Zlatan: MLS IS A RETIREMENT LEAGUE

Re: Zlatan: MLS IS A RETIREMENT LEAGUE

green4life wrote:Anyone who understands the American culture knows that it’s built on the concept of going against the grain in continual pursuit of excellence. Therefore, there will always be tweaking, testing and improving. To attract serious investment needed to rapidly grow and develop professional soccer, the idea of promotion/ relegation - alien to the very successful American professional sport landscape - was going to be a big hindrance. Notwithstanding, I expect continued steady progress from the MLS. Rome wasn’t built in a day.

In 10-15yrs, at current growth trajectory, the MLS will be the top league in the Americas. Given the resources already in it and planned, it will become a major destination for S. American players and coaches.

Meanwhile, for those Nigerians twerking about Zlatan's comments, where will the Nigerian league be in 10-15yrs?
Almiron, Martinez and now Brian Rodriguez are all players who years ago would have been signed by Boca, River, one of the Brazilian teams or would have even moved straight to Europe but now MLS teams are picking them up.
Precisely...and its just the beginning. Likely there'll be a merger in the long term with Liga MX, and it will transition from a stepping stone to Europe to a final destination, esp for players from the lesser SA countries.

Today you have an MLS coach moving straight to coach a European CL team in Jesse Marsh, and you can see the quality of coaches/coaching growing, albeit slowly.

Tyler Adams who's txfer is being used to ridicule the MLS, has moved from the league straight to starting spot in a Bundesliga team! The last time a Nigerian player did this was George Finidi in the 1990s!

And while these same ignorant Nigerians are ridiculing the MLS, where is the Nigerian league?

Pitches are poor, organization is corrupt, players are unpaid, nutrition is non existent, coaching is sub standard, clubs are appendages of governors....

But hey, as long as Ibra is thrashing the league we are good! :oops:

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

mcal wrote:...so if MLS is a fiat, why are those European Ferraris coming to play against fiats for their pre-seasons.
Yeah, i understand it's only a scrimmage, but lowering your standard :???: :???:
They're coming to America not the MLS.
...time for them to go see tourism in Nigeria :lol:
As long as you guys keep doing mugu and paying tens of millions for 2 weeks of friendlies, they will continue to come. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Bell wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:To be honest the league is poor...it isn't competitive. The playoffs...no relegation or promotion....

THAT'S WHAT'S GREAT ABOUT IT

Relegation/promotion is a relic. American leagues have thrived without it. It works for the European leagues but I bet if they were starting all over, they wouldn't have it either. Meanwhile, Zlatan should be ready for a drubbing when they meet.
You know, people always say that when you attack your opponent or speak down in your opponent, it is a motivation for your opponent.

I always found this interesting. In psychology, this is not always the case. Many times, more often than not, when you boast, attack your opponent, speak down on your opponent, you put pressure on your opponent. You make your opponent second-guess his/her ability, you create a situation where your opponent now has to concentrate on multiple things. You include emotion into your opponent's decision-making. The likes of Muhammad Ali, Mourinho, Ferguson and Zlatan have done this for years!

Dont let Rohr deceive you people. Being a coward doesnt mean your opponent will take it easy on you. Look at how Algeria humiliated us. Being bigger than life is usually more effective. Sometimes, it may motivate your opponent, but most times will break your opponent before the game starts!
Uncle Bell,

Did you see what he did?? He spat in the face of his opponent --Carlos Vela and his team! Put pressure on them! And what happened? he scored a hattrick against them!

Thats what happens when you understand the psychology of putting pressure on your opponent! Dont be scared to talk down on your opponent or insult your opponent! Rather than fear that your opponent will be motivated, more often than not, your opponent is being psychological dismantled before the game even begins.

kolinzo wrote:MLS is a top five league in the world. EPL, La Liga, German league are ahead of MLS. Everybody else is on the same level as MLS. Didn't Okocha retire at EPL after he had gone to the middle east? Didn't Defoe retire in the EPL after coming to the MLS and couldn't hack it and ran back to the EPL? Excuse me!!
kai see pothead o. top 5 what? Retirement center? olodo-rabata-ism in 2019 no good o :rotf:

100%Naija wrote:
kolinzo wrote:MLS is a top five league in the world. EPL, La Liga, German league are ahead of MLS. Everybody else is on the same level as MLS. Didn't Okocha retire at EPL after he had gone to the middle east? Didn't Defoe retire in the EPL after coming to the MLS and couldn't hack it and ran back to the EPL? Excuse me!!
kai see pothead o. top 5 what? Retirement center? olodo-rabata-ism in 2019 no good o :rotf:
complete onuku :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

100%Naija wrote:
complete onuku :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Oh look! The two abattoir veterans.