Does Lionel Messi have high-functioning autism?

camex
Does Lionel Messi have high-functioning autism?

Post by camex »

In 2013, Romario shared an article on Lionel Messi and triggered huge controversy. “Did you know that Messi has Asperger syndrome, a mild form of autism?” This comment did not go down well with the Argentinian’s father!
He even wanted to take Romario to court! But is there any truth in this? Like Albert Einstein, could Messi have high-functioning autism? Discover the answer in this video.
Re: Does Lionel Messi have high-functioning autism?

@camex did you even bother to see the video you posted?
camex

Post by camex »

Kabalega wrote:@camex did you even bother to see the video you posted?
Yes, it is a claim, not a proof. He is highly focused on the field and it could be related to autism. Don't you find it surprising that a student had to raise his hands for him in class or that he had a spoon in his mouth during the whole training session. He is at the very least very shy.

camex wrote:
Yes, it is a claim, not a proof. He is highly focused on the field and it could be related to autism. Don't you find it surprising that a student had to raise his hands for him in class or that he had a spoon in his mouth during the whole training session. He is at the very least very shy.
No sane professional will diagnose anyone with Aspergers or Autism based on your evidence.
camex

Post by camex »

Kabalega wrote:
camex wrote:
No sane professional will diagnose anyone with Aspergers or Autism based on your evidence.
That is true. You probably need to spend a lot of time with a person to diagnose asperger syndrome. However, among geniuses, it is not so rare. And Messi is a genius. Hence the question.

camex wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
camex wrote:
That is true. You probably need to spend a lot of time with a person to diagnose asperger syndrome. However, among geniuses, it is not so rare. And Messi is a genius. Hence the question.
If you did a simple online search you'd realize that Aspergers and Austism are even difficult for trained pros to diagnose.

Kabalega wrote:
camex wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
camex wrote:
If you did a simple online search you'd realize that Aspergers and Austism are even difficult for trained pros to diagnose.
Exactly, which means the claim cannot be readily dismissed simply because it is Messi.
There are probably millions of people on the planet with an ASD that might never be diagnosed.
The higher functioning ones are even harder to spot.

The video just raises food for thought, that's all.

Kabalega wrote:
camex wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
camex wrote:
Exactly, which means the claim cannot be readily dismissed simply because it is Messi.
There are probably millions of people on the planet with an ASD that might never be diagnosed.

True.

However, note that folks like camex take info like this to another level.

Along those lines.... there is strong evidence that suggests auto immune activity plays a strong role, hence the anti-vaccers.

Kabalega wrote:
camex wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
camex wrote:

True.

Along those lines.... there is strong evidence that suggests auto immune activity plays a strong role, hence the anti-vaccers.
Yes and in the UK those anti-vaccers did huge and irreparable damage to child health leading to a spike in measles outbreaks all because of one rogue doctor making spurious claims linking autism to the triple vaccine (MMR).
Basically it was a fraudulent claim.
camex

Post by camex »

Kabalega wrote:
camex wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
camex wrote:

True.

How did you make the connection with antivaxxers? I am merely saying that this video show that at the very least Messi is very shy. There is also a possibility that there is more then shyness. I am not sure what the anti-vaxxers have got to do with a claim about only one individual.

Kabalega wrote:
camex wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
camex wrote: Yes, it is a claim, not a proof. He is highly focused on the field and it could be related to autism. Don't you find it surprising that a student had to raise his hands for him in class or that he had a spoon in his mouth during the whole training session. He is at the very least very shy.

True.

Yes and in the UK those anti-vaccers did huge and irreparable damage to child health leading to a spike in measles outbreaks all because of one rogue doctor making spurious claims linking autism to the triple vaccine (MMR).
There is more to it than just that incident.
Critically look at the often cited, A. Rauch - ‎2007 study and others before it.

Damunk wrote:Yes and in the UK those anti-vaccers did huge and irreparable damage to child health leading to a spike in measles outbreaks all because of one rogue doctor making spurious claims linking autism to the triple vaccine (MMR).
:scared:
Doc, biko take sofry, and hide this post well-well, before sinequanoise sees it ooooo. Fortunately, he rarely comes to WORLD FOOTBALL, or he would have already chosen the nuclear option. :D :lol:

ohsee wrote:
Damunk wrote:Yes and in the UK those anti-vaccers did huge and irreparable damage to child health leading to a spike in measles outbreaks all because of one rogue doctor making spurious claims linking autism to the triple vaccine (MMR).
:scared:
Doc, biko take sofry, and hide this post well-well, before sinequanoise sees it ooooo. Fortunately, he rarely comes to WORLD FOOTBALL, or he would have already chosen the nuclear option. :D :lol:
Me and SQN have ...ahem... "exchanged views" on this very matter and you can guess the nature of the discussion. :D
I don't expend too much energy - or bandwidth - on debates with SQN.

Guys be careful regarding this issue otherwise history will mark you as old fools.

SQN has a personal interest and skill(s) at this topic for a reason.

Kabalega wrote:
Damunk wrote:Exactly, which means the claim cannot be readily dismissed simply because it is Messi.

True.

There is more to it than just that incident.
Critically look at the often cited, A. Rauch - ‎2007 study and others before it.
I can't find it.
Can you help?

i want 5mins of my life back. :curse:

Kabalega wrote:
camex wrote:
No man has caused more pain to Nigeria than Messi. They make up stuff about him. Ndugu you must certainly know why.
Kuku Ngbendu Wa Za Banga