Pep may dump Man City for Barca reunion

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footb ... -stay.html

Barcelona presidential candidate Victor Font wants to bring Pep Guardiola BACK to the Nou Camp along with a host of other legends in bid to create a 'very competitive project' that will tempt Lionel Messi to stay

- Victor Font is in the running to replace outgoing Josep Bartomeu at Barcelona
- Much-maligned Bartomeu announced his resignation as Barcelona president
- Font wants to bring back a host of legends to Barcelona that have the club's DNA
- He also claims the only thing Lionel Messi needs to stay is a 'competitive project'

Victor Font has outlined his plans if he was to become Barcelona president, claiming he would look to bring back a host of legends like Pep Guardiola who could build a very 'competitive project' to convince Lionel Messi to stay.

Catalan businessman Font is the favourite to take over from the much-maligned Josep Bartomeu, who announced his resignation from the position two days ago.

Bartomeu, who also dropped the bombshell that he gave Barcelona's approval to be part of a new European Super League before resigning, came under intense scrutiny after years of turbulence - culminating in a bitter row with Messi that nearly led to his departure in the summer transfer window.

And since, Font has spoken of his desire to reunite Guardiola - who has yet to commit his future to Manchester City with his deal running out in June - with Messi at the Nou Camp, while he hopes the likes of Xavi, Andres Iniesta and Carles Puyol would return.

Font told Sky Sports: 'We are lucky at Barca that we inherited a style of play that Johann Cruyff instilled in the organisation, not just in the first team but throughout the academy and therefore most of the best professionals that know about this style are Barcelona fans.

'People like Pep Guardiola, Xavi Hernandez, Andres Iniesta, Carles Puyol, all these people do not work for Barca today. It does not make sense. We need to bring them back and give them the right responsibilities because not everyone is able to play any role outside of the pitch.

'By doing that we are sure we will have a very competitive project, which is the only thing Messi needs. He needs to be in a competitive project that aspires to win the next Champions League. That should be the objective of any Barca board, right?

'We have an advantage with these sort of legends. All of them love the club. It's not like Manchester United wanting to go after this type of talent.

'They could because they are one of the greatest clubs in the history of the club but they lack one thing that we have and that is that all these legends love Barca.'

Font was officially the first name to confirm he would run as Barcelona president and has Xavi lined up as manager with Puyol a possible director of football.

However, he is expected to face competition from Joan Laporta, who oversaw the club's greatest period under Guardiola and has an excellent relationship with Messi.

Messi was on the brink of leaving Barcelona this summer after becoming embroiled in a bitter row with the board.

He nearly quit the club for Manchester City where he would have been reunited with his former manager Guardiola.

The much-maligned Bartomeu announced his decision to step away two days ago

He launched a scathing attack on the board after confirming he would eventually stay, saying: 'The the truth is that there has been no clear project here for a long time, they juggle and plug holes with no real plan.'

During the summer, he confirmed he would stay at the Nou Camp because the club had blocked his transfer to City by insisting on demanding his astronomical release clause of £625million was met.

Messi enjoyed exceptional success with Guardiola at Barcelona during the latter's time at the club.

Guardiola, who played 378 times for Barcelona between 1990 and 2001 after rising through the ranks, won three La Liga titles, two Champions Leagues, two FIFA Club World Cups and two Copa del Rey's during his four years as manager there.

Re: Pep may dump Man City for Barca reunion

Messi this Messi that, I hope these guys realize he is getting older and already declining? :lol:

Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

YemiBrazil wrote:Messi this Messi that, I hope these guys realize he is getting older and already declining? :lol:
Messi is not declining.
When he is not happy he is not much committed.
Moreover a 50% Messi is better than most players.

Oguleftie wrote:
YemiBrazil wrote:Messi this Messi that, I hope these guys realize he is getting older and already declining? :lol:
Messi is not declining.
When he is not happy he is not much committed.
Moreover a 50% Messi is better than most players.
I understand the commitment angle but time will tell - the club is honoring their part of their contract 'with commitment' by paying him weekly. This is not an attempt to take anything away from him and his achievements - he is 33! It is natural and as a footballer, injuries & recovery will accumulate... and as Messi, whose major attribute is his speed of execution, he will have to evolve as he is still Messi and the other attributes are still top notch. Goals are still coming... via penalties.

They hit a goldmine with Messi, full credit to them for their decisions, but he is not going to be with them forever - I know that they know... just emphasizing it :mrgreen:

Messi's goal stats in La Liga in the last decade (I opted for La Liga stats only for some consistency in the level of opposition) - there is no clear trend yet but his age is going up naturally and we know what that means in football.

Season MatchesPlayed Goals - Age
2020/21 5 1 - 33
2019/20 33 25 - 32
2018/19 34 36 - 31
2017/18 36 34 - 30
2016/17 34 37 - 29
2015/16 33 26 - 28
2014/15 38 43 - 27
2013/14 31 28 - 26
2012/13 32 46 - 25
2011/12 37 50 - 24

2010/11 33 31 - 23
2009/10 35 34 - 22

*In bold, Goals/Matches ratio greater than or equal to 1 (Scored average of one goal per match).
**In red, less than 30 goals in La Liga. If he scores less than 30 goals this season then that would be his first back-to-back in a decade.
***His 25 La Liga goals last season is the lowest in more than a decade.

