Liverpool FC - News, Developments and All Seasons

Re: Liverpool - Football Thread

And this is the person that some "geniuses" dared to mention in the same sentence as pep guardiola. :rotf:

When a man's teeth is rotten and the next day, he immediately shows up with white teeth, then you know that man cannot be trusted! Waiting for this hypocrite to resign! :oops: #ONEtitleIn8Years

Liverpool agree fee for Darwin Nunez with striker set for medical on Monday
By James Pearce

June 12, 2022Updated 8:23 AM EDT

Liverpool agree fee for Darwin Nunez with striker set for medical on Monday.
Liverpool have agreed a fee for Benfica’s Darwin Nunez understood to be worth €75 million (£64.1 million), with a further €25 million (£21.4 million) in potential add-ons.

Nunez, 22, is set to sign a six-year deal with Liverpool and will undergo a medical on Monday.

Liverpool sporting director Julian Ward has spent the weekend in Lisbon negotiating with Benfica president Rui Costa.

Nunez, meanwhile, has been on international duty with Uruguay but was left out of their squad for a friendly against Panama on Saturday and flew to Madrid where he has been waiting for the finer details of the deal to be ironed out.

The Athletic reported on Thursday that Liverpool had agreed personal terms with Nunez over a potential move to Anfield, but at that stage nothing had been signed.

It’s understood that the structure of the fee had been the main detail in need of resolution.

Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp is a big admirer of Nunez as the club target a replacement for Sadio Mane, who is expected to join Bayern Munich.

https://theathletic.com/news/darwin-nun ... TBPs45r34/

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Full backs for some. Forwards for others.

txj wrote: Sun Jun 12, 2022 6:27 pm Liverpool agree fee for Darwin Nunez with striker set for medical on Monday
By James Pearce

Liverpool have agreed a fee for Benfica’s Darwin Nunez understood to be worth €75 million (£64.1 million), with a further €25 million (£21.4 million) in potential add-ons.

Nunez, 22, is set to sign a six-year deal with Liverpool and will undergo a medical on Monday.

Liverpool sporting director Julian Ward has spent the weekend in Lisbon negotiating with Benfica president Rui Costa.

Nunez, meanwhile, has been on international duty with Uruguay but was left out of their squad for a friendly against Panama on Saturday and flew to Madrid where he has been waiting for the finer details of the deal to be ironed out.

The Athletic reported on Thursday that Liverpool had agreed personal terms with Nunez over a potential move to Anfield, but at that stage nothing had been signed.

It’s understood that the structure of the fee had been the main detail in need of resolution.

Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp is a big admirer of Nunez as the club target a replacement for Sadio Mane, who is expected to join Bayern Munich.

Like we discussed, it'll be interesting to see how Liverpool line up and attack next season with this purchase. Next up, the midfield...

The YeyeMan wrote: Sun Jun 12, 2022 7:35 pm
txj wrote: Sun Jun 12, 2022 6:27 pm Liverpool agree fee for Darwin Nunez with striker set for medical on Monday
By James Pearce

Like we discussed, it'll be interesting to see how Liverpool line up and attack next season with this purchase. Next up, the midfield...

The team obviously made a choice between Salah and Mane. As I had mentioned to you, thru the season, I got the distinct impression that Mane's cycle at LFC was at an end and he needed to find new grounds and challenges to continue to grow.

I think that the early games of last season involving Elliot might provide some clues to how the attack will evolve next season, including Nunez.

The young Carvalho is a real interesting one. I understand he starts out in the forward line and then works backwards to a role in the MF 3.

Sad they missed out on Tchoumeni. In Spain, ironically their is commentary that the projected new Madrid MF trio is more physical than technical.

The real value of Aurelien from an LFC perspective was that his range cut across a #6 and 8. Perhaps they can persuade BVB to sanction two major departures in one window or go a different direction all together.

Should be interesting...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Alategun

Post by Alategun »

Firmino and Salah will be allowed to run down their contracts. Salah could still sign an extension. If Firmino can stay healthy, will remain a really valuable piece still. Of course still need midfield cover. Thiago and Keita are still bugged by injuries and Henderson is getting older. Jury still out on the young ones. Are they ready for prime time? We shall see.

Alategun wrote: Sun Jun 12, 2022 9:18 pm Firmino and Salah will be allowed to run down their contracts. Salah could still sign an extension. If Firmino can stay healthy, will remain a really valuable piece still. Of course still need midfield cover. Thiago and Keita are still bugged by injuries and Henderson is getting older. Jury still out on the young ones. Are they ready for prime time? We shall see.

From Klopp's comments following the CL final and the interest in Aurelien, there's an understanding of the need for MF help.

My concern is whether they retain the same interest in MF; or whether they attempt to grow organically with the young players- Jones, Carvalho, Elliot, following the investment in Nunez.

now spent 800 million and still won only 1 EPL title in 8 years. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
kbt

Post by kbt »

danfo driver wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 1:52 pm now spent 800 million and still won only 1 EPL title in 8 years. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Where do you get 800 million from?

kbt wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 3:11 pm
danfo driver wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 1:52 pm now spent 800 million and still won only 1 EPL title in 8 years. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Where do you get 800 million from?
Uhmm... from Liverpool's account. I wonder how much more will be spent this summer to give this checkbook manager the chance to win the Carabao cup and FA cup again. :oops:

What happened to the vaunted youth players? Aside from Trent, who else is home grown?

