Patrick Vieira @Crystal Palace: WK 38 - Big Pat takes CP to 12th to end season CP 1 - MU 0 (W11 D15 L12, 48pts)

Re: Patrick Vieira is new coach of Crystal Palace

Scipio Africanus wrote: Thu Aug 12, 2021 1:05 pm
furiously frank wrote: Wed Aug 11, 2021 11:27 pm
danfo driver wrote: Mon Aug 09, 2021 11:39 pm Hmmm WHile I have not watched any of their pre-season games in full, I have seen all/most highlights and I am excited to follow Pat's team this season.
The last black coach in EPL with a respectable record was also French, he coached Fulham: guess who?
The great Jean Tigana! He even owns his own vineyard, and occasionally hands out beautifully packaged wines from there as a gift. Typical Frenchie :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: You got it! The guys is class act. He doesn't send

Siddonlook11 wrote: Tue Aug 24, 2021 10:13 pm
joao wrote: Tue Aug 24, 2021 9:07 pm Two games into the season is not enough to assess any coach.
Something like a third of the games in the season should make the worth of the coach clearer,
and whether he/she needs better players to work with.
he ha shad three already and lost all 3 but he will come good.

Lost two epl and one efl today to watford.
He didn't lose to Brentford, it was draw.

Benedict Iroha wrote: Wed Aug 25, 2021 4:34 am
joao wrote: Tue Aug 24, 2021 9:07 pm Two games into the season is not enough to assess any coach.
Something like a third of the games in the season should make the worth of the coach clearer,

When I read that I thought somebody poured alcohol in my drink.
Lost two EPL games ke? :blink:

Benedict Iroha wrote: Wed Aug 25, 2021 4:34 am

My bad - yes that was a draw.

Yessss!!!! Crystal Palace beating Tottenham 2-0. Have outplayed them all game. This game should be 4-0 but for Benteke's horrible link up play.

Uncle Pat gets his first win! Upwards and onwards from here! :clap: :clap: :clap:

danfo driver wrote: Sat Sep 11, 2021 3:02 pm Uncle Pat gets his first win! Upwards and onwards from here! :clap: :clap: :clap:
Oh wow! Been driving so missed this but this is huge. :clap: :clap: :clap:
Did Olise play?

Damunk wrote: Sat Sep 11, 2021 3:06 pm
danfo driver wrote: Sat Sep 11, 2021 3:02 pm Uncle Pat gets his first win! Upwards and onwards from here! :clap: :clap: :clap:
Oh wow! Been driving so missed this but this is huge. :clap: :clap: :clap:
Did Olise play?
He came on very late and within 3 minutes, had a hand in the 3rd goal, driving at the Tott defense before passing to Gallagher who passed to Edouard to score the 3rd.

Senator WIRES wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 7:16 pm Wilfred Zaha stays!!!! :???: :???:
Good thing for Viera that Zaha stayed given he’s one of a bare handful of quality players to work with. Good win today vs. Spurs.

oloye wrote: Fri Jul 09, 2021 9:15 pm This is one appointment I don't like at all. Looks like they are looking for a scapegoat having mismanaged the recruitment of replacement for Hogdson and the messy transfer situation in club. There is enough mess in that place right now to pull the club down...
Your post echoes my initial gut feeling but it is what it is. Same thing routinely occurred in USA pro leagues (NFL, NBA, etc). when blacks were given the ‘opportunity’ to break into head coaching jobs, they always got the WORST jobs. They had to work twice as hard to succeed eg Tony Dungy at Tampa Bay when they were absolute shiet. Hopefully, Viera will succeed. I like his approach. How quickly he’s able to integrate the young signings will play a role in his ability to keep CP in the EPL this season.

Scipio Africanus wrote: Sat Sep 11, 2021 2:11 pm Yessss!!!! Crystal Palace beating Tottenham 2-0. Have outplayed them all game. This game should be 4-0 but for Benteke's horrible link up play.
Benteke is finished after their new signing scored a brace in a handful of minutes. He was super useless today

...CP did a smash and grab on the Totts.

mcal wrote: Sat Sep 11, 2021 4:14 pm ...CP did a smash and grab on the Totts.
You clearly did not watch the game or you dont know what "smash and grab" means. :oops:

green4life wrote: Sat Sep 11, 2021 4:02 pm
oloye wrote: Fri Jul 09, 2021 9:15 pm This is one appointment I don't like at all. Looks like they are looking for a scapegoat having mismanaged the recruitment of replacement for Hogdson and the messy transfer situation in club. There is enough mess in that place right now to pull the club down...
Your post echoes my initial gut feeling but it is what it is. Same thing routinely occurred in USA pro leagues (NFL, NBA, etc). when blacks were given the ‘opportunity’ to break into head coaching jobs, they always got the WORST jobs. They had to work twice as hard to succeed eg Tony Dungy at Tampa Bay when they were absolute shiet. Hopefully, Viera will succeed. I like his approach. How quickly he’s able to integrate the young signings will play a role in his ability to keep CP in the EPL this season.
The good thing is he has done a good job in the transfer season. If that Eduard guy can give them 10 - 15 goals with others chipping in,they should be fine.

oloye wrote: Sat Sep 11, 2021 5:28 pm
The good thing is he has done a good job in the transfer season. If that Eduard guy can give them 10 - 15 goals with others chipping in,they should be fine.

True.

I saw them in pre-season and you could tell they were being coached. There was a clear pattern to their game. Even against a tough opponent today, they did no deviate from what they planned.

they outplayed Spurs.. I was so shocked how lovely their football was today

One can see a plan being implemented and the players are slowly buying into it.

Issue will be the brainlessness of some of the older players will rear its ugly head in some games and cost them unnecessarily.

Totally outplayed Spurs today and should have won by a larger margin if Ayew and Benteke or even that kid Gallagher were half accurate.

Cito wrote: Sat Sep 11, 2021 11:43 pm One can see a plan being implemented and the players are slowly buying into it.

Issue will be the brainlessness of some of the older players will rear its ugly head in some games and cost them unnecessarily.

Totally outplayed Spurs today and should have won by a larger margin if Ayew and Benteke or even that kid Gallagher were half accurate.
Just saw the highlights on MOTD.
Really impressed by their movement and drive for goal.
Looked like a totally reborn side. Great win, well deserved. :thumb:

danfo driver wrote: Sat Sep 11, 2021 4:44 pm
mcal wrote: Sat Sep 11, 2021 4:14 pm ...CP did a smash and grab on the Totts.
You clearly did not watch the game or you dont know what "smash and grab" means. :oops:
...yep, I do know what it means.
They smashed a top side.
Grabbed valuable 3 points :thumbs: :thumbs:

oloye in one stance , you changed your views

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Sep 12, 2021 2:36 pm

Thats a sign of maturity and strength.

Not liek Nnayi TXJ who will die in a rabbit hole, just to make sure he sticks to his dead wrong point. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Sep 12, 2021 2:36 pm
You are always looking and sniping for trouble even where there is none. I dont like the appointment because i smell trouble,that has not changed . The whole place was in a mess ,even.Viera acknowledged it.

In my second post i acknowledged that Viera has managed the situation very well.

What position am i changing here. Did i say i am now okay with him taking the job?

I am still not comfortable with him taking the job,but i want him to suceed for obvious reason. Because of him i have become a supporter of Crystal Palace ,a club i dont even.bother to watch unless they are playing one of the big teams.

I know you are just looking for trouble...so continue :taunt: