Liverpool FC - News, Developments and All Seasons

Re: Liverpool - Football Thread

The YeyeMan wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 5:06 pm
Mr. Piffington wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 5:04 pm
The YeyeMan wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 11:47 am
Mr. Piffington wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 10:56 am
The YeyeMan wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 11:40 pm
oloye wrote: Thu Jan 13, 2022 11:01 pm Give City that one man advantage ,you will need an umbrella to stop the rain of goals.
So what? City are a financially doped up team. They don't need the extra advantage.
As opposed to other teams who get their players for free. This financially doped excuse needs to be done away with, it's embarrassing and reeks of sour grapes.
As opposed to teams who aren't backed by a gulf state. Think.
Whether you're backed by a Gulf State or legions of worldwide fans it makes no difference. Money is the same. I don't feel sorry for teams like Liverpool and United that have that advantage and have used it to stay at the top for decades.
OK.
Yeye Loser! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: i know you are hurting! a team without a striker has dominated you. Even Arsenal dey near you. Shame on you. Yeye person :lol: :rotf: :rotf:

Controlled performance bar first 15mins.

2-0

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Alategun

Post by Alategun »

I thought Jones played his best game yet. Fabinho, kelleher, Robbo were really good. Henderson worked so hard. Jota and Trent were excellent. That flick from Firmino to set up the 1st was filthy.

Tough game today and came thru successfully...

Dominated the 1hf and should've had three...

Suffered in the 2hf as Viera's team upped the ante in MF and the effect of a midweek game started to tell..

Dug out a 3-1 win.

On to the international break and the return of the afcon trio

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Patrick Viera on Liverpool's controversial penalty that "killed" the game - https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/60104490

YemiBrazil wrote: Mon Jan 24, 2022 11:35 am Patrick Viera on Liverpool's controversial penalty that "killed" the game - https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/60104490
Crystal Palace boss Patrick Vieira said referee Kevin Friend "killed our legs" by awarding Liverpool a controversial late penalty in Sunday's defeat.

Friend judged Liverpool's Diogo Jota was fouled by goalkeeper Vicente Guaita after the VAR told him to check his initial decision not to give a penalty.

Fabinho's penalty sealed a 3-1 win but Match of the Day presenter Gary Lineker said the decision was "appalling".

YemiBrazil wrote: Mon Jan 24, 2022 11:37 am
YemiBrazil wrote: Mon Jan 24, 2022 11:35 am Patrick Viera on Liverpool's controversial penalty that "killed" the game - https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/60104490
Crystal Palace boss Patrick Vieira said referee Kevin Friend "killed our legs" by awarding Liverpool a controversial late penalty in Sunday's defeat.

Friend judged Liverpool's Diogo Jota was fouled by goalkeeper Vicente Guaita after the VAR told him to check his initial decision not to give a penalty.

Fabinho's penalty sealed a 3-1 win but Match of the Day presenter Gary Lineker said the decision was "appalling".

Liverpool vs Burnley 2021 (Allison on Gray)

Liverpool have sprung a late surprise in the transfer window with Porto winger Luis Diaz set to sign on the dotted line to bolster Jurgen Klopp‘s attacking options.

It emerged on Friday morning that the Reds were very close to striking a deal for the winger for an initial £37.5 million fee with £12.5 million in add-ons.

Liverpool’s move came amid interest from Tottenham and Man United, and with the right fee on the table they accelerated their plans having had an eye on pursuing the Colombian in the summer.

The 25-year-old is an exciting talent only just entering his prime, but what else do we know about him?

Who is Luis Diaz?

Position: Winger

The Colombia international is a powerful, athletic left-winger who is readily seen cutting inside onto his preferred right foot using pace, power and skill.

Diaz has been with Porto since 2019, having joined from Junior de Barranquilla in Colombia, and has since gone on to play 125 games for the Portuguese side, which included two matches against Liverpool in this season’s group stage of the Champions League.

So far this season, Diaz has found the net 16 times and laid on six assists across 28 games – a tally only surpassed by Mohamed Salah in the Liverpool camp in 2021/22 to date.

It has been another breakthrough season for Diaz having shown a constant upward trajectory at the Estadio do Dragao, with only four of his 18 league games ending without a goal or assist this season.

On the international stage, Diaz made his debut for Colombia in 2018 at the age of 21, and has since gone on to become a regular – he helped his side finish third in the 2021 Copa America.

Style of play

As aforementioned, a left-winger who favours his right foot and whose speed and acceleration will have immediately caught Liverpool’s attention with that dynamism key in the Reds’ attacking movements.

Speaking of which, a key strength lies in his ability to make runs in behind and has the timing and awareness to capitalise, like Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and now Diogo Jota.

He’s also one that is eager to help his team in the defensive transition and as part of the press, which Alisson attested to first hand having played against Diaz and Colombia in Copa America.

“Luis Diaz is an excellent player, he does a lot of work for the defence, he did it in the goals of Copa America,” Alisson said.

Klopp has high pressing demands and as per WhoScored after the 17th league matchday, only five players had won possession in the attacking third more times than Diaz (15).

A confident player, Diaz has the natural and technical ability to take the opposition on and find the spaces to exploit, and he is comfortable using both feet.

His awareness while on the ball is spoken of as an area for improvement, with his default of looking down resulting in his release of the ball being delayed having not seen the bigger picture.

At his age, it’s a facet of his game that can still be worked on, as is his physicality in a challenge, to fit into what the Reds seek from him moving forward.

Why did Liverpool pursue Diaz?

The Reds have tracked the 25-year-old for a number of seasons, and his age and profile certainly tick a lot of boxes as Liverpool’s forward line starts to evolve.

Having seen him up close during the Champions League group stage this season, Liverpool were left impressed and it triggered a reaction earlier than first thought amid growing interest elsewhere.

The pursuit of Diaz has led to questions over the future of Sadio Mane, who has 18 months left on his current contract, not to mention Roberto Firmino who is in a similar position.

With Diaz able to rotate across the attacking line during play, coupled with the exponential growth of Jota, it leaves a big decision to be made for the veterans of Klopp’s attacking line.

For the fee, Diaz represents an exciting piece of business and it is the club’s assistant sporting director, Julian Ward, who has been leading negotiations alongside the soon to be departed sporting director Michael Edwards.

An exciting player as it stands and one who can no doubt take it up a level under the guidance of Klopp and co.

https://www.thisisanfield.com/2022/01/w ... liverpool/

Tottenham were prepared to offer more. Diaz told them he wasn't interested. :D

The YeyeMan wrote: Fri Jan 28, 2022 5:09 pm Tottenham were prepared to offer more. Diaz told them he wasn't interested. :D

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Antonio in hot okro soup

Alategun

Post by Alategun »

Liverpool might just be willing to keep Mane and Salah. Rotation is key and when Mane and Salah start to slow down, guys like Gordon etc will be ready. Now we only need to beef up that midfield. Bellingham, anyone?

Alategun wrote: Sat Jan 29, 2022 7:20 am Liverpool might just be willing to keep Mane and Salah. Rotation is key and when Mane and Salah start to slow down, guys like Gordon etc will be ready. Now we only need to beef up that midfield. Bellingham, anyone?
Bellingham and Tchouameni are said to be rumoured targets.

Tchouameni looks like he'll be an incredible player - wish he'd opted for Cameroon, oh well.

The YeyeMan wrote: Sat Jan 29, 2022 2:57 pm
Alategun wrote: Sat Jan 29, 2022 7:20 am Liverpool might just be willing to keep Mane and Salah. Rotation is key and when Mane and Salah start to slow down, guys like Gordon etc will be ready. Now we only need to beef up that midfield. Bellingham, anyone?
Bellingham and Tchouameni are said to be rumoured targets.

Tchouameni looks like he'll be an incredible player - wish he'd opted for Cameroon, oh well.
Absolutely...

Its Bellingham for me though. Has the range to play multiple roles in MF

Let's be greedy and get both? :D

I'd be surprised if BVB sell both Haaland and Jude this summer - I think Jude moves the summer of 2023. And Klopp will almost certainly reinforce and freshen up the midfield this summer. So keeping eyes on Tchouameni makes sense - all the big clubs are looking at him so it's going to be battle for his signature. Bissouma is also an option.

Vamos! We go again! :D

kbt

Post by kbt »

The YeyeMan wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 1:31 pm Vamos! We go again! :D

Welcome to the firm
Alategun

Post by Alategun »

Rumor we are in for the Carvalho kid from Fulham. Looks like a faster and more direct Curtis

Alategun wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 7:14 pm Rumor we are in for the Carvalho kid from Fulham. Looks like a faster and more direct Curtis

Different role in midfield from Curtis.

Closer to Coutinho.

Bid of $5m submitted apparently...

txj wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 7:20 pm
Alategun wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 7:14 pm Rumor we are in for the Carvalho kid from Fulham. Looks like a faster and more direct Curtis

Different role in midfield from Curtis. Curtis will ultimately settle in a deeper role, close to Gini's....

Carvalho's closer to Coutinho in role.

Bid of $5m submitted apparently...
Last edited by txj on Sun Jan 30, 2022 8:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

It's virtually done. He'll be loaned back to Fulham for the remainder of the season.

Carvalho, Done!

My type of transfer. A kid with a lot of ability, but blank canvass, on which a coach can create things.

danfo driver wrote: Mon Jan 31, 2022 11:15 pm Carvalho, Done!

My type of transfer. A kid with a lot of ability, but blank canvass, on which a coach can create things.

Yeah. A real talent there...Gets to stay and fight promotion with Fulham

kbt

Post by kbt »

He looks skilful but lightweight. Let's see if he can hack it. But wishing him the best. Welcome to LFC.