Cristao II wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 5:53 pm What happened to the vaunted youth players? Aside from Trent, who else is home grown?
Their time will come. For now, the club needs to spend 100 million for per player. You need money to win carabao cup
kbt

Post by kbt »

Liverpool have agreed to sell Sadio Mane to Bayern Munich for a deal worth up to £35m.

https://www.skysports.com/football/news ... ern-munich

Thanks for all the memories and great goals, Sadio. Wishing you all the best (except if we play Bayern in the Champions League) :D

Cristao II wrote: Mon Jun 13, 2022 5:53 pm What happened to the vaunted youth players? Aside from Trent, who else is home grown?

Harvey Elliott
Curtis Jones
Caoimhin Kelleher
Neco Williams

kbt wrote: Fri Jun 17, 2022 6:53 pm Liverpool have agreed to sell Sadio Mane to Bayern Munich for a deal worth up to £35m.

Thanks for all the memories and great goals, Sadio. Wishing you all the best (except if we play Bayern in the Champions League) :D
There is a feeling and murmur out there that Sadio Mané was not given the respect he deserves at Liverpool, and that is what triggered his desire to explore new challenges elsewhere.

Sadio was still on around 100k and for one of the senior and most important players at Liverpool he must have felt shortchanged, and now that he just wanted to negotiate for a new higher paying contract he has been let go.

Balance us on these Liverpool fans
chopachop

Post by chopachop »

Mane was tired playing second fiddle to Salah and I am happy for him leaving.

Pool head no dey house ..sold Sane ..chei...oh Chelsea for come carry my main man Mane come Stamford bridge ooo

benteke wrote: Sun Jun 19, 2022 4:03 am
kbt wrote: Fri Jun 17, 2022 6:53 pm Liverpool have agreed to sell Sadio Mane to Bayern Munich for a deal worth up to £35m.

There is a feeling and murmur out there that Sadio Mané was not given the respect he deserves at Liverpool, and that is what triggered his desire to explore new challenges elsewhere.

Sadio was still on around 100k and for one of the senior and most important players at Liverpool he must have felt shortchanged, and now that he just wanted to negotiate for a new higher paying contract he has been let go.

Balance us on these Liverpool fans

A LFC legend completes his cycle and moves on to fresh challenges.
He's happy
Bayern are happy
LFC continues its natural refresh and progression...

Jurgen Klopp’s emotional tribute to Sadio Mane – “He made it all possible”
June 22, 2022
Jack Lusby

Jurgen Klopp admits “our loss is Bayern’s gain” after Sadio Mane completed his £35.1 million exit, lauding him as “one of Liverpool’s greatest ever players.”

“It’s a big moment. There is no point in anyone trying to pretend otherwise,” Klopp begins.

“One of Liverpool’s greatest ever players is leaving and we must acknowledge how significant this is.”

Mane has signed a three-year contract with Bundesliga champions Bayern Munich, leaving Anfield after six successful years.

Arriving from Southampton in 2016, there were doubts among some sections of the support that the £30 million fee would be value for money, but Mane defied expectations to become one of the best players in the world.

He was the catalyst for Liverpool’s revival under Klopp, and it is no surprise, then, the emotion with which the manager paid tribute to his long-serving No. 10.

“He leaves with our gratitude and our love,” he told the club’s official website.

“He leaves with his status among the greats guaranteed. And, yes, he leaves in a moment where he is one of the best players in world football.

“But we must not dwell on what we now lose, instead celebrate what we were privileged to have.

“The goals he scored, the trophies he won; a legend, for sure, but also a modern-day Liverpool icon.”

Klopp is right to not focus on the impact of Mane’s exit – particularly as, in Luis Diaz and Darwin Nunez, the club have already brought in elite replacements – but his words on the Senegalese’s impact are profound.

“Since he first stepped through the door, he made us better,” he added.

“If someone had told us in that moment what he would go on to contribute and achieve for this club, I’m not sure it would have been possible to comprehend in that moment. Not the scale of it at least.

“Sadio made it all possible.”

There was frustration during talks between Liverpool and Bayern, with the German club reportedly submitting two derisory offers before the £35.1 million package was agreed, but Klopp holds no ill will towards Mane.

“I respect completely his decision and I’m sure our supporters do also,” he explained.

“If you love LFC, you have to love Sadio – non-negotiable. It is possible to do this while accepting our loss is Bayern’s gain.

“We wish him nothing but success in every match he plays in, unless, of course, it’s against us. His star will continue to rise, I have no doubts.”

Klopp concluded: “World-class player! True club legend! Ideal role model! The perfect team-mate! Compassionate, caring person…[we] will miss you!”

https://www.thisisanfield.com/2022/06/j ... -possible/

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

A glowing ode to an African giant. Mane carried the baton and emerged an all Olympian. To conceive a fellow continental star would step into the footprints of such leviathans as Didier Drogba with equal measure, was reserved for fantasy. Mane not only walked with the elephants, but grew tusks and trunk. An African Great. Well done.

Coach wrote: Thu Jun 23, 2022 3:01 pm A glowing ode to an African giant. Mane carried the baton and emerged an all Olympian. To conceive a fellow continental star would step into the footprints of such leviathans as Didier Drogba with equal measure, was reserved for fantasy. Mane not only walked with the elephants, but grew tusks and trunk. An African Great. Well done.

Hear, hear... :clap: :clap: