Sidney Sam

Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2021 3:00 pm
by Chxta
These things can be so fleeting. The Turkish club, Antalyaspor, has just released 33-year old footballer, Sidney Sam, so he most likely has to retire. 10 years ago, Sam was courted by Nigeria for the Super Eagles and refused. He ended up with just five caps for Germany.

This life sha...

Re: Sidney Sam

Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2021 3:21 pm
i do not understand your post

Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2021 4:06 pm
by 1naija
Bigpokey24 wrote:i do not understand your post

Uncle chxta is saying Sidney would have played forever in he had chosen the SE, and that every player that accepted the SE invitation and played for team went on to have 100 caps for Nigeria... :D

Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2021 5:52 pm
by furiously frank
Bigpokey24 wrote:i do not understand your post

Uncle chxta is saying Sidney would have played forever in he had chosen the SE, and that every player that accepted the SE invitation and played for team went on to have 100 caps for Nigeria... :D
No, he's saying Sidney would have probably won AFCON and increased his worth and respect which would have elevated him and wouldn't be in Europe backwaters late at this age. He would have played with Kanu Nwankwo, Sunday Oliseh, Jay Jay et al.

Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2021 6:01 pm
by Tobi17
Kai, it's been a while since I heard that name. Where is he these days?

Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2021 9:59 pm
by The YeyeMan
Tobi17 wrote:Kai, it's been a while since I heard that name. Where is he these days?
These things can be so fleeting. The Turkish club, Antalyaspor, has just released 33-year old footballer, Sidney Sam, so he most likely has to retire. 10 years ago, Sam was courted by Nigeria for the Super Eagles and refused. He ended up with just five caps for Germany.

This life sha...

Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2021 10:29 pm
by kalani JR
Isn't Mikel currently in the same league? I don't think playing for Nigeria would have increased his visibility anymore than playing in the Bundesliga as he did.

Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2021 10:32 pm
by naijaguy
kalani JR wrote:Isn't Mikel currently in the same league? I don't think playing for Nigeria would have increased his visibility anymore than playing in the Bundesliga as he did.
Which Mikel? :?:

Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2021 11:09 pm
by kalani JR
naijaguy wrote:
kalani JR wrote:Isn't Mikel currently in the same league? I don't think playing for Nigeria would have increased his visibility anymore than playing in the Bundesliga as he did.
I forgot he joined Stoke last year.

Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2021 1:33 am
naijaguy wrote:
I forgot he joined Stoke last year.
yea right :laugh:

Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2021 10:45 am
by Eaglezbeak
Oh well. :clap: Give Sid a standing ovation!

Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2021 1:09 pm
by Damunk
He might have been able to show his children and grandchildren pictures of him in the World Cup, even if nothing else.

Sometimes these things mean more than just the money or even the fame when the curtains close.
I'm sure in his private moments he will reflect on things that might have been.

Posted: Sat Jun 05, 2021 8:33 am
by kalani JR
He might have been able to show his children and grandchildren pictures of him in the World Cup, even if nothing else.

Sometimes these things mean more than just the money or even the fame when the curtains close.
Yeah playing in the World Cup is a consideration but he wanted to play for Germany in the World Cup not Nigeria and he wasn't far off really.

Posted: Sat Jun 05, 2021 10:49 am
by Ipe Grams

Am not so sure, Some of these players have no emotional connection with the Country as those who think and feel they should play for Nigeria because of the Nigerian connection that they have.

Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2021 10:14 am
by Damunk
Ipe Grams wrote:

Am not so sure, Some of these players have no emotional connection with the Country as those who think and feel they should play for Nigeria because of the Nigerian connection that they have.
If you are truly a professional footballer, for the most part you know how to manage your allegiances.
Players get bought and sold all the time from one club to another, often with little or no say of their own in the matter
It comes with the territory and as long as you consider yourself a true professional you take it in your stride and give your all once you sign on the dotted line. The 'emotional connection' you mention probably comes into play in the early stages when you are making that decision where to go and ply your trade (that's if you even have a choice sef).
But once that is settled, I think it is less relevant,

If he had signed to play for Nigeria, I doubt he would have found himself on the world stage and not be fully committed. Sportsmen are incredibly competitive and want to win at all costs. Unless they have serious issues going on, I don't see how such a player would be in a World Cup team and still be reluctant to perform at his very best for that team on the biggest stage of all. In fact, it is every player's ultimate dream.

It only comes round once for most players. He made the wrong choice of vehicle to carry him to his ultimate destination.
It happens. :idea:

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 11:54 am
by kofi86
Ipe Grams wrote:

If you are truly a professional footballer, for the most part you know how to manage your allegiances.
Players get bought and sold all the time from one club to another, often with little or no say of their own in the matter
It comes with the territory and as long as you consider yourself a true professional you take it in your stride and give your all once you sign on the dotted line. The 'emotional connection' you mention probably comes into play in the early stages when you are making that decision where to go and ply your trade (that's if you even have a choice sef).

If he had signed to play for Nigeria, I doubt he would have found himself on the world stage and not be fully committed. Sportsmen are incredibly competitive and want to win at all costs. Unless they have serious issues going on, I don't see how such a player would be in a World Cup team and still be reluctant to perform at his very best for that team on the biggest stage of all. In fact, it is every player's ultimate dream.

It only comes round once for most players. He made the wrong choice of vehicle to carry him to his ultimate destination.

I think it is highly relevant as national team is not club football. He is German and as of 2017 never even been to Nigeria before. For his children Nigeria might be a random country wheres as showing them pictures of himself playing for the German national team actually means something.

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 2:20 pm
kofi86 wrote:
Ipe Grams wrote:

I think it is highly relevant as national team is not club football. He is German and as of 2017 never even been to Nigeria before. For his children Nigeria might be a random country wheres as showing them pictures of himself playing for the German national team actually means something.
so how many pictures has his kids seen?

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 2:27 pm
by kofi86
sorry, meant to say might mean something.