Pep is not going back to a project that is destined for him to fail. Messi is no longer the force he once was plus the players around him that made Barca a force are no longer around. Iniesta and Xavi cannot be duplicated.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

Its a Goal wrote:Pep is not going back to a project that is destined for him to fail. Messi is no longer the force he once was plus the players around him that made Barca a force are no longer around. Iniesta and Xavi cannot be duplicated.
Yes... Baba is not interested lol

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/54763201

Pep Guardiola: My time at Barcelona is over, says Manchester City boss

Last updated
1 hour ago

Pep Guardiola insists his time as Barcelona manager is "over" after the Manchester City boss was linked with a return to the Spanish giants.

Barcelona presidential candidate Victor Font said he would be keen to bring back Guardiola if elected.

Guardiola won 14 trophies during his four years at the Nou Camp before departing in 2012.

"As manager of Barcelona my time is over," said Guardiola.

"I lived my period there. [Current Barcelona boss] Ronald Koeman is there, I respect him. He is an incredible friend of mine. It belongs for other people."

Guardiola was speaking after his Manchester City side beat Sheffield United 1-0 in the Premier League.

It was City's third game in a week after a draw at West Ham was followed by a 3-0 win at Marseille in the Champions League on Tuesday.

"We played really well," added Guardiola.

"We struggled to score goals for the chances we created, 16 shots, eight on target, is a lot against this team.

"It's our third game in seven days, all away, it's so demanding. People have responded to that well."

Its a Goal wrote:Pep is not going back to a project that is destined for him to fail. Messi is no longer the force he once was plus the players around him that made Barca a force are no longer around. Iniesta and Xavi cannot be duplicated.
Goes without saying. That was a once in a lifetime dynasty. Simply unplayable many a days. And Pep was a happy beneficiary notwithstanding his input from the sidelines. Been trying to recreate same in Germany and England but khaki and leather no be the same.

Did Rjikaard have the privilege of Messi and Sons?

Why not just rename the club to Messi and Others FC :roll:

Nonsense.

Once that midget leave I'll go back to being a Barca supporter again and yes I know they never even noticed I had stopped supporting them

Goes without saying. That was a once in a lifetime dynasty. Simply unplayable many a days. And Pep was a happy beneficiary notwithstanding his input from the sidelines. Been trying to recreate same in Germany and England but khaki and leather no be the same.
Pep is just a good coach that when everything is set well he shine,he is not of the same class of likes of Wenger,Sir Alex and Klopp in my opinion.He can not built a team like the guys are i name.
A pay check coach,how come he leave Bayern they are doing better?
How come since he left Barca others have won CL with them that dont even have job today?
Can he take a project Arsenal,Everton or Chelsea of Lampard today and start win titles left and right?
He was lucky to be at Barca at the right time with so many stars that make his job easy.
When last did Pep make CL finals?

I read somewhere that Barcelona is struggling with finances and may have to cut some players wages to keep afloat.

When I saw dailymail I stopped reading. Why would Pep leave a rising European power for a declining one?

Mr. Piffington wrote:When I saw dailymail I stopped reading. Why would Pep leave a rising European power for a declining one?
This is not about DailyMail - I saw the Sky Sports video interview on Globo TV then picked the first online link I could find to add a source to the story as required by CE. It was also trending on Twitter at that point. The standard academic approach is to verify from other sources if you have issues with a particular source.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/20 ... ictor-font
https://soccer.nbcsports.com/2020/10/29 ... ctor-font/
https://www.skysports.com/football/news ... ictor-font
https://www.fourfourtwo.com/us/news/bar ... 3975892000
https://sports.yahoo.com/barcelona-pres ... 32169.html
https://www.football-espana.net/2020/10 ... -to-return
https://twitter.com/SkySportsPL/status/ ... ster.ghtml

YemiBrazil wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:When I saw dailymail I stopped reading. Why would Pep leave a rising European power for a declining one?
This is not about DailyMail - I saw the Sky Sports video interview on Globo TV then picked the first online link I could find to add a source to the story as required by CE. It was also trending on Twitter at that point. The standard academic approach is to verify from other sources if you have issues with a particular source.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/20 ... ictor-font
https://soccer.nbcsports.com/2020/10/29 ... ctor-font/
https://www.skysports.com/football/news ... ictor-font
https://www.fourfourtwo.com/us/news/bar ... 3975892000
https://sports.yahoo.com/barcelona-pres ... 32169.html
https://www.football-espana.net/2020/10 ... -to-return
https://twitter.com/SkySportsPL/status/ ... ster.ghtml
Uh huh, right.

Mr. Piffington wrote:

:D :D :D
"Money money money money, money
Some people got to have it, yeah, some people really need it."
(apologies to the O'Jays) :D