touches the South African national anthem, my undisputed favorite.

Russia is up there too and the Old Soviet Union Anthem.

Damunk wrote:Nothing in the world touches the South African national anthem, my undisputed favorite.

If so then you probably like Tanzania, Zambia, & Zimbabwe because all used - God Bless Africa composed in 1897 by South African Poet Enock Sontongs

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

If so then you probably like Tanzania, Zambia, & Zimbabwe because all used - God Bless Africa composed in 1897 by South African Poet Enock Sontongs
Ishe komborera Africa. TV used used to start and close with this anthem when I was a kid

Zim anthem 1980 to 1994 :thumbs:
Last edited by Comrade Machel on Sat Jun 29, 2019 3:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

For real? I knew there was another country that shared the Nkosi sikelel' Afrika tune but didnt know which.

Zambia

:clap:

Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

In Zimbabwe's case we have now abandoned Ishe Kombererai Africa(Nkosi Sikelele Afica). We now have another anthem which is boring as hell. Our current national anthem does not do anything for me.
Last edited by Chimurenga Rebel on Sat Jun 29, 2019 3:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube

Chimurenga Rebel wrote:

In Zimbabwe's case we have now abounded Ishe Kombererai Africa(Nkosi Sikelele Afica). We now have another anthem which is boring as hell. Our current national anthem does not do anything for me.
I don't even know the words to the current one :curse:

Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

Samora Machel wrote:
Chimurenga Rebel wrote:

In Zimbabwe's case we have now abounded Ishe Kombererai Africa(Nkosi Sikelele Afica). We now have another anthem which is boring as hell. Our current national anthem does not do anything for me.
We should have stuck with Ishe Komborera Africa. It is a truly inspiring Nation's anthem.
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube

There’s no hard and fast rule for me. Some sound great (like South Africa - I love theirs) but others can only be appreciated by watching the players sing it with gusto like Chile and Italy (I can picture Buffon’s face as I type. :lol: )

My favorite is Nigeria, I'm not a traitor like you guys.

Some anthems are written with blood. Some songs, of hope. Some, remembrance and some, a call to duty.

To the uninitiated, it's just music but to those it belongs, it's life, passion and much more.

Chimurenga Rebel wrote:
Samora Machel wrote:
Chimurenga Rebel wrote:

We should have stuck with Ishe Komborera Africa. It is a truly inspiring Nation's anthem.
Yeah Ishe komborera Africa made one feel Zimbabwean/southern African

Same as Nkosi Sikelele was created by one man and adopted by other countries, flags of Namibia and South Africa were designed by one person Frederick Bownell. :thumbs: Maybe we should just become one big country

I know Chimurenga will not like that idea :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

The South African anthem is definitely the best for me... It's got that natural African appeal deep from the roots itself, and very emotional as well.
Baii

Post by Baii »

Go and check out the Jamaican National anthem
“A fanatic is one who entrenches himself in invincible ignorance.”

― OSWALD CHAMBERS, Baffled to Fight Better

Biafran is the Best

Tobi17 wrote:The South African anthem is definitely the best for me... It's got that natural African appeal deep from the roots itself, and very emotional as well.
I get goosebumps just hearing it and I'm not remotely South/southern African.

jette1 wrote:Biafran is the Best
I'd like to hear it.
Sincerely.

I've always believed that musically the Igbos are the South Africans of Nigeria.
Their deep, multiple harmonies are a joy to listen to, just like the South Africans'.

I first became aware of this as a chorister in sec school when our choirmaster, Mr Amaechi, introduced us to Igbo hymns and folk songs and the amazing music of Harcourt Whyte whose collection I now have and treasure.

Then later I fell in love with Enugu Rangers and their fans' terrace football songs, again with layered harmonies ("Oli, oli, oli, oli... oli, oli, Enugu Rangers, Another Champion!") and many more. :dream:

Yorubas are more into their polyrhythms and there's less emphasis on harmonies.

If you've got the Biafran anthem, please share. :thumb: