Liverpool FC - News, Developments and All Seasons

Re: Liverpool - Football Thread

A fair result based on that second half. These are the two the best teams in the league.

Molue Conductor wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:06 pm Pool should have been down to 10

Agreed.

But so could've City----Cancelo

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

You watch games like this one, and you see why these English teams are very strong. When you compete like this week-in-week out, you are always on your toes and always ready. Teams like PSG struggle in the CL, partly because they dont compete every week. Many weeks, they are on auto-pilot strolling to wins. So when they show up in mid-week, they are not as fit, nor prepared, like their English competition.

The YeyeMan wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:26 pm A fair result based on that second half. These are the two the best teams in the league.

The defensive organization is still not up to speed.

You can see a lack of balance on the right side of MF and defence;

Wijnaldum is missed on that side, esp with Elliot out and Thiago injured...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

danfo driver wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:29 pm You watch games like this one, and you see why these English teams are very strong. When you compete like this week-in-week out, you are always on your toes and always ready. Teams like PSG struggle in the CL, partly because they dont compete every week. Many weeks, they are on auto-pilot strolling to wins. So when they show up in mid-week, they are not as fit, nor prepared, like their English competition.

I don't buy this EPL narrative.

Same was said about Bayern, until they won the treble

txj wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:31 pm
The YeyeMan wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:26 pm A fair result based on that second half. These are the two the best teams in the league.

With Hendo running around like a headless chicken it's no surprise...

The YeyeMan wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:41 pm
txj wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:31 pm

With Hendo running around like a headless chicken it's no surprise...

Seems to me an attempt to reprise the role of Elliot earlier, but its creating problems

txj wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:36 pm
danfo driver wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:29 pm You watch games like this one, and you see why these English teams are very strong. When you compete like this week-in-week out, you are always on your toes and always ready. Teams like PSG struggle in the CL, partly because they dont compete every week. Many weeks, they are on auto-pilot strolling to wins. So when they show up in mid-week, they are not as fit, nor prepared, like their English competition.

I am not sure you can disagree with me, because I havent made any argument worth disagreeing with. :lol: let me spell it out again:

The game we just watched has so much intensity, aggression, talent on display and competition. The players are some of the best. So when you are competing on a regular basis with some of the best, you are more likely to improve and be in top shape. This is actually a fact and there is research on this-- across board, not just in football.

It doesnt mean that no other team can win--as we can see others have. It was like when Real and Barca were at each other's throat and both could absolutely not even drop one point. If they did, the other will probably win that weekend and open up a lead. The competition was so steep that even when either played a sh1t team, they have to be at the top of their game. During that period, I believe both Barca and Madrid made the CL semi-finals and i think Barca won it twice. Competition takes you to another level!

As for Bundesliga, I watch Bundesliga. Its actually a league with strong competition! Bayern dominates because Bayern is better than them, of course, but the teams in the Bundesliga are very competitive.

Great result. I can’t complain notwithstanding that Pool should’ve been down to 10 men long before Sallah’s goal.

green4life wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 7:02 pm Great result. I can’t complain notwithstanding that Pool should’ve been down to 10 men long before Sallah’s goal.
For who, Chelsea?

You've just watched the two best teams in the league.

danfo driver wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:52 pm
txj wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:36 pm

I am not sure you can disagree with me, because I havent made any argument worth disagreeing with. :lol: let me spell it out again:

The game we just watched has so much intensity, aggression, talent on display and competition. The players are some of the best. So when you are competing on a regular basis with some of the best, you are more likely to improve and be in top shape. This is actually a fact and there is research on this-- across board, not just in football.

It doesnt mean that no other team can win--as we can see others have. It was like when Real and Barca were at each other's throat and both could absolutely not even drop one point. If they did, the other will probably win that weekend and open up a lead. The competition was so steep that even when either played a sh1t team, they have to be at the top of their game. During that period, I believe both Barca and Madrid made the CL semi-finals and i think Barca won it twice. Competition takes you to another level!

As for Bundesliga, I watch Bundesliga. Its actually a league with strong competition! Bayern dominates because Bayern is better than them, of course, but the teams in the Bundesliga are very competitive.

The profile of players may be different but the intensity of Ligue 1 is high, and the physical level is one of the highest in Europe. Its a league with very high quality league talent.

What is lacks is the marketing ability of the EPL.

Just a few seasons ago City couldn't get past the first round of the CL; then couldn't get past the 2nd group stage. Was the EPL low intensity then?

The CL is about moments and know how/quality to navigate such.

PSG have been in s/finals and final in recent years. No different give or take from City's recent experience...

The YeyeMan wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 7:13 pm
green4life wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 7:02 pm Great result. I can’t complain notwithstanding that Pool should’ve been down to 10 men long before Sallah’s goal.
For who, Chelsea?

To be fair to G4L, the team that wins the league doesnt have to be the best. The more points dropped (as City did to the likes of Southampton) the better for the competitors.

danfo driver wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 7:18 pm
For who, Chelsea?

To be fair to G4L, the team that wins the league doesnt have to be the best. The more points dropped (as City did to the likes of Southampton) the better for the competitors.
True to an extent - though City and Liverpool dropping points against each other probably doesn't help Chelsea all that much as they've failed to beat both teams.

wanaj0 wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 6:43 am
kajifu wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 10:19 pm
The YeyeMan wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 1:18 pm
kbt wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 11:51 am
The YeyeMan wrote: Wed Sep 29, 2021 10:11 pm Adeyemi - another rumoured target - scored twice for Salzburg today.
Shame he chose Germany over Nigeria.
Same with Danjuma choosing Holland - he was born in Nigeria.
Some one call he papa fast
So that he can be owed match bonus etc?
According to Wiki, na him mama be Naija. Also, I think it is too late for him to play for Nigeria. He has already played for Holland.

Molue Conductor wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:06 pm Pool should have been down to 10
Klopp clearly dodged a bullet there. Even before half time, I was yelling for him to pull the old man, who was being targeted by City with young Foden rampaging down the left and subjecting him to all manner of horrible torture. It was only a question of time before Milner committed another atrocious foul, yet Klopp, great coach as he is, failed to do what was very obvious to a very average football IQ fan like me. I don't understand it. Klopp does this every once in a while, and Liverpool could have lost today because of it.

Chief, me I no like "fair results" :D Liverpool should have won it if Fabinho had been a split second quicker in the dying minutes. But woulda, shoulda, coulda, he is not a razor-sharp forward, so I am forgiving of the failure. :D The team defence needs work, and Virgil is not yet up to pre-injury Virgil. I am always worried with corner kicks, and when Liverpool is leading, I am never sure if they will successfully close shop.

ohsee wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 8:00 pm
Klopp clearly dodged a bullet there. Even before half time, I was yelling for him to pull the old man, who was being targeted by City with young Foden rampaging down the left and subjecting him to all manner of horrible torture. It was only a question of time before Milner committed another atrocious foul, yet Klopp, great coach as he is, failed to do what was very obvious to a very average football IQ fan like me. I don't understand it. Klopp does this every once in a while, and Liverpool could have lost today because of it.

A good part of Milner's struggles came from failures in MF.

Its often a risk/reward thing, until it becomes too risky if u are lucky...

The YeyeMan wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 7:42 pm
For who, Chelsea?

True to an extent - though City and Liverpool dropping points against each other probably doesn't help Chelsea all that much as they've failed to beat both teams.

Pointless looking at the table at this time imo...

How did James Milner not get a second yellow for a blatant trip on a player ready to attack the Liverpool half.
Looks like Good Ol Englisha bias

Sleaky72 wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 8:55 pm How did James Milner not get a second yellow for a blatant trip on a player ready to attack the Liverpool half.
Looks like Good Ol Englisha bias

Happens all the time. Nothing to do with English bias

txj wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 8:50 pm
The YeyeMan wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 7:42 pm
For who, Chelsea?

Pointless looking at the table at this time imo...
Yeah, it is.

ohsee wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 8:09 pm
Chief, me I no like "fair results" :D Liverpool should have won it if Fabinho had been a split second quicker in the dying minutes. But woulda, shoulda, coulda, he is not a razor-sharp forward, so I am forgiving of the failure. :D The team defence needs work, and Virgil is not yet up to pre-injury Virgil. I am always worried with corner kicks, and when Liverpool is leading, I am never sure if they will successfully close shop.
I don't know.... that was an amazing block. Liverpool's defence has been good prior to the last two games - City will always score goals, Brentford was likely an anomaly.

For who, Chelsea?

Maybe by ending of May, or maybe not. But as of today, the table disagrees with you. So stop behaving like a bitter market woman.